Find companies:
Lowe's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,145 reviews

Lowe's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes the great.
Weekend Team (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 25, 2014
Pros: amazing work environment friendly coworkers and tons of help.
This job was pretty fun. The people are amazing here. They are nice and sweet and help you when you're in need. Co workers take care of you as if you were family.
My usual routine as a weekend team member was to walk around and make sure costumers could find what they needed.
I also handled others things if they needed me too for example the Register – more... or the pain desk. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lowes review
Outside Lawn and Garden Associate (Current Employee), Camden, SCAugust 25, 2014
a place where it is hard to move up they tell you one thing and do another
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work
CSAII (Former Employee), Easley, SCAugust 25, 2014
Pros: lots of opportunity to goof off.
Cons: if you're conscientious and have a good work ethic you'll be doing all the work.
The store I worked at in Easley had absolutely no employee oversight. Management had no clue what the employees do every day, they're only concerned with the numbers coming up right. I routinely worked shifts with 1 or 2 other employees in my area who I rarely saw do anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice associates, central location
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Christiansburg, VAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: nice associates
Cons: garden center hadrd to get extra help when needed
fun place to work hard although receiving loading help when the outside en center became busy, getting backup for loading became a problem
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people..wrong place for me
Unloader/Stocker (Current Employee), Springfield, MOAugust 25, 2014
Pros: set hours
Cons: no breaks
I currently work in the back while unloading trucks each day, but I am such a people person that I would rather be on the floor helping customers with their projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting work place
Inside Garden Sales Associate (Former Employee), Whitehall PAAugust 25, 2014
extremely knowledgeable co workers, interesting customers with great stories.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay workplace but quick to fire you with out a reason
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), Columbia, MDAugust 25, 2014
Pros: can learn somethings then go to a higher paying job
Cons: managers will do anything to get you fired
same routine everyday everyone is drained and tired learned how to use heavy machinery management is not the best all look down on co workers hardest part handling call outs and people quitting
most enjoyable your coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced environment.
retail sales (Former Employee), NCAugust 24, 2014
Pros: benefits, paid vacations, salary
Cons: hiring people just to fill a slot, rather than actually being qualified. working on christmas eve and thanksgiving.
A very fast paced environment under important deadlines.
A typical day is setting up the department, managing employees, ordering product, customer service with very little hours and a small crew. The hardest part of the job is not having enough hours to take care of the customers like we should be able to. The most enjoyable part of the job was the – more... salary and having good co-workers. I learned a lot in 13 years about myself and how to manage employees and run a tight department and striving to succeed corporates expectations. I learned how to deal with a lot of pressure and how to adapt to changes within the company quickly. As for management,I have worked with some great managers and I have also worked for managers that really do not need to be managers! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes's of the future
Operations Manager Of Install (Current Employee), Marrero, LAAugust 24, 2014
this job is horrible, it has so much potential, but with the new policies and procedures and the company seems to be cutting back
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
customer service associate (Current Employee), Cornelia, GAAugust 24, 2014
Pros: great place to meet new people
Cons: healthcare
i go in assist customers, help my co-workers down stock/top stock products, mix paint, cut blinds. The hardest part of the job is that you have no set hours one week you can open and the next you close. The most enjoyable part of my job is the people, you meet all sorts of new interesting people. I have learned a lot about different types of paint/stains – more... and the make-up of them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement
Dept. Manager (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAAugust 24, 2014
Great place to work but really no advancement opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to choose between work and family time
Associate (Former Employee), New YorkAugust 23, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: support
The company is a good company to work for its benefits. I would not recommend to work but only as an hourly associate and not a salary manager unless you do not have a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Blaine, MNAugust 23, 2014
Although Lowe's increased their demands on those who got the job done regularly, they only offered advancement to a select few. After Applying for 15 different internal positions it became clear that since they could not find people to work every weekend I would never be anything more than a Wee Team Employee. It was time to look for something worth – more... working towards – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoy my job, I just want to go futher in my life.
Customer Sales Associate (Current Employee), Danville, KYAugust 23, 2014
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: short breaks, poor management
A typical work day is an hour lunch with two fifteen minute breaks. Very fast work days during the summer and short work days during the fall and winter months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company cook-outs
Hardware Associate (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAAugust 23, 2014
Pros: fun work place, nice peolple
Cons: bad management
I enjoyed working at Lowe's, it was always something to do or to work on. I've never saw myself not being busy at Lowe's. A typical day for me was to clock in, he'd to the break room to get my vest, then to the floor. You'll enter act with some so many different people, it kinda make's the day go past faster. Management needs to improve I'd say. I've – more... seen a few zone managers fired, and a few hired in less than a year. For the most part Lowe's hires good people, so you always get a long with lot's of co-workers. One of the hardest things about my job was, management. It's like one is one the same page. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working People
Lumber Sales Associate (Former Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 22, 2014
Most everyone was really nice, the work was tough sometimes but they tried their best to take care of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical Retail Environment with Opportunities to move up.
Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Indiana, PAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: incentives (free lunch, bonuses), great co-workers
Cons: sheer monotony, under compensation, typical retail environment
A typical day at work involves keeping shelves stocked, keeping the department clean, and most importantly tending to customers. I have actually learned a vast amount about plumbing. When I was given the position I knew next to nothing about the specifics, but I did know the basics. Now I know an incredible amount. If I gain nothing else from Lowe's – more... at least I obtained this knowledge. Management fits on a scale. Some are great and others not so much. However for the most part the managers are all competent and nice. The hardest part of the job is being trapped inside a store all day and the monotony. I do however enjoy assisting customers, with special orders, and meeting fun people. The best part of the job is the customers and co-workers. However customers are also one of the worst parts of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small
Outside Garden CSA/Flooring CSA/Stocker (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: advancement
This place is small and hard to advance. Their pay is ok, but can be better. The management do not really do anything except pressure you into making a mistake.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
Sales Specialist, Lowe's Home Improvement (Former Employee), Mill Creek, WAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: good pay / benefits
Cons: retail hours
.I enjoyed helping customer make informed decisions about their purchase
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Jackson, MIAugust 22, 2014
Loved the people and coworkers. Great place to start something new. Not somewhere to retire from.

1 2 3 4 5

About Lowe's

No longer a low-profile company, Lowe's Companies has evolved from a regional hardware store operator into a nationwide chain – Read more