Find companies:
Lowe's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,888 reviews

Lowe's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Paint Pro/Commercial Paint Sales (Former Employee), Conway, ARJuly 27, 2014
Great company to work for. Good pay and good benefits. Plenty of chances for growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes is retail and has many different start times and days off. The daily job requirements change quickly due to staffing.
Kitchen Designer (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNJuly 27, 2014
Pros: helping customers and relationships with co-workers.
Cons: no set schedule, cover multiple departments, difficult or dishonest customers, not able to focus on my main responsibilities
A day at Lowes is always a new and different experience. My job title says that I am a Kitchen Designer but due to staffing I may be required to cover a number of other departments at a time. My co-workers experience the same thing. Most try to do their best to do their job and help the customers. Like other places I have worked, there are good managers – more... and some that need improvement in a number of areas. I enjoy helping customers with their projects. It is frustrating when some customers take advantage of the system to get money from the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowe's is a great company to work for
Customer Service Associate IV (Current Employee), Clearwater, FLJuly 27, 2014
Pros: the company as a whole is a great company to work for.
Cons: the schedules is not consistent nor the hours you may work in a week
A typical day at work consist of helping customer anyway possible. Some manager are great at their job, while other are sub-par as well as co-workers. The hardest part of the job is keeping carts in the store, because the store I work at is a high volume store. The most enjoyable part of the jobs is helping customer figure out the solution to their – more... project. weather it be; home, school, work or everyday living issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail environment w/ atypical employees
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Salisbury, MDJuly 27, 2014
Pros: higher than average wages, open enrollment health care
Cons: monotonous, disconnected management and senior staff
Like most large corporate retail chains there is a deluge of nonsensical acronyms, policies, and procedures to get used to at Lowe's.
A typical day begins with clock-in and a check of your store provided email for the goings-on and management communication of any work assignments. From there its off to the sales floor where the customer is the primary – more... concern, but there is plenty of busy work to occupy you on slow sales day.
Upper management is fairly aloof and what they occupy their days with is beyond me. Albeit there are times when ASMs or even the Store Manager feel the need to micro-manage the smallest details or daily tasks.
The Department Managers seem to be the work horses of the store and take most things way too seriously.
Between the CSAs and Specialists there exist a certain rivalry. Specialist are seemingly one rung higher on the ladder and typically feel above most menial tasks as their job is to SELL! The confusion is that all employees primary responsibility on the sales floor is to sell. C'est la vie. The real dividing line between employees is between full-time and part-time. Full-time employees are fairly entrenched and represent a period in Lowe's history when working there was a viable career choice and you could support a family and live a comfortable life. For part-time employees you can look forward to inconsistent scheduling, and randomly cut hours.
All in all this is a fairly easy job with a minimal amount of physical demands. The concrete floor of of a Lowe's store can be hard on your feet for long periods but consistent breaks allowed and recommended throughout the day.
The Lowe's name takes a beating sometimes in public for employees that lack product knowledge but the expectation is on you the employee to take advantage of all the training an material the company provides. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work inviroment
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Butler, PAJuly 27, 2014
Hard work and fast passed job great place to work. A great company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a bad manager at that time.
Full time Lawn and Garden Cashier (Former Employee), Troutman, NCJuly 26, 2014
Overall employer was ok. I would be stuck outside all shift no matter how hot or how cold. When in the handbook it clearly stated the head cahiers were suppose to which outside cashiers every two hours in extreme hot or extreme cold. I'm southern so 13 degrees for 8 hours is pretty extreme to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Internet Fulfillment accociate (Current Employee), South Jacksonville, FLJuly 25, 2014
Pros: 1 hour lunch great ppl
Cons: little pay
but hard to get full time and the pay does not start out well
i worked in internet fulfillment and loved my coworkers built stront relationships
my boss was ok but did not give credit when credit was due
hardest part of my job was keeping up with orders during holidays
the over all best was my peers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
broken promises from management that don't care anything about you
Lumber Associate (Former Employee), Cordova, TNJuly 25, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
at first give you full time hours and then your hours get cut drastically.management is a joke I know more about running the store then them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Customer Service (Former Employee), Sinking Spring, PAJuly 25, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: can't think of any....maybe being outside in the heat for long periods of time in lawn and garden
This was a fun and exciting place to job. I was sad that it was only seasonal. But it was a great job to start out doing after coming off of childrearing for 5 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but difficult
Department Manager Paint & Windows and Walls (Current Employee), Monroe NCJuly 25, 2014
Pros: employee appreciation events, bonuses
Cons: having to work double shifts and not keeping overtime, having too much thrown on you because they run with a skeleton crew of coverage.
The hardest part of my job is not being able to clone me to fill five different positions. During my 8-10 hour shift I am asked to cover anywhere from 2-4 departments along with my own as well wear a blue vest to help with sales floor and customer activity. The most enjoyable part of my job is the social interaction and engagement with customers and – more... peers. I take pride in my job and how my customers are treated as well as how they feel and their experience. I love my co-workers. We can get on each others nerves from time to time but at the end of the day we all pull together. I have learned that you may think you can have your cake and eat it too, but that is not always the case. Sometimes you shouldn't eat the cake. My management team often does not put forward 100% what I think they should. I feel its all about them, and sometimes we don't matter as hourly employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Kent, OhioJuly 25, 2014
Management was easy to work with. Co-workers were very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Manager (Former Employee), Bartonsville, PAJuly 24, 2014
upper management was not very helpful when asked
employee's act like they are in high school still
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The store as a whole was good but management didn't care want employees did.
Cashier (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 24, 2014
A seasonal position.
Co-workers were helpful.
I learned the store as far where everything is located.
The customer was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees
Customer services/cashier (Current Employee), Clinton, NCJuly 24, 2014
Most all employees are very friendly and easy to get alone with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes (part-time)
Sales Associate / Unload Associate (Current Employee), Riverview, FLJuly 24, 2014
Pros: company lunch and dinners
Cons: part-time
Productive and fun workplace with good coworkers and management hardest part is getting hour most enjoyable part coworkers and getting paid
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above average
Associate (Former Employee), Frankfort, KYJuly 24, 2014
Great minimum wage job. A good when wanting to get into the customer service field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at Lowes
Outbound Survey Associate/Call Center Associate (Former Employee), Wilkesboro, NCJuly 23, 2014
Pros: it gave me more office and call center experience
Cons: the verbatim survey was boring and tiresome at times.
I worked in the Call Center for Lowes as an Outbound Survey Associate, which means that an auto dialer dialed customers and I asked them scripted survey questions about their installations through Lowes. I learned a lot from this job, such as how different type of installations were done and how long things take to be completed, etc. Management was – more... decent, it changed a lot, which caused some confusion. My coworkers were all amazing people. That is what made the job tolerable. Repeating a verbatim survey hundreds of times a day was very frustrating at times, and the coworkers are what made it tolerable. The hardest part of the job was dealing with some of the Mountain Time and Pacific Time people. They seemed to be the most rude people and would chew you out in a heartbeat. The most enjoyable part of the job was talking to people from all over the country and getting to help them if they were having issues with their installation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work days and friendly environment
Lumber Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pueblo, COJuly 23, 2014
The most valued part of my day is when I know that through out the day that I accomplished something and feel good about my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many chiefs not enough indians
HRM and Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Boardman Oh and Hermitage PaJuly 23, 2014
Pros: met great people
Cons: met untrustworthy evil people
You have your in store management and then the area management staff then the regional management staff then the corporate offices nobody on the same page. As an in store manager you are instructed to run your business, then all the other managers get involved when they shouldn't and nobody is ever on the same page. It is ridiculous. I made a good wage – more... and worked with a lot of great people, but the company as a whole is not employee friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
face paced work environment
Facility Service Associate (Current Employee), Owens Cross Roads, ALJuly 23, 2014
Pros: alway learning, great work environment.
Cons: healthcare, most of the time i do not have time for breaks, when i can not find someone to ask about something i have difficulty with
Lowe's is a great place to work. there is always something to do. I have learned to manage my time more carefully to get all my duties done in the day. management is very helpful and is always there to listen or when you need to talk. my co-workers are excellent and very engaging in activities and conversation. the hardest part of the job is when I – more... do not know what to do with a certain task and no one is available to help. the most enjoyable part of my job is I am always busy. I am never bored and I am always learning something new. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Lowe's

No longer a low-profile company, Lowe's Companies has evolved from a regional hardware store operator into a nationwide chain – Read more