Find companies:
Lowe's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,330 reviews

Lowe's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good networking environment on the commercial side
Commercial Specialist (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: networking, family oriented
Cons: favortism, empty promises
I work with commercial contractors providing solutions and alternatives to orders . Cold call new clients and businesses to gain new accounts. Review all accounts every 30 days to gather any unmet needs of current clients. Inform clients of all prosales and pro clearance products. I learned that you have to train yourself . My team is great ...the hardest – more... part of my job is ...I feel I don't learn anything new and the job isn't challenging. Management teaches you nothing maybe because upper management have nothing to send down the pipe. The best part of my day is seeing my kids when I clock out . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gained valuable management experience at Lowe's Companies
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Marysville, OHSeptember 17, 2014
The experience with supervising people as well as Inventory Management experience is invaluable in my pursuit of my next career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Lawn and Garden Sales Associate (Former Employee), Waldorf, MDSeptember 17, 2014
Lowes had a typical retail work environment, co-workers made the best of it and compensation was excellent compared to any other retail store iv worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job bad pay
Lead/Receiver (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: forklift training
Cons: few hours per week
A typical day at work I would stock shelves. I learned how to drive power equipment at this job. Management was helpful in training. My co workers were not as serious. Hardest part of the job was not meeting 40 hours a week. in fact way below. Most enjoyable part of the job was I had learned a skill I could apply elsewhere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place
Cashier (Former Employee), Cotati, CASeptember 17, 2014
Pros: good beginner job.
Cons: management.
working at party city in santa rosa wasn't the best place to work management wasnt very helpful and very rude. My co- workers were very friendly witch helped.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Fernley, NVSeptember 17, 2014
A typical workday was helping DIY customers get everything necessary to get a project from start to finish that they could take pride in accomplishing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place actually.
Customer Service Associate-Weekday Sales Team (Former Employee), Victoria, TXSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: 1 hour lunch, employee discounts, insurance benefits, good area of town.
Cons: poor scheduleing (ex. close at night and open the next morning), to many managers telling you to do to many different things at once.
Show up on time, or early, and ready to work. You will stay busy, if your not busy, then your slacking in this place. Pretty good work environment. Lots of laid back people as long as you do your job. The opportunity for advancement is definetly there if you want to take it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee), NCSeptember 16, 2014
People and work environment were great. Co-worker where easy to get along with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented atmosphere
Clerk / Cashier (Current Employee), Columbus, MSSeptember 16, 2014
Lowe's has been one of the best places I have worked at. Everyone s friendly and cares about one another. They are very patient when family emergencies happen and easily can accommodate for a changing schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Department Manager (Former Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: good pay, good organization.
Cons: can't think of any.
Great company with a great business model. Great culture of customer service and supporting it's own employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An overall good place to work with a lot of room for potential
Product Service Associate (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 16, 2014
The company offers great benefits to their employees. better than average wages and always room to grow. It is a fun working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Front-End Cashier (Current Employee), Clovis, CASeptember 16, 2014
Pros: recognitions, safety lunch, clean store, good store manager and great customers!!!
Cons: selling warranties and not many full time positions available.
Busy, my day goes fast when the store is busy...love it!

This is a different retail business than my two previous I've learn new procedures.

Great management team.

Like working with my co-workers.

Selling warranties.

9 out 10 customers are very pleasant and grateful I really love and enjoy assisting them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place, great team work!
Electrical Sales Associate (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZSeptember 16, 2014
It was a fun working place. Nice staff and caring managers. It was hard to manage my schedule there because i worked part time and the schedule was different every week. Other than that i learned a lot from the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent workplace
Department Manager Receiving (Current Employee), Columbus, MSSeptember 16, 2014
A typical work-day consisted of receiving one to three trucks of freight piece counts ranging from 5000 to 40,000. My seventeen workers all worked together to unload freight and stock it properly on shelving. My main responsibility was to divide the workload among my workers, ensure all safety standards are met, and process the various paperwork according – more... to corporate standards adding and taking from the stores rather large inventory count. The hardest part about my job was the time of the shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits, opportunity for advancement
Appliance Sales, Kitchen Designer (Former Employee), Muskegon, MISeptember 16, 2014
Pros: great opportunities for advancement
Cons: above average in store managers. each had a different way of doing things.
Lowes was, at that time, a good place to learn new things about all departments in the store. Management encouraged all associates to learn the basics in all departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowe's
Head Cashier (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 16, 2014
Great environment to obtain customer service skills. Fast paced and multi-tasking skills needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Moreno ValleySeptember 16, 2014
Pros: great benefits, advancement opportunities, flexible work hours
Cons: just like high school, lack of hours during off peak times
Lowe's overall is a good company. However, when you work in the store you have to be prepared for all the childish games that take place. It's just like high school, once someone doesn't like you or what you do they will stop at nothing in making your life miserable. That goes for management too. Also, just know that if someone does come after you and – more... they are 1) in a higher position and 2) have been there longer than you, you will lose so start looking into transferring into another store. I didn't and was fired. But the benefits at Lowe's are awesome and so is their appreciation for employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to start out
Part-time Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chillicothe, OHSeptember 16, 2014
I was worked hard, but I'm a hard worker so I didn't mind the challenge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowe's
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Stockbridge, GASeptember 15, 2014
The work environment was hectic sometimes but, most of all it was pretty calm. The workers and customers were friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so bad
Cashier (Former Employee), Saginaw, MISeptember 15, 2014
I was temp when I was working but there were opportunities to grow within the company. The hours are retail hours so I always had work and the people were amazing to work with. It did get a little 'Clique-y" at times but for the most part everybody was cool and easy to get along with. The pay was fair and everybody were treated fairly when handing out – more... pay rates. The environment was great, not many restrictions and overall not a bad place to work – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Lowe's

No longer a low-profile company, Lowe's Companies has evolved from a regional hardware store operator into a nationwide chain – Read more