Find companies:
Lowe's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,660 reviews

Lowe's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Shelbyville, TNOctober 29, 2014
Helped customers with everyday merchandise and with purchasing and informing them of information on products
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atmosphere is wonderful.
Delivery Driver (Current Employee), West Chester, OhioOctober 29, 2014
Pros: great people and flexibility.
Cons: management can cause headaches with all the micromanaging going on.
Lowes has a culture that is diverse in every way. Working part-time I do am not offered benefits, which is a negative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Part timers
Administrative Office Clerk (Current Employee), Columbus, INOctober 29, 2014
Lowes offers great benefits for part time employees in comparison to other companies. My experience at my store in particular was good because management always worked with my schedule while I was in school and when I had my daughter. They rely a little too much on computer based training, but otherwise managers are happy to coach team members something – more... new. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and encouraging place to work
Credit/SOS Coordinator (Current Employee), Portsmouth, VAOctober 29, 2014
Lowe's excites employees and encourages good working relationships which in turn helps us to service customers with the same enthusiasm. Lowe's also encourages on the job learning through many different programs. Management is there to support and encourage associates to reach their full potential. The hardest part of the job is product knowledge. Lowe's – more... is most enjoyable for the employee recognition and activities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not reccommended, especially for females or non-military
Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Glendale, AZOctober 29, 2014
Pros: large variety of customer contact
Cons: compensation lacking, career advancement nearly impossible for women
Job culture among employees actually performing daily duties is good, but senior management mentality is very poor, and this comes from almost ten years of experience at Lowe's. Corporate mentality is an archaic "good 'ol boys club" with huge gender pay gap. Regardless of phenominal work history and experience, women here get paid less for doing their – more... job as well as carrying the weight of slacking, typically male employees. The hardest part of the job is working much harder to prove oneself after yet another manager has been dismissed from his position. Rapport with immediate co-workers is particularly beneficial to team building as well as enjoyable and building customer relations and increasing repeat business is the most exciting aspect – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Midland,TXOctober 29, 2014
The company is a very stable work environment with many people to work with, which would cause problems for certain people. It seemed to be over the top with micromanagement. Aside from that, everyone did their parts to get jobs done in an orderly fashion. With the large variety of employees it always made for exciting, enjoyable work days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Gaithersburg, MDOctober 29, 2014
Pros: discount items
Cons: short breaks
Very fast paced. Must always be on your toes. fellow employees were fun and outgoing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Management and fun Job to do.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Fayetteville, NCOctober 29, 2014
Lowes compared to most retail positions is a fun place to work and the management is typically good but depends on your location. There is a lot to learn and the customers teach you as much as you teach them so new ideas everyday. My coworkers are typical of any other retail store so if you have done it once you have done it twice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Manager (Current Employee), Mooresville, NCOctober 28, 2014
Great place to work, great culture. They have a relaxed setting with good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and Pay
Human Resource Manager (Current Employee), Warren, OHOctober 28, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits
Good company to work for.
Work life balance is tough but can be tolerable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated in Customer Service
Administrative Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PaOctober 28, 2014
Fast growing company dedicated in teaching and training associates to take care of the customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast pace and friendly people.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Hillsboro, OROctober 28, 2014
Pros: offered great benifits, great staff, a fun place to work.
Cons: not enough hours
I really enjoyed working their, the atmosphere was friendly and team members were always willing to help me when I had questions, and the customers were the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Lowes
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILOctober 28, 2014
Pros: bonuses, 401k plams, increase in pay (once a year)
Cons: scheduling, management
A typical work day included providing friendly customer service skills to each and every customer and increasing sales in anyway possible for the advancement of the company. Remembering that safety is a big part of the job and to always put the customer first. I learned that retail is not something that I plan to do for the rest of my life. Working – more... at Lowes was a motive for me to go back to school. Management was horrible at Lowes. I worked for them for almost two years and I had seen more than two managers get fired including the store manager. For the most part I had very understanding co-workers but when it came to head cashiers they took their job more seriously than I attended. In my opinion, some of the head cashiers treated their general cashiers like they were nothing more than a worker instead of a team player. There was not really a hard part of being a customer service associate. I learned the material fairly quickly and preformed my job well. I have had experiences with rude customers but that's all part of working for retail. The most enjoyable part of my job were the checks and the bonuses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun fast paced work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 28, 2014
Pros: customer interaction and co-workers were great people to work with
Assist customers with any of their needs. Answer any questions about promotions and mix paint. Ocasionally assist in home decor decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Assistant (Current Employee), Killeen, TXOctober 28, 2014
I enjoy my time at Lowe's. My overall experience is great and I would love to work at Lowe's again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers provide positive work experience.
Customer Service Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Waterloo, IAOctober 28, 2014
Employees make an effort to be as efficient as possible while provided a positive experience for customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes was and is still my favorite store
Cashier (Former Employee), Silver Springs, FLOctober 28, 2014
its a great thing when you can work at a place you love and believe in. I love Lowes. My coworkers were good, the customers were good. Management was good. Loved being able to work outside some days and in on others. Liked the variety.

really cant think of anything hard about the job that I disliked enough to mention. Except maybe not getting enough – more... hours.
It is a good place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work.
Customer service/ Plant Nursery Associate (Former Employee), Severn, MDOctober 28, 2014
Pros: working outside in the garden center. and getting paid.
Cons: working holidays and weekends. difficult customers.
Busy during peak season. learning about all the plants and how to care for them. worked with a great group of people. Some heavy lifting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Additional experience with power equipement and RF scanners
Unloader/Sorter (Former Employee), Dayton, OHOctober 27, 2014
Pros: work with a tight crew of unloaders
Cons: retail environment where holiday work was manditory
Worked with a small friendly crew who attempted to work well together in a small and clustered work area. Afforded opertunity to work with hand held scanners for periodic times of assisting with night restock crews.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offers a variety of different types of jobs.
Customer Sales Associate (Current Employee), Bozeman, MTOctober 27, 2014
Pros: ability to move into other departments and type of work.
Cons: pay could be better for associates who have been with company awhile.
Good company if the right type of management is provided. Company does offer ability to move into other job positions to learn other job skills.

1 2 3 4 5

About Lowe's

No longer a low-profile company, Lowe's Companies has evolved from a regional hardware store operator into a nationwide chain – Read more