Find companies:
Lowe's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,952 reviews

Lowe's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at Lowes
CASHIER (Current Employee), Ocala, FLDecember 20, 2014
Pros: interaction with others
Cons: work environment is not the best
challenges include outside regardless of weather. Customers are friendly, and most want to be treated properly. Management wants rules followed. Usually not much is difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), MODecember 19, 2014
Pros: long lunchbreak, friendly interactions, flexible schedule
Cons: expensive healthcare
Lowe's was an enjoyable place to work. I learned a lot about interacting with customers and retail. My favorite place to work as a cashier was in the Lawn and Garden. I liked working in the outdoors among all the flowers and garden plants. I learned a lot about how to grow plants and what the different varieties are called.
My co-workers were very knowledgeable – more... in their respectful departments and were helpful in answering any questions.
The hardest part of my job was working at the customer service desk when we were short-handed and the store was busy. I learned to multi-task in that environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starting job to learn retail
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Hampton, NJDecember 19, 2014
Pros: knowledge
i learned a lot in 6 years ,,good place to work if management is good,made a lot of friends that i worked with and as regular customers,just have to get use to different hours and days you work,got to work weekends,,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love :)
Customer Service Assoc. & Cash Office Admin (Current Employee), Belleville, ILDecember 19, 2014
Been here for almost 3 years and didn't think I would be able to stand a job this long LOL. I love the manangement and overall work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place,nice people,great managers
Area Merchandiser (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 19, 2014
Pros: good teamwork
Cons: everything was great
a typical day with the workers was fun,we help each other when our department was done we laugh told some jokes because we finished all our work early so we had time the hardest part of our job was saying goodbye because we got laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers are family
Department Manager (Current Employee), Green ValleyDecember 18, 2014
Pros: work family, pay and vacations
Cons: no time with your own family, no advancement if you're not in the the good ole' boys club
It is almost impossible to advance with this company it's all about the buddy system. Hours are cut for part time associates to the point the full time associates are run ragged by the time the hours go back up; Understanding that is business it just makes your job harder. Your coworkers become your family and over all the customers are pretty great. – more... They still offer some great rewards for the store meeting its numbers although that is hard to achieve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job.
Unloader/Sorter (Current Employee), Johnstown, PADecember 18, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: healthcare
A typical day at my job goes by quickly. I learned that communication is key to your job getting done right. the five hours goes by fast most days. the best part of my job is it keeps you in shape.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment, with potential for success
Commercial Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Orchard Park NYDecember 18, 2014
Pros: great working hours
Cons: job security
Typical day of work includes interacting with customer, assisting them with building an estimate, finding product, ordering directly from vendors, opening new account, finding leads, making sales calls, logging sales calls, and keeping a clean and safe working area.

Management at this company is fairly decent, not the greatest on job security. However, – more... they are always there to assist you when you have issues with customer and helping you figure out something that is new to you.

The hardest part of the job is learning when to slow down and not over think much, due to the fast environment things can become unorganized from time to time, just need to learn to take things one step at a time and give the customer a great outcome that is easy to understand.

The best part of the job is how active you are with customers, the job allows the employee to be very interactive with customer and gives the customer a face and a store to remember for the better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed working at Lowes. Having been in construction it was perfect for me.
Cashier (Former Employee), Arlington, TXDecember 18, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: garden area.
Meeting and helping customers to get the right material for the job they were working on. Had the best co-workers that kept the job fun and interesting. Didn't work with management a great deal. Having been in the construction field for so many years there wasn't much for me to learn. Hard part of the job? Working in the garden area. Had to lean about – more... many plants. Overall, working a Lowes was a great experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at during college and wanting to work for a great company
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Derby, KSDecember 18, 2014
Its a great place to work if you like to work on your house and any other projects. Management doesn't work with personal life and if you attend church. It pays decent and above average for retail environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head Cashier
Head Cashier (Former Employee), Elizabethton, TNDecember 18, 2014
Pros: customer relations
Cons: managment
As a head cashier you have a lot of duties from dealing with costumer complaints to helping out other departments I worked at lowes in elizabethton when it first opened and I am sure things have changed but it wasn't that busy in the store and the management didn;t understand that when your child is in the hospital you will miss work to be with them – more... that is why I left – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment with friendly staff and customers.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Columbia, ScDecember 18, 2014
Pros: 30min-1hr lunch (off clock), two 15min breaks (on clock) when ever desired. friendly work staff.
Cons: although my hourly pay is above minimum wage, as a part timer, i do not receive a significant amount of hours due to the flow of business throughout the seasons.
As a customer service associate, my duty is to help any customers in my area who may need assistance with product information or product location. Also, I am tasked with ensuring that my assigned department has been restocked and swept prior to the end of my shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a typical day at Lowes
Customer Sales Associate (Current Employee), Baytown, TXDecember 17, 2014
Working at Lowes is all about selling and giving great customer service. I have learned so much through my specialist and my department managers and managers to locating the product in the systems and seeing how many we have and how many are damaged to so much more. I have very supportive managers. The most enjoyable part of my job is greeting customers – more... and helping them throughout whatever they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
CUSTOMER SERVICE REP. - Retail (Former Employee), Mebane, NCDecember 17, 2014
Working with customer service, busy solving people problem, everyone is friendly, management have a lot of patience,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Return Goods Clerk (Current Employee), Pooler, GADecember 17, 2014
Really great company to work for. The management team is awesome and so are the people. I could not be happier working for Lowe's Home Improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes
Loader/Cashier (Current Employee), Carol Stream, ILDecember 17, 2014
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: teamwork
Learned many skills in this job. They worked great with my school schedule. They are a great company. They don't promote from within, and the only way to be promoted is to apply for the position. Usually they hire for a higher ranking position to a person who doesn't deserve or know anything about the position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Cashier/ Customer Service (Former Employee), Pinellas Park, FLDecember 17, 2014
Maintained high efficiency in processing transaction during occupied business hours.
Accurately Handled cash and credit card payments
Balanced cash registers
Promoted My Lowe’s credit card and donations
Delivered excellent customer service experience in a friendly and professional manner
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experance, friendly staff, okay salary
Delivery Driver/Lumber Specialist/Lawn & Garden (Former Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYDecember 17, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, 40hr shifts, hour lunch, great training
Cons: salary, advancement
Customer focused, sales and product knowledge.

Operated forklifts, pallet jacks and cherry pickers for customer orders and stocking.

Co-workers were friendly and very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to Work
Head Cashier (Current Employee), Corpus Christi, TXDecember 17, 2014
Working at Lowe's has taught me many valuable lessons such as how to communicate with people, customer service, and how to sell products. It is a fast pace place to work at, with very little down time if any. Customers are always looking for assistance with their projects and we are there to help. The best part of the job is the people who work there, – more... they all have a positive attitude and are hard workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
orders, orders
Department Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 16, 2014
pulling orders. making sure your orders are accurate and discovering the new items being sold

1 2 3 4 5

About Lowe's

No longer a low-profile company, Lowe's Companies has evolved from a regional hardware store operator into a nationwide chain – Read more