Find companies:
Lowe's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,791 reviews

Lowe's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company cares about their people
Human Resource Manager (Former Employee), Lebanon, MOJuly 11, 2014
Everyone works together to get the job done from office people to the cashier. great team great job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place to work.
Team Member (Former Employee), Adairsville, GAJuly 11, 2014
Working for Lowe's was a pleasurable expeirence. Many kind and helpful supervisors and managers that made the work environment easy going but kept it fast paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall its a okay working experience
Cutomer Serivce (Current Employee), Kissimmee, FLJuly 10, 2014
Pros: working with others. being aparts of a team
Cons: the pay is below average, and the inconsistency from mag.
Frist off attend to customers using professional customer service. making myself a daily work list. calling on potentially leads old customers, and making sales.
The Mag. wasn't consistent but there far. I don't feel my job is hard more of a daily challenge.
The part of my job I enjoy mostly is helping customers seeing there vision and improving there – more... homes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customer service job
Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Cleburne, TXJuly 10, 2014
Pros: customer service
I learned alot. customer service is number 1 and should be. Trained in several different dept. I loved being a sales specialist and helping customers all day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes has excellent associates and is great company to work for.
Customer Service Salesperson and Head Cashier (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMJuly 10, 2014
Lowes is a great company to work for because the associates work together to create an exceptional atmosphere of customer service for their customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure Job
Head Cashier (Former Employee), Saint Louis, MOJuly 10, 2014
Pros: being able to create relationships with co workers and customers
Cons: sometimes no breaks, bad communication between managers and team
I started at Lowes as a teller and after months of working I got promoted to a Head Cashier. I was responsible for managing the front end (all cash registers, all cashiers, customer service desk, returns desk, etc..). I learned how to balance, and maintain the cash registers and manage about 10-15 cashiers at one time (customer issues, breaks, lunches, – more... etc..). I enjoyed being able to create and maintain relationships with co workers as well customers. The hardest part of the job became when management made a big change in the store by getting rid of certain managers (store manager, assistant store manager, etc..) and brought in a new team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work.
Freight Stocker (Former Employee), Florence, SCJuly 9, 2014
It was a great place to work. I stocked and entire section of the store. The seasonal section.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Cashier (Former Employee), Suwanee, GAJuly 9, 2014
Every day was a new learning experience as the company grew larger and expanded its products. It was always a joy to help customers and educate them on the new upcoming products. Management and co-workers were also a joy to be around. Pay was ok but the hours per week dropped seasonally during less busy times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 9, 2014
My job has excellent benefits.The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting different people. I've learned to have patience. The hardest part was being short handed and not having the support of the management staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment to be around.
Receiver/Stocker (Current Employee), Tallahassee,FLJuly 9, 2014
Pros: great benefits, awesome pay, amazing people to work with, fun and easy going supervisors
Cons: short breaks, short lunches, sometimes no lunches
Lowe's is an extraordinary employer, who treats their employees like family. The benefits are great for a new employee, or even someone who is experienced in their field of work. As a Lowe's employee, I enjoy the people and the place that I work with/in. Whenever I get the chance, I recommend Lowe's to others looking for a great cpmpany to work for – more... with a great starting pay base, as well as great overall benefits for the employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to learn
Department Manager (Current Employee), orange ctJuly 9, 2014
Lowe's is a good place to learn skills for the overall work force. Encouraging team work and how to be task orientated. As a manager the hardest things are making sure that the people in my department stay on task and complete their work on time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place but with too many "order givers"
Seasonal Help (Former Employee), Madison, INJuly 9, 2014
Pros: usually outside
Cons: normally working hours were nights, rarely days
It was a nice fast paced job that had enjoyable co-workers that compensated its employees nicely. Although there were too many people with the authority to assign work and none of which were on the same page.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Head Cashier (Former Employee), Sullivan, MOJuly 9, 2014
Pros: room to grow and great people
Cons: favoritism from management
A typical day was just working hands on with customers, and running the front end properly.
I learned a lot of my people skills from this job.
My co-workers were great people, and easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assembler
assmebler (Former Employee), fayetteville gaJuly 9, 2014
Pros: working with people
Cons: unrealistic time fraim
assembling customer orders, load and unload trucks. assist with stocking merchandise. co-works were great helped when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Wooster, OHJuly 9, 2014
Pros: lot's of learning and education
Cons: you have to be liked to move up in the company
Lowe's is a good place to work but the management do things that aren't very good.
if you are liked you will succeed if you aren't you don't.
The people that go to Lowe's want knowledgeable people to help them unfortunately the management get in the way and don't let you thrive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great lower management supervisor poor mid to upper.
Cashier 3 (Former Employee), Carnegie, PAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: 1 hour lunch, discounted items
Cons: poor management, discremenation and poor shift management.
Most days go by smoothly, but on those off days its worse then being in grade school with bullies. You have those that really try to do the job at hand and some get the chance to do it and do it well. But most often then not middle and upper management couldnt care any less about the employees.
Work life was fine so long as you were only supervisor – more... or lower, once you have to deal with middle management that gets the hammer thrown at them everyday to get some unachievable goal like 200 credit card sign ups in one day when you clearly have a record showing that the best the store ever had was 50. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OSLG Sales Rep
OSL&G Staff/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Selinsgrove, PAJuly 8, 2014
Pretty fun, good exercise, talk to people, get some sun, smell the roses, DRIVE A FORKLIFT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, upbeat and a learning experience of a job.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Wood Village, ORJuly 8, 2014
Pros: hour lunch break, 10% discount, vacation time, flexable hours, medical and dental insurance.
Cons: n/a
I worked in the Tools and Hardware department of the store. Learning as I go, I got an education on tools, hardware and other things in that category that I didn't know prior. I can give advice on a homeowner's project or site job and give him/her the tools needed to complete the task. The coworkers were helpful and friendly to be around. The hardest – more... part of that job was remembering where the location of some things were in the store or not knowing the answer to some questions, but would soon figure it out with help from another employee. The most enjoyable part was talking with customers and getting to know them and what they're doing or came in for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 8, 2014
great place to grow in as far as people skills and communication. Teaces u growth and responsibility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Associates more like family not just coworkers
Installed Sales Coordinator (Current Employee), Princeton, WVJuly 8, 2014
Pros: picnics and cookouts as rewards for various achievements, 10% employee discount
Cons: 1 hr lunches are to long, health insurance is pricey
A typical day at work is very busy. My day usually consists of making contact with customers, vendors and installers to coordinate installations. Fielding phone calls concerning current and past installs that may have problems. Gathering merchandise sold for installs so that it is ready for pick up by installers. Filing paperwork. Submitting payment – more... for management approval for installers upon completion of installs. Job site inspections and great customer service in general.

I learn new things constantly but what I have learned most is how to be firm but courteous with installers and customers alike as needed. I have learned this from the 2 department managers and the upper management that I have worked under. They are not shy about telling you when you have done something wrong so you can learn from it and not make the same mistake again. They do not tell you in a derogatory way but in a way that offers solutions for correction.

My coworkers for the most part are more like family not just a fellow coworker. We are one big happy family and help each other not only in everyday work but in everyday life outside of work.

The hardest part of my job is trying not to bring work home with me. I have a soft spot for my installers and try to help them out on my days off or even on vacation.

The friendships that have been built with coworkers and installers is the most enjoyable part of my job. We help each other any time its needed. You always have someone to count on. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Lowe's

No longer a low-profile company, Lowe's Companies has evolved from a regional hardware store operator into a nationwide chain – Read more