Find companies:
Lowe's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,151 reviews

Lowe's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company cook-outs
Hardware Associate (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAAugust 23, 2014
Pros: fun work place, nice peolple
Cons: bad management
I enjoyed working at Lowe's, it was always something to do or to work on. I've never saw myself not being busy at Lowe's. A typical day for me was to clock in, he'd to the break room to get my vest, then to the floor. You'll enter act with some so many different people, it kinda make's the day go past faster. Management needs to improve I'd say. I've – more... seen a few zone managers fired, and a few hired in less than a year. For the most part Lowe's hires good people, so you always get a long with lot's of co-workers. One of the hardest things about my job was, management. It's like one is one the same page. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working People
Lumber Sales Associate (Former Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 22, 2014
Most everyone was really nice, the work was tough sometimes but they tried their best to take care of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical Retail Environment with Opportunities to move up.
Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Indiana, PAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: incentives (free lunch, bonuses), great co-workers
Cons: sheer monotony, under compensation, typical retail environment
A typical day at work involves keeping shelves stocked, keeping the department clean, and most importantly tending to customers. I have actually learned a vast amount about plumbing. When I was given the position I knew next to nothing about the specifics, but I did know the basics. Now I know an incredible amount. If I gain nothing else from Lowe's – more... at least I obtained this knowledge. Management fits on a scale. Some are great and others not so much. However for the most part the managers are all competent and nice. The hardest part of the job is being trapped inside a store all day and the monotony. I do however enjoy assisting customers, with special orders, and meeting fun people. The best part of the job is the customers and co-workers. However customers are also one of the worst parts of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small
Outside Garden CSA/Flooring CSA/Stocker (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: advancement
This place is small and hard to advance. Their pay is ok, but can be better. The management do not really do anything except pressure you into making a mistake.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
Sales Specialist, Lowe's Home Improvement (Former Employee), Mill Creek, WAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: good pay / benefits
Cons: retail hours
.I enjoyed helping customer make informed decisions about their purchase
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Jackson, MIAugust 22, 2014
Loved the people and coworkers. Great place to start something new. Not somewhere to retire from.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
customer service associate level 4 (Current Employee), Ogdensburg, NYAugust 22, 2014
good place to work but takes forever for a promotion
not really good hours or pay
feels like highschool all over again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work!
Area Product Service Associate (Former Employee), Plymouth, INAugust 21, 2014
great people to work with, lots of product to learn about and where its stocked
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to learn a lot about retail and meeting amazing people along the way.
OVERNIGHT STOCKER (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALAugust 21, 2014
Pros: relationships that can come from proper communication
Cons: low or poor work efforts
Retail is a tough community, but there will be moments where the hard work will pay off personally. There are many customers that come in and out and some will bring a high light to your day and there will be opportunities to bring happiness to a customer's day. Never put up an expectation for the customer, always know what you must do for them and – more... let that be the driving effort behind your work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to have worked, I kind of miss it.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCAugust 21, 2014
This was the best place for me to have worked. My work ethic really changed in this place, I went from being relaxed and polite, to being relaxed and polite... but moving faster and getting more done. Management was great and my coworkers were the best. Since I left, they haven't considered my for another position in my new town, but I'd definitely – more... work there again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A different experience every day
Human Resource Manager - Clinton (Current Employee), Clinton, NCAugust 21, 2014
Great Company - has a lot to offer it employees.
Eleven years experience, and I have experienced something different every day. I guess that's retail. Lowe's offers the opportunity for advancement for its employees and great benefits. You can apply for positions are different locations, if you are willing to relocate. You have the opportunity to join – more... a team, and feel like you have become apart of a family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee), Temecula, CAAugust 21, 2014
Worked as a seasonal employee for Lowes, enjoyed and will work again for them. Friendly and professional environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All-in-all, good place to work.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Fort Collins, COAugust 21, 2014
I worked at Lowe's for over 5 years. They have great benefits and they even help pay for tuition for any full-time employee. I really liked 99% of my co-workers. The computer system is horribly outdated and it would lag a lot of the time, so that would get frustrating when I was trying to complete orders for customers. Overall, Lowe's treated me very – more... well though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and obtained many skills
Cashier/Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), North Bergen, NJAugust 20, 2014
very friendly co workers
always productive
very busy store
learn many new skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Gainesville, FLAugust 20, 2014
Customer service representative,handle and count large amount of finances,process credit card applications an payments, also make copies, fax or email receipts, file and train new cashiers, input important data for the store manager to taking messages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Administrative Assistant IV (Former Employee), Wilkesboro, NCAugust 20, 2014
Pros: great opportunities
Cons: jobs were eliminated due to department downsizing.
This job was the most challenging for me. I enjoyed everything about the position. I felt like the things I did made a difference. This was the perfect place to grow and expand on your skills and ideas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great associates and a fun place to work
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Fort Mill, SCAugust 20, 2014
Overall great place to work. Customers are typically great management team is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Weak Day Team (Current Employee), Mooresville, NCAugust 20, 2014
Pros: flexible hours and discount on merchandise
Cons: not enough hours, and low pay
Good Company to work for and has good benefits. Co workers
where helpful and a good job atmosphere overall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and loving
Cashier (Former Employee), Panama City, FLAugust 20, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: great lunch and break
wonderful company wonderful co-worker and very lovely work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Lead Receiver/ Stocker (Current Employee), Lexington, SCAugust 20, 2014
I have learnt so much since joining this company in 2011. The brief examples i learnt since working here are leading/ managing multiple employers, fast pace work of difficult task, and multiple ways of providing excellent customer service. This job is great for anyone wanting to be pushed to your limits and be praised for your hard work. It is also – more... the bad part of this job because they do always no matter what expect 120 percent. – less

About Lowe's

No longer a low-profile company, Lowe's Companies has evolved from a regional hardware store operator into a nationwide chain – Read more