Lowe's Employee Reviews

Found 16,095 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed but must stay on task
Recieving (Current Employee) –  Chandler, AZApril 28, 2017
A good company and if you have the drive other options available for moving up and into other departments. Must be motivated to prove yourself and be a team player
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changed
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaApril 28, 2017
Company stagnated. Continued cuts in middle management in stores lose team buy in. Moral is at its lowest and people are jumping ship. Maybe they should cut CEO bonus when they need to trim the fat.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Customer Service Desk Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hinesville, GAApril 28, 2017
There are only a small amount of people in management that actually care about the employees. The environment is stressful and a large amount of the other employees will treat you like trash.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Garner, NCApril 27, 2017
Great company to work for, great pay, just have the wrong people in management! Many chances for advancement if you are a yes man. Over all I did enjoy my time at lowes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and a great learning experience
Assembly (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NYApril 27, 2017
Usually a large number of works come in for morning shift and last up until 4-5pm. It was fun as time flew by really quick without most of us usually noticing. Learned some skills such as building and communicating as a team player. The hardest part about this job is that customers would request assistance despite not knowing anything about that department.
Pros
Long lunch breaks, flexible hours
Cons
Either really busy or nothing to do
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, needs more organization
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Granbury, TXApril 27, 2017
Lowe's needs to focus more on its customers and needs more organization. Needs to hire better people who can do the job properly and need more coverage to have better customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers. Decent pay.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ozark, MOApril 27, 2017
Amazing people work here. Every one of the coworkers that I have met has been extraordinarily nice. They work with you well and are a good company to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prejedice homofobic Employees
Fasility Service Assistiant (Current Employee) –  Santa Fe, NMApril 27, 2017
This job is a life sucking situation, not a one happy employee, including management. The 7,8,9,and 10 day straight day runs will surely make anyone unhappy in no time at all. Something must be done.
Pros
None
Cons
Selfish and greedy
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXApril 27, 2017
Lowes was a great company, they did their best to work around my school schedule. I worked part time they allowed me to make up hours i fneededed.......
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Job not so much the managment
Lawn and garden loader and forklift driver (Former Employee) –  MississippiApril 27, 2017
The job i had was lawn and garden loader i was trained on a forklift and other other equiptment i loved my job i wish i could have stayed but they couldnt work with my schedule and it was only part time
Pros
Room to grow in company trains on equipment fun job keep you heathy
Cons
Short breaks random schedule short hours and part time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable Workplace
Machine Operator/Belt Worker (Former Employee) –  Findlay, OHApril 27, 2017
The other employees were very friendly and there was a comfortable, but focused workplace. Managers would constantly talk to employees and were hands-on.
Pros
Rewarded acheivements
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
understaffed. Good people who care
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLApril 27, 2017
Always busy. Days go fast. Pay not so great. Good people. The customers make it fun. Process controls are lacking. Crisis management seems to be the norm.
Pros
Learn new product knowlege every day. Customers are appreciative of help.
Cons
Low pay, rotating schedules, top down management style.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Negative Environment
Seasonal Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wake Forest, NCApril 27, 2017
Extremely negative environment; very little positive reinforcement; inconsistent scheduling; little room for advancement; unforetold mass seasonal layoffs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Lithonia, GAApril 27, 2017
Friendly co workers, not enough loaders, so their breaks are abused/neglected. So are cashiers. Closing is at 9 on weekdays, but cashiers never get off on time due to customers being allowed to still come in. Once all customers are gone, we have to rush to clock out in time before we get locked inside the store, MANUALLY by management. People have other jobs, etc to go to and can't afford to wait almost twenty minutes. Old system used to ring up customers.
Pros
Benefits, stocks
Cons
Breaks are neglected, not enough workers, high turn over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company if your looking to move up
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 27, 2017
A lot of things to do here
There is a lot of great staff
Great pay, and raises every year
Great hours and over time if wanted
Always busy
Learn a lot
Room for growth
Pros
A lot of hours
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Unload Associate (Former Employee) –  Roeland Park, KSApril 27, 2017
Lowe's was a decent job depending on your position. There was advancement opportunities to receive different positions throughout the store. I would work for them again if I needed to however it would be a HUGE pay cut
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment / Taught me a lot great
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJApril 27, 2017
A typical day consisted of , greeting customers, loading and unloading trucks,shipping and packing merchandise,assisting customers in locating the proper tools and parts they needed to complete work or home improvement projects,measure cut a variety of different materials, stock ,clean /organize merchandise and shelves. This was the type of job were you are learning something new every day there are so many product you can learn about and it also gave me vauable experience in customer service. It also taught me a great deal about conflict resolution,theft control,and how to safely operate tools and machinery. The culture was a very family atmosphere were you work on projects as a team as well as independently.the hardest part of the job was turning an irate customer into a satisfied one by remaining calm and finding a way to change there mind about there thoughts on the service they were unhappy about,turning many into loyal customers.The most enjoyable part of the job was aiding customers with unconventional ways to fix and design their homes and complete projects. I gain valuable work experience in customer service and learned a lot about many different tools and ways to fix things in my own home.
Pros
401k plan, stock options, employee discounts, incentive programs, ect.
Cons
varied work schedule I had to work anytime from 5:30am to 12pm or even overnight
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cashier/Customer Service/lumber associate (Current Employee) –  Warwick, RIApril 27, 2017
overall a very fast paced friendly place to work at managers are all on top of everything making sure all employees get a say and stay safe working together as a team is what i like most and lowes offers that
Pros
lots of hours given
Cons
no benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Milledgeville, GAApril 27, 2017
• Perform cash, check, credit card, and gift card transactions as a front end cashier.
• Assist in returns, outside lawn & garden, and commercial sales.
• Work in other areas of the store as needed.
• Assist customers on sales floor as needed.
Pros
full time benefits
Cons
at this location lots of race and gender discrimination!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greedy people and unstable job
Assembly (Former Employee) –  ArkansasApril 27, 2017
You had to work whatever days they told you to there was no give-and-take. Although they are a big company but they are a very greedy company to work for and could care less about their employees. All they want to do is grow and make more money. All an employee is is just another body standing around like everybody does
Pros
None
Cons
Anything you can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lowe's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 16,558 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

73%
3,615 ratings
Add your rating