Find companies:
Lowe's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,929 reviews

Lowe's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees
Customer services/cashier (Current Employee), Clinton, NCJuly 24, 2014
Most all employees are very friendly and easy to get alone with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes (part-time)
Sales Associate / Unload Associate (Current Employee), Riverview, FLJuly 24, 2014
Pros: company lunch and dinners
Cons: part-time
Productive and fun workplace with good coworkers and management hardest part is getting hour most enjoyable part coworkers and getting paid
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above average
Associate (Former Employee), Frankfort, KYJuly 24, 2014
Great minimum wage job. A good when wanting to get into the customer service field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at Lowes
Outbound Survey Associate/Call Center Associate (Former Employee), Wilkesboro, NCJuly 23, 2014
Pros: it gave me more office and call center experience
Cons: the verbatim survey was boring and tiresome at times.
I worked in the Call Center for Lowes as an Outbound Survey Associate, which means that an auto dialer dialed customers and I asked them scripted survey questions about their installations through Lowes. I learned a lot from this job, such as how different type of installations were done and how long things take to be completed, etc. Management was – more... decent, it changed a lot, which caused some confusion. My coworkers were all amazing people. That is what made the job tolerable. Repeating a verbatim survey hundreds of times a day was very frustrating at times, and the coworkers are what made it tolerable. The hardest part of the job was dealing with some of the Mountain Time and Pacific Time people. They seemed to be the most rude people and would chew you out in a heartbeat. The most enjoyable part of the job was talking to people from all over the country and getting to help them if they were having issues with their installation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviorment
Pallet Jack Operator (Former Employee), Trotwood, OHJuly 23, 2014
Cons: seansonal work.
Receive my training in pallet jack. Worked well with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work envirnoment
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJuly 23, 2014
Managers were great. Just was shocked to know that I was going to be laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work days and friendly environment
Lumber Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pueblo, COJuly 23, 2014
The most valued part of my day is when I know that through out the day that I accomplished something and feel good about my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many chiefs not enough indians
HRM and Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Boardman Oh and Hermitage PaJuly 23, 2014
Pros: met great people
Cons: met untrustworthy evil people
You have your in store management and then the area management staff then the regional management staff then the corporate offices nobody on the same page. As an in store manager you are instructed to run your business, then all the other managers get involved when they shouldn't and nobody is ever on the same page. It is ridiculous. I made a good wage – more... and worked with a lot of great people, but the company as a whole is not employee friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
face paced work environment
Facility Service Associate (Current Employee), Owens Cross Roads, ALJuly 23, 2014
Pros: alway learning, great work environment.
Cons: healthcare, most of the time i do not have time for breaks, when i can not find someone to ask about something i have difficulty with
Lowe's is a great place to work. there is always something to do. I have learned to manage my time more carefully to get all my duties done in the day. management is very helpful and is always there to listen or when you need to talk. my co-workers are excellent and very engaging in activities and conversation. the hardest part of the job is when I – more... do not know what to do with a certain task and no one is available to help. the most enjoyable part of my job is I am always busy. I am never bored and I am always learning something new. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier/Costumer Service (Former Employee), Goose Creek, SCJuly 23, 2014
days went by fast, i learned alot of new things the management was very cool i meet a lot of new people i got along with all co workers, there wasnt anything hard about the job, i enjoyed the job would work their again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was pleasent and some what relaxed customers were mostly pleasant.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Vestal, NYJuly 23, 2014
Pros: pleasing management and environment.
Cons: peers on the lower end made it sometimes unbarable .
I helped people find the materials they needed for their home projects . I found i enjoyed the interaction w/ all the people I encountered and felt good about sending them home w/ what they needed. I was treated like my being there was important and it felt comforting to be needed. Most of the lower floor workers didn't hold much value on their jobs – more... and acted in a manner that was uncaring and unprofessional . It was difficult to feel positive while working w/ your peers . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
receiver/stocker (Current Employee), Waxahachie, TXJuly 23, 2014
Pros: people i work with
unloading trucks, helping customers, managment is awesome they care about their associates. Meeting different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Macon, GAJuly 23, 2014
I am passionate performing well on a job and giving good customer service. I feel I am leader and can lead others into doing well on the job. Having a good experience is key because it is the difference between having a current customer and a recurring customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Macon, GAJuly 23, 2014
I am passionate performing well on a job and giving good customer service. I feel I am leader and can lead others into doing well on the job. Having a good experience is key because it is the difference between having a current customer and a recurring customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic environment with both challenges and rewards
Receiving (Current Employee), PAJuly 22, 2014
Workers who succeed are successful in time management of tasks, despite the ever-changing store atmosphere. They are able to prioritize, both personal and group, projects for timely completion. They take responsibility to familiar all the tools and training needed to complete all tasks, whether they are directly supervised or not directly supervised.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Muskogee, OKJuly 22, 2014
Lowe's is an awesome place to work, we have a very friendly staff. Great customer support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Muncie, INJuly 22, 2014
This was a really fun place to work. I sold appliances to guests and often walked the floor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay good for retail but hard to advance
Department Sales Manager (Current Employee), Quakertown, PAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: scheduling
The pay was not bad but it is very hard to advance. Management seems to be looking out for themselves. Scheduling was horrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Carnegie, PAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: employee discounts, free parking
Cons: schedule
Great company to work for. Various advancement opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but hard to please Store Management
Delivery Department Manager (Former Employee), Joplin, MOJuly 22, 2014
Pros: set schedule
Cons: long hours, overtime was frowned upon, short driver and truck 5 months
Work day/week...
Go into work at 5:30 am, print off delivery tickets for the day, divide tickets and assign to each truck and driver. Pull and load the deliveries on each truck, verify that the correct items were on the trucks to insure inventory accuracy. Once all trucks were loaded and out the gate for the day, started prepping for the next day. Call – more... all customers 1-3 days out to verify delivery times to accurately route the trucks for the day/week. Maintain all truck files with proper registrations in the file and trucks at all times. Maintain all work orders for each truck & be MODOT compliant. Ran and executed all daily and monthly reports and retained all information from each. Supervised a team of 7 employees; which was rated as on of the top safest teams in the region. Constantly took on more and more emergency deliveries that store management added on to our schedule and still expected us to stay at 40 hours/week or below. Depending on locations where deliveries were to be made, that was not possible. But we did our best to go above and beyond to take care of each and every customer. For the past 4-5 months, we were short a box van and a driver short. We averaged over 10,500 miles a month with 4 trucks with about 8,500/month on 2 box vans.

Hardest part...
To get all deliveries out each day/week, being short a driver & truck, and stay within the MODOT regulations on hours of service for the drivers & still maintain a excellent safety record within our region.

Enjoyable part...
Being a part of the safety team
Work schedule...my days started at work at 5:30am and was scheduled til 2:30pm, but I typically never got off on time due to the work load each day, being short a driver and truck. – less

About Lowe's

No longer a low-profile company, Lowe's Companies has evolved from a regional hardware store operator into a nationwide chain – Read more