Find companies:
Lowes Foods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
132 reviews

Lowes Foods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job. Great local company.
Cashier (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCDecember 7, 2014
Working as a cashier for Lowes Foods was my first job. It was a great opportunity to learn more about customer service. The store itself was very well maintained. They have wide variety of products, especially in produce and wines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take care of customers.
Cashier (Former Employee), Gibsonville, NCNovember 29, 2014
This job was very simple. Customers come first so as a cashier you stand at the end of the register and wait for customers to checkout. This job was not challenging enough, I went from running back and forth like a chicken with it's head cut off to standing in one place for hours on end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my typical day at lowes foods
Stocker (Current Employee), Hickory, NCNovember 17, 2014
Pros: friends and great customers
Cons: only part time a few days a week dont get enough hours to pay bills and keep my house up
a typical day at work is as soon as I start my shift time sometimes passes by as long as the store is busy and on how the layout of the store is important for the customers as it is for us. I would also learn each time valuable tools and resources from our management team and fellow co-workers also not having the product for the customer is looking – more... for and helping the customer is enjoyable part of the job is knowing that my department is clean and stocked that I can help out customers and my fellow co-workers each day I do work . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great placed
Deli Worker (Former Employee), Raliegh,NCNovember 14, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: n/a
Lowes Foods is great working place management was great the co-workers was always a helping hand customers were so friendly and so patient to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Dobson, NCOctober 21, 2014
Good people that care about u and show u how to help u and show u how to do the job right
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great company
Grocery Associate (Former Employee), Apex, NCOctober 19, 2014
The work is straining but pay was decent for job. Management had very little control.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all a good place to work. Like all jobs has its ups and downs. Things not as good when I left Youger generation took over. Employees not import
Store General Manager (Former Employee), Sparta, NCOctober 12, 2014
Pros: good pay, benifits good to me and family
Cons: long hours too much time spent away from family
over seeing operations on day by day check departments and personnel
Learned respect, helping others, customer service
Had best employees and co-workers always willing to help
Hardest part of job was having work long hours epically during holidays
Most enjoyable part working with great people caring people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Cake Decorator/Baker (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 8, 2014
Pros: work is great
Cons: health benifets are costly
My day starts out pulling dates of the sales floor and the making a list of products that are needed. Most important items put out first . Then you record known loss. And then you start to make other product you need for backup.The management comes to check on you first thing in the day,and a few times there after to make sure you are doing ok.Other – more... workers from different departments some times help you if you are backed up. Hardest part of the job is you never seem to have enough time to do all the things needed to be done,but the best part is you always have mangers that are wiling to give you a hand – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Debt Collection Clerk (Former Employee), Winston Salem, NCOctober 2, 2014
Good work environment, but not much room to grow. Great management and a very positive atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former cashier holly springs
Cashier (Former Employee), Holly springs ncSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: weekly penny checks
Cons: everything
God awful!They send you to a Disney class across town so it can be postponed without informing anyone.Managers are not professional, never had drug test but yet when the manager acknowledges he forgot to give me one,after responding "go ahead" he responded back with 'why so you can go home and do drugs " told him I don't do drugs after reporting him – more... to my store ,other managers didn't seem to care.This is VERY unprofessional and I should have ended my employment after that but I did soon after.I was also told since I'm applying with open availability that I would get more hours when it turned out I only got 12 a week.Also you only get 15 min break for working up to 7 hrs, this is appalling and ridiculous ,they have open interviews every week but can't give workers there hours .When I had to get paper filled out for social services I had to mail it to Winston Salem after a week I was informed my paper got sent somewhere else that will take 2 more weeks. never in my life have I had such a circus job dealing with clowns this is my worse job ever!If you want to get treated like a rat and don't have bills then this is the perfect job for you, I learned my lesson and I would not recommend working here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is really accomondating
Stocker (Current Employee), Swansboro, NCSeptember 11, 2014
I have recieved many lessons regarding the act of stocking at Lowes Foods. The work that I do, is not a streessful nor is it a demanding workplace, which I love. My co-workers are really great to be around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
IC (Former Employee), Hampstead, NCSeptember 8, 2014
Not enough business to keep peoples work time up. Due to lack of business they cut all hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, fun, productive
Customer Service/Deli (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: flexable schedule
Cons: no scheduled breaks, low pay for hard work
Lowe's is a very fast paced job which I like because, I love to stay busy. I have learned how to prepare different types of meat, cheese, fruit, and sandwich trays. I have been chosen to do weekly food presentations and samplings of different sale items in the store, which assists customers more about the items we have on sale for that week.

Management – more... is wonderful and caring as well as my co-workers. There really is not a hard part about the job as long as you are a fast team player who can think fast as well as pay attention to details.The best part about working at Lowe's is the interacting with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCSeptember 7, 2014
Lowes has a great crew that I work with. Management is good. Pay and compensation is lacking but I think it is just because of the area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job!!
Cashier (Former Employee), Mooresville, NCAugust 30, 2014
I loved working here. My coworkers made it so enjoyable to come to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowe's Foods
Customer Service Leader / Cashier (Former Employee), Boone, NCAugust 11, 2014
Pros: event management experience, great employee/employee relations
Cons: lack of proper communication, scheduling conflicts
While working as a Customer Service Leader at Lowe's, there were many experiences that pushed me forward and created better learning and understanding for me as I continue working with the public. I oversaw the front end and had to work on being an effective manager of people that were my own age--which can be difficult in a mostly college-aged workplace. – more... I met many obstacles in working with customers who were unhappy with products, services, or did not understand our policies. By encountering new and challenging circumstances each day, my communication skills grew and my ability to problem-solve as well as creatively amplify the workspace improved.

Pushing through the moments when the customer is not always right are the situations that were hardest for me. As a leader in a prominent business, our policy is that what makes the customer happy and satisfied, is what our company will provide. There are situations that customer service employees have to discern from though when people are trying to steal or circumvent policy and it is our job to not offend the customer but protect the company as well. That task requires tact and patience, and learning how to properly handle customers who require more attention has required me to step up and use more critical thinking and creativity in standing by policies but understanding how to go about things in a way that does not lead to an unsatisfied or upset customer.

My favorite part of working at Lowe's would be the customers. Yes, customers are also the hardest part of my job--customer service is a double-edged sword by all means. While certain situations and customers can present difficulty in my day-to-day tasks, there are wonderful, unique, interesting people that I have the opportunity to interact with daily. I have made close friends with regular customers, people that I will truly miss speaking to everyday as I leave Lowe's. There is a sense of happiness and pride involved when I can make a person who looks less than happy with their experience so far completely change their opinion or when I have customers speaking to management about my cheery demeanor and how much they appreciate that. As a Customer Service LEADER, it is my responsibility to lead employees in morale, in company policy, and in customer relations. I not only take pride in doing those things, but I truly love being a leader and taking care of my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with friendly people.
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCAugust 6, 2014
Pros: great staff, friendly workplace
In a typical day at work i usually handle around 25-30 customers. I also usually perform all the closing duties. Ive learned great customer service at lowes and how to work under little management at times. Lowes is full of great coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great location had a lot of fun
Cake Decorator (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCJuly 9, 2014
Pros: co-workers were easy to rearrange schedules.
Cons: location closed
other managers were easy to work with. employees were very happy. Customers always came first which made job easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in sales and leading people
Fulltime Office Clerk (Current Employee), Advance, NCJuly 8, 2014
In a typical day as a Lowes Foods office clerk, I make sure every cashier and bagger are doing their job properly and efficiently. Make sure everyone shows great customer service. I work close side with the store and assistant store manager. I manage the front end on my own. I count down tills and reconcile them. I also am in charge of all loans and – more... pickups over that shift. I close down the office by counting the safe and the office drawer, and also making sure all tills are balanced. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes Foods
Cashier (Former Employee), Mebane, NCJune 25, 2014
Pros: child hunger food bags foundation
Cons: not enough hours
The management isn't "in-tune" with their employees, poor scheduling, 0 communication from management to employees.

1 2 3 4 5

About Lowes Foods

Lowe's Food Stores operates a chain of more than 100 supermarkets in North Carolina, South Carolina, and Virginia. The stores – Read more