Lutheran Services of Georgia Employee Reviews

Showing all 20 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most enjoyable part of the job
Regional Intake Manager, Regions (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GADecember 4, 2016
The most enjoyable part was the ability to work with staff with whom I worked with at other agencies. I was able to hire those who I knew would be the best to support the job. They did an excellent job with recruitment and supporting the intellectually disabled individual whom we supported. Unfortunately, Lutheran Services has subsequently left Region 2.
Pros
Location of office
Cons
Staff in the Athens office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New leadership needed
Management (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 28, 2016
Core of new and innovative senior level managers needed. Company has a culture of favoritism and closed door decision making. Staff are friendly and dedicated to the work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging rewarding place to work
Support Companion (Former Employee) –  Athens, GANovember 18, 2016
I appreciated having the opportunity to work with the population of people I worked with. It was very challenging and rewarding I really
liked my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LSG has admirable goals, however management does not seem willing to evolve to improve service delivery.
Lead Case Manager/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GASeptember 23, 2016
Company philosophy was unrealistic as related to growth. Refusal to adapt to changes placed undue pressure on Managers to attempt to grow by not being able to provide needed services. Co-workers were wonderful to work with, but shared frustration with management philosophy. Most enjoyable part of the job was working with and providing the services needed by the program participants.
Pros
Co-workers, compensation
Cons
Upper management's "Ivory Tower" attitude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was with the old administration a great place to work.
Advocate/State manager of intake (Former Employee) –  GeorgiaJuly 9, 2016
Networking evaluating individuals with disabilities. Interviewing, evaluating their needs and matching them to a home.

I learned how to work with families and how to value peoples differences

I could walk into my managers office any time there was a lot of support

Meeting families and individuals and not having the resources to meet their needs.

Building new relationships, seeing them happy. I learned so much about people with disabilities and behavioral issues.
Pros
The people I worked with and served
Cons
Not being able to meet every ones needs
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Network Administrator Intern (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 16, 2016
This is a great company to work for! Fortune 500 company, and your experience will defenteliy be what you make, so make the most out of it
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family feeling work place.
Volunteer work for nonprofit organization (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAApril 4, 2016
I loved the desk life and helping out those i did get to help. I gained a lot of knowledge from the organization. the managers and co- workers were amazing when i did come in and help. I disliked when the families were going through those situations. my customer service skills where advanced.
Pros
The experience.
Cons
Lack of hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good non-profit
Assistant Job Developer/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 18, 2015
Good spirit minded non-profit possessing a multi-cultural workforce. Major concern was its dependence on
federal/State grants.
Pros
Great diverse muti-cultural work force.
Cons
Ttally dependent on state/federal grants
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low level departmental managers will dump everything on you
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 22, 2015
No support from department managers.
Overworked
underpaid
Department managers will dump everything on you expecting you to share working on their responsibilities.
Pros
diverse staff from different cultures
Cons
No support from department managers
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment, little pay
Social Work Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAFebruary 21, 2015
Great work environment. Rewarding when working with clients, however advancement is limited. Co-workers were absolutely wonderful and supportive, however, some upper management not supportive.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
little pay, advancement potential, odd hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 21, 2014
After years of service, the agency will let you go with no warning. Overwork, ridiculous caseload
High staff turnover. Doesn't matter if you're upper management or a case manager.
Pros
SOME of the staff are supportive and professional.
Cons
untrained supervisors, unprofessional direct care staff, low staff morale, no opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, office environment and location.
Mobile Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 2, 2014
Mission driven organization, statewide offices, headquarters in Atlanta, Ga.
Pros
Great of street parking available
Cons
Limited career growth options
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding opportunity to work with children and families
Social Service Professional (Former Employee) –  GeorgiaAugust 27, 2014
The organization provides a wonderful opportunity for professionals to work with children in families. However, the organizational structure and the overwhelming workload and responsibilities contributes to burnout among the most dedicated employees. Inconsistencies in policy and practices can be discouraging.
Pros
Flexibility, diverse client population
Cons
Exhaustive workload, difficulty balancing work/personal life, system challenges.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall welcoming environment
Reception and Placement (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 13, 2013
Great place to work. The staff is very friendly and the communication runs smoothly most of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A non-profit full of busy, hardworking professionals.
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 22, 2013
Flexible scheduling and ability to work from home in certain positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 26, 2013
NonProfit organization. Worked mainly with Refugee's
Assisted with the Adoption, Foster Care departments also.
Pros
meeting different people
Cons
laungage barrier
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax place to work
Adoption Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 4, 2012
As long as you don't care about advancing in your career, or earning a decent amount of money, then this place would be a fit for you.
Pros
work/life balance
Cons
no advancement opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social Services in Non-Profit
Foster Care Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 4, 2012
Short time, but I enjoyed working with the clients very much.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive and team oriented work environment
Adoption Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAJune 28, 2012
There are no typical work days at Lutheran Services. The primary focus of the agency is to provide services to children and families therefore the work load and issues vary from day to day.
Upper management is also very supportive and assist staff in reaching agency goals.
The most enjoyable part of my job was working with and connecting families to children in the foster care system for the purpose of adoption.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lutheran Services of Georgia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
3.1

Lutheran Services of Georgia Reviews by Location