LUTHERAN SOCIAL MINISTRIES Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 23 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balance
Aide (Current Employee) –  New JerseyOctober 12, 2017
I like going to work most days. My work friends care for me and help be the best that I can be. Resident care is not always easy but we work as a team to get it done.
Pros
Live close to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Employee (Current Employee) –  New JerseyOctober 12, 2017
I enjoy working at LSMNJ. The staff are kind. The hours are fair and the work load is not bad. The company has a vision and is working hard to achieve it’s goal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work your butt off and get stabbed in the back.
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Camden, NJSeptember 5, 2017
No matter how many years you work for this company, it doesn't matter.
The corporate people are low class back stabbers.
I was not treated fairly, although I worked alone for years, about 20 to be exact.
When the corporate people come around they criticize and see who they can terminate to save money.
And then they will turn around and hire part timers with no benefits.
But there is always useless executives being hired all the time.
They sit in their new corporate office and play video games all day.
CANNOT RECOMMEND.
Pros
Free air.
Cons
Corporate people are the enemy of the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
God split from this joint long ago.....
RN (Former Employee) –  Moorestown, NJSeptember 5, 2017
It all sounded so good and sweet at first but I walked into a nightmare.
I found myself working alone, no supplies, no help, others walking around aimlessly - however, corporate always seems to find the money to hire useless executives. I should have realized that there was a problem by the number of vacancies in this low class organization.
As far as nurses go, NOT good. Don't know about others.
Corporate people need to go back to school and learn how to communicate with people.
Pros
Close to home.
Cons
Poor benefits, poor salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a BIG mistake.....
LPN Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  Moorestown, NJAugust 30, 2017
Weĺl as aresult of being an LPN I was always respected but not this time.
I worked alone, my calls were ignored, my schedule changed daily, no direction, little patient contact, other nurses waĺking around aimlessly.
This low class organization should NOT be in business.
Sadly but true, it is NOT for nurses or anyone
Pros
I found another job
Cons
Too much to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back !!!
RN (Former Employee) –  West Caldwell, NJAugust 18, 2017
God's Love and The Holy Spirit ??? Couldn't be more bologna , this con artist organization is all about profit.
I was promised a decent salary and it never came through.
After several calls were ignored and one month later I quit.
Now I realize why there are so many vacancies within this company.
Because the corporate people are lying backstabbers.
Pros
Nice residents.
Cons
Corporate staff are garbage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended .....
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  West Caldwell, NJAugust 14, 2017
I cannot say that my experience was good because it was not.
A new HR and Housing crew came in and fired many employees for nonsense.
It was obviously to save money, but what about God's Love??
Don't make me laugh.
These cronies just want to stuff green cash into their pockets.
What a bunch of garbage...
Pros
Free water, close to home.
Cons
Space does not allow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a wake up call ......
Housing Counselor (Former Employee) –  Burlington County, NJAugust 4, 2017
I really believed that the LSMNJ group was sincere and as a result I worked my tail off.
But I learned that good employees go nowhere within this phony organization and their main concern is to make green cash.
New mgmt. team took over and terminated many long term employees for unknown reasons.
Then part timers were hired.
This organization belongs under a slimy rock.
Pros
I got a free pencil.
Cons
cut throat management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I made a big mistake.....
Housing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Burlington County, NJAugust 4, 2017
When I read about God's Love and The Holy Spirit, I was very excited.
But after working for the LSMNJ organization I realized what they are all about.
They have one goal in mind and that is to make cash at any price.
These people are garbage.
I would not recommend this group to anyone nor would I have any loved one of mine live in any building that was managed by this organization.
Pros
I'm no longer there....
Cons
Space does not allow...
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
God's Love and the Holy Spirit?? What a joke....
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burlington, NJJuly 17, 2017
I worked for this company for 5 years and it was the biggest mistake of my life. A new HR and Housing Director recently took over and terminated many long standing employees. For reasons that were either made up or ridiculous. This company is all about profit, don't be fooled by their mission statement about God's Love Or the Holy Spirit. Couldn't be further from the truth. These phonies are all about profit. When I worked for them, they wouldn't put any capital into falling down bldgs. And residents had to wait months for simple items like a light bulb or toilet seat.
Please stay away from this sinister organization.
Pros
Residents, some employees, free air, close to home.
Cons
Managers who could care less about employees or residents, extremely expensive health insurance, time off policy that is a joke, and everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misleading.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Old Bridge, NJJuly 10, 2017
LSMNJ recently moved into a new multimillion dollar headquarters in Burlington, NJ. And for a non profit organization that puts themselves before the residents, where is the priority?
I have known of residents waiting months for a toilet seat and a shower rod. How can they do this?
LSMNJ mgmt are locked in their ivory tower while the residents have to fight for a toilet seat.
I cannot recommend this organization to anyone.
And if anyone is contemplating working for this phoney organization, I suggest that you check yourself into a psychiatric hospital immediately. RUN! !!!!
Pros
Residents, some employees.
Cons
Mgmt are unapproachable, very expensive health insurance, bldgs falling apart.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my first choice. Run !!!
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Old Bridge, NJJuly 3, 2017
I can't be in favor of an organization that is all about profit. Plus, they use God in their mission statement.
What rats!! They just moved into a multi million dollar headquarters. They made this possible by squeezing residents and employees dry.
Residents have to wait months for a toilet seat.
DON'T Do IT!!!!
Pros
Can't think of any.
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Administrative (Current Employee) –  New JerseyJune 15, 2017
The people that I work with are always friendly and helpful. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping others. They have good benefits and I really enjoy working for my manager.
Pros
friendly co-workers, good benefits even for part-time
Cons
fast-paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Your Typical Church Folk Here....
Former (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJMarch 22, 2017
It's a non profit run like a for profit corporation. Turnover is very high. Management does not care. Their mission statement needs to be changed, God is no where to be found here.
Pros
Some Co-Workers
Cons
They fire people at the drop of a hat
Was this review helpful?Yes 33NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never Again..
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Camden, NJMarch 11, 2017
Don't be fooled by the name of the company. These people are snakes and could care less about their employees. Very expensive benefits and a housing Dept that is run by an inexperienced young individual.
They can't keep maintenance people or nurses.
They are all about profit, period. Stay away from these snakes.
Pros
Free air.
Cons
HR will terminate for no reason. Housing mgmt is a snake.
Was this review helpful?Yes 34NoReport

Comment – September 1, 2017

This company sucks ! Unfortunately, the reviews are true.
I tried not to believe it but I was disappointed.
I was lied to and then stabbed in the back.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Quality
LPN Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  Moorestown, NJJune 16, 2016
I worked this company last year and I quit after 2 months. It's below Par and I wouldn't recommend it to any nurse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run!
former employee (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 19, 2015
This company does not represent "nonprofit" organizations well AT ALL. Their claim "your need is our mission", is false. All this organization cares about is how they can make the most PROFIT that they possibly can and can care less about the residents in the home. As stated previously in another review the home is always understaffed but yet find the money to hire these USELESS executives. The turnover rate is very high here because this company could care less about their staff. Management have terrible interpersonal skills and lack the ability to realize that a "title" does not make you a good manager. If you decide to accept an employment opportunity here just make it temporary. This is not somewhere to stay longterm.
Pros
working with the residents
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 64No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad leadership
Administration (Former Employee) –  MoorestownApril 6, 2015
As a former employee and with extensive background in business management, I can honestly say run. Poor leadership, high staff turnover, out dated equipment and supplies. Bad food and an unapproachable management system have created a low moral working environment.
Pros
They used to have a ex military guy who was great but I think he left
Cons
Too long to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 66No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Residents have no Voice
Nobody (Former Employee) –  Sayreville & PiscatawayApril 4, 2015
This group home is managed poorly. There is no support for group home management and staff. The quality of food for the resident is very poor as well as the quality of their furniture, Lutheran should be a shame of themselves!!!! They only care about managers!!!everyone else is a nobody!!!! especially the staff who takes care of the residents.
Pros
Great Residents
Cons
Poor management and low grade staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 59No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run!!!
Staff nurse (Current Employee) –  MoorestownFebruary 26, 2015
I am a current employee and I can not recommend this place to anyone. The pay for nurses is the lowest I've ever seen, there is NO support from upper management, and they cut staff to save money...all while putting patients at risk. While we work short staffed due to the "budget" they hire new executive staff...of course no one knows exactly what they do, but their pay is in the budget. Upper management ( ADON, most nursing supervisors) are unapproachable and defensive. Supervisors shop online during working hours while staff nurses run themselves ragged and are told they need to interview potential new employeee during their shift. I didn't know I also worked in HR! Overall, very disappointing experience working here. When everyone on the payroll is looking for new jobs (and I do mean everyone) its a good indicator as to how the business is being run. My advice....look elsewhere.
Pros
I enjoy working with the patients
Cons
read review
Was this review helpful?Yes 102No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at LUTHERAN SOCIAL MINISTRIES. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

1.8
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
1.9
Compensation/Benefits
1.9
Job Security/Advancement
1.6
Management
1.8
Culture
2.0

LUTHERAN SOCIAL MINISTRIES Reviews by Location