Find companies:
Lutheran Social Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
261 reviews

Lutheran Social Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Job
Youth Specialist /Transportation Coordinator (Current Employee), 1525 North Ritter AveAugust 25, 2014
Pros: that you get to break bread with the youth have a conversation with them/
Cons: you dont get your own personal break and when you do its only 30 minutes.
Fast pace job, can be stressful at times. Learn more about youth with disorders and personal issues in life. Management can be non-caring and not consistent enough for this type of field. Co-worker can be more compassion at their jobs than just a pay check. The hardest part is when you cant help a youth get to the other place in their journey, the enjoyable – more... part is when you have successfully help an youth and you see it on their face, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable & Fulfilling
DSP (Current Employee), Shoreview, MNAugust 20, 2014
Pros: great employee compensation, positive vibes, great goals
LSS is a non-profit company that serves vulnerable adults. As an employee for LSS, we strive to provide effective assistance to the individuals living in our homes so that they feel content as well as independent throughout their daily lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Child Care Counselor
Family Services Child Care Counselor (Current Employee), Jamestown, NYAugust 18, 2014
Work in a house with seven teenage boys. I would do paper work on the computer. A lot of typing. I would make sure they are living in a safe environment. I would communicate with fellow staff and youth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Direct Care Worker (CNA) (Former Employee), St. Croix Virgin IslandsAugust 18, 2014
Pros: clients
Cons: death
working in a 24hrs facility I work the 3rd shift again assist clients with their daily needs co-worker were great all got along pretty well environment was great up and down as any job would have but we had a lot better up than down
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Learning Experience
EMERGENCY SERVICES COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INAugust 9, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: was emergency assistance only, never got to see what happened "after"
I helped people in financial crisis. We helped families with rent, utilities, work clothes, or any other assistance needed. I learned a lot about writing grants and all that entails, The management was good, My co-workers were great and everyone worked together well. The hardest part of the job was seeing those in desperate need of help or they would – more... lose their home, heat, or couldn't get to work because they didn't have any money left over for gas. It was a good experience for me there also because I had never had to stand up and present programs before large groups of people or defend our need for funding to grantor. I feel that was the most valuable learning experience I have had in my work history. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place and friendly staff
Intern (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 8, 2014
I gained a lot experience from coworkers and staff through positive feedback. I also improved my communication skills by interacting with clients face to face and over the phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decenct Workplace
DSP/ CRMA (Current Employee), Westbrook/ Auburn MaineAugust 6, 2014
Not a high paying company but there are some great DSPs and some wonderful supervisors. Because the pay is not great there are also some individuals who are not the most professional and this seems to slip through the cracks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and service
Case Manager (Current Employee), Omaha, NEJuly 29, 2014
If u like selling, buying and interacting with people of different backgrounds both co-workers and customers it's a good place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work!
Childcare Worker (Former Employee), Forest Park, ILJuly 28, 2014
Pros: free meals and a chance to help others who are in need.
Cons: unpredictable work environment.
This job choice is one for helping people who have had a difficult life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Workplace
Residential Program Assistant (Former Employee), Monroe, MIJuly 28, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job was caring for the patients, and helping make the best of their life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
AOD Counselor (Former Employee), Big Bear Lake, CAJuly 28, 2014
Educate student referred to my office for counseling about the cause and effects of substance abuse. Counsel student’s in the age group of 8-14 Junior High and 15-18 Senior High School students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmoshpere
CNA (Former Employee), Falconer, NYJuly 25, 2014
I loved my residents I cared for and my coworkers were great people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
DSP (Former Employee), White Bear and Shoreview, MNJuly 23, 2014
Rewarding and challenging, ful-filling work place. Work load was always a challenge and each day was full of different things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Family Oriented
Resident Program Aide (Current Employee), Muskegon, MIJuly 22, 2014
Pros: free meals, cna experience
Cons: no breaks
typical day at work. Counting medications before med pass and after, transporting, preparing meals and prep meals for next day. Direct Care, Cleaning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
home like atmosphere
LPN/Charge Nurse (Former Employee), Shrewsbury, PAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: excellent pay
Cons: management disconnection with work load
More of a home like feel then a nursing home. It was a really great group of people to work with. I worked third shift, on which we had a nightly crew of late night residents. The hardest part of the job was working with a minimal staff, which did not allow for a adequate amount of time to be spent with individuals. the most enjoyable part of my job – more... was just being a part of each of the residents life on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Workplace.
Master Child Welfare Specialist (Current Employee), Des Plaines, ILJuly 14, 2014
A great agency to work for. They really care about their employees. The work is challenging but rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for college students
Juvenile Tracker (Former Employee), Grand Forks, NDJuly 9, 2014
Pros: good hours for college student
Cons: work every weekend
Administered drug and alcohol tests to juvenile delinquents at night.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring Work Environment
Licensed Child Welfare Specialist (Former Employee), Rockford, ILJuly 1, 2014
Overall great place to work for, but limited opportunity to move up in company, as well as benefits are marginal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying and helping job
Social Service Assistant (Current Employee), Midland, MIJune 24, 2014
A normal day consists of me helping disabled persons live their daily lives as normally as possible. I do different things such as bathing, dressing, cleaning, and assisting with eating. The most important thing I've learned is to not take anything in life for granted because it won't always be there. My co-workers are important to my job because we – more... team up to help our clients with what they need. The hardest part of the job is seeing people not be able to do things that most take for granted. The most enjoyable part of the job is how appreciative my clients are for helping them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship experience.
Refurbishing and Technical Assistant (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLJune 23, 2014
If you want get more hands on with old technology this is definitely a place to get your feet wet.

About Lutheran Social Services

Lutheran Social Services of Michigan (LSSM) creates communities of service. We walk with people in need, offering hope and compassion – Read more