Lutron Electronics Employee Reviews

Found 45 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Job is Nice
Project Computer Engineer (Current Employee) –  Coopersburg, PAMay 21, 2017
Amazing work culture and ethics in the company. Work with fairly new technology and solve challenging problems. Timing is flexible but everyone generally does 8 to 5.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Empoyer
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Business AnalystApril 26, 2017
Good to work, i would need to handle the work life balance . looking for a Challenging position with Functional Business Analyst surrounding to my locality
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment.
Administrative Projects Specialist (Former Employee) –  Coopersburg, PAApril 26, 2017
Fast paced environment dealing with various departments and levels of management on a daily basis. Daily contact with internal employees as well as external vendors, suppliers, potential and existing customers.
Pros
Cafeteria on-site, rural setting.
Cons
Fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique Work Envirnoment
Sales Operations (Current Employee) –  Coopersburg, PAApril 23, 2017
Lutron provides a unique atmosphere that encourages its employees to share ideas openly and grow both personally and professionally. It is a high paced environment that allows for both independent and group projects.
Pros
Allows for open advancement - not ladder promotions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run The Other Way
Technical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ashland, VAMarch 21, 2017
The place is horrible It has gone through 3 plant managers in which 2 of them Don't know anything at all about running a company just working people 10 hours and treating them like garbage.NO work life balance of what so ever. There's way to much micromanaging going on and shadiness.. It all boils down to if you don't want to have a life, talked down to on a daily basis and working at a high school Then this place is for you. Enter at your own risk .
Pros
Good Insurance
Cons
two ten min breaks, no work life balance, poor management, HORRIBLE communication The list goes on
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good place to work, just was not hiring
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAFebruary 21, 2017
a nice place to work, people there are very nice. learned how prep orders, build product which was electric switches. the management was great. cannot really think of anything hard about working there. overall I liked everything I did there including inventory.
Pros
the people
Cons
no permanent job
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products you can stand behind
Sales (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 8, 2017
A unique company with an unusual approach to business. Really care about employees and customers. Great quality products that you can feel comfortable sharing with clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical line assembly, good environment
Line Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  Alburtis, PADecember 25, 2016
Slightly repetitious working on final assembly of product. Different lines and tasks to do daily depending on which product needs to be made. Typical factory/line work, but if you are interested in electronics the environment is perfect for learning and broadening knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workers, horrible management
Specialist Technical Assistant (Former Employee) –  11520 Sunny Shade Ln Ashland VA 23005November 28, 2016
Favoritism and bias run rampant. If you do anything to get on someones bad side, you'll soon be out the door or treated like the scourge of the earth. I absolutely loved the people I worked with and work itself is not difficult. The pay and benefits were good, but not worth all the plop you had to deal with on a daily basis. The HR constantly claims to 'care' but managers that have no right to manage are just recycled into different roles where they continue to make any chance of growth stifled. Safety concerns are a joke, and the reaction to safety issues is just as laughable. The company is wasteful in many aspects of what it does, and it's amazing how it can turn a profit, except that they price gouge people for an item that they have locked the market on. If you can deal with the headache, long hours and constantly having to give up what you want for a company that doesn't appreciate what you do, this place is for you.
Pros
Pay, Benefits
Cons
Horrible HR and Management
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produtive
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PANovember 19, 2016
I like it is a good company, good benefits perfect schedule for me everything is organized and in order and good work team. Nice place for work.......
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Database Administrator (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAOctober 5, 2016
Lutron Electrons was an okay place to work for, however the workplace could have been more organized as well as have better management along with a cleaner environment.
Pros
Easy tasks
Cons
Not well organized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place, great people good company
iOS Application Developer (Current Employee) –  Coopersburg, PAOctober 4, 2016
Excellent place to work. very supportive people and very good management group.employee benefits also very good. career growth also very good as always more opportunities to explore on different tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and Fun place to work
Specialists Technical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Coopersburg, PAJuly 10, 2016
Working for Lutron is exciting and the work is a challenge. Always keeping us on our toes and thinking 2 steps ahead. The most enjoyable part of the job is having the wellness week for all employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun working with Lutron
Returned Goods Processor (Current Employee) –  BregnsvileMay 19, 2016
i worked in the Returned Goods Management and worked on a 8 hour shift Monday to Friday. During peak periods and high seasons we could be called upon to do overtime.
Being a small department with 12 employees and a supervisor, we worked closely as a team. There were regular safety meting drills to ensure that the employed were aware of the safety regulations in the warehouse.
I enjoyed working with co-workers and referred to each other by our first names.Thr training program was thorough and intensive but at the end you your were able to cope with the work.
Pros
Teamwork and close working relationships.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse work
OGA (Former Employee) –  Mechanicsville, VAFebruary 23, 2016
Palletizing roller shades after they come off the assembly line. Lots of heavy lifting and lots of bending over. Very physical job and a fast paced environment.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work!
Embedded Developer Intern (Former Employee) –  Coopersburg, PAFebruary 15, 2016
Lutron is placed in coopersburg. Its away from the city. They good excellent work but most of their work is just focused on the lighting industry. Nice place to for entry level positions. It's a fairly small city.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Inside Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Coopersburg, PAFebruary 7, 2016
A typical day at work involves mainly telephone calls to existing Lutron customers to sell enhanced warranties on their lighting systems, or upgrades. I enjoy the selling aspect of my role, however I find this company is not exactly progressive. Many of my co-workers have been at the company for many years, and seem to be content at their current role. I feel I have outgrown my current position, but the culture is to have been at the company for 3 years in a role before being considered for advancement. The majority of management are competent, smart individuals.

This is a solid company and I have enjoyed my time here, however I am very interested and motivated for a customer facing sales position with a training program to challenge me further.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Poor Managers
Engineering Technician (Current Employee) –  Coopersburg, PADecember 11, 2015
There are a lot of intelligent people who are incredibly talented but are held back from achieving greatness. This company focuses heavily on titles and is held up by a lot of bureaucracy. A person's potential is limited by their initial title at time of hire, which is dictated by the name of their degree. Career paths, organizational changes and even process changes are kept secret. Some managers intentionally block their employees from learning about opportunities to grow within the organization. The rules are different for certain people - not everyone is treated fairly. Certain employees are pushed up into management positions while some others are pushed back "into the box".

Any man who is fortunate enough to have a good supervisor at this company has a chance for a successful career. This is a great place to learn a lot about the industry, but is not a great place for women to advance their careers.

Many people and some managers are amazing to work with. Those are the people who are willing to stop what they're doing to help you out. Some team leaders are incredibly encouraging when a team member shows initiative, helping to guide them so that they can find ways to improve processes and enhance their careers. The rest of the managers should learn from these examples.

There is a strong focus on health and wellness. The company encourages sport groups and frequently hosts wellness activities on campus. The person who leads the wellness initiatives does an amazing job of not only promoting these activities but also engaging other employees in developing
  more... and organizing events.  less
Pros
Wellness Initiatives
Cons
Career Stagnation, Bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?Yes20No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Office Clerk/Data Entry (Former Employee) –  St.KittsOctober 7, 2015
Ten employees had to filled a customer order of 240 Lighting Dimmers in half and hour. My co-workers are reliable and efficient.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
Short breaks, HealthCare
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management, Smart People
Project Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Coopersburg, PAMarch 22, 2015
The people there are really very nice and intelligent people but the management is god-awful. All rules are handed down from the 90-year old owner. There's still a dress code and rigid hours even for the engineers. Furthermore, younger engineers can expect to work even longer hours to meet ridiculous deadlines on poorly managed projects. It's a great place to start your career and you'll learn a lot but get out as soon as you can.
Pros
Good experience, they give responsibilities to younger employees, overall nice people
Cons
Horrendous work-life balance, old-fashioned culture, horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes35No5Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lutron Electronics. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 51 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

90%
20 ratings
Add your rating