Lycoming College Employee Reviews

Showing all 28 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It depends
Student Development Officer (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, PAMay 17, 2017
Depending on what department you are in, depends on what time of experience you have. Some positions are busier than others. For example, if you work in Infromational Technology versus the registrars office.
Pros
Free tuition depending on years worked
Cons
Very wishy washy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The institution has changed for the better.
Vice President and Treasurer (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, PAMay 9, 2017
The CEO that I worked for at the College has retired as serving the institution for too many years. The new President has been well received and the change in leadership has been good for the College.
Pros
Free tuition
Cons
Isolated location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Facility Maintenace (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, PAMay 1, 2017
i worked there while in college. the supervisor was very helpful and worked around my class schedule. perfect job for full time student. student. i would do it again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
safe and security (Current Employee) –  Williamsport, PAFebruary 21, 2017
VERY Liberal. hard to work at, and with the administration. They have there heads in the sand doooooo deep they never see the sun. Stay away unles U libe like an ostridge with your head in the sand
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lycoming college was an enjoyable place to work.
Receiver (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, PAJanuary 25, 2017
my typical day of work consisted to keeping the coolers, freezers, and dry storage areas organized.i learned things from what students could or could not have.the management was superb,as they made sure every thing was fresh and properly prepared.the work place culture was pleasant. everyone was carefree and out going.
Pros
the hours
Cons
lay offs during the summers and holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good , friendly and respectful people
Archeological Volunteer & Assistant to supervisor (Former Employee) –  AmericaJanuary 22, 2017
Start the day early 05:30 , pack all equipment for excavation and walk up to the site.
Setting up equipment
hard labor such as leveling with pick axe, hoe and others.
Strategic placing of re bars and perimeter for subject site locations , supervising the pits and cleaning pot fragments as well as possible ancient findings , sketching contour mapping of the pits.

I learnt many things such as supervising and the sheer hard work needed to do this job.

Although the extreme heat got to many of us it was a lovely experience as we journeyed to many historical places and learnt the situation of them. I had the opportunity to meet foreign people from America , London , Poland , all over Europe.
Pros
Beautiful historical scenery
Cons
hard labor in intense heat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple minimum wage jobs available
Matrix Algebra, Combinatorics, and Precalc Tutor (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, PAJanuary 8, 2017
I worked many different jobs while I attended Lycoming such as: food service, theater costume dept, mathematics tutor as well as grader, and a personal tutor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to keep busy and make your day go quick
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Williamsport, PANovember 30, 2016
I remove trash from the dorms. Then I clean the bathrooms, halls and stair wells. Usually get a couple of work orders to change light bulbs.

I've learned how to strip and buff floors

Management is Lackluster

My co workers are fun to be around

The hardest part of the job is trash removal when the students move out in May

The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with the students
Pros
Use of the gym equipment
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small space but a great staff
Telemarketer (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, PAMarch 24, 2016
I worked here when I attended school here. My work days were short and my classmates were also my co-workers. This was a difficult job only because of the constant hang-ups and short phone calls. I had i nice time and a wonderful working experience.
Cons
Short Hours, Low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible
Tutor and Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Williamsport, PANovember 7, 2015
Part-Time while going to Lycoming.
All your co-workers are your fellow peers.
Most enjoyable part is helping others excel in mathematics.
The Math and Education Departments are very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about Lycoming College?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to develop interpersonal skills
Resident Assistant (Current Employee) –  Williamsport, PANovember 7, 2015
As a college student I strive to participate in as many activities as I can and Lycoming provides many areas of interest where I can go into.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lycoming College
Assistant to the Field Director (Former Employee) –  Montoursville, PASeptember 24, 2015
I worked in the dining services department for Lycoming College. It was enjyable work because the people I worked with were great and funny. I learned about food saftey and managment.
Pros
fun people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good balance of work and study
Grounds Assistant (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, PASeptember 18, 2015
The school employed students so it was nice to work along side of my fellow students. The way the school set up the work schedule gave a good balance of time to work with plenty of time to study.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lycoming College, more than a small liberal arts college
Adjunct Professor (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Williamsport, PAMay 24, 2015
Working here has been a growing experience and enriched my life in ways I didn't expect. The size of the school allows for getting to the heart of learning on an individual level. The community is extremely supportive. This is fertile ground for reaching one's goals.
Pros
Beautiful place, supportice faculty and staff, knowageable academics
Cons
Very small town, inclement weather
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Environment was good
Crew (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, PAJanuary 24, 2015
Good environment to work in. They supported you in everything and provided advice and reviews to improve your skills
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Final College Experience
Director (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, PADecember 4, 2014
For my final college project, I directed and designed two separate productions at the same time. I learned managing and planning skills along with the full directing and design process including presenting thematic ideas, creating prompt books, analyzing scripts, casting actors, and more. The theatre department is extremely supportive and I am glad to have had such a strong collaborative team. The hardest part of the job was balancing hours of planning and rehearsals with life, as rehearsals would often last until later than 11:00pm after a day of classes. The most enjoyable part of the job was watching the evolution and improvement of the shows and seeing the final products.
Pros
small classes, collaborative teams, hands-on experience, multitasking
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Work Place
Student Programs and Leadership Development (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, PAAugust 25, 2014
Working for Lycoming College was fun, convenient, and an amazing learning experience in Reception and Desk Work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Music Department: great faculty, mediocre students
Piano Teacher/Accompanist (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, PAMay 23, 2014
Lycoming College offers wonderful opportunities for students that want to pursue music professionally within the Williamsport area. The small school size fosters relationships between students and faculty that would normally not be found at a larger school. This close contact between student and faculty makes it easier for the student to excel. However, most of the students do not have standard college level knowledge and/or skills. The music department has only about a dozen music majors out of 1500 students. The skill level of the students in the ensembles matches that of a serious middle school or an average high school.
Pros
professional faculty
Cons
unmotivated students, sub-par musical skills
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Balance of Work and Freedom
Music (Jazz) Historian/Librarian (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, PAMay 20, 2014
Considering this was a work-study type of job, my experience was not bad. I had originally fallen into this position when the previous Historian/Librarian graduated and chose me as her replacement. The work is easy (although tedious) and having the ability to work around my own schedule was a plus. As long as the work gets done nobody really cares when exactly it got done.
That freedom of choosing my own hours did have a slight negative effect though - I learned the hard way in my first week or so that you cannot slack off too much. I had to rush to make sure everything was ready for practice. After vowing to never do that again, I eventually fell into a routine which allowed me freedom in my schedule yet left me with enough time to get everything done.
The most enjoyable part of the job for me was being able to be a part of the performance behind-the-scenes. While I was in the ensemble itself, I gained a certain satisfaction from knowing I was also helping to improve the group by working with the conductor(s) and choosing the music, etc.
Pros
work around your own schedule
Cons
assignments can be tedious at times
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Liberal Arts Work Experience
Video Spokesperson, Tour Guide, Writing Tutor (Current Employee) –  College Relations, Admissions, Writing CenterJanuary 28, 2014
As a student and an employee of Lycoming College, I've developed a cacophony of professional skills. From working directly with the marketing department as a video spokesperson to produce informative, yet fun online videos to working one-on-one with fellow students in Lycoming's writing center as a writing tutor, I've learned almost as much from my work experiences as I have from my individual classes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lycoming College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1

Lycoming College Reviews by Location