Find companies:
Lyft
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Lyft Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Service, Better In Larger Markets
Driver (Current Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 30, 2014
Pros: work-life balance, pay, safety measures
Cons: no real opportunity to move up from driving
I enjoy Lyft driving. I started it after losing my job. It's perfect for me as a single parent, because I drive during the day while my child is in school. I just wish I lived in a more progressive city. More riders, more money. I do okay for now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here it's a scam!!
Driver (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: absolutely none
Cons: i don't have enough space to even begin
Any positive reviews for this company are obviously just from the company itself. No intelligent person would believe this is actually a real opportunity. You will be there slave forking over a majority of any profit you hope to make. They are only looking out for themselves. Beware and stay away I promise it will be the best choice you've ever made.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money, too bad it didn't last
Driver (Former Employee), OhioJuly 20, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: using your own car, gas and not knowing who will be in your backseat
I worked for Lyft only a few months, seems like even though I went above and beyond picking up the people I needed too, they didn't care to rate me very high. Needless to say I was let go. I was friendly, personable and really like people. However, I didn't find the job was all that safe at times. I was responsible for driving people in my own car, – more... using my own gas which I understood at the get go. However, when you are driving strangers around in your car, and most of them are drunk, you fear they will vomit in your backseat, hence the times I truly worried whether it would happen on several occasions. Also had to drop off people in unfavorable areas of the city. But apparently Lyft doesn't want you to ask the client where they are going, you are supposed to know that, which is weird. I tried it, it didn't work out and I will move on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lyft is not telling the truth and endangering the public
Applicant (Former Employee), Madison, WIJuly 9, 2014
Cons: no insurance, no fair pay, it is a scam
Their service agreement that customers and drivers must agree too invalidates any insurance coverage Lyft offers unless the driver wants to pay at least $800.00usd a month in addend insurance coverage!!
Their claims about income are entirely false. Because they do not offer service to the majority of any city they operate in, you end up picking up in – more... only a few areas at certain times. Then once you drop off a customer you have to drive all the way back to their preferred pick up areas which costs time and money.
Their tos also states clearly that customers outside of California DO NOT HAVE TO PAY YOU ANYTHING FOR A RIDE. You end up giving a lot of people free rides or the customer will just set a really small rate for the ride.
In a city like Madison, WI you would be lucky to make $15 an hour working for Lyft and that doesn't include gas, TAXES or the wear on your own vehicle. You are also invalidating any warranty you have on your vehicle unless you inform your dealership. Surprise surprise, they will either end your warranty and service agreement or ask you to pay thousands of dollars more to keep your warranty. On top of that you have no insurance coverage so if you do get in a wreck Lyft wont cover anything and you end up losing your own insurance policy. Lyft is making money by having drivers sacrifice safety and their own money thinking they can be cab drivers on their own. It just isn't worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work enviroment
Driver/Mentor (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIMay 28, 2014
Pros: constantly meet new people
Cons: expenses can change dramatically
I don't really feel like my job is a driver because I simply spend my day meeting people. It does not feel like a job, and I enjoy that the most. The people I work with are all very friendly and enthusiastic, and I have not come across anything that really takes away from the overall experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transport passengers in and around the city of Pittsburgh
Driver (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 9, 2014
LYFT is a great start up company from San Fransisco that allows anyone to use their own motor vehicle and transport everyone around the city. You can be creative in doing so and you schedule your own hours at will.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place and Variable Schedule
Lyft Driver (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAApril 20, 2014
Cons: 15 minutes break every two hours.
Everyday i pick up passengers and drop them off at locations in greater Boston area. i learned to be a better driver, safe driver and i have a good communications with my passengers. be very friendly, courteous at all the time. The Management is very good, they are always looking after us and having ours back in any situation. The hardest part of my – more... job is when i have a passenger with issue or angry at something, but i always manner to keep my calm. i love working with people, kids and senior thats why i am Lyft team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledge of Company
Driver Helper (Former Employee), Fresno, CAApril 17, 2014
Pros: meeting & driving customers and assisting them
Cons: sitting in cars waiting for pick up, out of pocket expenses on gas
Assisting People from all over the City of Fresno,
Making Friends, Communication is Key.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lyft is a great company with a questionable compensation plan
BRAND AMBASSADOR (Current Employee), San Diego, CAApril 7, 2014
Pros: free lunches, great co-workers, positive vibes
Cons: low compensation, all direct sales
Lyft provides the tools for full-time students to become experienced in a sales environment, and I have learned very important professional life lessons from my time in this company. The management in the company is fantastic and provides great support. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with a small team to build towards a massive task, – more... which is challenging but eventually rewarding. The only downfall is having to break the original barrier to become a regional manager and achieve compensation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with very flexible hours
Lyft Driver (Current Employee), Denver, COMarch 28, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, good pay
Cons: short breaks, late nights
Could sign up to work specific hours or could just sign in and start working if you were free. Management was very friendly and available to help at all times. The hard part of the job was working late at night when it was the most profitable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coolest corporate culture ever.
Mentor Team Member (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAMarch 14, 2014
........................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience.
Driver (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 13, 2014
Choosing your own hours, driving your own vehicle, and having interesting passengers makes being a Lyft driver a rewarding experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very flexible
Company Chauffeur (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAMarch 7, 2014
Its a good job to have as a second source of income and a great way to meet new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service oriented, fun workplace
Driver (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAMarch 4, 2014
Pros: choose own hours, freedom of time management.
Cons: some people still not use to this kind of service, so some time will have people bothering us on the road.
I was able to choose my own hours; will greet the riders and drive them to their destination in a fun and safe way. Met a lot of nice people. Management very friendly and fun people to work with.
What I enjoyed the most was the freedom of choosing my own hours and being able to have fun while working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Community Driver (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 21, 2014
I enjoy working for this company. It's very laid back and fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lyft FTW
Independent Driver (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: community of drivers
Cons: not always enough hours to go around
Overall Lyft is a great concept! It is a start up company, so there are a few things that need worked out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver Support at Dangerously Low Levels-Be Warned
Lyft Driver (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: great customers and lots of fun spirited lyfts
Cons: be warned! dangerous lack of driver support
Worked for 6 months since July in San Diego. Gave superior effort to promote and enlist drivers and customers. Their star rating system is insanity. No driver can expect all 5 stars, especially from those customers who have had to much to drink. They do not expect perfection from any other employees. My ratings of 4.8 were flagged
and I got warnings. – more... Was told by support this would change and did not. I had a flat tire on a late Sat. shift and could reach no one at support. Got email 11 days later acknowledging the problem. My car
over heated and I spent an overnight in a gas station because I could not contact anyone. Result was blown head gasket and $1,500
bill for repairs. Trade car for $3500 less and tried to register new car with LYFT Support. Result was I was Blocked by Computer to drive 2 shifts, because the computer wanted me to reapply as a driver.
Computer again reported me as unreliable on December 22, 2013 and dropped me as a driver because my star rating was 4.79. No further contact. Did not speak to person for over 5 months. Only employed and totally disrespected by the LYFT computer. They do not care about the drivers, only revenue. BE warned they do not offer any Liability Insurance. Never saw my name on a policy, nor did I have any ID that said I worked for them. From July, 2013, they open-end 14 new cities and have not provided enough driver support IE.
TO THE MOST IMPORTANT EMPLOYEES WHO MAKE MONEY FOR THE OWNERS. BE WARNED YOUR OWN CAR INSURANCE COMPANY MAY HAVE EXCLUSIONS IF YOU DRIVE YOUR PERSONAL CAR FOR HIRE. I DROVE AFRAID ON MANY NIGHTS
IN DARK NEIGHBORHOODS BECAUSE I BELIEVED IN THE CONCEPT OF GOING THE EXTRA MILE FOR A FRIEND. They chose not to support or pay me any bonuses as promised. I am 71 years old and in great health and spirits. My experience with LYFT
was to serve Younger customers like my own children by getting them safely home and being a designated driver. This employment
has cost me thousands and I hope that the owners change their attitudes and dangerous behavior. Everyone employed by LYFT is so liable for accidents,crimes, and injuries. – less

About Lyft

Lyft is your friend with a car. Drivers are matched with passengers who request rides through the Lyft iPhone or Android app. – Read more