M&T Bank Employee Reviews

Found 587 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best regional bank
Associate Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDJanuary 17, 2017
M&T Bank is one of the best companies anyone could work for. They offer competitive salaries, opportunities for advancement, and a casual yet productive work environment.
Pros
Plenty of opportunity for advancement, business casual, regional bank.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheap cheap cheap
Lending Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJanuary 15, 2017
most people have to get a 2nd job because they cant pay for food once they pay all of the medical bills due to the terrible health insurance.
Pros
flexible
Cons
terrible pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality benefits and nice work environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJanuary 13, 2017
Learned how to work with various types of personalities and differing expectations. Management can be micromanaging but also give you the ability to bring new thoughts to the team.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Secluded and critical
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work life balance
Treasury Anayst (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJanuary 11, 2017
good work life balance, compensation lacking. friendly place where most people get along. promotion compensation is weak, they hire new people at much higher compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and collaborative work environment
Senior Talent Acquisition Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJanuary 11, 2017
Excellent management, very collaborative work environment. Retention in the Retail market is very low, there is a lot of turnover. In other Business lines, the tenure is very high as the culture is what keeps the employees happy and proud to work for M&T Bank and Wilmington Trust.
Pros
Excellent culture and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Teller Manager (Current Employee) –  Prince Frederick, MDJanuary 10, 2017
This is a great company to work for. Not very much room for advancement. I have been here for 17 years and I am currently looking for a new career and advancement with a different company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
m&t is a good place to work
Data Analyst /Test Analyst (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJanuary 7, 2017
M&T is a nice place to work. Its team has good building technology and nice manager. Nice manager .Good technology. New technology to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No raises!
Credit Investigator (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJanuary 6, 2017
Worked in the loan control dept. Great job! Poor pay and raises. Got .10 Raise one year. Worked on annual review rated items and got a .20 raise following year. Good people, no money growth.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Bad raises for hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked underpaid
TELLER (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 31, 2016
my typical day at work consisted on me being the only teller on staff All day, EVERY DAY. because of this the responsibilities i held were VERY OVERWHELMING. There were weeks were i would have to work 6 days straight with no lunch breaks. The company did not really appreciate all the work that i put in nor did i feel that they put much effort in getting help for me. But i guess it isn't such a terrible place to work if you're lucky enough to be placed in a fully staffed branch.
Pros
Networking
Cons
pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Development Program
Retail Manager (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 29, 2016
Support the branch manager from day to day
Travel to Buffalo once per month for a week at a time
The management team is excellent and are opening to speaking with the MDP class.
Working in a retail branch
Pros
Great Management
Cons
Paid
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work if you can make it to your year
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Williamsville, NYDecember 28, 2016
Great Place to work if you can make it to your year. You must stay in your department for the first year. Mine just happened to be retail telephone customer service, probably the most stressful job in the company. You clock in 5 minutes early and must be ready to take calls the minute your scheduled shift starts. It is back to back calls until you go home.

There is a 3 month probation period where you better not need a day off, it is grounds for termination. Then a 6 month period of time where it is employment based on performance. Afterwards if you can make it to a whole year, then you can get one of the great positions that M&T have that many people do not leave once they are there.

The hardest part of the day is the people screaming at you on the phone and you can not hang up on them, yet you get marked off if your call time is too longer.

The most enjoyable part of my day was going home at the end of my shift, knowing I did not get fired.
Pros
The cafeteria is great, pto and vacation time is great, and bid on shifts and hours, training is best I have seen in the industry.
Cons
easy to get fired, stressful, health benefits percentage is too high, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Teller (Current Employee) –  Harrison, NYDecember 24, 2016
Very stressful, a lot of responsibilities must make quoted amount of sales. too much responsibility for little money, co workers are great
Pros
great co workers
Cons
quoatas
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to learn new things
Teller and ATM Custodian (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDDecember 20, 2016
I enjoyed taking on new responsibilities such as organizing the paperwork behind the teller line to increase efficiency and enhance the customer experience. Being the ATM Custodian allowed me to learn personal accountability and how to multitask while handling large amounts of cash.
Pros
Open communication with management
Cons
Bank to customer communication about new regulations was poor
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced with updated daily
Single Point of Contact (Former Employee) –  Getzville, NY 14068December 20, 2016
taking inbound and making outbound calls to customers who are behind in making mortgage payments.Co-workers there to help you when they can
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good powerful company, a lot of options for growth.
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYDecember 19, 2016
This company will teach you and trained you for growth in the banking world.
Managers can provide feedbck and support to move up wthing the company.
Cons
Very difficult to be hired or rehired. Don't pay so well as other companies would.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain experience
Supervisor 1 (Former Employee) –  Getzville, NYDecember 16, 2016
gained valuable management experience, learned new processes and different management types. also learned how to write procedures and a lot of the questions and issues that may come up when a new program is rolled out.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely stressful environment
Telephone Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Millsboro, DEDecember 15, 2016
Back to back calls all day. Abusive customer. Non helpful leadership. The only good thing is the opportunity for overtime. The bank is behind in technology so it makes the calls very difficult. Policies and procedures are definitely outdated.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Short lunch time. Micro management. Abusive customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment just looking for more income
Customer Service Associate, Collections (Current Employee) –  Millsboro, DE 19966December 14, 2016
i love working here and the people, but getting older I need something with more growth and better benefits and income for my growing family.
Pros
good people and set schedule
Cons
not enough income
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Trust (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYDecember 13, 2016
Not for a young adult. Pretty conservative company.however hours are good, and the management is great. management want you to be successful
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive fun working environment
Relationship Banker (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, NYDecember 10, 2016
supportive team that helped me gain the knowledge I needed to do my job to the best of my ability. I was able to go to the branch manager when I had any issues that needed to be dealt with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at M&T Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 589 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5