Find companies:
M&T Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
327 reviews

M&T Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is very good to work for.
Trust Transaction Clerk II (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYNovember 3, 2014
Worked with government bond. On a daily basis I did accounting General Ledgers and auditing the bonds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best experience
Banking Specialist (Former Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDOctober 31, 2014
Very different than any other experience in banking.
very little growth at the time from within
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many responsibilities, overall nice place to work
Enhanced Due Diligence Investigator (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 31, 2014
Many responsibilities, overall nice place to work, good pay, management is fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers ans place to work
Operations and Risk Management (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 30, 2014
I really enjoyed working at M&T. For me it was a temp position and everyone was very supportive and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company within itself
Teller (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 30, 2014
The branch that I worked at was very prejudice towards me and made me feel like an outcast on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Customer Service Senior Telephone Rep (Former Employee), williamsville nyOctober 24, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: low wages
really good management and work enviroment, they have a learning curve and make sure you are able to preform and be great at your job, very understanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
BANK TELLER (Former Employee), West Chester, PAOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great branch management and coworkers.
Cons: the pay was a little low for the area where i lived and worked.
Great coworkers. Close to home. Good Schedule.
The managers at the branch where I worked were all very good at their jobs and in dealing with fellow employees and customers. The building was kept in excellent condition. The hours were easy at 7.5 hours a day and I could flex my schedule when necessary.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with relatively – more... low pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relationship Banker II
Relationship Manager II (Current Employee), MarylandOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great management, great place to develop your skills
Cons: short staffed, high expectations with little help to achieve them
M&T BANK is due for allot of change. Great place to develop your skills, but not a place for long term growth. Management can be better, but i cant really blame them because there are high expectations for their branches with very little to work with. Branches are ALWAYS SHORT STAFFED and yet they still expect you to complete all of your daily duties. – more... Co- workers are great, however, if you are thinking about applying to a positions at M&T stay away from TELLER OR RELATIONSHIP BANKER I positions, out of all the positions in this bank those two positions are the most stressful. They expect you to do allot for very little pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
M&T Bank Corp
Telephone Service Representative (Former Employee), Williamsville, NYOctober 22, 2014
Assist customer with knowledge on various account transactions. Place stop payments, Transfer funds per account with M&T Bank assist with Installment Loans accounts, Certificate of deposit accounts (CD‘s)Individual Retirement Accounts (IRA‘s). Also assist customer with year-end Information (1099). Also processes check by phone payment System (ACH) Knowledge – more... of Bank Policies and Procedures and Federal Government regulations. Coach new employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Bank I've ever worked for. Very organized, efficient with excellent training.
Reconciliation Specialist (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 16, 2014
Cons: excellent company
Overall Great Bank in evey aspect to work for. Great Management along with great co-workers. Even the hardest part of the job was a excellent learning experience. The most enjoyable part of this job was everything about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK PLACE TO WORK..... I WOULD RECOMMEND BUT NOT MUCH AS FAR AS PAY
Mortgage Loan Officer (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 15, 2014
GREAT PEOPLE, BUT THE PAY HAS TO IMPROVE..... OVERALL A GOOD PLACE TO WORK
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A small bank that is slow to react to the market
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAOctober 13, 2014
They have such a small presence in the DC / VA area that they cannot compete with the big banks. It is a shame because the company does treat their employees well and tries to promote from within it's just a shame that all of the opportunities for advancement are in Buffalo and that they pay less than other banks in the DC / VA area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Boys' Club
Relationship Banker (Current Employee), New YorkOctober 9, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: not as open to diversity
Good company. Stable growth. Suffers from the extremely conservative, sometimes outdated, methodology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Competitive Atmosphere
Wealth Advisory Services (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEOctober 8, 2014
At my current employment, I have completed a variety of projects including database building and analyzing documentation from relationship managers of trusts, with an emphasis on confirming that all of the necessary information is both up to date and meets the BSA-AML standards. Our team recently achieved an important deadline that helped M&T Bank meet – more... specific bank regulation requirements. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No complaints about my position at this employer
Senior Accounting Clerk (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 7, 2014
Loved my job just looked closer to home. Management was a great team and made coming to work enjoyable!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place If management is good
Relationship Banker (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 7, 2014
Great place to start career make sure management is good when interviewing makes the place much more enjoyable to work at .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work
Senior Operations Clerk (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 6, 2014
It was fast paced. We had daily deadlines and I was responsible for posting payments and daily reconcile. Encode checks to be processed. Open mail. High volume of calls. Management was a great team and they showed me how to be a team player and work with a team and to be accurate while keeping up with production. My co-workers was also a great team – more... to work with we had the same goals which was customer satisfaction and getting those deadlines out to the customers. The hardest part of this job was the daily deadlines which could sometimes be stressful but I learned new ways to handle the daily stress. The most enjoyable part of the job was doing a job well done. I strive to perfection and my main objective was doing quality work and keeping my customers 100% customer service happy. The fast pace and working as a team absolutely made my day and I really enjoyed it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Environment
Business & Planning Manager II - Customer Insights (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 6, 2014
Cons: not enough staff, poor prioritization
Challenging and exciting work environment. However, the compensation is not equitable across the organization and not aligned with skill sets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Teller (Current Employee), Boonsboro, MDOctober 1, 2014
I have been with M&T for 6 years. they are a good company to work for but they will not help you unless you know the right people. In management there is a lot of the buddy system. You can not advance easy unless you know the right people. out of other banks they don't pay that great but the benefits are good. They have been good to me when it came – more... to going to school so they were very flexible with me. I give them an average rating for a company to work for but a great place to bank. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summarized already
Head Teller (Former Employee), Monsey, NYSeptember 30, 2014
.We made sure we had everything we needed to service our customers.

About M&T Bank

M&T Bank is considered one of the country's most highly regarded regional banks. We were founded more than 150 years ago in – Read more

M&T Bank Photos