Find companies:
M&T Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
376 reviews

M&T Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
RELATIONSHIP BANKER (Current Employee), Towson mdNovember 18, 2014
The job was a great job to work i learn a lot about banking. The employees helped with everything if you don't know what to do. The fear of being robbed was there but they try their best to make it safe
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Credit Counselor (Former Employee), Millsboro, DENovember 16, 2014
I really enjoyed the people I worked with and was a very good place to work. I personally just didn't like the actual job of calling people and collecting money on a daily basis. I would work for the company again just with a different position. The most enjoyable part to me was the experience I got and the management and co workers. The hardest part was trying to get a customer to make a payment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
M&T isnt all that
Relationship Banker (Former Employee), RocklandNovember 15, 2014
Pros: health, dental, vision
Cons: college education program
M&T Bank: This review pertains to - Rockland, Westchester branches; bank has no marketing in one of the most important markets in the world (NYC), they still do paper ads that no one reads and AM radio ads that no one listens to, not one person i talk to knows M&T bank or ever want to bank with them because 1. 10 years too late on Modern ATM, outdated Online Banking /bill payment (still sucks), Call back office for every dam thing, cuz the systems never work the way you want it to, commission on sales sucks, unless you are in a busy branch (like buffalo - cuz its only M&T bank there) and makes high amount of sales, branches are outdated, systems are outdated, managers are too busy replying to emails, every branch needs to know everyone business, worst branch locations, even the branch schedules needs to be emailed to operations manager, branch traffic is really really really low and you spend 70% of the day profiling clients and cold calling. They claim M&T bank has the lowest employee turnover, but that's the bank as a whole, this region probable has the worst turnover in my 10 year banking career. Management never listens what you have to say, its always their way or no way... and If you love being MICRO MANAGED THIS IS THE PERFECT PLACE FOR YOU!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!!
Teller Manager (Former Employee), Wilmington, DENovember 11, 2014
M&T is a great pace to work. Great work life balance, excellent pay, and lots of opportunity to excel within.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of rules and regulations
Retail Banker (Former Employee), Millsboro, DENovember 9, 2014
Very flexible, but no room for growth. Management did not listen to employees, and too much changing rules and regulations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is all about cutting staff, reducing expenses, and not providing support to meet goals
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Wilkes Barre PANovember 5, 2014
M&T utilizes outdated banking software from the 1980's (if you love DOS, you'll love M&T), and outmoded processes. Management is out of touch with reality and not interested in understanding why they are consistently losing market share. Loan underwriting is a long, slow and tedious process.

They are fixated on mergers to grow business every year, but have not been able to make this last merger with Hudson City happen for two years now due to regulators questioning their AML/BSA procedures. This has led to cutbacks and branch closures to pay for it.

They talk about customer service, but only pay lip service to it. Management does not care about acknowledging exceptional customer service scores. They are more interested in migrating customers to the ATM to cutback on teller transactions.

The best part of the job though has been my coworkers, who are great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay if you just want a job
Lending Specialist I (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYNovember 3, 2014
It is a good place to get your foot in the door, but advancement becomes hard once you make more than about $28,000.00 and there is a lot of nepotism, which leads to under qualified management. M&T wants a lot of experience but for little pay. The average employee (non-management) will probably peak at about $34,000.00 and will be told that they are "pretty high up there."

However, if you are just looking for a 9 to 5 and a paycheck with little to no career advancement, it's a good place to work. If you are looking to have an actual career, it's good for the experience, but you will struggle to make a decent wage and career. The benefits are mediocre at best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Day is never the same
Relationship Banker/Small Business Specialist (Current Employee), Clinton, MDNovember 3, 2014
Pros: job security, gain a wealth of knowledge in banking
Cons: only a lunch break, highly stressful
The new banking industry is stressful it's more about selling then actual banking. No one day is never the same because of the customers you interact with on a daily. Highly knowledgeable job. Have to know what your doing and eager to learn. Room for growth in the industry. Under staffed most of the time with the new ways of banking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Business and Planning Analyst II Group Leader (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYNovember 3, 2014
M & T bank is a great place to work. The managers are really focused on helping you succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is very good to work for.
Trust Transaction Clerk II (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYNovember 3, 2014
Worked with government bond. On a daily basis I did accounting General Ledgers and auditing the bonds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best experience
Banking Specialist (Former Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDOctober 31, 2014
Very different than any other experience in banking.
very little growth at the time from within
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many responsibilities, overall nice place to work
Enhanced Due Diligence Investigator (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 31, 2014
Many responsibilities, overall nice place to work, good pay, management is fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers ans place to work
Operations and Risk Management (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 30, 2014
I really enjoyed working at M&T. For me it was a temp position and everyone was very supportive and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company within itself
Teller (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 30, 2014
The branch that I worked at was very prejudice towards me and made me feel like an outcast on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Customer Service Senior Telephone Rep (Former Employee), williamsville nyOctober 24, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: low wages
really good management and work enviroment, they have a learning curve and make sure you are able to preform and be great at your job, very understanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
BANK TELLER (Former Employee), West Chester, PAOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great branch management and coworkers.
Cons: the pay was a little low for the area where i lived and worked.
Great coworkers. Close to home. Good Schedule.
The managers at the branch where I worked were all very good at their jobs and in dealing with fellow employees and customers. The building was kept in excellent condition. The hours were easy at 7.5 hours a day and I could flex my schedule when necessary.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with relatively low pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relationship Banker II
Relationship Manager II (Current Employee), MarylandOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great management, great place to develop your skills
Cons: short staffed, high expectations with little help to achieve them
M&T BANK is due for allot of change. Great place to develop your skills, but not a place for long term growth. Management can be better, but i cant really blame them because there are high expectations for their branches with very little to work with. Branches are ALWAYS SHORT STAFFED and yet they still expect you to complete all of your daily duties. Co- workers are great, however, if you are thinking about applying to a positions at M&T stay away from TELLER OR RELATIONSHIP BANKER I positions, out of all the positions in this bank those two positions are the most stressful. They expect you to do allot for very little pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
M&T Bank Corp
Telephone Service Representative (Former Employee), Williamsville, NYOctober 22, 2014
Assist customer with knowledge on various account transactions. Place stop payments, Transfer funds per account with M&T Bank assist with Installment Loans accounts, Certificate of deposit accounts (CD‘s)Individual Retirement Accounts (IRA‘s). Also assist customer with year-end Information (1099). Also processes check by phone payment System (ACH) Knowledge of Bank Policies and Procedures and Federal Government regulations. Coach new employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Bank I've ever worked for. Very organized, efficient with excellent training.
Reconciliation Specialist (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 16, 2014
Cons: excellent company
Overall Great Bank in evey aspect to work for. Great Management along with great co-workers. Even the hardest part of the job was a excellent learning experience. The most enjoyable part of this job was everything about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK PLACE TO WORK..... I WOULD RECOMMEND BUT NOT MUCH AS FAR AS PAY
Mortgage Loan Officer (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 15, 2014
GREAT PEOPLE, BUT THE PAY HAS TO IMPROVE..... OVERALL A GOOD PLACE TO WORK

About M&T Bank

M&T Bank is considered one of the country's most highly regarded regional banks. We were founded more than 150 years ago in – Read more

M&T Bank Photos

M&T Bank Salaries

Relationship Banker
$30,000 per year
Teller
$10.50 per hour
Branch Manager
$55,000 per year
Teller
$25,000 per year
Bank Teller
$10.15 per hour