M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company culture, but limited movment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Smithville, TXFebruary 26, 2016
M.D. Anderson is a good place to work, they pay is good and so are the benefits. There are a lot of politics involved working in a field like this however, so it can be stressful sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Patient Escort (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 23, 2015
I learned great customer service skills. The skills that I attained can be taken anywhere in my future. The management was awesome, and there was also ways to advance throughout the hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization to work for
Financial Analyst internship (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 8, 2015
Management have strong support for prompt hard workers.
Numerous of learning opportunities and growth
Team workers and wants to get job done well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest part of the job
Phlebotomy Tech (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 8, 2014
I have a passion for people. I enjoy meeting new people and helping them anyway that I can, but the bad part of that was I felt like I was put in a position to hard when/if something happened to them.
Pros
good pay, loved my job
Cons
did not have a con
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An pleasant friendly place to work
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 3, 2014
Very friendly and diverse place to work. Work is dependent on everyone doing their part. Managementt is not always are open or helpful. But the difference makes-up for the co-workers teamwork. Management don't regard the employees ideas and suggestions to make the work flow easier. Our feedback should have been more important to upper and Departmental Management. The most rewarding part of the Job is knowing you are making a difference in many people lives that have the success stories of beating cancer in their lives and family members..
Pros
discounts for employees, fitness center
Cons
short breaks, expectation to not take your lunch because of deadlines.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first Job
Gastrointestinal Research Data Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 28, 2014
This place was a great experience for my first job out of college. They give out yearly bonuses and are willing to help you move up. Additionally they paid for part of my education.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits
Building Attendant 1 (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 17, 2014
i was a building attendant/ housekeeper and it was not for me, need a strong stomach
Pros
benefits
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with a lot of job opportunities
Patient Escort (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 27, 2013
At M.D.Anderson Hospital there are a lot of opportunities job wise and education wise.As a patient escort the hardest part of my job was seeing the patients in so much pain. Patient Escorts pick up and deliver patients to procedures and appointments.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting.
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 9, 2013
Researched various types of material similar to body mass, to conduct experiments pertaining to oncology radiation and how it affects the body. Prepared analytical reports pertaining to oncology, utilizing Microsoft Word, Excel, and Power Point.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Optimal Learning of Cancer Health and Wellness
Clinical Analyst (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 7, 2013
A typical day at work is usually 8 hours. In the past 7 years, I have learned and appreciated so much from the management style, and much of that is working with a diverse set of co-workers. This company is committed to assisting each employee to partake in a quality work/life balance. The Fitness Center plays a hugh part in making the balance and also the various wellness groups. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that the work I produce is bringing hope to each patient and the care that they will receive.
Pros
monthly departmental lunches, celebrating birthdays
Cons
knowing the cancer can affect anyone and that no one is exempt.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational specialty institution focused on individual patient-centered approach
PACU RN (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 17, 2013
A typical day consisted of many surgical patients, most of which were high acuity and required a lot of critical thinking. Management was available to help with facility politics, advancements, and patient complaints. The hardest part of the job was limited in-patient beds and patients being forced to wait in PACU until open beds/rooms became available. The most enjoyable part of the job was the exposure to various surgeries, cancer stages and progressions, and international patients.
Pros
exceptional pay and benefits
Cons
always short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace and Mangement
Research Assistant I (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 14, 2013
A specialty hospital providing patient care research in cancer therapy.
• Assisted with creating modifying protocols
• Aided in research by maintaining cell lines and making reagents
• Liaised with suppliers to negotiate manage relationships show tangible cost savings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 12, 2013
Obtain Patient (H&P)
Check platelet and prothrombin time
Give verbal and written procedure education to patient
Prep sterile stray for procedure (Biopsy, bx/Interventional/ Flouro)
Prep patient site for procedure to be done
Giving Radiologist correct size biopsy needles
Paracentesis and Thoracentesis prep and set-up
Alerting Radiologist when films are ready to be read
Capturing ultrasound images during image guided biopsy
Nephrostomy check
Catheter placement
Take specimens to path
Pros
bonuses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a very busy fast pace job
Pathology Referral Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 27, 2013
a typical day is steady work from start to finish. we deal with over 200 cases per day which take speed and accuracy. It does make you feel good knowing you helping people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and great overall work environment
Behavioral Science Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 8, 2013
Great job but research can kill you financially. Don't make it a career unless you're planning to get a Ph.D. other than that it's just a stepping stone. Son't stay in research for too long.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
research not much advancement not a career unless you want to work towards a phd
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job I ever Had so far.
Driver II (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 24, 2013
Transportation Representative Assisted patients, staff and customers of MD Anderson by escorting them throughout facility via golf cart; provided directions, answered questions and served as a customer service liaison.
Pros
great benifits
Cons
managment is one sided reather if they are wrong are right.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Research Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 7, 2012
MD Anderson Cancer Center is an excellent place to work. You have many avenues to travel for job advancements, and they have a plethora of employee benefits. In addition, this institution promotes education, nearly paying for half of my classes in graduate school.
Pros
benefits, job security, work environment
Cons
pay under the market
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
RESEARCH DATA COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 10, 2012
Productive and challenging workplace, always learning new things. Patients make the work most enjoyable and worth every learning experince.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Impact Active Day
Decision Support Specialist IT (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 14, 2012
The culture of the environment is very unique. I enjoy working a flex day schedule. A typical day is full of ensuring our customer's needs are taken care of.
Pros
flex schedules
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENATIVE (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 8, 2012
Great place to work and have fufillment about helping others
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.3
Culture
4.2

M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER Reviews by Location