MTV Networks Employee Reviews

Found 187 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun while I was there
Summer Finance Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 17, 2017
Wasn't at this company long, but it was fun. Very loose culture, informal, but the leadership was always very smart. Great combination. In terms of business though, they didn't always do things in the best ways.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at.
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 5, 2017
Work a freelancer and was an excellent intro into the business. Worked on a few reality shows, the working condition and the salary ay the time were excellent. Truly enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CMT underdog to other networks
Prod Ops (Former Employee) –  TNJuly 17, 2017
Employees behind the scenes work in "silos" where there is a bit of a "not my job" mentality----teamwork is only evident in some departments, but not across company as a whole.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & creative work environment
Executive Assistant, Business & Legal Affairs (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 27, 2017
Professional yet fun and creative work spaces.
Great facility and staff. Many options for volunteering and community activism. Onsite convenience store and cafeteria. Very diverse work force.
Pros
Young, creative, diverse work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing experience
Mail Room Clerk - Floater (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 8, 2017
amazing workplace met a lot of cool amazing individuals and co workers great atmosphere flexible schedule clean building a lot of a more relaxed work pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Production Dept. Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 7, 2017
As an intern I enjoyed learning everything I could about the world of television. MTV made behind the scenes with television very fun and interesting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Atmosphere, Lousy Management
Videotape Operator/Syndication Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Hauppauge, NYJune 5, 2017
This was a very long time ago but the management was lousy and the turnaround was very bad, with being asked to do the jobs of 3-4 people a night. The hours were good, with technically half the year off, just an overloaded weekend schedule will take a lot out of you. If you can get past the hours, a good place to work. The management was bad when I was there but I've learned it's improved tremendously.
Pros
Schedule, Variety of Channels to Work
Cons
12 Hour Shifts Not For Everyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
On-Air Promos Creative Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 18, 2017
Came in as an intern during the busiest time of the year MTV Movie and TV Awards, but didn't get to do much. Didn't look like they were going to be hiring any interns, but honestly felt jaded about the company after having such a lackluster internship.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Communications Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 18, 2017
Interned here a few years back. Didn't really feel welcomed. You could tell there were some tension among employees & only some seemed appreciative of the work put forth by interns.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool vibe and high energy
Audience Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 11, 2017
great place to work , meeting a lot of actors and music artist from all over the world.
the day starts early and end late
always a fun day full of smiles and good times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere but not very stable.
Photo Editor (Current Employee) –  1515 BroadwayMay 9, 2017
I've been "Permalance" for over 6 years. They keep renewing my contract with no benefits. I'm not sure that's legal but I'm sure there is fine print. The atmosphere is fun and I've gained a lot of experience but there is no job security and very little room for advancement. People are expendable and those that aren't the big wigs are looked at as as a VIN number and not an individual.
Pros
Fun, Discounts at certain businesses, gained experience
Cons
no benefits after years of employment, management, communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Office
Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 9, 2017
At the heart of times square, the office is new and modern. The culture is extremely casual, but the culture is not as team-oriented as it could be. Interns there could be used more effectively.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Intern (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZMay 7, 2017
Wasnt happy with the job seemed undervalued even for an intern i know they are a big company but really come on wouldnt work there again at least not as an intern.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Casting Associate Producer MADE (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 26, 2017
This was a FUN, productive job! I truly enjoyed my years working for MTV. I learned a great deal and made some connections in the industry. The downside was that it was freelance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment, laid back, organized workplace
Assstant/Project based employee (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 19, 2017
I loved working for Viacom. My team was inviting and always helpful, they especially put in effort to help me learn the ropes of the department. MY workload was always manageable and I was doing work that I was genuinely interested in outside of the office also.
Pros
Perfect work schedule, interesting work, manageable workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere with fearless colleagues
Production Executive (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 18, 2017
I've grown my entire professional career at MTV networks. It's provided me with a wealth of experience while shaping me into a experienced executive.
Pros
Peers, content, brand recognition.
Cons
Salary increases and career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Work Environment With Great People
Staff Writer / Producer (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 10, 2017
from 10am - 7pm, Ridiculousness is a fantastic work culture with talented and hilarious people. The show has been around for 10 years and it runs very efficiently, thanks to competent and talented managers and executive producers
Pros
People
Cons
Unexpected Hiatus from time to time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Digital Programming Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 10, 2017
Company is evolving to take on digital media. Layoffs continue as the company adapts, so outlook is shaky. At times the business principals for traditional media and online media conflict.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reality show in all it's glory
Reality Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Kaua‘i, HIMarch 30, 2017
MTV gives young adults opportunity to explore national television in an exciting way. Not only are we the "talent," but we learn a lot about production of creating a show.
Pros
Notoriety
Cons
Negative Social Media comments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flip Films not MTV
PRODUCTION ASSISTANT Flip Films (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 14, 2017
I worked for a company named Flip Films to witch they made a video for MTV.
The people were friendly and dedicated but there is no room for advancement there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MTV Networks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 244 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
4.1