Find companies:
MTV Networks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
70 reviews

MTV Networks Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Senior Director, Music and Talent (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 20, 2013
Pros: too many to list. ask me.
Cons: long hours that you actually wore like a badge of honor
One of a kind experience that only a handful of people have been lucky enough to have. I advanced from being an intern for 2 years up through senior director of programmer of the channel. That's the equivalent of the biggest radio station in the world (at least back then!). I was also lucky enough to be there during a time of resurrection of corporate – more... and commercial music. Britney, Xtina, Backstreet, N'Snc, Kid Rock, Limp Bizkit, etc. A typical day was spent programming the next days programming, tomorrow's TRL countdown or perhaps that weekends 120 Minutes. The studio was always a daily stop as well. Spending time with the guests was very obviously quite important. I learned more than I can type here. My co-workers are still lifelong friends. We were in the trenches together and worked 18 days! It's hard to forget that. Mgmt was exceptional, kind and complimentary. I miss the place and those times all the time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun environment
Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 15, 2013
Get to work with amazing people and learn the ins and outs of the radio network. Get to meet talent and learn what it takes to have a good interview.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 19, 2013
Pros: comfortable place to work.
Cons: salaries not competitive.
In the heart of Times Square. That's a plus for some, a negative for others. Relaxed atmosphere. Great cafeteria. Lots of extra employee benefits! Diverse work force.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience, flexible schedule
Assistant Music Coordinator (Former Employee), Santa Monia, CAJuly 12, 2013
Pros: great work environment, great supervisor
Cons: projects could be inconsistent, not full-time
2nd freelance job I got less than a month of me moving to California. Fun work environment and a supportive and knowledgable supervisor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great organization to develop and grow your career.
International Property Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 5, 2013
It was an honor to work with MTV Networks/Nickelodeon for close to ten years and develop valuable corporate skill sets as the foundation of my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Management, Great Teamwork, Professional
Marketing Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 14, 2013
Pros: teamwork, communication, incentives
Cons: turnover rate
As an intern, I worked under the Director of Marketing and was able to learn about branding and conducting business meetings with vendors and other departments. It was a great experience to learn marketing terminology, and to enhance on my writing and idea building skills. I recieved help from all of my superiors and received correction when needed – more... to help me understand what was expected of me. I enjoyed the perks of being able to go concerts and other special media events. I truly enjoyed interning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Ad Sales Coordinator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 13, 2013
My personal experience is not typical, I don't think. I was fulfilling 2 jobs, as they only had approval to hire 1 person at the time so I was overwhelmed and didn't have much time to integrate into the culture there. It was, however, a fun environment and I wish that I could have taken advantage of it more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Listed below
Ad Sales/Traffic Assistant (Nickelodeon) (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 9, 2013
New York, New York
Contributor in all aspects of development for Triple Five Soul including marketing, promotions, and design. Responsible for wholesale ventures which increased sales from $300K to $14.5M in gross revenues. Through product placement, national sales, and public relations was able to increase earnings by 65%.
.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with opportunity to travel
Event Marketing/Promotions (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 23, 2013
MTV was excellent, but due to the economy they had to make budget cuts and eliminate certain aspects of of the business. unfortunately this is the reason I left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, great hours, lots of perks.
On-Air Promos, Production Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 14, 2013
Great place, great hours, lots of perks.

In at 10:30, summer hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Advertising Sales Client Service Representative (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 6, 2013
Pros: bagel fridays!
Cons: everyone fighting for slim promotions
MTV is a crazy place but with great people. A lot of meetings and deadlines, but great culture with diverse co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Library Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 6, 2013
Great benefits. MTV has great programs for individual learning and development as well as fun stuff too!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EXCELLENT Company to work for
CASTING PRODUCER (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: amazing talent and growth
Cons: a lot of travel
MTV has been an excellent company to work for. I have been very well taken care of at MTV.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Environment
Nickelodeon Networks- Press Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: company sponsored events
As a press coordinator you are the go-to person for information. At any point in my day I could be reviewing content to send out to social media blogs, or talking to Newspaper and Magazine writers. During events our roll quickly changed, at any given point we would have to run out to purchase an outfit for our talent to wear, or reschedule travel, escort – more... Talent to and from venues, or order lunch. In publicity you learn to multi-task, but you also learn to pay attention to detail. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Award shows and red carpets
MTV Radio Intern (Former Employee), Santa Monica, CAJanuary 8, 2013
Recorded and edited audio from feature film press releases, concerts, talent interviews, award shows and special events
Uploaded clips and media content to ftp sites
Transcribe interviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to build your work ethic
Finance Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 8, 2012
Pros: bright and positive environment
Cons: in times square
Fun environment, incorporated Nickelodeon elements into office. Helped employees grow, fostered and encouraged development in positions and pursuing advanced degrees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Syndication Sales - Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 3, 2012
Pros: education was continually offered, social events, diversity.
MTV Networks was a very social place to work. People worked as a team and supported each other in all endeavors. I grew from my initial position as a sales assistant to becoming Marketing Coordinator in a few years thanks to the mentoring of my sales team and immediate supervisors. I loved working with our clients and forged many solid relationships – more... with them. These clients include advertisers as well as program executives and producers. The hardest part, which I also enjoyed, was solving problems that arose from any advertisement or schedule that was missed or didn't deliver the anticipated ratings and working with MTV and the client to resolve those issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved going to work every day.
Production Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 29, 2012
Pros: exciting and fulfilling
Cons: no job security. once the show ended, i was looking for another show to work on.
I worked in reality TV. My jobs changed on almost a daily basis - from driving the crew van to obtaining releases to camera work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great learning experience
Programming/Production Manager-MTV Espanol (Former Employee), Miami Beach, FLOctober 1, 2012
please see my review for mtv. same company just different channels and positions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for resent grads!
Production Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 27, 2012
Start your day around 10 am and end at whatever time the project is complete.
I learned a lot from business development to production.

Jacoby – October 19, 2012

whats the salary like for this position

About MTV Networks

This company still hopes you want your MTV -- and maybe a few other cable channels. MTV Networks operates a leading portfolio – Read more

MTV Networks Photos