MTV Networks Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a fun atmosphere full of color and uniqueness
Ad Sales Intern (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAMay 12, 2015
This job was amazing - every floor had a different color and the chairs were all clear, metal, or made of some other material. The lobby was not like a stiff law firm but laid back, with a 1950s trailer parked right in the middle of it.

I researched different marketing approaches for the account executives so that they would know what to pitch to potential clients.

I was in Santa Monica, right next to google, and would eat lunch with different people right outside the building on picnic tables.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perks were awesome
Assistant to the Vice President of Marketing (Former Employee) –  New York New YorkFebruary 4, 2015
I work in the creative department of Vh1 and people were quirky and intelligent. I became drawn to the people that I work with and enjoyed my time there. The perks made the job worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here.
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 24, 2015
I learned so much about marketing, advertising and television. I spent a good part of my career at MTV and had the pleasure of working in various departments. I worked my way up the corporate ladder by starting out working for the President of the company, as her assistant, and then moving over to marketing. I loved working here...unfortunately, I was part of a huge lay off in 2009.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MTV Networks
Manager, Contract Management (Former Employee) –  New York, New YorkJanuary 23, 2015
Great place to work. MTV taught me the business. Anyone would be lucky to work there.
Pros
Advancement opportunities, Inclusive work envioronment
Cons
Hours can be long during productions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
QA Tester (Intern) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 18, 2015
Great place for learning. Very laid back fun place to work and the staff made it enjoyable to be part of the team. For an internship I wished it lasted longer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible worklife balance, horrible management, Good job culture.
Ad Operations (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 10, 2015
You pick and choose what's more important to you. Internal advancement was non-existent. Worklife balance doesn't matter to them. Benefits were decent but copayments sky rocketed recently. Senior Sales Teams treat their Sales assistants horribly and they hold themselves on a high pedestal. This is all relative to department. I am sure there are other departments that aren't as bad.
Pros
Young job culture, pretty laid back, occassional celebrity sightings
Cons
No work life balance, No internal advancement, Favoritism, Turnaround is high
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My over all experience at MTV have always been great!
Dj On Air Radio Personality (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 7, 2015
During my 15 year employment at Emmis Communications as an on air dj radio personality MTV was one of the many companies and places I worked at as a one time artist appearance of some sort.
I can't honestly give a detailed account of my experiences being employer there because it was a one off situation.
Pros
Exposure is always great
Cons
Traffic getting to the midtown location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Data Entry/Mail processor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 31, 2014
I love working in this place it was sad it was temporaily. everyone got along.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Video Editor
My Philly Lawyer (Current Employee) –  philadelphia, PANovember 25, 2014
Went into my editing suite/studio edited tv shows. Good place to work at.
Pros
friendly people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PR internship
PR assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 21, 2014
fun place to work, great co-workers.
I learnt how to build relationships with journalists.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Memorable
Video Producer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 20, 2014
I had the most amazing work life over at MTV World. I enjoyed the company of my fellow employees and looked forward to coming into work on a daily basis. I had the lovely opportunity to meet many artists and be a part of unique video productions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Hectic
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CAOctober 31, 2014
Working was so much fun, you are always doing something. Whether you are handling celebrity guest or helping the Production Office with errands that they need to get done. The days are usually long but it goes by really fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Viacom Summary
Sales Planner - Direct Response Advertising Sales (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 21, 2014
Viacom is a terrific company to be working for. There are great people who are willing to teach and make you better at your job everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Risky
Production Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 15, 2014
Fun environment, great colleagues and good technologies.
Horrible products and management.
Low salaries.
Unstable career.
Pros
Film screenings.
Cons
Painfully wait for the usual layoffs to find out if you were safe or out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MTV production
Production Assistant/Assistant Editor (freelance) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 23, 2014
Assist Producer in all aspects of production of multiple episodes of reality-based TV shows.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Administrative duties (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CASeptember 12, 2014
Awesome place to work! Loved every minute of it!
Great people, great shows! Awesome leadership! Caring about the community!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mtv
INTERN/OFFICE & PERSONAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 3, 2014
What can be said of a company/Network like Viacom?
MTV is one of the greatest TV creations ever. Serving as a catapult for Music, Fashion, Film, Art and Advocacy in the Creative Arts. Being there and working there was amazing. Especially once i became a part of TRL.
Pros
working with creative and innovative people. Learning from them and collaborating was amazing.
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Intern
Production Management Intern for MTV News (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 31, 2014
Good way to get your foot in the door and a fun company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant and Creative
Producer/Director (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 22, 2014
Fast paced and energetic. Creative people and fun world class projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Challenging
Intern, On Air Design Studio (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 18, 2014
Internship was great

mtv is great for artists who need experience and work
Pros
Advancement, Experience
Cons
Work/life Balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MTV Networks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 255 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
4.1