Find companies:
MTV
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
46 reviews

MTV Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perks were awesome
Assistant to the Vice President of Marketing (Former Employee), New York New YorkFebruary 4, 2015
I work in the creative department of Vh1 and people were quirky and intelligent. I became drawn to the people that I work with and enjoyed my time there. The perks made the job worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
QA Tester (Intern) (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 18, 2015
Great place for learning. Very laid back fun place to work and the staff made it enjoyable to be part of the team. For an internship I wished it lasted longer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My over all experience at MTV have always been great!
Dj On Air Radio Personality (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 7, 2015
Pros: exposure is always great
Cons: traffic getting to the midtown location
During my 15 year employment at Emmis Communications as an on air dj radio personality MTV was one of the many companies and places I worked at as a one time artist appearance of some sort.
I can't honestly give a detailed account of my experiences being employer there because it was a one off situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Data Entry/Mail processor (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 31, 2014
I love working in this place it was sad it was temporaily. everyone got along.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Video Editor
My Philly Lawyer (Current Employee), philadelphia, PANovember 25, 2014
Pros: friendly people
Went into my editing suite/studio edited tv shows. Good place to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Administrative duties (Former Employee), Burbank, CASeptember 12, 2014
Awesome place to work! Loved every minute of it!
Great people, great shows! Awesome leadership! Caring about the community!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MTV
INTERN/OFFICE & PERSONAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: working with creative and innovative people. learning from them and collaborating was amazing.
Cons: management
What can be said of a company/Network like Viacom?
MTV is one of the greatest TV creations ever. Serving as a catapult for Music, Fashion, Film, Art and Advocacy in the Creative Arts. Being there and working there was amazing. Especially once i became a part of TRL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant and Creative
Producer/Director (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 22, 2014
Fast paced and energetic. Creative people and fun world class projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
video clips
Freelance Cameraman (Former Employee), mexico cityJuly 21, 2014
knowing the best singers in mexico and working with them is amazing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with club music atmosphere
Camera Operator (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 25, 2014
The set for the pilot was in New York City's SOB music lounge. I not only learned more about camera work, I also learned more in music production.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Pharmacy Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Riverside, CAMay 5, 2014
Pros: people i worked with and for
Cons: leaving
Prepping materials for trainings for teachers to keep up their creditials. Management was great family oriented enviroment. Work with a great group of people. Move out of state is the only reason i'm no longer there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An honor
Recording Artist (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 28, 2014
I was absolutely honored to be a part of this fantastic organization!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MTV Networks, name says it all
Production Crew (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: fun and travel
Cons: no cons
Best job I ever had, fun, exciting, payment was great. Got to travel with pay. Get to meet stars and famous people, get to network with many important people. great pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical TV Station
Production Assistant (Former Employee), Sioux falls, SDNovember 12, 2013
Worked with MTV for a short time but was glad I got some experience working on the set. Coworkers were professional and worked hard to get good shots and made sure business was done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Accountant Assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 13, 2013
I enjoyed working on the set of "Teen Wolf" for MTV. I was able to meet actors that went from average people to superstars. Also, I learned how to provide great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MTV is a great workplace with a laid back but hard working atmosphere
Office Production Assistant / Office Coordinator (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYOctober 9, 2013
Pros: great work atmosphere, free lunches, co-workers, weekly pay, weekends off
Cons: short breaks, long work days, sometimes low pay
A typical day at work would consist of me scouting locations via Google and various other search engines, for filming segments, for a plethora of productions. While at MTV I learned a great amount of how things work in production, producing and coordinating. I learned how to properly write and critique scripts, I learned the proper paper work needed to to get clearance when wanting to film somewhere, getting celebrity clearance, music clearance etc. One of my favorite things about working for MTV was my co-workers and bosses were all really enjoyable to be around. Everyone worked extremely hard, but the atmosphere was always laid back. Everyone gave me good conversation, and sometimes myself and my co-workers would hang out outside of work so I feel that strengthened our working relationships. The hardest part of the job was when I had to be on set 15+ hours five days a week. Sometimes it could get tiring but I love what I do. The most enjoyable part of the job is working in a field I am enthused about, and loving the fact I can work in a field where the growth potential is almost inevitable depending on how hard you work. Lastly I love that many of my bosses were very patient and would answer all the questions I had regarding areas of production I was unsure about. From the producers and directors I've worked for, I have always had interest in their jobs. They would always take the time to answer any questions I had and explain in detail the requirements. I loved every part of MTV
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assistant Editor (Former Employee), santa monicaAugust 20, 2013
learn a lot the avid working there - great crew of people i worked with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Special Events Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 12, 2013
Pros: fast paced turn around for confirmation
Cons: no job security after event ended
Great interaction with staff attending special events for MTV/ Nickelodeon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy-going workplace
Integrated Marketing Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 25, 2013
Management was hands on without being too aggressive. Great work environment to learn and grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome experience
Licensing Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 18, 2013
You learn a lot as an intern, but jobs are very competitive

Company is relaxed, people are friendly

About MTV

MTV is the dynamic, vibrant experiment at the intersection of music, creativity and youth culture. For over 26 years, MTV has – Read more