Find companies:
MAA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

MAA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Regional Property Manager/Regional Trainer (Current Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 22, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: job growth
Great company, great people. This company is always looking for ways to better the company and advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Senior Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 9, 2014
Awesome company that invests a great deal in their employees. The education and support received is superb
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not friendly place to live or work because of management
sarvice tech II (Current Employee), georgiaAugust 5, 2014
Pros: perfect hours, decent pay and pto
Cons: horrible management, tell you one thing then do another
property is micro-managed to death...some employees were great..others would smile at you then stab you in back..corporate only cared about the occupancy numbers so when they fell it was maintenance and make ready teams fault...property manager was extremely unpleasant to even hold a normal conversation with..company also told us we acquired Colonial – more... properties yet all computer sytems changed over to Colonials,property is old !! Wouldn't recommend to anyone unless you are desperate for a job or a place to live – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture with tons of opportunity
Property Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 4, 2014
The company offers a great support system and culture. Great leadership and support on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company tolerates racism and cultural bias. Property Managers have no people or true management skills
Do not want to disclose (Former Employee), USMay 17, 2014
Pros: benefits seem decent
Cons: everything else
Do not work for this company if you are a minority or are from another culture. They don't understand or support diversity in any form and seem to have a very high tolerance for racist views and cultural insensitivity. The Managers have no true management training. They seem to stick people in these jobs who are good at leasing but not managing people. – more... Property managers are idiots on a power trip .
Even from a property management and Industry standpoint this company seems backwards. There are better companies to work for and better places to live. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be worst
tecch (Former Employee), ocalaMarch 12, 2014
Cons: if they can, they will do it
learned that you get lot of time off for vacation but they make their own rule how many week you can take at the time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this company just got a lot bigger
Lead Service Technician (Current Employee), Woodstock , GaFebruary 13, 2014
I love working in a fast paced environment ,it makes the day go by fast
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security - 5; Management - 1; Forward Thinking - 0
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), AtlantaMay 22, 2013
Pros: won't get fired....
Cons: ..... but you can be sold off through portfolio changes if they don't like you.
That is all that needs to be said. Many of the reviews here are correct, especially for the south region. I wont repeat those sentiments although I fully agree. If you are looking for a job, this place is great. If you are looking for a career, please look elsewhere, especially if you have any ethnicity. I witnessed the white-washing of two properties, – more... and that is nothing to take lightly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Play the politics, you'll be fine
Support Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GaMarch 26, 2013
Pros: competetive salary
Cons: dated practices and
They got me with the smiles and the corporate philosophies. Great concepts but surely every property level situation is not the same. I learned quickly that the culture is one that requires you to be with the company for at least 10 yrs to be respected. If your manager has been with the company forever, they are automatically part of the " inner circle" – more... and they can operate the affairs of the property how ever they feel and be just fine. Just make sure everything looks neat and clean, hang a few balloons when "Memphis" comes to visit and all is well. Feed back is not respected or appreciated.
Very dated in their corporate philosophy; fresh ideas are not embraced. There is a " band aid" process for broken property level practices. Low team morale. Horrible Ensembles! Very very dated in their approach to sales and marketing. Collection process makes it impossible to work with residents. Forget getting a bonus!
But if you stay long enough and nod and smile you will do just fine. Leave your creativity, imagination and drive for success at home; no room for change.
Highly disappointing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable job with decent hours
Client Lease Coordinator (Current Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: co-workers, work-load diversity, benefits
Cons: pay, autonomy
There is much phone work and face-to-face interaction at this job. Management is helpful and has an open-door policy. There is a handful of personnel which work together exclusively as a team on multiple projects. The hardest part of the job is accommodating the overall community with it's different wants and needs. I like being apart of the full-cycle – more... of process of leasing. There are many processes and orders to the processes. Organization and people-skills is a must. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but just like any other mgmt. company.
Support Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, Ga.January 25, 2013
Pros: great staff, wonderful company, incentives, some of the best benefits.
Cons: restructing needed, employee support not there, employee morale needed
MAA is a great company the South region is the problem and needs a complete make over. I was fooled with the good benefits and the smiles from the start. But this company is just like any other property management company. THe company as a whole has great values, but there are different values at each property depending on who your surpervisor is and – more... what her values and morales are. Compensation was average and they have a weird evaluation policy that makes it hard for you to get a raise. There is good job security I never worry about my job, because I love doing what I do, although advance is a issue. This is something that definetly needs to be worked on. It's all about who you know and you better know the right people in your region. As far as managment it really depends on what region you work within. I have a great work/life balance, this I love. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, but not rewarding
Grounds Tech (Current Employee), Lexington, KYDecember 13, 2012
Pros: independent, always something to do
Cons: no way for me to advance, everything i do is undone, repetitve
On my typical day I come in at 7 AM to start cleaning the office and opening up. Then around 8 o'clock my supervisor, manager, and a coworker come in to start their day, so I head out on a property walk. after I finish my walk I have to water the plants, change trash liners in the public trash-cans, blow leaves, pressure-wash, and make sure the dumpster – more... areas are clean. Some days I get everything done very quickly, so I report to my supervisor who sometimes has maintenance jobs for me to do. Every day usually holds a surprise somewhere.

The hardest part about my job is that I can spend all day on a task that needs to be done, but the next day my work has been completely undone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best company to work for
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 28, 2012
Pros: residents
Cons: pay, upper management, insurance, lack of organization
The company as a whole is OK but my region was not so great. The cultural values that have been put in place were not displayed. Management does not listen to the concerns of the employees. Residents were not treated with respect by upper management at all. A lot of favoritism was evident.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Support Manager (Current Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 2, 2012
I've really enjoyed working here. Just like all jobs there are some things I'd change, but the list is pretty short...all in all I'd certainly recommend it.

About MAA

We believe it is only through our greatest asset, our associates, that we transform properties into communities, and apartments – Read more