Find companies:
MAC Cosmetics
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
199 reviews

MAC Cosmetics Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enviroment
Stock and Visual Supervisor (Former Employee), Peoria, AZDecember 17, 2014
Pros: made a lot of friends
Was in charge of stock or two different stores. One which carried MAC store only products. I was in charge of separating all product and putting it away. Also did the RTV's and damages. Ordered product and set up events.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite job!
Makeup Artist (Former Employee), Washington, DCDecember 16, 2014
I always had a dream of being a makeup artist at MAC, and it was truly awesome for my time there. They value creativity and ensure that you grow as an artist. I could not have had a better experience in retail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, Fun, Challenging
Make-up Artist & Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lynnwood, WADecember 10, 2014
Pros: fun atmosphere, the pay, making people happy
Cons: the schedule, and dissappointing a few people.
Every day at work was a challenge, either a very fun challenge, or very difficult. The fun challenges were when we'd have theme days(when new collections came out), as well as when we had appointments with groups of brides/bridesmaids, girls/guys going to a dance, and performers. Doing make up was fun, but everyone is different, and some customers were – more... pleased, and some were not. My schedule was the only reason I put in my two weeks. It was never consistent and made going to school really difficult. I did have a great family of girls I worked with there, and that is one thing I will never forget about working at MAC. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a new exciting adventure
24Hr Artist (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCDecember 3, 2014
Pros: amazing staff, great clients
Cons: no wekends off
You have the ability to use your creative skills and teach it to others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced and fun environment
Sales Assistant/Certified Makeup Artist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 2, 2014
A typical day consists of keeping up to date with daily and personal sales goal as well as dealing with multiple clients at the same time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to build your artistry skills
Makeup Artist (Former Employee), Kansas City, MO - Tucson, AZNovember 24, 2014
Pros: gratis, travel opportunity, competitive pay and healthcare benefits
Cons: they own your life, very little work-life balance, some poor management, co-workes who steal sales
MAC is a great place for the die-hard Makeup Artist! You get gratis, which is free makeup on certain collections. You get to do makeup everyday and touch others' lives in a positive way. When you make it to full-time which starts at 30hrs per week, you get great healthcare benefits. 2 week vacations in a year, 401K, and so on. you have daily/monthly/yearly – more... goals to meet. The con to that is if you don't make your goal, you get fired. Now it is not immediate, but it depends on who's management you are under. The company can be very clique like and if you don't fit in, it is very hard to advance. Overall I got to travel when working for then and the company help shape me into who I am today, for that I am grateful! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun But Challenging Job
Makeup Artist (Former Employee), Towson, MDNovember 20, 2014
Pros: 60% discount, free gratis, makeup knowledge and technique
Cons: demanding customers, difficult sales goals
I loved working for MAC and learned a lot while I was there. There is definitely a lot of pressure to make your numbers and if you don't they will definitely make sure to discuss them with you which can be super stressful at times. The hardest part of the job (in my specific location) was the customers. We got a lot of hostile customers who would get – more... upset with us over the price of MAC products, some who didn't seem to understand that we are responsible for selling things and aren't just there to play in makeup all day, some who want you to stand by their side for two hours while they try on EVERY lipstick and get mad if you have to step away, etc. Overall, I love the company and was definitely proud to be an employee, you just have to be able to make the best out of some negative situations sometimes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN PLACE TO WORK
Stock/Sales Support (Former Employee), SACRAMENTONovember 19, 2014
I worked doing stock, that was my favorite part of the day. Not very many opportunities for advancement if you are not a make up artist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced work enviornment
Third Key Manager/Make-Up Artist (Former Employee), El Paso, Tx.November 16, 2014
During my employment with MAC Cosmetics I learned a lot about product knowledge and customer service skills as well as managerial responsibilities such as inventory, gratis, damages and rtv's. Management was extremely pro-active in my growth with the company and my co-workers were always supportive and helpful. The hardest part of the job would have – more... to be during the holidays and the long hours, but building strong customer bonds and maintaining sales goals made it all worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced. required sales goals.
Makeup Artist (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCOctober 29, 2014
Productive and fun workplace. Fast paced environment. Must maintain daily and monthly sales goals. Multitasking between multiple customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Freelance/on-call Makeup Artist (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCOctober 28, 2014
It is really nice to work for them. Very diverse company. If you like being on your feet all day, sales, and dealing with face to face customer interaction then this is the job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good opportunity
30hr position make- up artist (Former Employee), las vegasOctober 25, 2014
Good company to have under your belt far as experience. At first i loved the company it was more about the artistry now its about making numbers, which i get but to a certain extent. Mac is about Mac not it's employees. Behind close doors they are sneaky and fake and everyone will doing anything to get to the top. Just took me 6yrs to figure that out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being an artist was great, being an employee... not so much.
Makeup Artist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 24, 2014
Pros: great education
Cons: bad choices for management
I loved the brand. I loved the company philosophy. I loved the trainings. I still love the product. The shift to a very corporate and cold way of running the brand was a bad move. Management that treats future recruits like sorority girls about to be hazed is obnoxious. Management that is not all concerned about the well-being and growth of its employees – more... is terrible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day of doing makeup for customers all day
Retail Manager/Head Makeup Artist (Former Employee), Jonesboro, AROctober 11, 2014
MAC was an incredibly fun place to work. Not only did we get what we love to do, we also made friends with our customers.

As the manager disciplinary action was the hardest part for me. I had to terminte three people, and each time I just felt awful.

Another fun fact was all the training we attended. A couple of times a month we would fly to Dallas – more... to train and see the other managers and trainers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mac Cosmetics
Make-Up Artist (Current Employee), las vegasOctober 10, 2014
Still working for the company and like I said it is amazing to be working with such a great brand and amazing makeup artist
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative environment with passionate employees.
Associate, Human Resources (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 7, 2014
Pros: creative culture, unique work environment with great benefits
As an HR professional the most enjoyable part of my day is interacting with all employees at all levels in the office. I also belong to a great HR team who work well together in a collaborative environment.

My typical day is usually peppered with the unknown. I usually have last minute one to one meetings added to my calendar and have to frequently – more... shift and re-prioritize my day.

I've learned how to work in an extremely fast paced environment catering to a very passionate clientele which can be very challenging and rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivce, fun filled enviorment
MAkeup Artist (Current Employee), Santa Ana, CASeptember 29, 2014
amazing managers
diversity
communication
the most enjoyable part of this job is making women feel beautiful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Makeup Artist (Current Employee), Atlanta,GASeptember 18, 2014
I enjoy working for this company. The environment is energetic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Artist (Former Employee), Pleasanton, CASeptember 17, 2014
Create new styles of customers without taking them out of their comfort zones
Multitasking without overexerting yourself
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freelance Life
Freelance Makeup Artist (Current Employee), Long Island Region NYSeptember 11, 2014
If you love makeup then this is ultimate. Working for a worldwide company. Doing makeovers, meeting people, connecting with other women. Making people feel beautiful on their special days and learning techniques along the way. Key note never give up and continue to do what you love to do.

1 2 3 4 5

About MAC Cosmetics

M·A·C Cosmetics is committed to serving the needs of the makeup professional. The M·A·C PRO Membership – Read more