MAC Trailer Employee Reviews

Showing all 30 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work.
Welder/Fitter (Former Employee) –  Alliance, OHJuly 19, 2017
There's better and there's worse. Pay was good for the amount of skill involved in doing the job, management needs some serious help but if you can ignore that and do your job, there's not much else to complain about.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are mean and to many untrained young workers.
Welder (Current Employee) –  Alliance, OHJuly 9, 2017
They don't take the time out to train you right which means they hire a lot of young people and basically put them on stations they dont train them for. See Mac trailer wants these trailers done in one night and with a young guy that doesn't know anything about building trailers, it's not going to be possible so what that causes is all the " veteran " workers getting mad at the kid AND we get backed up so mac could really do a better job at training young workers. Also I hate working for Mac trailer getting yelled at is not going to make me work harder or faster and they don't realize that. They should put new guys in training classes for at least 2-3 weeks so when they actually get on the shop floor they know what there doing. Horrible job and I wouldn't recommend to anyone!!!! Regret even working here.
Pros
It's pretty cool to know you built a trailer
Cons
Dangerous, and they don't teach you anything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for a starting shop position
Welder (Current Employee) –  Salem, OHJune 8, 2017
Honestly not a bad place to work. If you work hard you will likely not be laid off or have any issues with your boss. But often times your work is rushed and quality is pushed aside until a unit ends up needing a lot of rework and missing parts fixed. also advancement seems impossible unless you're personal friends with someone in management. Not a very hard place to work but i wouldn't recommend it to anyone looking to further their career in the welding field.
Pros
decent starting pay, 40 hours, possible overtime, good benefits.
Cons
slow advancement, quantity over quality.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the work
Product Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Alliance, OHMay 19, 2017
It has its pros and cons.. I am not one to defame a company based on individual actions. Sadly my career came to an end, with multiple projects unfinished, and most likely never will be..
Pros
Loved designing and improving the trailers
Cons
"They want to see you do good, but never better than them.."
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy, Hard, Hot to Freezing Cold
Welder/ Assembler (Former Employee) –  Alliance, OHApril 14, 2017
Mac is Mac. When you want to work they work you. If you don't want to work don't work. Staff comes and goes. People get hurt a lot. To many untrained young workers.
Pros
Pleany of work.
Cons
Dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MAC Trailer
Welder (Former Employee) –  alliance, OhioMarch 28, 2017
MAC Trailer is a good place for someone just starting out or getting into the welding career. Work days can be long and exhausting there are times you are working 10- to 12 hr days 7/days a weeks. If your looking for overtime then there is usually a good opportunity for it. Management is not very friendly nor are they understanding and dont usually stick to there word they tend to think they are better then you. If your looking for advancement dont expect it from MAC unless you have an in they tend to play favorites there. I would have to say the most enjoyable thing of the job is depending on the job you do then you get to be left alone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for someone just out of school
Welder (Former Employee) –  Alliance, OHFebruary 9, 2017
its either cold or hot, i learned how to rework use plasma cutter weld aluminum build axels. Management was good. hardest part was prints wasn't always right. best part was the people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed
Materials Manager (Former Employee) –  Salem, OHDecember 29, 2016
Calling someone a Vice President doesn't make them one. The abusive and humiliating management causes the employees of the plant to only do what is necessary to keep their jobs.

If you go above and beyond to support or improve your department, you WILL be shot down in a bad way so that everyone around you hears it.

The filthy language and attitudes of management was degrading and any efforts to contain it were met with ridicule.

Being a Christian is not welcome in the Salem facility. You will be mocked by the upper management.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Horrific management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job over all
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Alliance, OHAugust 25, 2016
Hours are available, cool co-workers, good standards. good benefits nice office personal. Hard work pays off when you get to see the finished product.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad experience
Welder (Current Employee) –  Alliance, OHAugust 3, 2016
You are required to work long hours. Sometimes 60 a week. When things slow down,they won't hesitate to fire you. Very poor management. Nobody knows what's going on because of it if you are hospitalized, they will make you voluntarily resign or wait until you point out, and fire you. (If it's before your year) HR manager is insanely rude. Little to no training. Total sweat shop. Not a good place to work unless you are new to the field and need experience for a resume.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great motovators
Tow Motor driver (Former Employee) –  Kent, OHAugust 1, 2016
Everyone was patent and understanding of other peoples different ways of learning the staff was always trying to find better ways to improve quality work and training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was decent for the experience
Welder (Former Employee) –  Alliance, OHJuly 25, 2016
I really enjoy welding. I dont care hot hot or how complex it is i love it. What i dont like is all the confusion. everyone has different opinions and different ways of doing things and it causes mahem. Basically there are too many people there trying to be in charge. not very many people like to do what they are told.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workers
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  14599 commerce st.July 18, 2016
it's a functional shop. it apparently is in a transition stage of growth. we (as employees) were promised a break room for 90 people. It was later decided it was too good for employee use. It's now a training room. far as I know there is no plans for an employee break room. when I leave a job I always miss the people & not the business. this one is no different.
Pros
no Pro's
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Locally-owned successful company
HR Generalist (Former Employee) –  Salem, OHMay 20, 2016
I gained invaluable experience hiring in a fast-paced industry, and worked with some of the best people I have ever met.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company with alot of experience and growth opprotunity
engineering manager (Former Employee) –  Kent, OHJanuary 13, 2016
Productive company with a lot of experience and growth opportunity.

Systems are new and will need a lot of work

Staff is relatively new at Manufacturing and inexperienced
Pros
people
Cons
systems
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive trailer shop.
Welder (Current Employee) –  Alliance, OHDecember 28, 2015
There is plenty of overtime with friendly co-workers. It's a very good welding and blueprint reading experience. I never stop moving.
Pros
Good managment
Cons
Too far away
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Supervision
Welder (Former Employee) –  Alliance OHJuly 23, 2015
The big complaint i had was my supervisor which would never help out and would always talk down to people. Other than that i had great co-workers and ok hours.
Pros
had enough breaks
Cons
supervision
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
basic welding
Welder/Painter (Former Employee) –  Alliance, OHJuly 7, 2015
you pretty much do the same thing day in and day out. this type of welding can become very repetitious. can be a good job though if you like this kind of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they put you to work
Welder/Fitter (Former Employee) –  Salem, OHMay 6, 2015
the company pays good but you are required to do whatever they say and you have to work for as long as they say or els you get punished
Pros
all the over time you want
Cons
live at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but difficult
Mounter (Current Employee) –  Salem, OHFebruary 18, 2015
A typical day at work usually goes well. Busy with usually alot of work needing done. Ive learned how to better understand and fix things when something is wrong. The proper steps and procedue to installing parts on the trailer. Ive also learned I like working long hours. My only complaint is the management and the point system is terrible. That would be the hardest part of the job, dealing with these cause there is absolutly no options. its their way or no way. They dont seem to care at all whats going on in your personal life, all they care about is making you work. And the point system is very bad. If you go to a doctor, have an injury or have important things that need to be done they will point you no matter what even if you have things like a doctors slip. The most enjoyable part is you meet some many different people and alot of them I can say I view as friends.
Pros
no pros
Cons
said above, short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MAC Trailer. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.3
Culture
2.7

MAC Trailer Reviews by Location