Mack Trucks Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very competitive
Diesel Mechanic Technician (Former Employee) –  Jenner laNovember 24, 2017
I lived there when I worked there..good place to work..I loved it ..made my own hours..I was shop boss so I had full run of shop..it was a family based business
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just an average place with good pay
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Alburtis, PANovember 13, 2017
good pay, a big "that's not my job" mind set amongst employees, due to it's union structure (not a bad thing necessarily), very strong union, management is clueless
Pros
good pay, most major holidays are paid off time
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment and excellent culture
Materials Handling Intern (Former Employee) –  Macungie, PANovember 9, 2017
Working at Mack Trucks will keep you on your toes. It is fast paced and you are never doing the same thing every day. The culture makes it fun and enjoyable to work at Mack Trucks.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Very fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
General Maintenance Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Macungie, PAJuly 26, 2017
great plant full of long time employees. only have to watch out as a new hire because layoffs due happen often. so if u want steady promised work always. it may not be your best fit
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelente ambiente de trabajo
Auditor de calidad (Former Employee) –  Estados UnidosJuly 16, 2017
Una empresa de grandes retos y muchas oportunidades, con una excelente dirección corporativa.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company always thrives for customer satisfaction
Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee) –  Macungie, PAJuly 13, 2017
Interesting company to work and great source to learn new things. Every day is a new challenge on shop floor and great colleagues to work with, who are always enthusiastic to teach.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great American Company that was acquired by Volvo
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILJune 4, 2017
The time at Mack Trucks Inc. involved eight to twelve hour days in a fast pace, deadline oriented atmosphere. The Shipping and Receiving operations included everything from Inventory Quality Control, order selection, inbound inventory control, Customer Returns, Assistant Supervision. It was one of only two Mack facilities that operated in a Union free environment. If you performed, you were not going anywhere... which might explain why I stayed and I saw others with more years of service leave. My work ethic had me headed in the right direction with Mack. I eventually ended up becoming an Assistant Supervisor before I left the company due to advancements with my spouses career. I left to play an important role of Mr. Mom for 13 years. Highly recommend it to everyone!
Pros
Salary, They promoted from with-in, Good work/Life balance
Cons
Summer months in a warehouse
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Operations Co op (Former Employee) –  Macungie, PAMay 26, 2017
A typical truck assembly plant. Gained shop floor experience. Learned speaking to operators. Was allowed the freedom to speak to higher level management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A relaxing enviornment
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Alliance, OHMay 19, 2017
I really liked working for mack truck. The environment was worth the time spent, the people were easy and fun to work with. If i had one word to describe this place it world be awesome
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Intern (Former Employee) –  Macungie, PAApril 4, 2017
Mack Trucks was a great first step for me into the engineering field. To get to intern at one of Americas iconic companies was truly an experience of a lifetime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making the trucks
Process Technician (Former Employee) –  Winnsboro, SCMarch 9, 2017
Aside from the USMC this was the physically hardest job I ever had and I loved it. Mack was so orderly. Start at 7am end at 3 pm. You worked on an assembly line with truck chassis coming constantly. You have 6 minutes to climb on the truck affix your piece and get off.

Fast paced, sense of accomplishment and for the most part, good personalities to work with.
Pros
good pay, lots of time off
Cons
they moved to Virgina. Closed the plant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced assemly line truck building
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Winnsboro, SCJanuary 12, 2017
Day at work:
Clock in
Get tools ready
Line starts moving: install parts & or assignments
Line stops: Clock out or do overtime

Learned:
Speed, responsibility, accuracy, strive to perfection

Management:
Firm, predictable

Co-workers:
Strong hard workers who were tough and very fast

Hardest:
Being fast enough, strong enough, and perfect enough at the same time

Most enjoyable:
Interactions with fellow employees to make the day happier and go by faster.
Pros
Wonderful manager, great fellow employees, salaried pay
Cons
Speed and quality goals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Macungie, PASeptember 14, 2016
there's room for growth and a lot of overtime is offered, my co-workers are awesome great working place theres always someone willing to help you if you get behind
Pros
cheap health care
Cons
lay-offs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Premier Company to work for
Customer Adaptation Center Technician (Current Employee) –  Macungie, PAJune 12, 2016
I have thoroughly enjoyed working for Mack for the last 18 years. I learned quite a bit in regards to Customer Satisfaction, Continuous Improvement requirements, building a world class heavy truck.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
goods and bads
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAMay 24, 2016
Laid off after a year good place to work good benefits are a plus, long term future not so good, layoffs are because of sales on trucks, I miss the job I had, I was starting to get real good at it.
Pros
lots of overtime
Cons
weekend work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workers are passionate about their job
Finance Intern (Current Employee) –  Macungie, PAApril 2, 2016
I had an internship in the finance department at Mack Trucks. They certainly needed more people in the department to make work easier but it was very good experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at.
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Macungie, PAMarch 21, 2016
I enjoy working on trucks, Mack Trucks was a great fit for myself. Looking to explore new areas of the Industrial field, as well as gain knowledge in other fields.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Quality auditor (Former Employee) –  Macungie, PAFebruary 3, 2016
Everyday was an opportunity to learn something new, helpful co-workers. Never a boring day, either working by yourself or alongside others. I was introduce to things i never worked with before and learned more than i could imagine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job, just lacked job security
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Macungie, PADecember 1, 2015
enjoyed working with my hands
everyone was nice and pleasant to work with.
was a fast paced environment but was easy to get into the flow of everything
worked with tools and various equipment while maintaining quality control
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going place to work at.
Production Technician (Current Employee) –  Macungie, PANovember 19, 2015
I like working at Mack Trucks.
The enviroment is industrial.
Doing the same thing over and over can get boring.
The pay is very good for what you do their.
Management is pretty good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mack Trucks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
4.0