Find companies:
Macmillan
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Macmillan Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,knowledgable and fun place to work.
Receptionist/Secretary (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYApril 15, 2013
A million projects to do and calls to make but an amazing manager. i learned how to be the perfect personal assistant/secretary. worked well under pressure. Coworkers were friendly , not really any major hardships but i can say running errands in the summer heat wasn't so great and most enjoyable part was the free lunch sometimes and the free tickets – more... to theater shows. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing
Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee), New YorkJune 5, 2012
• Promoted to assist marketing services director of an international publishing company in 5 functional areas including supervising 9 staff, scheduling, and travel arrangements

• Controlled traffic for producing 7 types of collateral while proofreading 200-page catalogs

• Facilitated efficient financial operations by maintaining expense records, reviewing – more... with VP of marketing services to determine budget reserves, creating monthly supervisor’s reports, and submitting invoices

• Scheduled ad runs in trade publications, placing insertion orders and providing design and production departments with accurate information

• Prepared exhibit booth for International Reading Association trade show and ensured smooth operations across the 5-day show

• Appointed to National Sales Meeting logistics committee, orchestrating award production, accommodations, agenda, and meeting binders for over 350 attendees

• Maintained promotional items inventory, stocking items, fulfilling orders, and following-up with distribution center to ensure delivery of promotional materials – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Software Engineer (Former Employee), London, OHMay 23, 2012
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the jo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning environment
Editor (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPJuly 21, 2014
Pros: wonderful colleagues
Working in any publishing house, particularly in the education department is a rollercoaster ride. The deadlines are tough and at times seems impossible, the demands seem unreasonable and the hours radical and yet for all the complaints there is not a day I resented going to work.

Everyday presented a new challenge whether it be conflict management, – more... time management or simply a new word to add to my continually growing vocabulary. The industry is alive with possibilities and challenges but it also presents the constant possibility of growth.

I was fortunate beyond words to work in a caring but challenging environment that taught me he benefits of corporate working and instilled in me pride and discipline.

Working with the team I worked with was an inspirational experience that I will hopefully have learnt from. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cancer support centre
Support Officer - Part-time, job share (Former Employee), London, ENGDecember 28, 2013
Pros: atmosphere
Cons: sadness and frustration
I worked as part of a small team in the centre, assessing new users and helping them get the best out of it and helping them with their queries re finance and other help. Sourced information for the library, ran the library and information centre. Enjoyed good relationships with co-workers in a very supportive atmosphere. The hardest part was seeing – more... the hardships that people endured. The most enjoyable part was the feeling of support and team work, knowing that we were helping. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
Document Specialist (Former Employee), Bangalore, KANovember 16, 2013
It's like a Entry Level Job, Need to download the Jobs from Stellant and need to split the Jobs to production Designers...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Strategies leader for widespread promotion (Former Employee), EverywereOctober 5, 2013
Pros: free hot chocolate in the winter
Cons: eating out side for lunch
This job was a fund raising based job, me and my team would have to go to different areas of London and tell the public about Macmillan and the service they provide in the hope that people would donate.

I learned a lot from this job, the important things I learned was leadership, direction and communication. I really enjoyed working for Macmillan because – more... I had interesting colleagues to work with.

The hardest part of the job was traveling to new areas because most of them were really far. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Software testing, manual testing, databas Testing, SQL, UNIX
Senior Testing Engineer (Current Employee), bangaloreAugust 13, 2013
Software testing, manual testing, databas Testing, SQL, UNIX
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Legal Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Surrey, BCApril 10, 2013
Spent nearly 18 months there and loved it. I moved to alberta for 6 months is the only reason i left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ver Good, free canteen
ART DIRECTOR (Former Employee), London, ENGApril 6, 2013
Pros: strong team
Cons: ventilation
ART DIRECTOR Nature, Macmillan June 2003 - January 2011 My initial task was to re-establish the art team into a working force again. The magazine was at a very embryonic stage and needed new direction. My job was to improve the design and take the graphics to a greater level.
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed – more... research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality and importance. It also provides authoritative news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science and the wider public. For these reasons the design, the look and the graphics have to reflect this.
Initially with 2 designers we set out to make the graphics and photography more dynamic and to make the pages more readable. The next few years saw many changes until we grew to become a thriving team of 12 designers and photo researchers. The Nature art team had never been as strong and was a credit to all the team in making this happen. Being at the helm of the team when such important changes are taking place felt like a great achievement.
We continued to create powerful exciting issues with impactful graphics and typography when we relaunched again in September of 2010.
NOTABLE ACHIEVEMENTS
Built the team from 3 to 12 strong Redesign 2005, also changing all graphic styles Redesign 2010 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great job and every day is different
Funding Consultant (Current Employee), Bethnal GreenMarch 2, 2013
Pros: breaks when needed
Cons: long hours
One never know what the day is going to pan out like and every day if as fun as one makes it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet but productive workplace
Post Treatment Coordinator (Current Employee), BlackpoolNovember 26, 2012
Pros: making a difference
Cons: not very busy, miss clinical nursing, want to complete top up degree modules in clinical practice
I am currently working on a temporary contract with Macmillan setting up Health and Wellbeing clinics for patients finishing chemotherapy/radiotherapy treatment. This role is aimed and looking into different ways we can provide follow up to our patients as the number of people in follow up rises which is increasing the demands on the service. The hardest – more... part of the job is being your own boss a majority of the time. I enjoy the role i am in because the feedback from patients who have attended the health and wellbeing clinics is very postive and they report how much their participation has boosted their psychological and emotional wellbeing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unprofessional company, York
SDA (Former Employee), YorkJune 21, 2012
unprofessional, dishonest, two-faced
the most unprofessional company to work for in York
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente ambiente laboral, apoyo de cada departamento
Representante de ventas (Current Employee), Ciudad de México, DIFMay 11, 2014
Pros: apoyo de cada area, buenas prestaciones
Cons: baja oportunidad de crecimiento
Capacitación continua para cada objetivo empresarial, siempre hay apoyo de mis compañeros de trabajo en cada situación dificil, el ambiente es coordial y con respeto
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen ambiente de trabajo
Mozo de almacén (Former Employee), Pinto (Madrid)January 28, 2014
Ambiente bueno de trabajo lo que hace que facilite el trabajo.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen ambiente de trabajo.
Preparador de pedidos. (Former Employee), Pinto, MadridJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: dan cheques gourmet
Realización de preparación de pedidos de libros, lo más dificil es que algunos títulos venían en inglés. Pero día a día y como tambíen nos ponían la ubicación ya no me era difícil localizarlos.
Lo que más me ha gustado es que he seguido adquiriendo más conocimientos para mi vida laboral