Find companies:
Macy's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,570 reviews

Macy's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A huge mistake
Dock Employee (Current Employee), Seattle, WAAugust 21, 2014
Probably one of the worst companies i have personally been employed for. This job really is only for students that are fresh out of high school or for students that want some extra pocket change. They rarely give out hours, but when they do its simply out of the blue without any warning and expect you to show up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced and fun place to work.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Paramus, NJAugust 21, 2014
This job challenged me a great deal. I came into this job thinking it was going to one of the easiest jobs ever. Well I wrong and I was pushed to work hard and fast every day and I thank my manager for that because it made me the best sales associate I could ever imagine to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good place to work if you are new to retail
Sales Associate (Former Employee), West Hartford, CTAugust 21, 2014
Pros: working with repeat customers, employee discount, most managers were very nice to work for, a few were extremely helpful
Cons: long hours, closing late at night and then being asked to come in early the next day to open, some younger employees were not hardworking and a few were downright rude to management, but they never seemed to be spoken to, loyal employees were taken for granted
I liked the people I worked with and I enjoyed working with customers; however my direct supervisor was not a very trustworthy or honorable person. I hardly received any employee coaching, which I found out from other supervisors and those in management she was supposed to do on a weekly basis. She would tell employees untruths (i.e. lies) to get what – more... she wanted. She was very paranoid if she saw you speaking with other supervisors or going to the executive office -- even for routine matters. I no longer have any respect for her. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Credit Customer Service (Former Employee), Clearwater,FlAugust 21, 2014
Responsible for accessing customer’s account information, making any changes to account if necessary, such as change of address, updating any important information, dealing with customer’s credit card history with our company. I had to go through transactions with customers (familiar/ unfamiliar) and direct to the correct department for proper assistance. – more... If customers needed fees removed or should have received special promotions that weren’t applied to purchase or bill statement, I was in charge of making the proper adjustments to account. Sending out replacement cards or any card reported lost/stolen through our system. Macy’s customers and Bloomingdale’s clients share the same concern, only difference is Macy’s has MyMacysRewards which is given out when customers do excessive shopping. Bloomingdale’s has Loyallist Points which provides reward cards when 5,000 points or more come from purchases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In a Nut Shell
Sales Associate/ Customer Service (Current Employee), ChicagoAugust 21, 2014
Pros: meeting new and interesting people (celebs sometimes), employee discount, foodlife!!!!!
A typical day at work is spent developing product knowledge for customers. A large portion of our clientele live in the area or in the building, so when they shop with us, they have a general idea of what they are looking for. Another large portion are tourist who often need something out of necessity or the item they want is less expensive or exclusively – more... available here. Both parties depend on us to know what they need, how to find it, when, and where it's available.
Communication is essential to my job, especially in women's shoes. The complications with women's feet is a very sensitive subject and if communicated incorrectly, explosions (by Michael Bay) will occur! Tenderness + Understanding + Humility(Humor) = successful transactions, potential clients, and overall great experiences.
The hardest part of my job is dealing with employee(s) that have little to no enthusiasm for what they do. Our job *requires ultimate multitasking and patience, when unwilling to do so, it only takes one bad review from a customer to make the entire team look bad. When I'm doing a job, I'm enveloped in it, I want it done timely and correctly. Often times, I over work myself with my projects, because of my lack in confidence in some of my co-workers. My managers are such amazing people and want to see us all succeed. It's very difficult to see their time and effort being wasted on employees who intentionally come up short. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay environment
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Livingston, NJAugust 21, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: not fully organized
was a nice place to work, with very nice people. was a little disorganized but fully equip with everything needed to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved macys
Retail sales associate (Former Employee), Visalia, CAAugust 21, 2014
Pros: always took care of employees
Cons: temporary
I assisted customers with finding products for their skin...I learned alot about the makeup things I never knew. I enjoyed all the people I worked with everyone was nice and helpful. The hardest part was remembering everything about each product. I enjoyed helping customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fresh and funplace work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Montgomeryville, PAAugust 21, 2014
At macy's i liked o work specially in beauty department. Management was good and my co-workers were nice and very helpful. I don't have any complain taking with that job. whenever we have inventory i had so much fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to love working with irritated customers
Lead Sales Support (Former Employee), Countryside Mall, ClearwaterAugust 21, 2014
Pros: steady job and i was always asked to move up in the company
Cons: very few
Over all I loved working for Macy's. Most of the management

was very strong in recognizing those that contributed over

and above what they were asked for.

Above all the team worked hard and got along extremely well.

Great atmosphere to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Rochester, NYAugust 21, 2014
I enjoyed working for Macy's. I loved being able to work around clothes and putting stuff together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place to work and fun
Suit Specialist (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 20, 2014
Good company to work for and advance up the ladder. Nice coworkers, and great customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Employment Support Specialist (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLAugust 20, 2014
Not enough Full time positions in Human resources. They are a great company just sometimes not enough open positions in corporate center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macys
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Columbia, SCAugust 20, 2014
Pros: great work enviornment
Cons: not enough hours
a typical 3 hour shift is easy going. management is very attentive, my co workers are very nice and helpful, great work enviornment, given i dont get scheduled often it'd kind of hard to "keep up"and working with fun people is very enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Sales specialist (Former Employee), Kennesaw Ga.August 20, 2014
Pros: gradis for performance.
Cons: short breaks
Upon arrival to store making sure cases were clean, and organized, all signage is correct and displayed.
Greet and explain products to customers producing top sales numbers.
Once a week setting up a special event, buy calling existing customer base, and informing new customers about up coming event. Also contacting business to help participate in the – more... in store event.
This was a friendly place to work, enjoyed the other sale associated, This job taught me a great deal about customer service, and sales techniques, and customer relations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy being on floor of Macy's
Sales Associates in Fashion watch Dept. (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PAAugust 20, 2014
Lot of learning and getting experience to deal with customers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), miami, flAugust 19, 2014
Pros: good management
Cons: bad co-workers
Flexible schedules based in availability. The hardest part is the majority of the workers there are not to loyal to each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work, time management
Support Associate (Current Employee), Pembroke Pines, FLAugust 19, 2014
Pros: pick own shedule to work
Cons: not enough available work
Nice place to work, but not enough work available to everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable working environment
Executive Office Manager (Former Employee), West Nyack, NYAugust 19, 2014
This position enabled me to learn how to better communicate with customers, and enhance my problem solving skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical day at work
Sales Associate - Textiles Department (Current Employee), Lansing, ILAugust 19, 2014
• Assist customers with textile selections for matching & coordinating
• Exceed customer service standards and performance expectations
• Connected and demonstrated a positive attitude towards the customers purchase
• Work in various departments and quickly learn new procedures with different associates
• Exceed sales expectations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customer service
recovert (Former Employee), boca ratonAugust 19, 2014
Pros: loving work place
Cons: not enough hours
I loved working at macys when things got business we all camed together as one

1 2 3 4 5