Find companies:
Macy's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,012 reviews

Macy's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Fun Job
Clinique Certified Consultant (Former Employee), Huntington, WVOctober 15, 2014
Fun work environment. Team player atmosphere. Flexible schedule opportunity for part time and full time employees. Offer benefits for positions other than 40 hr. full time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
On Call Sales Associate (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 15, 2014
Coworkers are very helpful and the company really cares about their employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taugh me new things about retail
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Jefferson Valley, NYOctober 15, 2014
Pros: like working with people from customers to employees and helping them
Cons: demanding hours for weekends and holidays
Either you are an opener or a closer. Either way you open or close your register on a daily basis. You are assigned a dept but that can change any point during a shift.
You go from helping customers find merchandise to paying for the product they want. If we dont have we offer to find for them and have shipped.
Take payments for them help them if they – more... have questions with a bill by calling customer service and helping them understand the issue.
If they also want to apply for a card we can help them with that as well.
We also help restock merchandise and organize the store floor when we have down time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best jobs i have had.
Receiver/Stocker (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: very good deals on cloths
Cons: not to many
A day their was so fast i learned alot the management my co-workers wear alsome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work for students and step to another career
Vendor Paid Stock Associate (Current Employee), Springfield, PAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: flexable hours
Cons: poor work/life balance
A good job for a little income while in school or a place to get some work experience on your way to a career,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasant place to work
Pricing and signing (Former Employee), Oak Brook, ILOctober 15, 2014
Cons: work load light for people wanting full time positions
team members are hard working. Mamagers really work with you in great detail concerning training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work to pick up extram money
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYOctober 15, 2014
Pros: it was a job, management
Cons: no hours
my job was ok I was a sales associate where I would assist customers with finding items. Managed lines while checking out the cash draw, Also did recovery fixing up the stores floor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work or make extra money
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: anb hour lunch, macy money and good recognition of employees
Cons: standing for long periods
Macy's is agreat place to work the schedules are great because they allow you to make yyour own on the online scheduler as well as pick up or drop shifts as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a healthy place for anyone who has long time career goal
Sales Associate - Part time (Former Employee), Newport, NJOctober 15, 2014
Cons: exploitative environment
Macy's is not a healthy environment for any candidate trying to peruse a long time career goal. Poor Management, no opportunity for worker relations, poor worker involvement, throw away culture, poor pay, exploitative work style
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place for people to learn about work and have a chance to earn something and be recognized.
Salesperson/Cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 15, 2014
Pros: it is an interesting and diversified environment to work in.
Cons: the employee needs to be mature and bright.
Macy's is one of my favorite jobs to remember because they taught me some things about life when I was only a kid looking to improve my life and be respected.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Seasonal Job
Retail Associate ( Women's Active Wear ) (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 14, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: pay
Good for a seasonal part-time job. Pay is about average and management is nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ruff.
Ralph Lauren Sales Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 14, 2014
A day at Macy's included basically selling to every customer who walks int he door no matter if you think they are not going to buy anything. I've learned that working in retails you need to have a lot of patients. The management was not so good in my opinion because there was to many managers in my department. My co workers were okay. Some more offensive – more... than others. The hardest part of the job was keeping a straight face with difficult customers. But I've learned over the years how to deal with those very few customers with a simple smile and compliment. The most enjoyable part of the job was to end a sales and the customer thanking me for all the hard work that i did to make sure there sale was complete and they got everything that they needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: environment
Cons: short breaks
It was an alright job. Due to the location, I had to spend extra money daily to get to and from work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
On- call Sales Associate (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYOctober 14, 2014
Pros: friendly
Cons: not much hours
this was a friendly place to work, just not much opportunities . also not much people to talk to on how to more up withing company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 13, 2014
All about customer service. Great employee discounts. Winter holiday shifts can be very rough
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Associate Rep (Former Employee), Scranton, PAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: short lunches
It was a little family in the children's dept at Macy . We stocked the items and helped the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great experience working in the retail busniess.
Retail Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), West Nyack, NYOctober 13, 2014
Pros: great management
The store was always busy. there was always work to day and it kept me busy and happy to be a work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a job I would like to discuss
retail/sales (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 13, 2014
very tiring and long hours standing on feet. Although helping assist customers was pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Santa Barbara, CAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: communication
The management could you use a little bit of work and improvement. Communication with the employees would be another thing to improve in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Build and Release Engineer and Release Coordinator (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAOctober 13, 2014
A very good experience working with Macy's. A very professional and technology focused environment.