Find companies:
Macy's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,428 reviews

Macy's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enviroment and great employees.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 21, 2014
Pros: hour lunch paid
Cons: healthcare
Enjoyed customers and customer service, filing, book keeping, sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Men's Department Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fairfield, CADecember 21, 2014
No room for advancement the customers are very rude and management doesn't help to give a great work experience or support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed my job the work environment was wonderful
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Cheektowaga, NYDecember 21, 2014
i typically worked 8 hours a day providing customers with all their retail needs, such as finding merchandise , completing account payments, and tailoring their shopping experience to fit their individual needs . The hardest part of the job was the long hours standing . The best part was the work environment . I enjoyed managing my own day and experiencing – more... new people and situations on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Yakima, WADecember 21, 2014
The turnover rate is high. A lot has changed in the last few years. sounds like the employees are becoming more like just a number and are losing valuable employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good job
Women's Shoes Sales Associate (Current Employee), Ann Arbor, MIDecember 20, 2014
Pros: flexible scheudle
Cons: dealing with difficult customers
It is a great working environment and I enjoy working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty laid back yet very fun.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 20, 2014
I enjoyed my days working for Macy's the staff were very nice and the communication was outstanding. Management was always there when you needed them and i had no problems with anyone or anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work and enjoyed my time
Seasonal Recovery Coordinator (Current Employee), Cherry Hill, NJDecember 19, 2014
Learned alot from coworkers and management. Got leadership skills and also resource management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Data Entry Technician- I (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PADecember 19, 2014
Working as Macy's a typical work day would be coming in in the morning and unloading the trucks. I would also sensor the product as it came in. Sometimes your day could also consist of changing the signs and marking down merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at.
Sales Associate - Cashier (Current Employee), hawaiiDecember 19, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: schedule is bad
You go in, sign in on any register, entrance and exit on specific doors. A lot to learn and use it in one day. Customers are nice. The scheduling is a bit bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Grow
Sales Manager- Ready to Wear (Current Employee), San Jose, CADecember 19, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: fast growth
Ive learned alot from working with this company about myself, others and the world of customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macys
Part-time Sales Associate (Former Employee), 151 west 34th streetDecember 18, 2014
Macys was ok I really didn't appreciate how they let me go after all that hard work I put. I know I was hired seasonal but I felt like I really did a lot even worked couple of overnights for them, but they told me they would've kept me but once January came there budget was really low so they had to let go most of there seasonal co workers. The hardest – more... part was doing recovery especially I got hired to the kids department in the holidays. You know most customers are buying gifts for there children's so the floor got pretty crazy but I did handle it. I did enjoy a lot of co workers that worked there they were really friendly and most times they helped me out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad for a first job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), gaithersburgDecember 18, 2014
Pros: discounts
it was fun woring at macys however they were putting a lot of pressure on me when it came to opening Macys accounts and making new clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, great environment
Cosmetics Floater (Former Employee), Walla Walla, WADecember 18, 2014
Macy's is a very awesome and friendly environment
Macy's offers the best customer service
Macys employess go out of the way to satisfy your needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive work enviroment
CUSTOMER SERVICE/ SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Newark, DelwareDecember 18, 2014
Pros: free lunch, macy money, discount, able to schedule time off, and able to swap shifts with coworkers, thru online system so you don't have to miss work, or call out for last minute stuff
Cons: non really
great job offered lots of incentive flexable with schedule great coworkers and supervisors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad company to work for and there are some opportunity to advance. Benefits are good.
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Short Hills, NJDecember 18, 2014
Pros: benefits are good and discount is great
Cons: hours fluctuate and no consistency for hourly associates
They provide a lot of training probably the best in the business. My peers were great people and the sales team were incredible. The workload can be overwhelming at times so time management is crucial.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun atmosphere
Stock Clerk (Current Employee), Cheshire, CTDecember 17, 2014
Pros: hours are good
Cons: needs better mangment
Macy's is a good company to work for there understanding the working atmosphere is fast but fun. the hours are long but worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Stanford Shopping CenterDecember 17, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job was making women happy with their shoe purchase.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sacramento, CADecember 17, 2014
Pros: good hours and coworkers
Cons: managment and coverage
Macy's was a very interesting place to work at. The environment aimed to be professional and clean, although it did not succeed most of the time. We never had enough associates working in the Junior department, which was my department. And during big weekend sales and busy nights, their was never enough coverage for the entire sales floor. I did enjoy – more... the energy of the place. I love working in a team oriented environment because we lifted each other up when someone needed help. I also enjoyed helping customers find exactly what they came in to find, and even for the things they were not expecting to find. The management was very poor and unprofessional and I often felt that they belittled me. Training was very extensive with not enough hands-on action until your first official shift on the sales floor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, clean workplace with great workers and managers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Puyallup,WADecember 17, 2014
Pros: working in the mall
Cons: short staff, and ending up alone in a department that has blindsides where merchandise can be stolen.
A typical day at work is usually fast paced, always on your feet greeting customers and helping them find whatever it is they need. Constant organizing and cleaning making sure your department is well kept because sometimes your the only one working. I've learned a lot about integrity and always putting the customers first, because their experience – more... and reviews are all based on our performance and weather or not the company will grow. There wasn't anything hard about the job, everything was about customer service following the policies and always being aware of the constant sales every week. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting so much different people, working in the store itself was enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Character Building Work Environment
Support Associate (Current Employee), Nashua, NHDecember 17, 2014
Pros: 1 hour lunch when you are scheduled 7 hour day
Cons: hourly wage is poor
As a support associate during the busy holiday season, you are employed to help all departments. Your responsibilities include, processing and expediting new merchandise to the floor, ensuring the store is neat and presentable, assisting with the signing team to make sure all merchandise is appropriately priced, while also always making sure customers – more... needs are being met. This is a multifaceted position with many roles. – less