Macy's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Manager of Cosmetics and Women Fragrance (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CANovember 14, 2017
During my employment with Macy I was able to learn new skill and gain much experience from my manager, and move into a management position that allow me to train and management a team which will allow me to take that experience and as part of my career goals
Pros
great discounts
Cons
working every weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor Management
Loss Prevention Detective (Former Employee) –  Kaneohe, HINovember 14, 2017
I learned a lot while working at Macy's Inc. If it had not been for poor management I probably would have stayed. There were only 3 Loss Prevention Detectives through our Christmas season. There was nowhere near enough coverage for the store more importantly during their open 24 hrs during the last 3 days before the Christmas Holiday.
Pros
I made great friends.
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home
Seasonal Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Owasso, OKNovember 14, 2017
You will learn how to be working with a lot of people, all different.

Every day is a different day, you never now what could happened there.

Easy job. Good money.
Pros
Easy job
Cons
Short beaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CANovember 14, 2017
I really enjoyed working here. I learned a lot about customer service and sales. i would definitely recommend working at Macy's to a friend. The customers are fabulous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manangers
Sales Associate/Assistant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 14, 2017
A typical day at work is doing everything while the other managers are out goofing off. Staff would always call in and staff that would work worked double shifts and without breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Apply
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GANovember 14, 2017
I would not recommend working for this company. The concept behind most of their rules and principles are sound but they are not carried out well. Most of the time the employees get away with murder
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review summary
Customer Service/Sales Support (Former Employee) –  Brea, CANovember 14, 2017
Macy's is a good job to have as a part time second job or if you are in school needing a flexible schedule. There online schedules were one of the biggest perks to the job. The pay was bare minimum and the employees are under appreciated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy but a fun place to work
Shoe Expeditor (Former Employee) –  Aventura, FLNovember 14, 2017
Its always busy at the women shoe department in macy , if you like standing on your foot for hours and love to move around then this is for you, but if you don't then i wouldnt
Pros
more hours
Cons
short breaks, only 10% store discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with a work/life balance
Hadoop Admin (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 14, 2017
nice work and life balance
high deductible medical insurance
nice workplace culture
encouraged to learn new things and many trainings provided
good management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Assosiate
Macy's Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 14, 2017
Worked point of sale,interacted with customers about purchases, dressing room attendant, stocked merchandise, interacted with loss prevention. Maintained clean work environment in sales floor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Macy's?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work there
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Webster, TXNovember 13, 2017
it was a good place to learn how to use the register and how to make customer happy. The employees are very freindly and helpful. The Managers are very helpful also.
Pros
Discounts for employees
Cons
sometime it is hard to make your goal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Food Runner (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 13, 2017
The co workers and management was nice people to work around they give discounts the pay was fair environment was well kept just overall a great experience only thing it was seasonal and they didn’t let us know the last day
Pros
Environment food and people
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They have no Idea who works there
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bend, ORNovember 13, 2017
I was hired and they forgot I worked there. Called me a week later and said ops! Would you like to work.Worst job I have ever had. Management has no idea about what there doing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring Place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXNovember 13, 2017
although it was a seasonal job, this place was very limited in terms of trained managers. During slow hours, you were pretty much free to do as you pleased since management was never around to guide employees in the right direction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work making extra cash
CUSTOMER SERVICE COMMISSION SALES (Former Employee) –  Coral Springs, FLNovember 13, 2017
Macy's offer competitive opportunity, I personally worked for the women's shoe department. I enjoyed the work environment, their were always things to do. I enjoyed the opportunity to grow, and advance to another department. Great management , and quality work experience to be gained.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macys was average
Expeditor Lead ASM/support (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYNovember 13, 2017
Pretty good hours and pay , co workers are great , not all managers are cool but most are this is the heralds square store , hardest part of the job is most customers are from all over the world language is a barrier alot of the time , the most enjoyable are the co workers
Pros
Macy discount 30 -40 % off 10% off food
Cons
Not all managers are not as friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers and flexible schedule
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, CONovember 13, 2017
Macy's is really good with flexible schedule if you're a student or working at a another job. There are different departments you could join and each of the departments has really nice co- workers that are better than some of the managers.
Pros
flexible schedule, discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total store experience
Associate (Former Employee) –  Bolingbrook, ILNovember 13, 2017
Just poor, management, experience, payroll. Alot of back stabbing, no appreciation for hard work. The store manager was vindictive, and had her favorites.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive....good place to work
Macy's Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, CANovember 13, 2017
While working for Macy's ...this company provided many way to make additional money...opening new accounts, providing add. Hrs to work etc....Great place to work....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
SALES/CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CANovember 13, 2017
I loved working at Macy's it was my first job while I was in High school. THey set goals for you to meet and that was very motivating to be better. The manager I had was very aware of everything that would go on and very determined for us to meet our goals.
Pros
management
Cons
temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macy's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 19,998 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6