Find companies:
Macy's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,609 reviews

Macy's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced hands on
Counter Manager Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: hands on
Cons: short staffed
fast paced up beat environmet
always something to do
helping customers suggesting products
training other associates
being knowlegeable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Flexible Support (Former Employee), Lee's Summit, MOAugust 25, 2014
I enjoyed the responsibilities that I had at Macy's. The staff was excellent to work with. It was a fun place to work and I enjoyed every minute of my job. The hardest part of my job was preparing for the Macy's one day sale. That was because it was new to me with so many different expectations. I stuck it out and got the job done. The most enjoyable – more... part were my co-workers. Everyone helped one another and got along great. My supervisor was excellent. She was always available when assistance was needed and glad to help out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Signing Associate (Current Employee), Coral Springs, FLAugust 25, 2014
My typical day at work is to set the price point for merchandise that enters the store. This has taught me a lot about record keeping and organizational skills. The management is pretty efficient in running the company, but sometimes come off as impersonal in their relations with employees. I'm on my feet constantly, which is probably the most difficult – more... portion of the job, but helping customers purchase items is probably the most rewarding part of the job. Dealing with people is the most enjoyable part of the position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone company with a great exposure to running a business
Store Management Executive Development Program (Current Employee), Deptford, NJAugust 24, 2014
Pros: a great way to climb the executive ladder, the people on my team
Cons: hours, expectations that are out of your control, working on holidays
A typical day at work:
-Assessing what happened in my department the night before
-Checking on the status of cleanliness and how the merchandise is put together.
-Help motivate the selling associates at a morning rally to start the day off as the store opens.
-Zone in different departments and make sure all associates are providing exceptional customer – more... service.
-Make sure every customer is addressed and accounted for.
-Delegate tasks to associates such as filling in merchandise and recovering the sales floor
-Read reports and analyze where my business is for the week, month and year according to plan.
-Coach associates based on behavior and results of sales, and other metrics such as credit accounts.

What I learned:
Managerial skills
How to coach employees with a large age difference
How to coach on behaviors of customer service
How to work on a team of other managers
How to lead a team of associates
Problem-solving

Hardest part of the job:
Finding the right amount of staffing and filling hours
Random hours working late nights and weekends

Most enjoyable part of the job:
Being a part of a team with great people
Seeing results in my business due to me and my team doings – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high fashon retail
Customer Service (Former Employee), Nashville, TNAugust 24, 2014
Pros: friendly customers that tip.
Cons: short breaks
Great place to work, current staff was really kind and easly to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was fun.
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee), North Wales, PAAugust 24, 2014
I enjoyed my time here. I did a couple different departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Family
Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Mcallen TXAugust 23, 2014
I really loved working at Macy's. The atmosphere was like a big happy family.
I loved that they raise money for organizations
They are really good to their employees
My co-workers were great. Scheduling was flexible and easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Macy's
Cashier/Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Portland, ORAugust 23, 2014
Macy's is very fair and open to its associates. The company understands and meets the expectations of its employees. In general the typical day at Macy's is very driven and each employee has their goals and expectations. I learned through the job the best way to help and meet customers needs and wants, as well as the best way to handle and give product – more... information. I work and communicate well with my associates, if we ever have a problem we try to work through it. The hardest part of the job is probably keeping track of all the people I have to interact with, especially on the weekends, it can get a bit overwhelming but once I get things organized and communicate to the customers I will help them any way I can it smooths out. Probably the best part is interacting with customers and helping them in any way I can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary job that taught me communication among costumers.
Retail salesman (Former Employee), Westland mall, Hialeah, Miami, FlAugust 23, 2014
Pros: the experience was good, and taught me a lot
Cons: not enough hours.
I worked in the the mens department(dress clothing) and a typical day involved selling, and working the cash register. Being a new worker the managers were always open to helping out. As busy as they were, they were always willing to help. Co-workers were very helpful as well and very nice. The hardest part of the job were the hours and learning to – more... sell products to the costumers. The most enjoyable part was talking to people and to my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), PleasantonAugust 23, 2014
Pros: lounge has direct tv and snacks, manager provided lunch.
Cons: really no cons with macys.
Great place to work! I worked during the busy winter season and everyone was very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal fast paced environment
Seasonal Sales (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 23, 2014
Pros: reasonable breaks
Cons: being checked for possible theft. seriously? omg.
A typical day at work included reviewing with shift leaders what is the priority task to be done when entering a shift.
I learned about Macy's credit card details, sales, and how to use coupons.
Management was partially great. Specifically two were considerate of work done and showed leadership in delegating task to be done.
The hardest part of the – more... job is standing when not wearing comfortable shoes.
I love organizing thus working at the Ready To Wear department was easy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), northwhalesAugust 22, 2014
Provided high quality customer service resulting in repetitive business.
• Earned a good reputation because of my ability to handle crowds and keep composure in
Stressful situations, as well as having excellent comprehensive skills.
• Managed and closed register; handled money generated during my shift.

EDUCATION:
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexibe job
Specialist (Former Employee), Humble, TXAugust 22, 2014
Learned alot about customer service, and how to keep clientelle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dynamic work environment
sales associate (Current Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAAugust 22, 2014
Always something new to learn.Always something new to do.Co-workers are always helpful.Sometimes the customer can be a little pushy but nothing you can't handle if you don't take it personal
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with discounts clearance sales
Fire Safety Director (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 22, 2014
Pros: discount shopping
Cons: low pay raise
Great place to work gain lots of experience in real life emergency situations such as building evacuation at times of actual fire or fire alarm.To evacuate the largest store in the world Macys herald square NY NY is an experience I'll never forget, Working in this capacity has prepared me tremendously to be a Nurse, learning how to stay calm under pressure – more... executing procedures calmly and efficiently whilst dealing with life and Death situations are some of the most valuable lessons I've learned. Management usually treats workers depending on their value as for me I had no problems with Management because they knew I was an Asset to their Company and I did my job well, coworkers once I got to know each personality and they got to know my Personality stand up guy then just like Management no problems just mutual respect and get the job done, best part of the job is getting commended by the Chief of FDNY Supervisor and coworkers, the hardest part of this job is the fact that there is no room for error because the Ceo and Executives may be in the building in meetings etc at time of emergencies if you panic and loose composure and make mistakes your supervisor will be sure to get an email from the executives and because of the tragic 9 11 events that took place in NY people in High-rise buildings are very apprehensive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loss prevention are bullies
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), White Plains, NYAugust 22, 2014
Pros: expectation too high
Cons: flexible hours
They pay you minimum wage and they expect so much from you. Unprofessional lot especially the office manager, cosmetic manager and the loss prevention team. The loss prevention is out to get you, they are just waiting for you to do something wrong.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work Hours weren't that great
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: can schedule your own schedule
Cons: expected goals
Sales Associate, opening credit cards, customer service, greeting, replenishing, stocking, inventory, styling, money handling and counting, closing/opening registers, meet the sales goals, and clean and neat store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PERFECT JOB FOR A STUDENT
Customer Service and Sales Seasonal Help (Former Employee), Vero Beach, FLAugust 22, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling great discounts
Cons: low pay rate
YOU MUST MAINTAIN THE MACYS IMAGE AT ALL TIMES PROVIDING THE CUSTOMER A HAPPY EXPERIENCE DURING THERE TIME AT THE STORE. THE DISCOUNT IS GREAT AND SO IS THE SCHEDULING
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic Place to Work
Sales Management (Current Employee), Southern California (various locations)August 22, 2014
Managing at Macy's develops your leadership skills. Not only are you in charge of your assigned department and their results, but a few times a week you are responsible for the entire store as acting store manager. When doing so you learn to hold your peers accountable, coach peers' associates, drive results globally, inspire the sales team to meet – more... goals for the day, and ensure our customer service score is optimal – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A huge mistake
Dock Employee (Current Employee), Seattle, WAAugust 21, 2014
Probably one of the worst companies i have personally been employed for. This job really is only for students that are fresh out of high school or for students that want some extra pocket change. They rarely give out hours, but when they do its simply out of the blue without any warning and expect you to show up.