Find companies:
Macy's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,355 reviews

Macy's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), san franciscoJuly 23, 2014
easy going productive place to work the most enjoyable part of this job was being able to help the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just like any other mall chain store.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Henrietta, NYJuly 23, 2014
Pros: long lunch
Cons: no chance for advancement or raises.
I loved the employees I worked with and most of the managers.
The lunch breaks were a wonderful hour long.
If you worked the later shift, however, you got no second break.
Unless you work there for like 20 years, you have no hope of advancement within the company. And you wont receive a raise for at least 3 years of working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Men's department sales specialist (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 23, 2014
Pros: bonuses
Cons: little pay
learned how to deal with all kinds of personalities from costumers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting place to work
Seasonal Merchandiser (Former Employee), Fresno, CAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours, which allowed me to attend other activities
Cons: not enough work hours
Fun work environment w/a diverse range of cultures. The management staff & co-workers are very helpful & friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brandywine, DEJuly 22, 2014
Most enjoyable part was interacting with customers. Learned more cashier experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WORK PLACE
Seasonal Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), DALLAS,TXJuly 22, 2014
I LOVED WORKING A MACYS LOVE THE FAST PACE WORK ENVIORMENT. LOVE THE WONDERFUL PEOPLE THEIR FELT LIKE I WAS HOME.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Not Career
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Escondido, CAJuly 22, 2014
Really great atmosphere very fast pace and sale quotas. The schedules are not very great, but if you don't mind retail hours then this a great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An energetic and rewarding company to work for.
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee), Freehold, NJJuly 22, 2014
Macys is involved in many programs with the community. Ex. Bag Hunger, March of Dimes, American Red Cross just to name a few. Sales staff enjoyed getting our customers involved with donations, along with staff members, for such a great cause. Thats one of the things I enjoyed the most.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Merchandise flex (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: low pay
Very fast paced and great people. Never a dull moment, you will be taught a lot of tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here it was a fun environment I learned a lot.
Sales Associate/ Coach Handbag Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: awsome benifits
Cons: daily sales goals
The people who work for this company are amazing. Even though this was just a seasonal job for me they really made a impact on me and helped catapult my career advances with proper training that I could carry to another job setting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large, state of the art distribution center
Exceptions Supervisor/Operations Manager (Former Employee), Martinsburg, WVJuly 22, 2014
Pros: state of the art facility
Cons: poor communication among team leaders
.As an operations manager I would typically start my day off by going over the projected forecast for the day. I would review how much product was going to be shipped, and how many associates it would take my department to complete the workload. We would review our expenses and profits daily during executive meetings. I had a wonderful team working – more... with me. The hardest part was trying to predict and staff according to an "estimated" workload. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support Team
Retail Sales Associate Full-time (Former Employee), Valley Stream, NYJuly 22, 2014
Retail sales, customer service and account maintenance with customer information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work enviroment
Manager Chelsea Cliff (Current Employee), New Hartford, NYJuly 22, 2014
Pros: friendly work enviroment
Management has allowed me to learn several different divisions of the retail world of Macy's. I enjoyed learning something different and achiveing the goal set out for the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and overall good place to work.
Support and Recovery on Macys sales floor (Former Employee), Northridge, CAJuly 22, 2014
I have learned that you have to work hard to get somewhere in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work load
Recovery Specialist (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYJuly 21, 2014
Macy's is a great company to work for, the whole atmosphere was just wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictable and Innovating
Merchandise Team Manager (Current Employee), Garden City, NYJuly 21, 2014
My day at work can be very unpredictable, however, with that said I love what I do. A tremendous amount of planning and executing is required in my position, as I am responsible for merchandise placement, replenishment, and back of house execution. Even though I've been in retail for the past eight years, I learn something new everyday. That's what – more... keeps my job interesting and exciting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice work enviroment
Business Manager Mens Fragrance (Former Employee), Dover, DEJuly 21, 2014
Pros: something always going on.
Cons: salary
Steady faced paced work environment, fun place to work. Management was very supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my job at macy's
Sales clerk (Former Employee), Athens, GAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: lunch breaks
Cons: health care
helping customers finding items cleaning dressing rooms and hanging clothes up and on a cash register. always keep a smile on your face and your customers and manage my time better.management was good. good when they come to work wanting to work and not just standing around. my enjoyable part of my day is my customers that come in with a smile and leave – more... with a bigger smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best atmosphere to work in.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), salt lake cityJuly 21, 2014
Pros: very well organized
Cons: alway cold in the break room
Everyday was some different but very still the same as any other day, we alway would met up and setup what we would be doing in our department that day. Everything was pretty much scheduled for what we nedded to get done that day and also at the same time help our customers with what they needed. This also helps us keep our stores goal up! The management – more... and co-workers were both alike and all very nice and very helping with every! They all were a great team through the holliday season. The hardest part would have been some of the crazy sales we would have, One was just rough but things turned out ok. My favorite thing I loved about this job was the regular customers that would be in almost everyday in our department! They were a joy to see and talk with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional with great customer service skills
Sales Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 21, 2014
Pros: team work
Cons: less pay
What to expect in a work place at Macy's is a challenge waiting to be accomplished. I have great customer service skills and the environment at Macy's has increased my level of skills within a short period of time. I love team work; working with management that lend their hands to get dirty when it comes organizing a work place is a plus for me.