Find companies:
Macy's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,243 reviews

Macy's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to meet new people and and in engage in social interaction
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Toms River, NJJuly 9, 2014
I really enjoy the work I do at Macy's because I enjoy being around people. I like to meet new people and enjoy helping them.
The pay is outrageous. No one can possibly live on minimum wage.
The management tries very hard but there are many discrepancies in the running of the ship. Too many chiefs, very few indians.
If you want a 40 hour work week be – more... prepared to work 6 days a week and all kinds of outrageous shifts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun for seasonal
merchandiser (Former Employee), Union Square San FranciscoJuly 9, 2014
i was working there as a seasonal employee @ downtown san francisco.

people are really nice there. we were helping each other to meet the goals.

enjoy to work there, and i am missing the employee discount. may come back for seasonal jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is poor even if you are commissioned sales
Commissioned Sales Representative (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 9, 2014
Pros: discounted merchandise
Cons: doesn't pay anything so you can't really afford to buy anything, insurance costs what you make on one paycheck
Sad to say that I was making the same amount of money at Macy's as I did at Famous Barr 20 years ago
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Professional Sales Associate (Current Employee), Aventura , FloridaJuly 9, 2014
Cons: low pay low hrs
Great job for those in High School or just starting out but no room for advancement with this company .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Retail Sales (Current Employee), Staten Island, NYJuly 9, 2014
Good thing about this job is that Macy's allows workers to pick up and drop their own shifts on the computer based on your availability. Negatives would be that they hire too many employees leaving very few hours to pick up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ughhhhh
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJuly 9, 2014
This place is one big headache. Management team forget it......its not worth all the work you do just to get paid min wage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to Day
Sales Associate (Former Employee), WestminsterJuly 9, 2014
Process sale transaction
Clean clothing rack
Manage risk
Shop while at work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked under paid
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: hour lunch
Cons: they want you to approach every single customer and circle around them like they were sharks
Competitive employees, the supervisors are lazy and spend a lot of time in their offices doing nothing. This particular Macy's expects you to make money for their company by being fake and stalking customers, some customers do not like t be hounded when they first enter the shopping area
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Retail
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: breaks
Cons: hours
Great Company to work for! Worked at the Company for many years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large retail department store
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 8, 2014
Pretty straight forward job the only pressure you get is for opening new credit accounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and well productive environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), North Richland Hills, TXJuly 8, 2014
Pros: balanced schedules, management cares about all concerns
Cons: short work days, not enough hours of the week
I start out early in the afternoon, stocking and folding merchandise into different departments; as well as change the bags, and trash. You have to be on your feet and always alert and focused. I learned how to handle different customers who think and shop differently, the management was wonderful and respectful, my co-workers were funny, and helped – more... create a safe work place. The most enjoyable part of my job was getting to explore all the new parts of the Macy's store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work schedules and competitive environment
Woman Shoes Sales Associate (Current Employee), Minnetonka, MNJuly 8, 2014
The company has many positions with different requirement of work hours for each quarter. Can add shifts, switch shift, and get rid of shifts without going through management.

A typical work day is in a fast pace environment working with a variety of costumers with different needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job low pay
Retail Truck Processing and Handling Associate (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 8, 2014
Pros: nice discounts
Cons: not enough pay
personally i dont think ppl should work here if they want the pay check but if they want the 25% discount and the 10% discount you get form every store in the mall if you work in the mall then yes this is a great job get hour long breaks only problem is the pay it sucks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beauty
Chanel and Clinique Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Springfield, PAJuly 8, 2014
Not a place I would like to ever work again. Management is horrible. Besides that, pretty easy job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the Handbags department
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Current Employee), Fairview Heights, ILJuly 8, 2014
Pros: free food and money incentives
Cons: short breaks and hours are really varied if you are part-time
I like working in the handbags department. Every day I learn something new. I also enjoy meeting new people every couple of minutes and helping them shop or whatever they need. A typical day consists of straightening shelves, stocking any shelves with holes with bags from the back room and ringing people out. So far I learned a lot about types of bags – more... and why such designer bags sell better than most. The management team is really nice and everyone is on it if you ever need assistance! My co- workers have been there for years so they are willing to help new people out and you can learn a lot from them. The hardest part of the job might be remembering what all the keys unlock! Finally, the most enjoyable part is that you are part of a team with a selling goal but you can work independently as well and nobody is telling you what to do every ten minutes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't expect advancement or recognition
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJJuly 8, 2014
Pros: very little, hardly anything
Cons: everything about the company
Macy's is a great to work because the scheduling is very flexible. And they hire anybody. I really liked most of my co-workers, though. The best part of the job were the customers who were truly appreciative of the service you gave them. That's the only good thing i have to say about that place. I didn't learn/know what I didn't already know or what – more... it couldn't take a chimpanzee to learn. Your training is just on how to use the register, and its only the basics. So if you make a mistake (small or big) its your fault even though they didn't teach you what you made a mistake on. You get worked like a slave. You're expected to do your job, plus everybody else's, with no thank you's, no recognition, no pat on the back, nothing. They fire people for any little thing. Management leaves a lot to be desired of a person of authority. They play favorites with associates, they look the other way when those associates do something wrong, and if you're not one of the favorites, you're pretty much on the s**t lists of those managers. The particular store I worked at, you CANNOT join a union, because if you do you'll be fired. So they can pretty much make you do anything in the store, work long hours, not let you take breaks, anything. (Which actually happens there on a daily basis.) I don't want to get long-winded, so i'll just leave it at that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Sales associate (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 7, 2014
The employee discounts are awesome. The online scheduling system is so convenient and provides you with so much information. The pay was not very good, barely over minimum wage. At the beginning of my employment I was giving a lot of hour right off the bat due to sales, and I was not expecting that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, organzied workplace
Good planner (Former Employee), Temple Hills, MDJuly 7, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: short breaks
a typical day at work consisted of early mornings and hard, dedicated work. What I learned working for this company was to remain focused and dedicated, it will pay in the long run. Management was good, they really wasn't needed for my type of work but whenever I needed them they were very helpful. My co-workers were nice people to talk to, I barely – more... got to see them while I was working though. The hardest part of the day was being at work at 5 a.m-3pm. But I did enjoy my whole day working there, interacting with customers and helping them pick out outfits or giving my opinion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Kennewick, WAJuly 7, 2014
It Was a great company to work for.Co workers were amazing we held many events on new products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Credit and Customer Service (Former Employee), Tempe, AZJuly 7, 2014
improved my customer service skills as well my computer skills.