Find companies:
Macy's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,375 reviews

Macy's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Flexiable and Diverse Workplace
Vendor Specialist (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYDecember 11, 2014
My typical Day at work would include Replenishing coats to the floor and setting them up . Co workers and Managers are very friendly and make the work setting very easy to work with. the hardest part I would say is replenishing the coats over and over after the customers try them on, but after a while you'll get accustomed to it but the most enjoyable – more... part is actually helping the customer find what they are looking for and making their shopping experience an enjoyable one ! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees were a team, like a family
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Long IslandDecember 11, 2014
busy but productive days, built great relationships with coworkers and also customers, managers always around to assist
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sale Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Saugus, MADecember 10, 2014
Pros: 20% discount
Cons: short hours
Macy's was a very nice place for me to work at I got to meet lots of new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Visual Assistant
Visual Assistant (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXDecember 10, 2014
Pros: people, hours
Cons: discount, pay.
I loved working for Macy's. The position I was offered was only temporary (30 days). I had fun working with my group, we were assigned to put up Christmas displays. The only issue I has was the way the employee discount works. you pay full price up front and then they give you the difference back on a credit card.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with other employees. Seasonal job enjoyed holiday atmosphere
Fitting Room Attendant (Former Employee), Indianapolis,INDecember 10, 2014
Pros: employee discount/enjoyed holiday atmosphere
Cons: being on feet entire shift, leaving work late at night, parking lot not well lit, employees required park far away from store
Typical day involved maintaining fitting room areas returning merchandise to proper department and brand section; The hardest part of job was being on feet for entire shift and managing large racks of new merchandise putting merchandise out on sales floor moving through crowd of customers, Enjoyed times working with a partner to put out new merchandise. – more... Management team very open and friendly always eager to assist with any issue or concerns may have had. I came away with a whole new perspective and total respect for those who work in retail. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place just little room for advancement
Support Team Associate (Former Employee), Brandon, FLDecember 10, 2014
Pros: great discounts
Cons: not much wiggle room for advancement
Great job with great discounts.
Management is very understanding.
Not much wiggle room to move up the totem pole.
Good people with great attitude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Retail Company
Support Associate (Current Employee), Atlanta, GADecember 10, 2014
Pros: ability to swap and pick up more hours from other associates, hours are very flexible. pay weekly, can recieve macys money from managers.
Cons: part-timers doesn't give enough hours, minimum is 10. no benefits for part-timers
I want to start off by saying Macys is a great company to work for, especially for part-timers who is in school or have another occupation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and awesome management
Fraud Prevention Agent (Former Employee), Tempe, AZDecember 10, 2014
I can't say enough about the management at the call center. They were always engaged and providing information on how to reach goals and exceed them. Team meetings were also very resourceful and never dull. Most days, especially during sales events, were spent on the phones verifying customers information to prevent fraudulent orders from being made, – more... and unauthorized changes on the proprietary accounts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work at
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Eatontown, NJDecember 9, 2014
Sell and Service to the customers needs and wants.

Sell charge Cards.

Order items online for customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I miss working here.
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Plano, TXDecember 9, 2014
Pros: great schedule system, nice managers, awesome break room
Cons: not so great hours, territorial workers, high sales goals, hard to open macy's cards
Just like any retail job you work the register and clean your area. The hardest part was convincing the customers into getting a Macy's card and also keeping up with your sales goal especially when you work in a slow paced mall. There are some coworkers that are very territorial and will not take kindly when you're in their department. With in my department – more... though everyone was kind and I even made friends working in the men's department. Working here was my first job and I stupidly took advantaged of the point system our attendance system had and was late all the time so I got fired. What a shame. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Macy's
Flexible Work Team (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 9, 2014
Working at Macy's is a fun experience, you never know what is going to happen on a day to day basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Assistant Sales Manager (Former Employee), Brockton, MADecember 9, 2014
A day at work was helping customers.
operating the cash register.
most of all the co-workers were great to work with.
And the most enjoyable was helping customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Retail Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Stamford, CTDecember 9, 2014
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: n/a
It is a very fun place to work, with ups and downs, above all, I enjoyed the time that I work there, I learn new skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Womens shoe department
Merchandising and monitoring floor stock (Former Employee), Beavercreek, OHDecember 9, 2014
Pros: commission
Cons: unorganized
This position was seasonal so I couldn't work there for very long. It was unorganized and chaotic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Retail Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 9, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
a typical day would be organize the new merchandise we get in the morning and sell to customers. i learned how to better talk to customers and fulfill their needs better. my co workers was easy going never had any problems with them. hardest thing about the job since it was based on commission was approaching customers that didnt wanna be help or with – more... attitudes. the most enjoyable part is knowing you reached your goals and know one will bother you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive workplace also fun
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Pearland, TXDecember 8, 2014
Pros: hour breaks and a 15 minute break
Cons: sometimes the store is overpacked
very great retail store to work at, the management is very attentive in all situations and very organized, great job because you can pick up hours during the week as you go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Representative - (Former Employee), Salisbury, MDDecember 8, 2014
Would come tomwork and pick up and pit clothes away from earlier in the day. Customer service and more.. nice company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience but poor management
beauty adviser (Former Employee), monterey caDecember 8, 2014
Pros: lunch breaks
Cons: poor management
Macy's was a great experience, meeting new people and building a clientele list was a bonus. on the other hand, there was terrible management and it is very obvious that the managers had bad taste for one another and played favorites to the sales accommodates. i believe in an equal balance and personal issues of another shouldn't impact the work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work at
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCDecember 8, 2014
I would come in start folding clothes if needed be, then help people that needed to be check out of the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Magic of Macy's
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Colonie, NYDecember 8, 2014
Macy's is one of the best retailers that I have had the pleasure of working for. There are constant updates that not only work with pleasing the customers, but the employees as well.

I have worked with Macy's for a few years and I have been able to experience these changes from the beginning of MySchedule Plus, where employees can choose what schedule – more... works best for them to empowerment, which allows the employees to take control to do whatever it takes to please the customers. I enjoy working for a company that is always shaping and molding to what benefits everyone. I am free to work and interact with customers, and I am empowered to make decisions that benefits them most, without waiting for a manager to come and resolve a situation.

As a Beauty Advisor I gain product knowledge from having the opportunity to train with Vendors in store as well as being sent away for training.With proper training I then feel more confident about the products I sell. I am able to discuss products in details about basic use to benefits. I have the opportunity to build a clientele by sitting customers down and working with them in terms of skincare or even makeup application. Without proper training it would be very difficult to really be able to educate clients, and Macy's makes sure to pair with the companies to obtain proper education for the Beauty Advisors. – less