Find companies:
Macy's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,817 reviews

Macy's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working place
Food Service (Former Employee), Oak Brook, ILSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: hard work i enjoyed
great working place and all the people were great also. i loved every one and they all make y feel at home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
mens sportswear/stylist (Former Employee), Tyler, TXSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: variety and large number of people u come in contact with
Cons: poor job security and seasonal work
new things to do everyday, meet alot of people and it a very social place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace With Great Management
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: discounts on jewerly
I was 16 when I worked at Macy's, so the typical day at work for me was checking people out and organizing the jewelry floor. I learned how to talk to people to convince them to buy jewelry, along with how to work proficiently in chaotic situations, such as Black Friday. Management was good and offered me to stay longer, since I was just working seasonal – more... during Christmas. My co-workers were helpful, and would help me learn how to do certain aspects of the job, such as work the cash register, since training didn't do a great job at doing that. The hardest part of the job was making sure no one stole products, and the most enjoyable part of the job was being around nice influential people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fun Work Place
(Seasonal) Sales Associate (Current Employee), Greensburg, PASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: macy money, star rewards money
Cons: low salary, not enough raises
Macy's offers excellent high quality brands with great Star Rewards deals that make it possible for everyone to buy better products
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for students
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 22, 2014
Overall my experience here was not too bad. The job was very flexible to what ever hours you needed to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place to work
Counter Manager (Former Employee), sacramento ca.September 21, 2014
Pros: playing in makeup/dealing with the public
Cons: not able to control my vacation days
counter manager for the Benefit cosmetics counter. applied makeovers daily, and we would be responsible for puting togther our daily galla. books appointments for prom, or weddings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Credit and Customer Service (Former Employee), TempeSeptember 21, 2014
A typical day at Macy's CCS consists of joined computer and phone work, constant communication, and asking for help from friendly coworkers. I learned how to own a customers problem. Management is friendly and helpful. Coworkers are busy. The most difficult part of the job is using the systems. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping someone who – more... needed or just really cared about their problem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Sales lead/ Key holder (Former Employee), Lexington, KYSeptember 20, 2014
Macy's was one of my very first jobs after graduating high school and was a great a place to start. My job was delegated to me as I could handle it, so I never felt overwhelmed and always thought I was doing a sufficient jobs. It was also great in gaining experience dealing with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment but not challenging.
Sales Specialist of American Rag (Former Employee), Pleasanton, CASeptember 20, 2014
Working at Macys I was in charge of the brand American Rag. I had to make sure we made quotas, mechanize the floor, help clients, clean, and work register.

I enjoyed the job because I liked being on my feet and helping customers however, the job was not challenging enough for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ventura, CASeptember 20, 2014
most Macy are in a mall who doesn't wanna work in a mall,lots of people friendly place to many sales lol
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Cosmetics Department Manager (Former Employee), Simi Valley, CASeptember 20, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: not a good envioroment
Not enough staffing and made it really difficult. I do not want to share my views
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work
Loss Prevention Manager (Current Employee), NYSeptember 20, 2014
Things changed over the years and now it is no longer a place i'd want to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macy's regular day
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Short Hills, NJSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: calm setting
Cons: long hours standing up
My time at Macy's was short lived because I needed to go back to school and my work schedule clashed. But, from what I remember, the employees were hospitable to new faces and helped me when I wasn't sure of what was doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's just retail
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKSeptember 19, 2014
Nothing special. Schedule was never steady and pay was only $8/hr
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My daily task
Recovery Associate (Former Employee), Charleston, WVSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: weekly check, discounted rates, and helping the customers.
Normally I would work any shift since it was a seasonal job. I would restock any inventory, survey the area for store repair, and help customers. I learned how to be a multi-tasker and expand my communication element. Since it was seasonal, management was mainly focused on the product and clients. My co-workers worked with me very closely mainly in – more... groups. The hardest part was it being a seasonal job, and the enjoyable part was to help a customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Cashier (Former Employee), Aurora, ILSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Service. , Great Team, Decent Hours, Busy Fast Paced
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great scheduling, bad management.
Sales Associate (Commission) (Former Employee), Spokane, WASeptember 18, 2014
Macy's is very focused on customer service, which is great. However, the sales associates are not treated with the same level of respect. I never felt appreciated as an employee and although I had wonderful customer reviews and strong sales numbers, the only feedback I ever received was negative. I often felt that the management steered me in a direction – more... that was not beneficial to my advancement with the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Merchandise Team Lead (Former Employee), Richmond, VASeptember 18, 2014
Very energetic and motivating.
Active and busy, empowering team to accomplish all task on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/A
Cosmetic Counter Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 18, 2014
Met great people but they ask a lot for what little they pay.
Long holiday shifts very little balance between work and family life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good highschool job
Cashier (Former Employee), costa mesa, CaSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: no raises
worked with school schedule for highschool while being able to learn customer service at an entry level