Macy's Employee Reviews

Found 15,740 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detail Oriented
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Rockaway, NJFebruary 19, 2017
Macy's was a very busy atmosphere with very engaged and loyal employees. The hardest part of the job was customer interaction during one-day sales and straightening the store after said sales.
Pros
Good Management
Cons
Pressure to meet numbers was high
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frendly employees
Seasonal sales (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 19, 2017
It was nice working at Macys Corporation because this was really my first experience as a salesmen. I was stationed in the north face department and moved up from there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company to work for.
Sales Manager, Handbags (Former Employee) –  Braintree, MAFebruary 19, 2017
Everyday presents new challenges. Loved working with sales associates, vendors and customers. Great store management team.
Pros
wonderful coworkers
Cons
hours are demanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing the towel tables for holiday season
Sales Support (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 19, 2017
I learned that according to the seasons the towel colors on the tables change according to the seasons or holiday colors. around big holidays where the big sales come i notice the store be really filled i enjoy helping multiple customers at once.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producte. Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Jensen Beach, FLFebruary 19, 2017
Acknowledge the expiriense of your employees and allow them to grow in. Better insensitive programs with equal opportunity.
And stop cutting hour for Full time position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Lead Sales Associate, Cashier, Opener, Closer (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAFebruary 19, 2017
Stocking and cashier at different registers handled money and direct customer service. Ordered products for customers and built client base.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse job i have ever had
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Garden City, NYFebruary 19, 2017
I will never work for Macy's again.i despised every minute I worked there. The pay was trash compared to other jobs. I was hidden in the basement and never properly trained on my job. I took initiative and trained my self to the best i could. Best part of the job was walking out at the end of my shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAFebruary 19, 2017
Macy's is a fun exciting place to work, the atmosphere at Macy's is full of positive energy.Management and Coworkers was very professional friendly and nice.I loved coming to work everyday to served the people at Macy's.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a place that should have stayed Marshall Fields
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 18, 2017
I started working for Macy's when it switched from Marshall Fields. There was backlash from the customers and the workers. I worked on commission but no-one wanted to buy anything so I didn't make much money.
Pros
historical place and building
Cons
Not enough money to be made
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great boss who was tough on getting job done on time
Seasonal support assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORFebruary 18, 2017
Typical day at work was pulling boxes off the truck and putting them on the line, or being at the other end of the line pulling out clothes and hanging them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  El Cajon, CAFebruary 18, 2017
A typical day at work consists of ringing up customers, running back and fourth to check the fitting room, doing recovery on the floor (if its not too busy), and doing go back. Not the best experience, managers don't care about you, you're often running a busy department on your own, no one covers you not even for a bathroom break. The costumers are rude, even fellow coworkers are sometimes rude.
Pros
Monthly birthday cakes
Cons
Horrible management, not enough hours, no coverage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned how to organized merchandise in order
Macy's Logistics & Operations (Former Employee) –  Cheshire, CTFebruary 17, 2017
A typical day at work was just scanning totes with merchandise inside, throwing them in the conveyor belt , pack merchandise ready to be delivered. I learned how to work with others mentally and physically . How to be responsible for your duties , work hard in accomplishing your goal and give your best effort. The culture in the workplace was very old style , just a lot of machines , noise more like a factory .The hardest part of the job was trying to reach the goal for the day and having to multitask while other areas were in need . The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people , practicing and trying new things in the work place and learning new techniques .
Pros
Long periods of lunch
Cons
pay for breakfast and lunch and having a hard time clocking in because of the computer not w
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIFebruary 17, 2017
fast paced environmet, i was hired during the holiday season. Competitive job, facilities could be better, and management too. Job security could also improve.
Pros
one hour lunch, employee discount
Cons
job insecurity
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Divisional Float (Former Employee) –  Spokane Valley, WAFebruary 17, 2017
Management was very understanding with religion and family. When you give them enough time in advance they will accommodate you the best they can, very energetic atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Temecula, CAFebruary 17, 2017
its awesome and friendly and the work enviornment feels like family. very super professional and flexible with your schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced customer service
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst, NYFebruary 17, 2017
The store is typically busy and things can get a bit hectic especially on sale days. The main job function is to ring up customers at the register. The secondary functions are to organize your assigned area and help customers find what they need. You are also expected to encourage customers to open up credit cards and tell them about seasonal promotions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oxford Valley, PAFebruary 17, 2017
the employees are nice like any new work environment your slow to make friends but once you do the experience it better and someone is alway willing to help your out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great retailer
Merchandise Team Manager (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAFebruary 17, 2017
Macy's offers comprehensive promotions and job growth opportunity. The company continues to strive to get in the forefront of the ever-changing customer shopping patterns. Creating a work life balance can be challenging in the retail industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working environment but not enough hours.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 17, 2017
Good Working environment but I only got 4hrs per 2 weeks after 1 month of work. They keep you employed but wont give you any hours and you'll have to keep looking for shifts. The workplace is good though
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No flexibility
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Buford, GAFebruary 17, 2017
Doesn't really care about the employees or their life or their health it seems like. Just as long as you show up on time you'll keep your job. However, god forbid you are sick or have a family emergency or are in college trying to better your future. Availability request is a joke. You come when they say you come and that's it. There's a point system. You start with 9.You have the option to switch shifts or "advertise" and hope that someone can pick up your shift or is willing to switch with you so that you can make it in on time. If no one does and you still can't make it, because say for example you have class, you lose a point. This was their attempt at being convenient. Unfortunately its not predictable so you cant plan your life around your schedule as you do work different shifts on different days every week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macy's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 15,783 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6