Macy's Employee Reviews in United States

Found 13,564 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Loss Prevention Detective (Current Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJJuly 16, 2016
Typical retail store. Open on all holidays, last of the remaining brick and mortar stores.
Employee's portray good team work on top of the stressful days
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay but not a great atmosphere
Women's shoe expeditor/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 16, 2016
A huge lack of communication among management and all the heads of the departments. The benefits are great and the customers are even better. But with a large amount of co workers as they have it sometimes makes it an uncomfortable atmosphere. Its either overcrowded with too many employees or they all call off on the same day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macy's
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Morrow, GAJuly 15, 2016
This was a part time position. As anyone can imagine working for such a large established department store was an awesome experience. Every day was a delightful and pleasant experience.
Pros
Employee discounts
Cons
part time hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start off in customer service.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 15, 2016
Typical day at work was serving customers hot and cold prepped foods.
Cash handling and how to safely and securely open and close drawers.
Management was okay.
Coworkers came and left. Very few actually stayed long.
Hardest part of the job was flexible work schedule.
Most enjoyable part of the job was holidays.
Pros
Pretty easy job.
Cons
Only part time jobs available in Marketplace Deli.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Wauwatosa, WIJuly 15, 2016
come in to the store open registers and get ready to start magic with customers making sure my area of coverage was clean and if not I would recover the area especially the more high priced areas
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Martinsburg, WVJuly 15, 2016
Macy's is a bad place to work. I worked there and I got injured and they wanted nothing to do with the accident. They will tell you they have a lot of work and few weeks later they have nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love it
coustomer service (Current Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDJuly 15, 2016
I love working at Macy's, you get to meet new people everyday and the environment there is great, the managers there are great and always helpful.
Pros
great peple
Cons
not enough hours, pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional setting
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 15, 2016
they are very proffesional they care about your well being. they are just a bit uptight about certain things but is over all okay company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
Credit Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJuly 15, 2016
Macy's Credit Customer Service is a call center that supports retail stores nationwide. My typical day at work is to assist our internal representatives, clients, and ecommerce. We communicate internally and externally to management and customers. With my outstanding ability to assist, I have received great feedback from management. The most enjoyable part of my job is to be able to think outside of the box for answers to my client inquiries.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doesn't take care of their employees.
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  333 Caperton Blvd. Martinsburg, WV 25403July 15, 2016
Macy's claims to have an open door policy but when I needed to talk to someone other than in HR all I got was the run around from EVERYBODY, no one there, or at corporate would even give me the time, not even answer the phone, I was on hold for over an hour with NO answer still! And it was all because of BIG mistakes made with my paycheck which has lead to me to having to go three weeks with NO paycheck. And on top of all that the communication from the big guys, to the manager,s to the supervisors and then to the common warehouse worker is a joke along with this whole building.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Customer Relations/Fashion Consultant (Former Employee) –  Kennesaw, GAJuly 14, 2016
can choose days/hours if student
great place to shop
great customer service
wonderful employee discount
room for advancement
Pros
discounts
Cons
short breaks during peak season
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Recieving Associate (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 14, 2016
It's a fine place to be if you are looking for part time work. Also mangers are great as well. Alot of pretentious people though.
Pros
Free lunches, Rewards
Cons
Helthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked my job at macys
Packer (Former Employee) –  Portland, TNJuly 14, 2016
Just wish it didn't have so much drama and it paid more for the more you learn different stuff and not move you so much. And if they moved you into other places to different jobs they pay you more for that job.
Pros
Liked my job
Cons
Didnt liked to be moved so much
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXJuly 14, 2016
I loved working at Macy's, it was a very professional environment with plenty of hours. The management is very organized, and I liked that they could pinpoint exactly what i needed to change to better my sales. I felt like I achieved a lot at this job.
Pros
Lots of hours
Cons
None that I could think of!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
macy's - great company
Sales Associate, multiple fashion departments (Current Employee) –  Exton, PAJuly 13, 2016
I think Macy's is a great company to work for for anyone! I enjoy working with people from all different stages in life because it gives me an outlook on how anyone can take this experience and make it their own. I also think the company is just great to work for an offers great opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTJuly 13, 2016
- arrive early or on time
- i learned how to help customer in a fashion sense for them to fit in
- management was decease
-co-workers were interesting to be around
-the hardest part was keeping an eye on every customer at the store
-the most enjoyable part was getting discount on brands
Pros
benefits, co-workers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 13, 2016
A place where u can grow and build with the company. Fun ways to raise money for charities,such as bake sells and raffles.
Pros
Great co workers
Cons
Short breaks and phone scoring
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Freindly Enviroment
Asset Protection / Loss Prevention Detective (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJuly 13, 2016
Work days where exciting an especially when myself an my other Detective would apprehend individuals who were committing store theft. The hardest part of the job was trying to catch those where committing store theft, the most enjoyable parts of the job was working on cases and doing surveillance on internal and external theft.
Pros
Great Benifits
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Support (Current Employee) –  Santa Rosa, CAJuly 13, 2016
Macy's is a fun and enjoyable place to work at. There is never a moment when you aren't doing anything. The best thing about working at Macy's is that you get to choose the days you want to work, apart from the days that you are already assigned to.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
macy's see employees like a number
Sale Associate (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJuly 13, 2016
I worked there for 5years and they never promoted me. Also I'm still payed minimum wage,even though I worked hard to excel in their goals.
Pros
coupons
Cons
every thing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 13,607 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6