Find companies:
Macy's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,041 reviews

Macy's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ruff.
Ralph Lauren Sales Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 14, 2014
A day at Macy's included basically selling to every customer who walks int he door no matter if you think they are not going to buy anything. I've learned that working in retails you need to have a lot of patients. The management was not so good in my opinion because there was to many managers in my department. My co workers were okay. Some more offensive – more... than others. The hardest part of the job was keeping a straight face with difficult customers. But I've learned over the years how to deal with those very few customers with a simple smile and compliment. The most enjoyable part of the job was to end a sales and the customer thanking me for all the hard work that i did to make sure there sale was complete and they got everything that they needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: environment
Cons: short breaks
It was an alright job. Due to the location, I had to spend extra money daily to get to and from work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
On- call Sales Associate (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYOctober 14, 2014
Pros: friendly
Cons: not much hours
this was a friendly place to work, just not much opportunities . also not much people to talk to on how to more up withing company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 13, 2014
All about customer service. Great employee discounts. Winter holiday shifts can be very rough
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Associate Rep (Former Employee), Scranton, PAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: short lunches
It was a little family in the children's dept at Macy . We stocked the items and helped the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great experience working in the retail busniess.
Retail Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), West Nyack, NYOctober 13, 2014
Pros: great management
The store was always busy. there was always work to day and it kept me busy and happy to be a work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a job I would like to discuss
retail/sales (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 13, 2014
very tiring and long hours standing on feet. Although helping assist customers was pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Santa Barbara, CAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: communication
The management could you use a little bit of work and improvement. Communication with the employees would be another thing to improve in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Build and Release Engineer and Release Coordinator (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAOctober 13, 2014
A very good experience working with Macy's. A very professional and technology focused environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Customer Service Cashier (Former Employee), Kennewick WaOctober 13, 2014
Pros: great break room. end of the months raffles
Cons: no healthcare limited amount of shifts
A typical day at work included Restocking, Re-tagging items, Running the Register, Cleaning Fitting Rooms, Lock-Up, Customer Service. Working her gave me a great sense of pride in myself along with building my customer service skills and how to tackle any problems from a different view point. Management was pretty hands on with Macy's you got what you – more... put into it which I love. I honestly wouldn't say there was a hard part to my job Macy's was more then willing to help their employs with any problems they might have faced while on the job. The most enjoyable part of my job would be the great working atmosphere and my kind co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales (Former Employee), Brandon, FLOctober 13, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Great place to work, Flexibility. Entry level work. The pay sucks. Customer service is great.
Typical day at work. Come in, clean your area --> fold clothes. Your co-workers help you,especially when you're new. The hardest part of the job is opening accounts. The most enjoyable part of the job is when you help a customer and she is happy with the results.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Sales/Stock Associate (Former Employee), Wellington, FLOctober 13, 2014
Macy's was fast pace, had to move to different section in the store about every hour to make sure every thing was nice and neat. Co-work chane every so often but they are all goo people and easy to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Sales Manager (Current Employee), Paramus, NJOctober 13, 2014
Pros: challenging and fast paced environment
Cons: work/life balance
Coach teams to best service customers, utilize reports to drive sales and work with peers to hold all accountable to results.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 13, 2014
Providing customer service to customers while helpping them find a particular item and cash handling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Hillsboro, OregonOctober 13, 2014
Pros: good management opportunities
Cons: had to travle a long way for training
They can good management opportunities . wonderful co-workers ,which I enjoyed working with. the down side was I had to travel a long way for training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Duluth, GAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: hours, co-workers, location
This company gave me all my firsts. I learned to use a register, count the kiosk at night. I also received my first credit card and discount at the age of 16 years old. I loved it. I also had the best supervisor in the entire store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great company
Assistant Manager - New Business Development (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 13, 2014
Macy's is supportive, provides career development, and encourages employees to volunteer and give back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Seasonal Sale's Associate (Former Employee), Miami, FLOctober 13, 2014
holidays are so busy. probably the only time i'd work there. after holidays it's slow and boring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertaining
Shipping and Receiving Associate (Current Employee), Carlsbad, CAOctober 12, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: only part-time positions and have to work my way up to a management position.
Doing this type of work is what my third party logistics team did for me daily. It's like stepping into their shoes for a few hours during the work week. There's nothing hard about the position. We just unload the trucks for the day, sort products by floor, sort y departments, put on security tags and stage everything in the evenings. Once all the sorting – more... is done we load all, pallets, recyclables, damaged products, miscellaneous materials on the truck to be shipped to the distribution facility. The management sees that I'm beyond capable of handling daily operations, but this is not full time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid if at all possible!
Retail Sales (Former Employee), Austin, TXOctober 12, 2014
Pros: many nice and helpful co-workers
Cons: low pay, irregular hours, and constant urging to open credit cards
Macy's seems like it would be a good place to work, but the pay is extremely low? Could you live on $9 - $10 per day?

No matter how hard you work, and help to train new employees, and make sales, the main thing that managers want is for salespeople to get customers to open a Macy's card! You can offer the card to customers, but you can't make them – more... open one. – less