Find companies:
Macy's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,267 reviews

Macy's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and festive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Seattle, WANovember 14, 2014
I didn't work there for long but for the time I did it was easy going, everyone was pleasant to work with, it was especially festive since I worked there during Christmas. The best part about working there was that Santa bring us candy, that always made my day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at Macy.
Part-time Sale Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 14, 2014
Pros: job flexibilies
Cons: no benefits, and working nearly every weekends.
My day at Macy usually began with assisting the customer with their purchases. Most of my duties involves customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non student Maybe but not for a current student
Retail Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), West Nyack, NYNovember 14, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Provided prompt, courteous, knowledgeable service to external and internal customers; provided timely, accurate resolutions to customer service inquiries, complaints or problems received by telephoneHelped customers with selections and purchases was okay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Team Leader (Former Employee), Modesto, CANovember 13, 2014
Pros: good co workers
Cons: short breaks
signing, helping customers, and maintaining a clean store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Picker/packer (Former Employee), martinsbug, wvNovember 13, 2014
No one had a clue what to assign people to do when they came in. the only plus was the pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Retail Support Associate (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLNovember 13, 2014
Best part of my job was helping my costumers with their outfits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier/Sales Associate
Temp/Holiday job (Former Employee), lewisville txNovember 13, 2014
Working at Macy's was very fun. Although it was only seasonal I learned a lot. Working there made me love working in retail and assisting customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energtic
Sales Associate/ Seasonal (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 13, 2014
Pros: learning new things
Cons: not enough time to learn newer things
1. typical day at work, was busy
2. I learned some management skills
3. co-workers were energetic and fun
4. hardest part was keeping up with the promotions
5. most enjoyable was customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recovery
Recovery (Former Employee), North Attleboro, MANovember 13, 2014
I would make sure items in the store were neat,and i would refold clothes that were out of place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced good energy
Cashier (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PANovember 13, 2014
Pros: open opportunities available
Cons: short breaks
promoted company sales, had excellent interpersonal skills, maintain a clean work area and accurate in managing my cash register, P.O.S. skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Interviewer/Trainer (Current Employee), Springfield, PANovember 13, 2014
I have great co-workers who help me as a new employee. I also love the face to face interaction with applicants and employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too demanding
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 13, 2014
Pros: good breaks
Cons: low pay
They demand a certain number of cards that you have to open every day and they`re on top of you if cant convince people to open a credit card
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Wheaton, MDNovember 13, 2014
Pros: go wherever for lunch, easy to get to work
Cons: short breaks
I learned how to organize and sell merchandise by helping customers with things they would like. I learned how to use a cash register and development more customer service skills. My coworkers were genuine people. The most enjoyable part was the holiday when people came in after christmas :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salesman
Holiday Temp - Sales (Former Employee), NorthstarNovember 13, 2014
Pros: good hours, flexible schedule
Cons: terrible management
Basically cam into work, cleaned up clothes, put clothes back and helped customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good permanent job
sales associate (Former Employee), kahuluiNovember 12, 2014
poor communication from managers

very low pay for the amount of work required

because there is no set schedule made managing home and family life very difficult
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macy's Sales Associate
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Tigard, ORNovember 12, 2014
Pros: paid training
Cons: short breaks for meals
The staff was friendly and managers seemed eager to help out. Although I'm just starting there, the hiring process seemed like they were lacking in Organization. They were unsure as to what position I was working as for them and the scheduling isn't a normal 9-5 job. Every day differs and some days you may not even be able to work depending on who signed – more... on and took the positions before you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macys was a well experience job
Sales Associate/Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Miami Beach, FLNovember 12, 2014
Most days was slow, most days was busy and you had to have patience dealing wit some customers. I learn how to operate a cash register. All my co-workers was friendly and help me if I needed any help. The only hard part about the job was opening up macys cred card cause most people already had one. The most enjoyable part of the job was having my customers – more... smile and leave them happy with the serve I fulfilled them with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff were okay people.
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Merrillville, INNovember 12, 2014
I was tired of folding clothes and then only to return later to fold them again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macy's
Merchandising (Former Employee), Providence, RINovember 12, 2014
Macy's was a great place to work it help me better and polish my customer service a little bit. Management was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commision Based
Sales (Former Employee), Tampa, FLNovember 12, 2014
Pros: 20 percent discounts for employees
Cons: pay and breaks
working for macys on a daily bases was a challenge because each employee is instructed that in a certain time frame they are required to have a certain amount of customers signed up for store credit cards without guaranteed approval. Management was rarely available for assistance however the co-workers were very pleasant. The most difficult part of – more... the job was working on commission and the most enjoyable part of the job was the discounts during sales for employees – less