Find companies:
Macy's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,331 reviews

Macy's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Merchandiser (Current Employee), Augusta, GAJuly 13, 2014
Pros: breakfast, lunches, employee events, great moral
Cons: the pay
Start the day off early 5am, change and set sale signs for current Macys sale. Restock merchandise, Replenish the sales floor with merchandise, assist customers with purchases, interact with customers making magic is one of the best parts of my job,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting Job
Manager (Current Employee), TexasJuly 13, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: holidays
Always evolving industry and if you like change, then this is your company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours extended very late
Merchandise processor (Former Employee), Aurora, ILJuly 13, 2014
Pros: steady part--time employment
Cons: language barrier
Very heavy loading and difficult sensoring thicker materials
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Harper Woods, MIJuly 13, 2014
it was great. evryone got alone. it was located in the mall.· Actively promoted business in a variety of settings
· Provided general customer service assistance
· Processed sales transactions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfillment at Macy's Inc
Fulfillment Specialist (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 13, 2014
Pros: macy's discount, flexible hours, mixed environment from fast-pace to slow
Cons: not enough hours, no chances of advancing in management
Overall, I had a good experience working at Macy's despite a few minor flaws in my department. Aside from my supervisor making some very not-so-sound choices from time to time, my co-workers were great! We all worked extremely hard in being the piloting department for a fulfillment center at Macy's Inc. in downtown Sacramento. The hardest part of my – more... job were the two Christmas seasons I worked, and the extreme numbers of items we sold online for over a month. We couldn't seem to hire enough seasonal workers to accommodate for the workload, nor could we provide enough space for the seasonal workers that did offer a helping hand. Overall, the job was an easy one! A few heavy items to lift here and there each day, but we kept breaks and defected items to a minimum, and became the number one fulfillment center in the country! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of Changes
Michael Kors Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Tampa FlJuly 13, 2014
Employees are like a huge family managers can lack communication
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful work environment
Sales Associate, Woman's Wear & Juniors Department (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJuly 12, 2014
too much responsibility for little pay.not much mobility within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work, with little recognition, and low hours
Shoe Expediter (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 12, 2014
Pros: 20% employee discount
Cons: never recieve breaks except for lunch.
-Inadequate hours, less then 20 on average per week
-Having to fight for hours when they appear online
-Having to wake up at 7am to fight for said hours, most of the time they are not their.
-Only scheduled to work 1-2 days a week, then you have to schedule yourself
-Hard labor with little recognition
-Quite often understaffed
-Other than lunch breaks, – more... you never receive your 15 minute breaks
-Hires new people and gives them more hours then the people who have been their longer
-Heavy lifting
-Stressful work environment
-Management is open to talk to, but nothing ever gets changed
-Quite often co-workers call out or no show leaving you with an extra work load
-Leads often ask for unrealistic job duties within time frames.
-Stockrooms are unsafe
- Unsecured ladders cause falling hazards
-Haphazardly organized stock shelves that create a collapse and injury hazard.
-The pay is not commensurate with the hazards and shortcomings with this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Durham, NCJuly 11, 2014
I loved this job only thing is associate pay is very low unless your were commissioned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NO
Retail Sales (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAJuly 11, 2014
IF YOU ARE A WOMEN DONT WORK HEAR THEY LET THE MEN TALK TOUCH YOU AND U WILL LOSE YOUR JOB BUT THEY WILL KEEP THERES.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macy's
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Salem, NHJuly 11, 2014
Pros: macy's was a loverly place to be, they truely believed in the customer comes first.
Cons: the wage was poor.
Typical day at work, cleanliness, dressed appropriately,. Standing outside the counter smiling and friendly. putting away stock taking returns graciously. Calling clients for promotions, something that was ordered comes in, and for special events. In management, I liked many, and I believe they felt the same. Working with co-workers was fine, and I – more... made some nice friendships. The most enjoyable part of the job, was doing a make up lesson and not changing how they look, but making the person look even prettier then they already are. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for competitive and ambitious people.
Counter Manager (Current Employee), Santa Barbara, CAJuly 11, 2014
Cons: benefits. even as a full time associate you may only be scheduled 28 hours per week, and you need an average of 32 to qualify and keep health care benefits.
There is always something to do when you come in. Whether it be helping customers, cleaning your area, calling clients, or preparing for an upcoming event, you will almost always be busy. However the program they have to train interns into becoming managers is frustrating as it means less people are promoted from within and even if you are a hard worker – more... you may never be promoted at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job to keep up on people skills.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 11, 2014
This job required me to multitask between assisting multiple customers, and helped me better develop my people skills; a invaluable asset in any job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJuly 11, 2014
Pros: customer interaction
Cons: shortage of workers
At first I started Macy's as just a season job but as time progressed and I got deeper into being an associate there, I found it to be a very welcoming, worm and overall grate place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Store Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 11, 2014
Everyday was something new, the kids always know how to brighten up your day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
Recovery Associate (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYJuly 11, 2014
Pros: breaks, picking out schedules
Cons: attitudes
the place was cool enjoyed during seasonal picked our on schedules co- workers became friends they were easy to work with put clothes away on the daily managers were always there customers got on your nerves every now and then but at the end of the day i made friends and had experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flex schedule working with people
Commissioned Salesman (Current Employee), Tampa Bay, FLJuly 10, 2014
Pros: flex schedule
Cons: draw v. commission
Great environment
great co- workers
people

pretty much independent
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
macys
Customer Service (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNJuly 10, 2014
good place to work was just a seasonal job, I only worked there for a few months during the holiday season mostly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tough.
Prescriptives Cosmetics, Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fresno, CAJuly 10, 2014
working for macys is very demanding and tough. a lot is asked of you, combined with a lot more stress and a lack of supporting management makes work difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWESOME
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: discounts, great incentives, benefits
Maintained awareness of all promotions and advertisements for the store.
Greet customers in a courteous manner while providing a friendly shopping environment.
Accomplished assigned task throughout the store during work shift.
The management was excellent.
I got along with all my co-workers in every department.