Find companies:
Macy's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,609 reviews

Macy's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging position with lots of perks
Sales Lead (Former Employee), East Wenatchee, WAAugust 16, 2014
Pros: employee discounts, online scheduling
I started out my day by managing my cash registers, cleaning fitting rooms, and sending clothes back to their assigned departments. I've learned a lot about different types of customer service and how to sell products to different types of people. I worked by myself most days and had a sales goal to achieve every day which was sometimes hard, but i – more... always exceeded my goal. The hardest part of working at Macy's was working for a corporation that has too many employees and doesn't have personal compassion for people in needed situations for example, being sick. The managers were great but because they had to follow the guidelines of Macy's Inc. they could not ever give you proper treatment. I enjoyed working for them none the less, there was a great group of people I worked with and I had a lot of fun challenging myself in different ways. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful retailer
Sale associate (Former Employee), Bend, ORAugust 16, 2014
Pros: commissions
Perform area duties related to department, then perform sales.
Usually department busy most of the day from sales activities. Management changed during my last year and was nearly non-existent for my area most of the time. My co-workers seemed to be helpful and supportive. One of the hardest parts of the job was handling 3-5 customers with multiple – more... requests. What I did enjoy were the co-workers as we would help each other as required. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, flexible schedule
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Nashville, TNAugust 15, 2014
I enjoy the fact that I get the opportunity to meet so many people around the world and they all know Macys. The fact that you can add or post shifts enables more control over your life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious employees
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pasadena, TXAugust 15, 2014
Pros: discounts and close to home
Cons: employee and customer attitudes
Had fun working with some employees others were too self centered
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not family friendly
Cosmetic department Manager (Former Employee), Skokie, ILAugust 15, 2014
bad management, low pay rate, pure benefits, short vacation time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh...
Fine Jewelry On Call Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Moreno Valley, CA.August 15, 2014
Pros: friendly employees in other department.
Cons: manager was not cooperative.
My first day at the job was pretty insane. The co-workers didn't train me on my first day so I was struggling with the customers because I didn't know what the procedures were on selling, and the manager wasn't really cooperative as well. I asked for training and the manager told me that I will have to learn on my own. I figured they would at least – more... train me for a few days but the 5 days that I have worked there was okay. I was pretty much on my own and I was only an on-call employee so I did not have a reliable schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Visual Merchandising/Support Team (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 15, 2014
Pros: good company to work for, can advance
Cons: no hours
I like the company overall but there are no hours on non peak seasons
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail
sales associate (Former Employee), Kenner, LAAugust 15, 2014
slow paced
very micro managed
not a very family filed atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pembroke Pines, FLAugust 15, 2014
My coworkers aren't very friendly but the customers are. The managers are extremely happy people and a typical day on the job is mainly laid back if you aren't the only associate at the register.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall an okay company
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lakeside Mall Metairie, LAAugust 15, 2014
A typical day at Macys was fast paced and there was always something to do. I learned excellent customer service skills. The managers weren't very hands on and they weren't all on the same page or very knowledgeable about certain things. My co-workers were easy to get along with, some of them didn't work and others did. The hardest part of the job was – more... dealing with the customers and some of their attitudes. The most enjoyable part was helping those customers who did appreciate us and providing them a wonderful experience at Macys. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Associate Buyer/Marketing Specalist (Current Employee), New york, NYAugust 15, 2014
Pros: team outings
Cons: healthcare
Macys.com is a great place to work! Awesome people & exciting changes being made, constantly. Top of the line training throughout your career at ever level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part-time @ Macys
Sales associate (Former Employee), greenwood mallAugust 15, 2014
Cons: attendance management
I enjoyed my time wokring in Macys. It was a very well payed and fun job. Holidays were always the hardest to work due to the amount of business the store has.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Minnetonka, MnAugust 14, 2014
Pros: nice place to work
Cons: low pay
Assisting customers with merchandise..Helping them purchase. I learned alot about clothing. Workers were fantastic. Hardest part was convincing them to apply for a credit card. Celebrating the sale!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to learn and grow
Sale Associate in Women Shoes (Current Employee), Garden City, NYAugust 14, 2014
Pros: the discounts, manager motivate and encourage team.
Cons: low pay
I have been working at Macy's in Roosevelt field mall for almost three years . Working there has been a good experience for me so far.The week day are mostly slow, but the week end are extremely busy. I learned a lot by working there those past years. I met different type of people and deal with many personalities. The customers are half rude and half – more... nice so I've learned how to be patient with them. The managers there are very nice and and are always interested of what and how we are doing. My coworkers are awesome. We do compete alot but we always know how and when to stay out of each others way business wise. The hardest part of the job is the cleaning. The most enjoyable part of the job is selling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macy's Executive Sales Manager
Executive Sales Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 14, 2014
Pros: partnership with all other executives and district managers.
Cons: favoritism in upper management.
As a Macy's Sales Executive I was assigned to an 8 million dollar RTW business. My duties included developing a high performing team that was able to give every customer the best shopping experience. Coached and Developed associates through Product Knowledge training and Vendor partnership to continue to develop associates selling skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 14, 2014
Cons: short breaks
unload trucks , make sure all my customers are happy ,maintain a clean work place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place
Backroom Team Member (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 14, 2014
Pros: had enough time to get home to my children
Cons: it was seasonal work
i was in shipping and recieving which is the back room
work day started at 3 am and ended at 2pm
co workers were nice and respectable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was new experience for me.
Seasonal Employee (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 14, 2014
My work day started from 4 in the morning to prepare the store and get everything ready for the customers. I learned a lot about what goes behind the scenes and how much pressure employees are under to get everything ready. Every day was different than the other. I worked with different managers and different spots in the store. Everyone had his/her – more... own way of getting things together. I did not have a certain co-workers, every day there were someone new. The hardest thing was too many things need to be done in little time. The enjoyable part was the experience of a new field and get to know how everything get done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Give back to the community
Customer Insights & Strategy Manager (Current Employee), CincinnatiAugust 14, 2014
Pros: multil level communication
Cons: always asking for donations
Macy's Inc. is a good company to work for if you are innovative and looking for job advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple Department Manager
Sales Manager (Former Employee), FloridaAugust 14, 2014
Drive results in mutilple departments, develop staff, coaching and training of all new hires for holiday-focus on customer service and excellence.