Find companies:
Magellan Health Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
116 reviews

Magellan Health Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my co-workders
IT Business Analyst - Consultant (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 26, 2014
The background check process leaves no room for errors. I only worked there for 3 months, I don't a lot to say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work with great people and good working environment.
QUALITY IMPROVEMENT SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Parsipany, NJAugust 22, 2014
Pros: great work environment, excellent opportunity for advancement, good communication between colleagues and management
Magellan was a great place to work. I was able to able to grow in my career there starting as temp working as a admin. assist and finishing up as a Quality Improvement Specialist
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
question
administrative assistance (Current Employee), remoteAugust 21, 2014
Any one apply for a job with vistron corp and great a email from this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Committment and dedication
Customer Care Associate (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 5, 2014
Pros: potlucks, free t-shirts and free lunch at times
Cons: having to reach a certain percentage a day and many patients can get added on, which can make it hard to get approvals just depending on their health insurance
Making sure the patients that are scheduled prior to or the day of service has authorization for radiology studies ordered by their healthcare provider. Reaching out to the physicians office obtaining as musch information as possible if there's not enough available in the patients chart. Accessing online as well as over the phone approvals for the radiology – more... services, which can take anywhere between 10 minutes up until 1 hour. Faxing several documents to the health insurance companies to receive authorization. I learned a great amount of patients because you may have to hold for long periods of time, listening with your undevited attention, accuracy, and how to muti task. Management was less attentative to the workers, less inneractive, and less concerned with complaints. Co-workers were very helpful and easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job at times would be to get through to the insurance companies or trying to get the information needed to get approval on the radiology studies. When you meet your goal for the day by obtaining the authorizations for the patients that are really enduring pain, which makes them happy and kind of eases the pain since they will be getting treated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, oppurtunities for advancement.
Provider Service Representative (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 4, 2014
Pros: the site location i was at had a cafeteria and a gym. decent benefits.
Cons: short breaks, employee morale dropped when the recession hit.
I was with this company for several years. I had a great shift, no weekends and paid holidays! I learned a lot in my department that I worked in. Actually when I was offered this job this is when employers gave job seekers first time opportunities, now they want you to have experience and a degree! The hardest part of the job was keeping your employee – more... morale high because the job is very repetitive and can become dull. However you do get a yearly raise, and they do have employee events which allows you to get away from your for some time. I didn't like that fact that we switched managers almost every month to a year while I was there. There's several opportunities to relocate if you want and move up in the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a well-managed company with excellent compensation and benefits
Clinical Care Associate (Former Employee), Parsippany, NJJuly 26, 2014
Pros: extreemely pleasant working conditions and comptent colleagues
Cons: the office has recently closed
I provided clinical and administrative supervision and direction to professional and para-professional employees in this mental health managed-care company. Served as liaison to the State of New Jersey EAP and did trouble-shooting in problem situations. Supervised the crisis intervention line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with advancement possibilites within the company
Clinical Care Worker (Former Employee), Parsippany, NJJuly 23, 2014
Pros: monetary service excellence awards, team appreciation parties and luncheons, merit increases
I was an employee of Magellan Health Services for over 12 yrs. I worked in the NJ office as well as in the corporate office in MD. The best part of being part of the Magellan team was the support and care among co-workers. If I or anyone else needed help on a special project or with a workload I could always count on a member of the dept. team to assist. – more... Magellan was like a family to most of us in the NJ office, we always jumped in to assist whenever needed. A typical day in the ambulatory follow up unit, where I was last employed, was always eventful because we dealt with new inpatient admissions on a daily basis and focusing on helping members find appropriate treatment upon discharge. The hardest part of my job was leaving it, the NJ office closed due to contract loss. The most enjoyable part of my job was knowing I helped people in need find community treatment resources and mental health managed care programs. Providing information to members regarding behavioral health and helping them better understand their benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Senior Care Manager (Former Employee), Parsippany, NJJuly 23, 2014
Was flexible with schedule, able to work at home, office no longer open
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative support from all levels of employees
Rehabilitation Coordinator (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 8, 2014
Pros: location, benefits
Cons: short term contracts
Everyone is willing to pitch in and get a quality outcome. Individual and team efforts are emphasized and rewarded regularly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
WFM/ Operations Analyst (Former Employee), PhoenixJuly 3, 2014
Pros: good benefits
As a company good benefits and pay. Overall they really try to care. as with most companies only as good as your direct managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great supervisor and team
Claims Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Maryland Heights, MOJune 26, 2014
The atmosphere at work was peaceful and made it easy to focus and work well with others and do a great job each day at getting your work completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and full of meetings
Sr. Programmer Analyst (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJune 18, 2014
I improved a lot as an entry level programer analyst with Magellan. It was a great opportunity for me to work with a great team and great management.
It's time for me to find new challenges and improve myself in many other ways.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company, national scale
General Manager, CMC (Current Employee), Parsippany, NJJune 17, 2014
Pros: expanding footprint
Magellan is a growing company with national scale.The company has a strong history in Behavioral Health services. The company has employees with strong knowledge base and skill sets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Customer Care Associate (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 15, 2014
Pros: lunch
fun work place good co workers learned alot about medical insurance policies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits wonderful, Management terrible
Smi Evaluation and Eligibility Coordinator (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 12, 2014
Pros: wonderful benefits
Cons: inadequate leadership
Benefits were excellent. Management very inexperienced. My department kept losing supervisors through layoffs, or accepting other job offers. The result my department was inefficiently run by inexperienced supervisors who knew little or nothing of my department's job roles. Ineffective decisions made by little or no understanding of the department's – more... policies. End result outside peers thought my department did not know how to do their jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are not valued
Care Manager (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LouisianaJune 7, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: abusive work environment
Basically this is a stressful environment with no support from supervisors or upper management. Employees are NEVER given an opportunity to provide any feedback. Management is disconnected from staff. No supervision or training, unrealistic expectations of employees. Many employees are looking for other employment. Some employees just quit without finding – more... other employment. The benefits are great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Senior Reimbursement Analyst/Collection Department (Current Employee), Orlando, FLApril 23, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: no room for advancement
Responsible for all aspects of collection for the Orthopedic and Radiology practice which included arbitration for No Fault cases and appearing in courts with physician on hearings on Workers Compensation cases
Day to day billing duties includes accurate CPT and ICD 9 coding on all claims per guidelines
Assist in cash applications, bank deposits
Assist – more... in front desk/customer service on an as needed basis – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great coworkers and creative job experience
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Parsippany, NJApril 21, 2014
Pros: helping customers
Cons: dealing with angry people
A great opportunity for dealing with people and their mental health and substance abuse behavor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account Management in Scottsdale - BEWARE
Account Manager (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZApril 1, 2014
Cons: vp of operations/account management
Great company - awful AM leadership. High rate of turnover. Inconsistent messaging and role requirements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Opertunity to learn and built my self.
SharePoint developer (Current Employee), Glen Allen, VAMarch 28, 2014
Very Friendly,
helpful,
and fun environment.
Plenty of opportunity to build oneself.

About Magellan Health Services

Magellan Health Services has charted its courseĀ to becomeĀ one of the largest managed behavioral health care companies in the nation. – Read more