Magna Electronics Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive wages and benefits
TEST TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Holly, MIJuly 5, 2017
Overall good place to work. They ensure that their wages and benefits stay competitive. A lot of overtime hours (weekends). A typical day will keep you rather busy.
Pros
Pay and benefits. Good management. Good coworkers
Cons
Hours and weekends. Lack of formal training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a great place to work
Assembly line operator (Former Employee) –  Holly, MIJune 12, 2017
Excellent benefits. Safe, clean, work environment. Overall, a great place to work. Room for advancement. Good team leads and supervisors. Two 15 minute breaks, no lunch break.
Pros
benefits, good pay
Cons
no lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok, but some salary are unwilling to help out.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Holly, MIApril 11, 2017
Pretty much a culture of "cover your own butt". Some managers are unwilling to address issues. Open door policy is only for venting, not for resolving issues.
Pros
good pay
Cons
poor management, poor team work, cut-throat culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely monotonous and managemenet has no regard for their employees whatsoever
Systems Engineer (Current Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MIApril 5, 2017
A typical day at work would include working more than 13 hours each with no personal life at all. You can't take vacations because apparently everything depends on you if you ask for vacations, otherwise, they don't even care about you. Extremely pathetic and pestering management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard and not rewarded
Material Planner/Production Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Holly, MIApril 1, 2017
Upper management is more worried about the appearance of the facility and not actually how it is performing. This makes production and planning very difficult. Very clean and safe environment, temperature controlled.
Pros
hourly workers are great, only half of the salary work
Cons
upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Employee (Current Employee) –  Holly, MIMarch 28, 2017
Great place to work with a friendly atmosphere. They take very good care of their employees. Advancement within the company is limitless. You will be happy to work for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to be an Intern for
Electrical Engineering Intern (Current Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MIMarch 26, 2017
After I learned enough to begin working on my own, I had things I could do on my own every day.
I increased my knowledge in MATLAB, ORCAD, and Altium.
I had the opportunity to switch position while in Magna to get a feel for different positions. My managers were always cheerful and helpful whenever I needed them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment is good
End User Support Intern (Current Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MIMarch 22, 2017
I would to love to work in positive atmosphere which Magna has provided even colleagues were supportive and encouraging. Working on share point and databases paved my life to opt as the career goal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would recommend
AP Representative (Former Employee) –  Holly, MIMarch 6, 2017
Automotive company is relatively secure with some employees that have stayed through various changes in management over the course of several years. Benefits are stellar, and the company provides monthly events to show appreciation of their employees, both in the office and the production floors. Communication in upper management stays in upper management and relevant information is not relayed to employees. They state that there is a fair work/home balance, but that was not my experience. Overall though, good working environment in the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Assembly (Former Employee) –  Grand Blanc, MIFebruary 28, 2017
I would work there again @any time comfy place,clean work environment nice people to work with its just an overall good place to work safety is a must nice break room TV microwave and lits more
Pros
Clean
Cons
Standing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Read up on Stockholm Syndrome
Production (Former Employee) –  Holly, MIOctober 16, 2016
Light and easy manufacturing with tons of overtime, paperwork, 5s and working promised days off. They need to train supervisors and team leaders how to behave towards the workers such as a watching a video of what harassment and acceptable behavior is in the workplace in an orientation like every other place I have worked at has done when getting hired in. I have never been treated so derogatorily - EVER - at any other place I have worked in all my years (with the exception of one supervisor, one only)! Averaged about 1 - 2 days off a month.
Pros
Lots of OT
Cons
Lots of OT
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting day by day activity
SMT Operator (Former Employee) –  Holly, MISeptember 1, 2016
You have to be a people person to deal with manufacturing. You have to observant and pay attention at the job to prevent any mistakes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people work here
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Holly, MIAugust 5, 2016
I love every aspect of this job expect the extreme lack of communication from management to production operators. This daily occurrence is extremely frustrating for everyone on the floor and makes it tough to make any sort of plans outside of work Monday-Sunday.
Pros
The people
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly executed management
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Holly, MIJuly 6, 2016
Very strict attendance policy. Even if you have legitimate reason and documentation, they will get rid of you.

Repetitive work but it was really easy.

Certain lines work 7 days a week and never get a day off basically.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
2 short breaks and no lunch, no room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no life
Operator (Former Employee) –  Holly, MIMarch 18, 2016
they work ever day of the week they show the empyoee more love then temp service work and that not fair everybody should get the same love no matter what
Pros
good located
Cons
work every dad of the week
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Internship (Former Employee) –  Rochester Hills, MIFebruary 8, 2016
Great work environment with friendly co-workers who are always willing to help one another. Management was extremely helpful and passionate about their jobs.
Pros
close company
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Money but..
Assembly (Former Employee) –  Holly, MIDecember 28, 2015
Loved it there missed to many days sadly due to health issues i was Having that are better now people there some are awesome some are bad but theres a few really bad looking for reactions out of people 2 incidents of cars being keyed by there workers to other workers alot of hate.There was alot of love to managements great wish i could of stayed.
Pros
money, experience
Cons
People
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
growing company with plenty of room for adavancment
Validation Engineer (Current Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MIJune 15, 2015
Preform functional tests on cameras checking focus values as well as resolutions. Programing chambers and test stands to run various tests. Also attend group meetings to discuss strategies as well as providing updated on timing and schedules.
The hardest part of the job is juggling ten plus projects at one time as well as scheduling chambers with other engineers also working on their own projects.
The most enjoyable part of this job is seeing that my work makes a difference with how our cameras are produces as well as the commendatory of the teams that i work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Universal 2 Plant 2
Operator (Former Employee) –  Holly, MIMay 1, 2015
Magna is decent environment to work at.. The co workers, maintenance techs, temps, & different line operators are purdy easy going & very easy to work with. They show you how to do the work & even if that worker struggles a bit, they stick with you until you learn to be self sufficient on the line. The managers & supervisors are a little unorganized. Over all it was a good place to work at once you got all the lines down or the one you was working on..
Pros
Sometimes the other co workers would bring in food like pizza, donuts, chilli, etc
Cons
Some times didn't get brakes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company poor onsite management.
Automation Tech (Current Employee) –  Holly, MIFebruary 19, 2015
Great people to work with poor management running the plant. Company is getting very big fast and not thinking of its employees work to job life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Magna Electronics. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

68%
16 ratings
Add your rating