Find companies:
Magna International
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

Magna International Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with great people, learn new things everyday
Operator (Former Employee), Boyne City, MISeptember 22, 2014
Pros: new experinces, great beneifts, great pay
Cons: management could have been more fair when it came to job postings.
Working with Magna International was a great experience, I learned a lot about the automotive industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work with good pay.
Machine Operator/Assembler (Current Employee), Piedmont scSeptember 1, 2014
I enjoy working for the company but do not like working as a temp not being offered any benefits for my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly ran company and I would not recommend working there to anyone.
Quality (Current Employee), Spartanburg SCAugust 4, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: where do i start, no leadership or direction from anyone in an authority position. no control over quality.
High turnover rates for every department. Everyone is looking for employment else where. The shop floor is not climate controlled and is extremely hot and humid. Lucky I worked in an office. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. I myself am looking for another job. Working with BMW is no fun either as they do not place nice. I will never – more... buy one of their vehicles nor would I recommend anyone else buy one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a daily pleasure to work for Magna International
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee), Mexico, Canada, Japan, and USAJune 10, 2014
Pros: meeting everyone face to face internationally from mexico, canada, usa, japan, etc.
Cons: government restrictions when personnel is not up to date with the law.
The team work at this place of business was very friendly and educational.
Daily I would meet with department managers, such as shipping Dept.; Receiving Dept.; and Sales Dept. to keep them inform of their job duties and updates. The co-workers were very friendly and ready to start the day.
The hardest part of this job was annual inventory.
The most – more... enjoyable part was participation of activities such as Easter camp outs, selecting a runner up beauty for my administration department to represent us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly ran company
Senior Systems Engineer (Current Employee), Shepherdsville, KYDecember 10, 2013
Pros: salary and benefits
Cons: poor managment, terrible hours, no support, nothing ever gets repaired, i could go on and on
I worked for a plant that has been "ramping up" for three years now. This place is ran by the most incompetent management I have ever had the displeasure of working for. Lots of shady things going on and back stabbing. Several complaints on equipment not getting repaired but no support from the teams responsible for them on the off shifts. None of the – more... upper management have any knowledge on how the plant is ran and focus way to much on traveling and golfing to care but flip out when something does go down. Also the management is incredibly hard to reach after hours to the point of impossible. The run off any potential and keep the ones who have no clue on how to manage anything. I left the company for something much better and glad I did. I will chalk Magna up as a terrible learning experience on how NOT to run an automotive plant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible benefits and pay in a not so great plastics factory.
Press Operator (Former Employee), East China, MIOctober 23, 2013
Operate press, cut away excess flash, maintain a clean work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its like working with family everyone gets along
assembly (Former Employee), Lordstown, OHOctober 17, 2013
laughing talking everyone tired but happy cause just known that you meeting your quote no one is bothering you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great site
Quality Dock Auditor (Former Employee), East China, MIJuly 30, 2013
Pros: na
Cons: na
Will recommand to others, new job in the area it was fun assisting with new exciting things within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Materials Analyst / Program Launch Procurement (Former Employee), Howell, MIJuly 24, 2013
Pros: everyone is treated equal
Cons: no room for individuality
Every is equal, they still where uniforms, no preferred parking, great processes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HeII HOLE. AVOID.
Knowledge Worker (Former Employee), Spartanburg, SCJuly 23, 2013
Pros: nice people to work with in my area.
Cons: they work and treat you like a dog. terrible place.
Hated it the entire time I was there. Everyone was always looking for a job and trying to get on at BMW. We were treated like dogs most of the time. They thought the monthly meetings were a good thing and we was just glad we didn't have to work while it went on. My area was so hot at 7:00am I broke a sweat sitting down. We needed all kinds of stuff – more... and was always told there was no money to buy anything with so we had a hard time doing our jobs with broke equipment. Quality was a big problem because we worked with broke or really old equipment. We worked OT because stuff broke down all the time. Our computer stuff was terrible and the people that worked on it were mean so we made the supervisor report when stuff broke. The computer people used to tell us that we didn't know how to use the computers and that is why they stayed broke. Not at all true. Most of the time it was because it was old and wore out. My supervisor was nice but I had 3 different supervisors the first year. They used to come in work a few months and then leave and then we would get another one in a few weeks. The lunch room was always nasty and the food in it was as nasty. . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carry your own weight, but prone to big layoffs
Licensed Professional Engineer (Former Employee), Novi and Rochester HillsApril 29, 2013
Pros: hi-tech, interesting work.
Cons: poor pay, big layoffs
Good hi-tech self directed work.
Low pay.
Layed off twice for "budget" reasons
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding job
Build Coordinator (Former Employee), Novi, MIMarch 30, 2013
Pros: good rewarding work on interesting projects.
Cons: collapsed in 2008 when the economy fell.
Every day was challenging and different.
I learned about program management from contract award to launch.
Management was great.
Coworkers were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome employment
Injection Mold Production (Current Employee), Howell, MIFebruary 24, 2013
Pros: paid breaks and lunches
This is a great place to work. Friendly co-workers and helpful management. The hardest part of this job I have encountered so far is working with fiberglass. After learning how to handle the product it becomes very easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace. Tallented personel. Good managment team.
Product Engineer (Former Employee), Novi, MIFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: optical technologies are improving and growing fast.
Cons: typical 2 years contract to direct postion.
Good equipment. Great offices. Great personel. In a growth, mode. Fast learners and customer pleasers. A front runner in future optical technologies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Magna is the place where coexist freedom of management choice and standards of performance required to deliver upon tasks and objectives.
GENERAL MANAGER & E.i.C (Former Employee), Troy, MISeptember 27, 2012
Pros: recognition and rewards
Cons: the level of freedom of managerial actions sometimes result in overcommitment.
Magna has been the best working place that I have worked for, in which the respect for the individual and his actions are paramount over the short term gains. management is always seeking ways to support and assist the senior management in achieving the company goals. since is a multi-diverse ethnic environment and poli-cultural by nature, Europeans, – more... Canadians, North Americans and hispanics provides the working environment with richness in concepts and ways to achieve the required deliverables in time to meet the customer demands. the hardest part of the job is to overcome economical impacts in the business bottom line. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting, variety of work and compatible co-workers.
Accounts Payable/Account Analyst (Former Employee), Novi, MIAugust 5, 2012
Pros: variety of work, management, cafeteria and pay scale. flexible hours, with open communicaton.
Cons: location, heavy traffic during rush hour.
A typical day at work was processing expense reports, invoices, comparing cost/purchase orders and vendor contact. I learned a few things about Germany and Mexico since that was the place most traveled for their designers and engineers.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the variety of work and interaction with other employees. Management communicated – more... frequently, with a comfortable feeling if needed to discuss any problem or concerns.

The hardest part was leaving due to lack of work as Magna Intl. is auto related. It had a friendly, clean environment, cafeteria, coffee available in convenient locations, IS department plus received a reasonable wage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience as a contract employee/Accountemps, was excellent.
Accounts Payable/Account Analyst (Former Employee), Novi, MIAugust 2, 2012
Pros: flexible hours, enjoyed the people/work and hourly wage competative with other employers. no office politics, clean office, and cafeteria.
Cons: auto related, therefore laid off due to lace of work.
Magna was a wonderful place of employment. Professional, no office politics, clean, flexible and enjoyed the type of work I performed. My typical day at work was to review expense reports, process invoices, purchase order and occasional phone contact with vendors or co-workers.

The hardest part of the job was conflict in the expense report or purchase – more... order completed with parts, etc still delivered against expired PO.

The most enjoyable was the variety of work, co-workers, and pleasant environment. Management worked well with employees and found I was to perform my duties without interference, unless help was needed. Flexible hours, communication and respect were most important, with Corporate conducting quarterly meetings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no personel time work 7 days a week
Manager (Current Employee), Kannapolis, NCJuly 8, 2012
Pros: its a job in a down economy
Cons: no real family time
12-16 hrs/day 7 days /week
harsh environment
little concern for family and social time
people are good, friendly for most part, need better training
coming to plant is hard going home is good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay well but have sense of people
Business Unit/CI Manager (Current Employee), Clinton, TNApril 11, 2012
Pros: money
Cons: work life balance, poor strategic planning, high turnover
One of the worst ran companies I have ever worked for. Little to no long range planning at the plant level. Constant turnover form General Manager on down. No stability at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Business Development Coordinator (Current Employee), Graz, AustriaAugust 18, 2014
Magna's corporate culture, and employee charter made it a fantastic place to work.

1 2 3

About Magna International

Magna International Inc. (Magna) is a diversified global automotive supplier. The Company designs, develops and manufactures automotive – Read more