Main Street Hub Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 24 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people. Not so great management.
Social Media Community Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 15, 2015
This is a terrific place to get your feet wet in the social media management industry. But do expect there to be growing pains with their technology and management. Stay on the straight and narrow and commit fully to the culture, or you will have a hard time advancing. There have been some controversial decisions made by upper management, ultimatums issued, and glaring oversights when it comes to employee workload. The people you work with can become some of the best friends you will ever make, though. You form an esprit de corps with them since you will suffer through the same thing.
Pros
Free coffee from Houndstooth
Cons
Large workload
Was this review helpful?Yes9No

Comment – March 22, 2016

Thanks for this review. We appreciate you pointing out that being a team member at Main Street Hub is hard work. One of our values is challenge ourselves, which includes working everyday to improve on our performance, grow professionally, and execute on behalf of local businesses. Our most successful team members are those who embrace that opportunity. --Matt and Andrew, Co-CEOs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back environment in downtown Austin - still small enough to make an impact
Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 24, 2016
I really enjoy the people at MSH and the autonomy I have to get my work done. Great managers there when I need guidance. Regular feedback sessions for continual growth and learning. Casual work environment where the focus is on getting the work in front of you completed efficiently and at a high level. Nice office in downtown Austin. Start up feel with resources of medium sized business.No real complaints at this point in time.
Pros
100% paid benefits for employees from 1st day of employment, casual environment, free Houndstooth coffee & snacks, good people, downtown office
Cons
No 401K matching
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with very little clarity and vision
Profile Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 28, 2016
Overstated advancement opportunity. Very low pay. No consideration for work-life balance. Junior managers with no experience and poor training. A great deal of nepotism and favoritism.
Pros
snacks and beer, but it gets old fast
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1

Comment – March 22, 2016

Thank you for this review. We are grateful for the chance to offer our perspective. We are a mission-driven, values-based company with an incredible team, and we do have great perks -- we’re happy you pointed that out. But, one of the reasons we founded the company, was to provide meaningful growth opportunities to people who want to make a big impact for others. We’re thrilled that six years in, our team is filled with individuals who fit that description, not to mention others who have gone on to make a big impact elsewhere in part due to their professional and career growth at Main Street Hub. One of our favorite parts of the job is seeing individuals grow into roles that enable them to lead teams or create new products here, as a result of ambition and hard work. We’re looking forward to welcoming future team members who share our values, we find that the individuals who do feel truly rewarded here. --Matt and Andrew, Co-CEOs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent entry level job
Inside Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 28, 2015
On the surface this looks like a cool fast-growing startup with tons of opportunity for growth and promotion. Reality ends up being much different. The company is constantly hiring tons of salespeople because everyone quits within a few months. They quit due to low company morale, lack of job training, and the fact that less than 15% of salespeople make commission.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No

Comment – March 22, 2016

Thanks for this review. On our sales teams in both Austin and New York, focus and hard work lead to great things for both our team and our customers. We have phenomenal incentives, like exciting spiffs and contests, as well as weekly continuing education and training, and professional development sessions to help our team level up their careers. And, all sales reps at Main Street Hub have the opportunity to earn uncapped monthly commissions. We think it’s the best opportunity out there for those who love local businesses and want to be a part of something big. --Matt and Andrew, Co-CEOs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Associate Marketing Consultant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 27, 2016
It is a great company to work for, great culture amazing co-workers. It is a really hard job but the results are rewarding. Not for the faint hearted.
Pros
Competitive pay, great room to grow
Cons
A lot of grind
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture and love to create thriving local economies.
Marketing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 7, 2015
A start-up marketing job that was extremely challenging and competitive. The company has great values and culture but there was constant turn-over due to on-going training, and it always seemed as if we were "guinea pigs or robots" with changes that went into effect every minute, hour, day that you couldn't keep up with what was right or wrong to do.
Pros
Company Culture
Cons
Constant training that was always changing.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1

Comment – March 22, 2016

Thanks for leaving this review. We appreciate you pointing out our great culture and values that we live by every day. We also appreciate the opportunity to set the record straight a bit. Professional development is a pillar of the experience at Main Street Hub. On our sales teams, team members receive daily skills training and weekly continuing education sessions. Team members and their managers also take part in and regular one-on-one meetings to enable continuous growth and the exchange of ideas and feedback. And on a company level, we hold a monthly speaker series featuring executives, entrepreneurs, and other leaders from successful startups who share their experiences building and working in high-growth companies. Main Street Hub is the place for individuals looking for a place where they can make an impact for local businesses and accelerate their careers. There isn’t a harder working company with more opportunity for growth in Austin, but that growth is never guaranteed. It’s earned through consistent performance and through living the company’s values every day. --Matt and Andrew, Co-CEOs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun environment however cold call sales is highly stressful and employee turn over rate is threatening.
Marketing Consultant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 18, 2015
A typical work day includes 120+ cold calls, demos with business owners, scheduling meetings.
Ive learned how to improve my communication skills and be aggressive in getting what I need from a gatekeeper over the phone.
Management is helpful.
Co-workers are fun and motivating, however do often get stressed themselves about job at hand.
The hardest part of the job is cold calling a stranger and getting them to see value in what you have to say in under 60 seconds.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the culture of the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Marketing Consultant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 9, 2015
Awesome culture. Great coworkers. Upbeat, and positive management- That wants to see you succeed... zero complaints about this place.
Pros
culture, management, perks & benefits
Cons
cold calling
Was this review helpful?Yes8No11

Comment – March 10, 2016

Thank you for this review! We love that you highlighted our incredible culture, upbeat working environment, and management at Main Street Hub . We also appreciate you mentioning our perks and benefits, but while we do offer 100% paid employee health insurance premiums, have exciting contests and spiffs on the sales team, and provide free snacks and kegs, what we are really proud of are our values, our product, and our mission to create thriving local economies. We couldn’t be prouder of what our team has accomplished so far and we wish you continued success. --Matt and Andrew, Co-CEOs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Marketing Consultant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 6, 2016
high energy work place with a lot of potential, co-workers are very supportive towards your success, contacting local businesses to assist in managing social media websites on their business
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Comment – March 22, 2016

Thank you for this review! We are so glad that you are having a great experience here, and we are grateful that you highlighted our strong culture and team. We find that our top performers are the ones who not only challenge themselves everyday to improve, but also elevate their team members that surround them with positivity and graciousness. --Matt and Andrew, Co-CEOs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great perks...while they last
Social Media Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 9, 2012
If you're into high-pressure sales and enjoy cold-calling on the phones all day long from open to close then this job is for you! The environment is fun and really exciting to be a part of but the job itself is extremely stressful as you're not guaranteed to return the following month if you cant keep up with your numbers. Picture yourself talking to old-school business owners who (in most cases) don't understand social media or just plain don't want anything to do with it. Now try selling them over the phone with no tangible product. HARD, but the reward is tremendous. They offer great compensation packages and benefits. If you feel like you'll succeed in this high-volume, high-pressure sales environment then do it and I promise you'll have fun while you're there AND you'll definitely make some good money doing it.
Pros
compensation, benefits, fun environment, great culture
Cons
high turnover, low job security, high-stress, high-pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes73No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun entry level job, but I'm not drinking the Kool-aid
Social Media Community Manager (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 4, 2014
-Standards are high, and while the work-load is manageable, you've got to be organized in order to keep your head above water.
-Management is hands on and personable. Most of the team leads were promoted from the position you currently work, so they can empathize.
-Limited room to make an impact if you're not a senior.
-Workload repeats itself week after week after week.
-Communication between Account Management and Sales is practically non-existent. Within Account Management, communication between teams is minimal.
-Fun perks like happy hours and team bonding.
-Salary is very low. They don't pay for your parking downtown. You have to crawl along and do your time until you get promoted to senior, where your pay increases only nominally.
Pros
happy hours, snacks, young and hip employees
Cons
low salary, no parking, repetitive workload, limited room for influence
Was this review helpful?Yes43No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Sr. Marketing Consultant (Current Employee) –  austin, txJuly 6, 2015
Work here. they have a good future for you. They care about you. you work hard they will take care of you. have no passion you will leave. that it
Pros
fun
Cons
fun
Was this review helpful?Yes2No8

Comment – March 22, 2016

Thank you for this review! We have a great culture, upbeat working environment, and a phenomenal team that is growing every day. We agree, individuals who are passionate about growing personally and professionally feel truly rewarded here. Our top performers are individuals who set aggressive goals, achieve them, elevate others around them to achieve their goals, and challenge themselves every day to improve as they execute on behalf of local businesses. --Matt and Andrew, Co-CEOs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast driven work place
Marketing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Austin TexasMarch 26, 2015
Productive driven teammates to work with and management is willing to help you out. Fast paced and must be willing to exceed your goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7

Comment – March 10, 2016

Thank you for this review! We appreciate your note about our awesome team, incredible management, and fast-paced startup environment. As you mentioned, we are a company that offers tremendous growth both personally and professionally, and we find that individuals who are ready to challenge themselves, as well as learn from and elevate those around them, are very successful at Main Street Hub. --Matt and Andrew, Co-CEOs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telesales job
New Business Developmen/Marketing Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 18, 2015
Telemarketing job, cold calling and that's it. Be prepared to make 100 dials a day and get rejected around 95 of those. Lots of rewards and incentives but not a compelling oppurtunity unless you enjoy cold calling.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No

Comment – March 22, 2016

Thanks for this review. What we’re building -- a company that helps local businesses around the country in a way that’s never been done before -- isn’t easy, and sales can be a challenging role. However, our top performers recognize that on every phone call, we are reaching out to the local businesses that are the foundation of our economy and our communities to introduce them to our incredible product. We also want to take this opportunity to share some information regarding compensation on our sales teams in both Austin and New York. Along with the opportunity to earn unlimited monthly commissions, all of our inside sales consultants also receive a competitive base salary, 100% paid employee health insurance premiums (and 50% coverage for dependents), as well as incredible spiffs, promotions every six months for reps who consistently hit quota, and the opportunity to help local businesses every day as part of a winning team. We think it’s the best opportunity out there for individuals who want to work hard and grow both personally and professionally. --Matt and Andrew, Co-CEOs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start up trying a new market
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAJune 23, 2015
This company was a disaster. The office I worked in was new and they were "testing it out" unfortunately it didn't turn out we'll and the office closed and everyone was let go.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No

Comment – March 22, 2016

Thanks for this review. We are grateful for the chance to provide some additional detail about our relocation out of California. We made that move because it would give us the opportunity to invest more in relocating sales consultants in our Texas and New York offices. Currently, all of our sales offices have on-site training, recruiting, and support functions, and our inside sales consultants have greater career opportunities as well. And, we offered relocation packages to every single California employee, and happily, many of them made the move. For us, the move was about building a mission-driven company that gave every team member the opportunity to grow and succeed. We're incredibly proud of what our team has accomplished so far, and we can't wait to see what they'll achieve next. --Matt and Andrew, Co-CEOs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company/Good product
Media Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 21, 2015
Main Street Hub was good company work for. They are young, ambitious and provided a great training program. They gave all you the tools to succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6

Comment – March 22, 2016

Thank you for this review! We are grateful that you highlighted that our team is ambitious, hard-working, and dedicated. And we agree, we do have an incredible product that helps thousands of local businesses discover community. Thanks also for highlighting our great training program. Our culture revolves around our professional development and career growth opportunities. We’re building a place where you can grow, learn from the talented people around you, and execute on behalf of local businesses. We're glad you found your experience here rewarding, and we wish you all the best! --Matt and Andrew, Co-CEOs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Inside Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  austinMarch 9, 2015
horrible management would not recommend to anyone looking for a job. fun people to work around but the management is rude an very disrespectful
Was this review helpful?Yes33No3

Comment – March 10, 2016

Thank you for this review. We appreciate your note about our bright and dedicated team. To build a 500+ person company where everyone works to have an impact on local businesses, you need terrific mentors and leaders. Our leaders are hard-working individuals who are hungry for success and want to grow professionally. They take advantage of their daily skills training, weekly continuing education sessions, and the fact that they are surrounded by talented people. They speak up to offer valuable feedback and challenge themselves to exceed their personal bests. And it has been a blast to watch those individuals grow as salespeople, grow into management roles (three out of four of our managers earned that role based on an internal promotion), and grow into other roles throughout the company. We can’t wait to see what they will accomplish next! --Matt and Andrew, Co-CEOs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Social Media Marketing Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 8, 2014
This is the best company I have ever worked for! Great culture and they really appreciate their employees. The employees are like a big family and they have the best culture i have ever been a part of.
Pros
lots of bonuses
Cons
strict quota
Was this review helpful?Yes3No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place if you're 18-22
Sales manager (Current Employee) –  AustinJune 9, 2014
I hope you like loud music, constant cold calling of the same old leads over and over, having to take pics and hash tag on your social media pages, being lied to that the leads are getting fixed when truthfully all they do is erase the old notes from the 6 previous employees that called.

But they do have free beer and snacks
Pros
beer
Cons
everything besides the beer and snacks
Was this review helpful?Yes32No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste of time
sales (Former Employee) –  newyorkMay 10, 2014
guy who interviewed me and was swearing and cursing during my interview ... instead of interviewing he was more interested in gathering information of how i was paid from my other employer so he could fix his commission structure . the turn over rate in this gig is very high .
Pros
no pros
Cons
just cons
Was this review helpful?Yes31No14

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture