Find companies:
Main Street
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Main Street Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Plumber (Former Employee), Meriden, CTSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefit
Cons: layoffs
Learned a lot about the plumbing trade and all the rules that go along with it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a productive job
Richland County (Current Employee), Columbia, SCSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: insurance, leave
Cons: coworkers
Typical day at the job is long and constantly customers coming in and out. The co workers are sometimes hard to get along with, but if you ignore them than you will be ok. the most enjoyable part of my day is helping customers solve there problems in a timely manner. The hardest part of the job is dealing with coworkers. In overall enjoy my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quirsk, persk, complaints
Linn County Leader Newspapers (Former Employee), Brookfield, MOAugust 11, 2014
Pros: good company
Cons: bed roads to drive on
Hard to make a living on $48 every two weeks!
You may get a few customers who gripe and complain about their newspaper because the price is high for them, but the delivery roads are very hard in the country to get to in snow and ice,
If you have an accident, they don't replace your van!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cake decorator - Icing (Current Employee), Los Gatos, CAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: 25% off for employee
Cons: short break
I have learned many things in this company. All co-workers help each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good job because it was a fast paced job. I enjoy helping others and this was another job where I could do that.
Secretary (Former Employee), Inez, KYJuly 6, 2014
Pros: close to home, was able to help people and met new people w i love to do
Great job, wonderful employees, great working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sonic
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 7, 2014
management was horrible which is why i left didnt like how they treated me customers were nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Job
Steward (Former Employee), Montpelier, VTFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: degrading work
boring job working busing tables and washing dishes. Good pay, and good enviroment, just not alot of fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun working environment.
Team Lead Training (Current Employee), Ventura, CAFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: pot lucks, recognition
I am a very fast paced person with enthusiam and dedication to every job I tackle. I get along with all team members and strive to help each and every one achieve their goals. I am currently tasked with leading the flow team overnight and meet these goals nightly. I am hard working, fun, reliable, dedicated, easy to talk to and have a priority of getting – more... the job done! My work ethics are above average. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed this job.
Restaurant Hostess (Former Employee), Vincentown, NJJanuary 21, 2014
Making reservations,seating arrangements.My ex husband and I were responsible for opening and closing of restaurant.He was head chef and I was the hostess and sometimes a waitress.Was good friends with owner and all my co-workers were very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was laughter in the air everyday
Manager (Former Employee), Waunakee, WIJanuary 20, 2014
I wrote up call lists all day while calling clients on the phone trying to complete a refinance or purchase application. I trained and checked up on my call center workers while supplying them with different screened mortgage phone numbers. I learned how difficult it is to train people to cold call and succeed in getting applications.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive WorkPlace
Robbins Eye Center Office Assistant (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTDecember 18, 2013
I communicate with many patients every day helping them with their insurances as well. I get along with anyone so my coworkers are good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
security
Account Representative (Former Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYDecember 14, 2013
Pros: ability to change day to day rations.
Cons: unable to plan days of or stable working conditions.
learned a grate deal about human nature and how people will react to people they seem to think have power and or authority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unhelpful, very lazy staff
Crew Member (Former Employee), Rochester, INDecember 12, 2013
Pros: helping customers
Cons: very low team work
There was no help for anyone. If there was one person on front line then that one person had to take orders bag food and clean dining room even though everyone else was standing around on their phones. If someone asked for help or had a problem with someone else, and you said something to the manager it caused problems. Usually it was your fault of – more... why things went wrong.There is a lady that works on backline that busts her butt and doesn't get nothing but a slap in the face from the general manager and is unappreciated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small, Bad Location
Waitress (Former Employee), Southbridge, MANovember 22, 2013
Pros: good people.
Cons: corporate leaders were terrible, small, internal problems business wise that spilled into the restaurant itself
Love the people i worked with. Management was under appreciated and this location has long since closed its doors. When it was open they would have burst of clients but never regulars. The company spend so much time worrying about the building then the people that it just became a very negative place to work. I left with my co-workers numbers and currently – more... still keep in touch with that but i gained patience from them and not much more then that. Management cross trained most of the waitresses on grills and fountain (ice cream) because we were under staffed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bowling
Auto Wash (Former Employee), providenceNovember 19, 2013
Pros: no everyone is to purchased their own meals or bring their own to work
Cons: half an hour
Everything within this job is easy for me to do nothing is to easy or hard just worker that I have been their for so many years it ain't hard its just basic stuff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and availability for advancement within the Agency
Attorney Thomas J. Tabor Jr (Current Employee), Tazewell, TNNovember 5, 2013
Pros: great benefit package
Cons: as a salaried employee, i never knew when my day would end, or when i would be called upon after office hours to assist the client.
I worked for this Agency for several years and found the Agency to be true to the population it served. Upper management was caring and understanding of the requirements demanded of the particular job I held.

This job included one on one communication with the clients. A normal day in this job would include arriving at work between 7:30 a.m.. and 8:00 – more... a.m. The activities of the day would usually include traveling to any one of the 14 counties served in the East Tennessee area. Each client required screening and obtaining pertinent information regarding the current needs of the client, the client's financial requirements, up-date reporting to the funding source. Each week, it was required to provide accounting staff with reports and request for check writing to pay the client's bills, obtaining referral services for the client to provide better understanding of their circumstances.

The most difficult part of this job was working directly with the disabled individuals who would on many occasions show up at my office, under the influence with demands for money or some other demand. Of course, it was my job as the Program Manager to handle these clients and refrain from giving in to their demands.

The most enjoyable part of this job included the ability of being able to help this clientele to obtain housing and services they greatly needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Decor and Day Spa
Owner/Operator (Former Employee), Savannah, TNOctober 23, 2013
Pros: owner operator
Cons: unpredictable income
Great clients. Beautiful environment. Fun place to work. Something different everyday. Comfortable place to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive at times, but people are different so work is not as it should sometimes.
Rural Agricultural Development Authority (Current Employee), Claremont Main Street St. Ann Jamaica W.I.October 22, 2013
Pros: pay fare, buy lunch
Cons: healtcare
Enter workplace by 8:30 am sign register and logon on to my computer retrieve mails for Deputy Manager. Surf the internet learn more excell programme. My co-workers are ok, jovial and team players. The hardest part of the job is reporting time and the enjoyable is to type, present and get tubms up. I feel real got that Managers are pleased with work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life
cashier, cleaned tables and store, barista (Former Employee), Souderton, PASeptember 7, 2013
Pros: nice coworkers and customers, friendly atmosphere
Cons: long hours
A typical day at work would consist of getting there in the morning and starting right away with making drinks and sandwiches. This would go on all day and there was hardly any downtime. I learned that working with people at a restaurant can be impatient and easily mad if they don't get what they want in a short amount of time. Everything about the – more... management was nice and friendly . My coworkers all knew each other before because they went to the same church and many knew each other for years. The hardest part of the day was being on my feet for up to 10 hours with only a short lunch break in the middle of the day. I enjoyed getting to learn how to make drinks and food and being in that fast pace environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun setting Events for the Community and changing the image for the Downtown area through Commercial Facade
Administrative Assistant CRA (Current Employee), Quincy, FLMarch 26, 2013
Pros: free musicla events for the community
Cons: getting a mixture of people in attendance for the events
Work Load consisted of providing Grants to merchants for the up-keep of the building and making sure that the downtown area was vibrant. I learned the different ways to help keep your downtown area full of life in order to keep the merchant businesses afloat. The hardest part of this job was trying to get the Merchants to stay open late during events – more... and the most enjoyable part was bring Musical events and actives to the downtown area. – less

About Main Street

The Center's Technical Services staff offers a comprehensive range of services to traditional downtowns and neighborhood business – Read more