Maker Studios Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Production Assistant (Current Employee) –  Culver City, CAJanuary 10, 2017
I worked at maker on a work for hire capacity, however my time there was nothing but positive.
I've made connections there that may last a lifetime, due in part to the working environment Maker Studios has encouraged.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What does everyone do for work?
Just Another Employee (Current Employee) –  Culver City, CADecember 15, 2016
Lots of employee departures recently. Probably several reasons for it so here are 2 from me:

Employee fit - Everyone seems to want to "own" their own domain but don't actually know how to do anything,

Lack of Leadership... and I thought the last CEO was bad.....
Pros
Some good people, hours aren't too bad
Cons
Some bad people, leadership, creativity, too many talkers not enough do'ers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Audience Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  Culver City, CAJanuary 15, 2016
It's exhausting to have to write a review for every company you've worked for and I don't see how it is relevant to my job search. Please make this opinion for future candidates.

The company was great but the pay was lower than industry standard.
Pros
Cool company
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with them through YouTube
YouTube Partner (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 27, 2015
Always willing to provide support, gives me more opportunities to be creative outside of my science major, provides extra benefits to earn extra money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun stuff
Partner (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 11, 2015
Definitely not the usual desk job you'd get. I'm a partnered content creator so I work directly from home! I learned so much when it comes to improving my channel. The managers are super great at communicating and I have no co-workers. The hardest part about the job sometimes is communicating with the fans but that can also be the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Environment
Assistant Editor Intern (Former Employee) –  Culver City, CANovember 14, 2014
Kind of a dream job for me although it was an internship. Great environment, employees arent too friendly, great facilities.
Pros
Great Environment
Cons
Not too friendly, no compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Optimization Assistant (Former Employee) –  Culver City, CAAugust 13, 2014
Working with the people at Maker Studios was a delight. Everybody and I mean everybody was incredibly fun to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love Maker!
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Culver CityMarch 26, 2013
Maker Studios is a great place to work at. Most employees are helpful and friendly. I love coming in to work and making things happen!
Pros
creative and friendly environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment, smart people
Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Culver City, CAJanuary 18, 2013
It's quite fun to work there. The culture and company are different than most places I worked at.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Culver City, CAJanuary 3, 2013
A typical day at work for me would consist of me running around doing various jobs. It ranged from going to pick up things to setting up lights and taking out trash. I learned more about lighting from having to work with them, I also learned about being a 1st AD. Management at this job wasn't very good, do to the fact that they would stand around and talk to their favorite people all day and not have them do any work.The most enjoyable part of the job is you never know where you would be each day.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with great people
Operations manager (Contract Work) (Former Employee) –  Culver City, CAAugust 22, 2012
Great people, a little young in terms of management ability, and skills required to navigate the business in the right direction but overall it was a great company
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Great
Development Intern (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 5, 2012
The place is super modern, full of young creative types. It must be like what I've heard working at Google is like.
Pros
everything
Cons
you have to go home at some point
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Maker Studios. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

Maker Studios Reviews by Location