Find companies:
Makotek
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Makotek Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and educational place to work
Time Warner Cable servicer (Former Employee), Johnson City, NYMarch 31, 2014
Pros: nice people to work with, driving, working outside
Cons: heights
for the short amount of time that i worked here i liked the people that i worked with and i liked the type of work, unfortunately i did not like the heights that i would have to climb to but other than that it is an excellent place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, good pay. lots to put up with
General Manager (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: pay, insurance
Cons: management, work/life balance
Loved being in the field and doing the work. Pay was good. put in long hours and odd hours. customers can be stressful and management does not help. My supervisor was nice but had no say over the owners who micromanaged (owners were worst I have ever worked for) Angry, stressed out, they had little life out of work and expected the same from its employees. – more... Insurance was good but vacation was not. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Comcast customer service collection (Former Employee), knoxville, tnFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: bonuses, flexibility, management
Cons: personal vehicle needing upper liability, personal gas.
The only reason i left was future relocation which is why i'm trying to find a job now. Pay was good, you did have to use personal vehicle but that is only setback. gas reimbursement covered most gas usage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for someone without a family
Office/General Manager (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: working out doors and good comrodery amongst office personell
Cons: inconsistancy in work load, micro management
Typical work days are long and unpredictable. You never have an idea of how productive the day will be. I've learned how to be patient and effectively communicate and motivate coworkers on a supervisory level. I've learned how to run an office of up to 12 employees smoothly. The hardest part of the job is making sure that every customer is taken care – more... of to upmost of my ability. The most enjoyable part of the job is the gratitude and appreciation I receive from the customer once they see I have done all I could to assist them with their needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Supervisor (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNDecember 16, 2013
Pros: paid on your production
Cons: have to work most nights and weekends
Overall Makotek is a good company to work. It is a production based compensation. The owners are ethical and provide for their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work all of the time
Cable Technician (Former Employee), Columbia, SCSeptember 10, 2013
I worked 6 days a week 70 hours a week. The management was poor at best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall decent company to work for.
Field Collector and Disconnect Technician (Current Employee), Lexington, SCAugust 9, 2013
Pros: potential for great pay
Cons: too many restrictive guidelines making to mentally challenging and demanding on your own vehicle.
In my tenure at Makotek, I have gone from making really good money in a good environment, to potentially making half as much in 2014. Managers have left the company leaving non-experienced managers to run the Columbia market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McDonald's would be more profitable!
Collections Technician (Former Employee), Savannah, GAApril 11, 2013
Pros: its a job.
Cons: no profit, pay for own gas ($200-$300 week), employees scheduled to work hours that are not most profitable
By far the worst job in the cable industry. $1000 pay check is not realistic, its happened only a few times by only one tech in two years. The average tech makes $300-$500 a week, and pays $200-$300 a week in gas alone, not to mention the wear and tear on your vehicle. The most expensive route cost $100 a day in gas. The atmosphere is not great because – more... once workers realize the "point system" is not beneficial to anyone except the owners. The point system is used to keep technicians from receiving a % of the money they collect, and money for equipment. You have to pay for a lot of supplies, some of which were provided by previous contractors. You will be always reminded about being back charged for anything. You are also not benefiting from climbing polls, because since they operate on the "point system" you will no get paid for disconnects also. McDonald's is a better job because you actually make a profit and no wear and tear on your vehicle. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collections Agency
Collections Technician Supervisor (Current Employee), Savannah, GAApril 1, 2013
Pros: freedom, paid weekly
Cons: possability of getting a low paying check, paycheck is dependant upon customer
The job is fun and challenging all in one. The biggest drawback is that pay is based off if a customer either feels like paying you or the customer has the money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Field Technician (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNNovember 6, 2012
Pros: everything was good
Cons: too many miles on own vehicle
good job, good pay, good hours.... meeting new people, new enviroment everyday, company let you be your own boss
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Manager of Tracking Work Orders (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 8, 2012
learned a new experience was a cable company did cable dispatched there filed reports did reoports worked with techs talked with customers put jobs in the computer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Makotek good place to work
Non pay field tech (Current Employee), Ny stateAugust 6, 2012
Pros: great money. work at own pace. no one bothers you
Cons: long hours bennies suck
I have been with Makotek many years. I have made more
Money then any other job I have had . Just like any other
Job there are rules to follow . For the most part you get
What you put into it. If your lazy and just looking to
Get a pay check handed to you this is not a place for you. I really
Enjoy my job and hope to be here a long time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is what it is
General Manager (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 23, 2012
Pros: paycheck, freedom, benefits
Cons: upper management, work life balance, politics
As a technician a typical day is show up to the office early in the morning. Type up your turn in and turn in any money or equipment picked up. You may pick up work that day or be on your way after an hour or so. Some techs start in the field and work until 9pm some go out in the afternoon and work until 9pm and we work Saturdays as well.
I learned – more... a lot about directing peoples actions through listening and suggesting solutions. I learned how to deal with very irate people.
Co-workers were good. You get paid for what you do so they did not have a ton of motivation to go out of the way to help you but they were good natured.
Management is almost militant. They expect the job done and no excuses. Not much of a place for rewarding hard workers other than your paycheck. Stay under the radar and do your job and your good.
The job itself was fun. Driving around talking to people and making money. Just take it for what it is - a paycheck. If you expect much attaboys or room to grow - look elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours no overtime pay
Installation Technician (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 12, 2012
Slave drivers who do not respect their employees like they should, Multiple lawsuits filed against them for non pay overtime
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Head Dispatcher (Former Employee), West Columbia, SCNovember 16, 2011
Great managers! A really great place to work. Definitely need to be a multitasker and enjoy working nonstop during the busy times of the year.