Find companies:
Makro
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
534 reviews

Makro Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
stock replenisher (Former Employee), Washington, ENGMarch 24, 2014
Pros: long brakes
Cons: night shift
night shift working compactors.
Merchantdising.
good all round team workers
staying awake
good banter
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
platform for learning more
food safety officer (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPMarch 19, 2014
Pros: free lunch on public holidays.
Cons: long hours
I started at makro as a learner, was in a leanership for a year. I was working in the food department it was a challenge as it was my first job, I learned a lot how to deal with customers, how to deal with customer complains, housekeeping standards, monitoring merchandisers, knowing the FIFO principles. After a year then I started leaning on doing orders – more... for the department, this was the most enjoyable job. as I was dealing with suppliers. my hardest part of my job was making sure that all the big manager are doing there file to make sure that we are prepare for the audit, this was a big challenge as they were above me but at the end off the day I'm the one who will make sure that the do there job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and dynamic workplace
Perishables' Manager (Current Employee), Wonderboom, GPMarch 10, 2014
Pros: dynamic nature makes me be able to tackle any challenge, friendly atmosphere
Cons: long hours
Due to the dynamic aspect of my job, I can never say i do one thing continuously. A typical day would be to conduct pre-retailing practices, have a staff meeting that informs the staff about what happened the previous day in terms of sales and gross margin, the budget for the day and plans thereof to reach budget. Give out instructions as to make sure – more... that floor merchandising standards are kept on par (ticketing,merchanding,cleanliness of shelves etc). See suppliers to negotiate deals and make suggestive orders for my buyer. Follow up on the execution of the instructions that I gave out earlier. Spot check on the receiving department that they are receiving stock at the right temperature and are not breaking the cold chain. Count some of my high risk lines for the week, in order to see if the products are still a high shrinkage article. Continuously check if staff members are doing their job and that the customers are well assisted and happy, if not, I have to deal with the customer complaints and handle all disgruntled customers. Make suer that the staff are giving great customer service starting from uniform standards to the after sale. Ensure that the staff members and merchandisers do house keeping then I wait for the last customer to leave the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It a good place for people who had never worked before, because the management is very friendly and relaxed. They do not put the stuff under pressure.
order puller, packer and back stocking (Former Employee), Durban, ZNFebruary 11, 2014
I learned a lot while working at Makro, the management is respectful towards the stuff and if you do not understand the task given to you they show you, they always willing to teach everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
total flexibility in hours
CENTRAL CLAIMS ADMINISTRATOR (Current Employee), Sheffield, ENGFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: staff discount
i look at invoice queries for all 30 makro stores i have to contact stores / suppliers if there are any invoice queries and then i have to decide whether to pay the supplier or charge the store shrinkage this depends on whether the store have followed the correct procedure at the time of delivery , i then have to email the store manager to inform him – more... of what action i am taking anf why then i email finance and give them authorisation on which payment process to make , i work for head office in manchester but i am based in sheffield branch so i work alone most of the time only liasing with people over the telephone , – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working with the public.
Cashier (Current Employee), Durban, ZNFebruary 2, 2014
I love communicating with people, enjoy seeing them smile and know their got what they needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier/Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee), Liverpool, ENGJanuary 26, 2014
serving customers, balancing of tills,working well in a team fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working there, no complaints
marketing, admin, sales, reception, outbound agent (Current Employee), Bloemfontein, FSJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: one free day off per month
Cons: long hours, weekends and public holidays
very interesting to work at makro, never a dull moment, staff are friendly and always willing to help out where they can. i learned alot especially about the customer protection act and the retail industry, management was always there to guide and assist when needed, co-workers, some friendly and others not so friendly. hardest part of the job is dealing – more... with a difficult customer who doesnt want to hear that we are out of stock or that we have to send goods in to be repaired. Getting to see happy customers and the satisfaction i get when i know i have resolved a problem and my customer is happy and continues to shop at our store. another thing i enjoy is helping co-workers and customers out when and where i can – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPJanuary 17, 2014
Cons: long hours sometimes
I was mostly under pressure but managed to get the job done daily.
I never got paid for over-time although I would go back to the store late.
But everything else was fine. I enjoyed working there as my real first job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freindly not productive
Customer Services Assistant/ Cashier (Current Employee), Cardiff, WLSJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: the staff dicount
Cons: difficult people
Have been there 14 yrs but not really moved on since i started. My co workers are all very friendly. Every day is really the same as each other. The enjoyable part is chatting to the customers some of them are really nice to talk too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
running fresh food depts is\very fullfilling,developing strong relationships with customers
Ultra fresh manager (Current Employee), Charlton, ENGJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: my team, customers and quality of product
Cons: some long hours, lack of progression and poor communication
fast paced,never the same day twice,I work with a very strong team of professional butchers and fishmongers and keen trainees all of whom take pride in customer service and the srong sales,cominng off a very strong christmas performance.
The most enjoyable part of my job is on the shopfloor cutting meat,serving customers and working stock.
The hardest – more... part of the job is the duty management role I do, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Sales (Current Employee), Durban, ZNJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: good commission
Cons: long hours
Have learned about the company's policies and the various cycles and procedures that makro uses on a day- to -day basis. Good communication between staff members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unproductive
Temporary contract (Former Employee), leicesterDecember 29, 2013
Pros: subidised canteen
Cons: listed above
Worked there for 4 mths. Enjoyed working at the checkouts work collegues very friendly. However be aware that majority of staff have worked there for years and there is a definate culture between one or two that is based on a negitive jealous vibe. While you are happy to do any over time anyhow you wish to progress this might cause you problems with – more... some folk. Management walk straight past you without even a hello. Its a them n us culture. As for the coffeeshop the so called senior catering assistant ia a nitemare.... There was botchulism spores growin inside of the dishwasher!!!! Clueless is the word im looking for! Salary isnt good – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Duties
Grocery Assistant (Former Employee), SwanseaDecember 28, 2013
Pros: could manage my own work, great people to work with
Cons: my role was only a weekend role
My work here involved monitoring stock quality, completing paper work on disposed stock and calculating the loss this generates the company, monitoring temperatures on fridges and freezers and keeping a record of this for legal reasons and presenting paper work to the store manager before processing into the main system. I left this job as it was only – more... part time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee), Cape Town, South AfricaDecember 27, 2013
Liaise with client
Equal Banking
Timing Schedule
Direct Client Orders
Corresponding with Client Orders
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Useful experience
Shelf stacker (Former Employee), Breda, NBDecember 7, 2013
Pros: free tea, nice colleagues
It was a very useful experience to have worked in that store. I learned many things about how to work together more efficiently and systematically. I now know how the management of a store works and how supervisors and employees work together to make sure the store is as costumer friendly as possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organised, hardworking team
Forklift Driver GA (Former Employee), Ipswich, ENGNovember 8, 2013
Pros: staff discount and shopping days
Cons: distance and night work
Working nights is difficult but with an organised, hardworking team it can be very productive. My time at Makro enabled me to learn how to stock take electronically; stay up to date with new health and safety regulations and food hygiene laws.
Being a member of a proficient team of co workers led by efficient management enabled me to focus on my work – more... and ensure my area of responsibility was always neat, tidy and sufficiently stocked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall its a good place to wokr in ,because your self esteem is being boosted having yourself working in a big company like makro
cashier (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPOctober 28, 2013
Pros: gifts cards for hard work
Cons: shifts which have small hours, long hours standing
my colleages are fun to work with ,because they are there when you need help from them. typical day is to deal with acustomer that has a hot temper who will ruin your day completely ,and the haredest part is you stand for long hours. the enjoyable day is when one of the customer said i am good and went to tell the superiors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training opportunity are open to anyone, and facilities such as sports available
Assistant maintenance officer (Current Employee), Pretoria, GPSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: win competions such as vuka competion. offered gift for best customer service.
Cons: long hours and more overtimes. (weekend and holidays)
I have a busy day but nice one too.
I have learned that two is better than one and laiziness does not pay.
Management are well trained due to their fair treatment and productive.
Always fun and productive.
More complains everydays.
I learn new thing everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and enjoyable
Cashier (Former Employee), Woodmead, GPAugust 20, 2013
Cons: long hours
I have learn to be patient and respect.
My co-workers were good people,
Dealing with different people people every day.
Smiling with every customers