Find companies:
Makro
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
472 reviews

Makro Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working there, no complaints
marketing, admin, sales, reception, outbound agent (Current Employee), Bloemfontein, FSJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: one free day off per month
Cons: long hours, weekends and public holidays
very interesting to work at makro, never a dull moment, staff are friendly and always willing to help out where they can. i learned alot especially about the customer protection act and the retail industry, management was always there to guide and assist when needed, co-workers, some friendly and others not so friendly. hardest part of the job is dealing – more... with a difficult customer who doesnt want to hear that we are out of stock or that we have to send goods in to be repaired. Getting to see happy customers and the satisfaction i get when i know i have resolved a problem and my customer is happy and continues to shop at our store. another thing i enjoy is helping co-workers and customers out when and where i can – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPJanuary 17, 2014
Cons: long hours sometimes
I was mostly under pressure but managed to get the job done daily.
I never got paid for over-time although I would go back to the store late.
But everything else was fine. I enjoyed working there as my real first job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freindly not productive
Customer Services Assistant/ Cashier (Current Employee), Cardiff, WLSJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: the staff dicount
Cons: difficult people
Have been there 14 yrs but not really moved on since i started. My co workers are all very friendly. Every day is really the same as each other. The enjoyable part is chatting to the customers some of them are really nice to talk too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
running fresh food depts is\very fullfilling,developing strong relationships with customers
Ultra fresh manager (Current Employee), Charlton, ENGJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: my team, customers and quality of product
Cons: some long hours, lack of progression and poor communication
fast paced,never the same day twice,I work with a very strong team of professional butchers and fishmongers and keen trainees all of whom take pride in customer service and the srong sales,cominng off a very strong christmas performance.
The most enjoyable part of my job is on the shopfloor cutting meat,serving customers and working stock.
The hardest – more... part of the job is the duty management role I do, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Sales (Current Employee), Durban, ZNJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: good commission
Cons: long hours
Have learned about the company's policies and the various cycles and procedures that makro uses on a day- to -day basis. Good communication between staff members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unproductive
Temporary contract (Former Employee), leicesterDecember 29, 2013
Pros: subidised canteen
Cons: listed above
Worked there for 4 mths. Enjoyed working at the checkouts work collegues very friendly. However be aware that majority of staff have worked there for years and there is a definate culture between one or two that is based on a negitive jealous vibe. While you are happy to do any over time anyhow you wish to progress this might cause you problems with – more... some folk. Management walk straight past you without even a hello. Its a them n us culture. As for the coffeeshop the so called senior catering assistant ia a nitemare.... There was botchulism spores growin inside of the dishwasher!!!! Clueless is the word im looking for! Salary isnt good – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Duties
Grocery Assistant (Former Employee), SwanseaDecember 28, 2013
Pros: could manage my own work, great people to work with
Cons: my role was only a weekend role
My work here involved monitoring stock quality, completing paper work on disposed stock and calculating the loss this generates the company, monitoring temperatures on fridges and freezers and keeping a record of this for legal reasons and presenting paper work to the store manager before processing into the main system. I left this job as it was only – more... part time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee), Cape Town, South AfricaDecember 27, 2013
Liaise with client
Equal Banking
Timing Schedule
Direct Client Orders
Corresponding with Client Orders
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Useful experience
Shelf stacker (Former Employee), Breda, NBDecember 7, 2013
Pros: free tea, nice colleagues
It was a very useful experience to have worked in that store. I learned many things about how to work together more efficiently and systematically. I now know how the management of a store works and how supervisors and employees work together to make sure the store is as costumer friendly as possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organised, hardworking team
Forklift Driver GA (Former Employee), Ipswich, ENGNovember 8, 2013
Pros: staff discount and shopping days
Cons: distance and night work
Working nights is difficult but with an organised, hardworking team it can be very productive. My time at Makro enabled me to learn how to stock take electronically; stay up to date with new health and safety regulations and food hygiene laws.
Being a member of a proficient team of co workers led by efficient management enabled me to focus on my work – more... and ensure my area of responsibility was always neat, tidy and sufficiently stocked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall its a good place to wokr in ,because your self esteem is being boosted having yourself working in a big company like makro
cashier (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPOctober 28, 2013
Pros: gifts cards for hard work
Cons: shifts which have small hours, long hours standing
my colleages are fun to work with ,because they are there when you need help from them. typical day is to deal with acustomer that has a hot temper who will ruin your day completely ,and the haredest part is you stand for long hours. the enjoyable day is when one of the customer said i am good and went to tell the superiors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training opportunity are open to anyone, and facilities such as sports available
Assistant maintenance officer (Current Employee), Pretoria, GPSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: win competions such as vuka competion. offered gift for best customer service.
Cons: long hours and more overtimes. (weekend and holidays)
I have a busy day but nice one too.
I have learned that two is better than one and laiziness does not pay.
Management are well trained due to their fair treatment and productive.
Always fun and productive.
More complains everydays.
I learn new thing everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and enjoyable
Cashier (Former Employee), Woodmead, GPAugust 20, 2013
Cons: long hours
I have learn to be patient and respect.
My co-workers were good people,
Dealing with different people people every day.
Smiling with every customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have enjoyed my time but time for a change
Floor manager (Current Employee), Rayleigh, ENGAugust 15, 2013
Pros: great team
Cons: need new challenge that can't be offered by company
Have managed teams of up to 45 staff.
Conducted staff training and review on a regular basis.
Work with a great team of staff with a mix of skills which I utilise.
Been able to work in all areas of the store and enhanced many skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
General Assistant (Former Employee), WashingtonAugust 13, 2013
Pros: staff discount
I enjoyed working here alot, the staff were all lovely and helpful. We all got along well together with no issues. If ever i needed help with something someone would always be around to ask if a customer queried me something and i was not sure. Was nice to have a chat and get to know everyone in and around the store. There wasnt really a hard part of – more... the job it was all enjoyable and worth it. I met some nice people there – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Sales Assistant (Current Employee), NottinghamAugust 6, 2013
Pros: friendly enviroment
Cons: salary
The workplace is very busy and there is alway plently to do. All the staff are friendly and know their roles which makes the place run smoothly. I have always found the enviroment pleasant and enjoyable to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Booking in clerk (Former Employee), ipswichJuly 14, 2013
Pros: cheap lunches
Cons: late stock taking
learning how to use the pc to book clients in
i was responsible for the stock intake, booking in stock to deadlines. how to stack take and worked also on the tills front of house
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
commis chef
Chef (Former Employee), sheffieldJune 27, 2013
Pros: loved everything about the job
Cons: limited opportunities to mix things up and use my imagination
This was my first job on leaving college,i worked in the staff and customer restaurant kitchen. I was really passionate about catering and really impressed this on my role, I left to pursue my career with Novotel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive Environment
Administration Assistant (Former Employee), Pretoria, GPJune 14, 2013
Pros: i got to wear a yellow shirt.
Cons: i had to wear a yellow shirt.
At Makro Wonderboom, the minority is the majority, and Culture Connections is top priority to the staff.
Customer service is key, and performance delivery is a driving factor.
The management is scanty but overall effective, the budget cuts have hit hard, and many are without their work which they gave so much to be a part of.
The most enjoyable part – more... of being admin assistant was networking between the departments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and rewarding
Customer assistant, reception (Current Employee), PooleJune 2, 2013
Pros: staff discount, friendly work environment, good holiday allowance, reasonable wage
Cons: hard to get more working hours/ full time work
I find this job very rewarding, from the start I was easily accepted into the friendly team and was offered multiple opportunities to develop working skills. They are willing to train you across the store which helps build experience and a good CV for future jobs. If you help them (last minute shifts/ overtime/ generally work hard) they help you e.g – more... changing shifts or taking time off. The holiday entitlement is great and bank holidays offer double pay (£12.50 for 18 years and over). Overall an enjoyable job, with down to earth, friendly staff. – less