Find companies:
Management & Training Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Management & Training Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good experiance
Unpaid internship Line Cook (Former Employee), Morganfield, KYJune 4, 2014
The atmosphere wasn`t healthy in the least bit. My co-workers were mostly lazy. But I did learn from my managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was more for learning than for working.
Sous Chef (Former Employee), Morganfield, KYJune 4, 2014
Other than the inner city culture of the student populace it was an ok place to be at. MTC's way of running Job Corps may not have been the greatest, but the program worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Big Joke
Former Employee (Former Employee), San Marcos, TXApril 22, 2014
Pros: able to help some students
Cons: management and hr
This campus is a Big Joke...Management is Trash...HR Mgr. is the biggest joke of all. and the Head Honcho is the worst. How do you say you have no money and the Head Honcho is driving around in a Brand new Chevy and then not taking in any new kids and laying folks off. If you call corporate they announce they are coming I bet if they did surprise visits – more... it would be a different story. Managers selling GSA cars for personal profit and no one goes to jail really. Where do they do that (Gary Job Corp) The list goes on and on. If the gov't knew what was going on with the money they would be shut down for sure. It's a Great programs for Young adults but they need caring people to work there to make it successful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
Manager (Current Employee), Centerville, UTFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: personal development, work/life balance
MTC is a great company to work for. They change peoples lives through education. I enjoy working with and getting to know my co-workers. Upper management encourages personal growth. Culture is professional and enjoyable. I have learned so much in the various positions that I've held, and continue to learn each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work EVER...
Correctional Officer (Former Employee), Brownfield, TxDecember 18, 2013
Cons: everything
Low pay, bad management & drama! If your straight this is probably not the job for you unless you like to be treated like dirt because of your personal preference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work place
Maintenance (Former Employee), Callicoon, NYDecember 18, 2013
Pros: hours, destination, co-workers, manager.
Cons: pay.
My typical day at work i would clock in then clean the designated floors i was told to clean. Most times i would be asked to paint, replace lights or strip & wax
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with Job Corp
Administrative (Former Employee), UtahOctober 16, 2013
Pros: great mission in providing life skills and trades to those who otherwise would not get these skills.
Cons: pay, benefits, and some jaded staff who should be asked to move on to work more suited to them.
Most of the staff were happy to be there and made each day the best experience possible for themselves, other staff, and students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company to work for
Residential Advisor & Records Specialist (Former Employee), Clearfield, UTSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: casual work environment, company parties twice a year
Cons: low work morale, ok benefits, no room for internal advancement
Overall review is that it is an ok company to work for. Not much room for internal advancement within the organization and recent changes in management have impacted overall employee morale. Not much recognition for work done. More attention is given to the students and not enough to staff. Low work morale. Benefits are ok and the rate of pay is a bit – more... on the low end for what other companies pay for those same positions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always challenging
Compliance Manager-Lieutenant (Current Employee), Kuna, IDSeptember 15, 2013
Pros: plenty of opportunities for staff advancement
Demanding and rewarding
Customer is always the most important
Management is fair and consistent
Co-workers are knowledgeable and dedicated
The most enjoyable part of the job is changing lives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Management Information Systems Technician (Current Employee), Kingman, AZSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: a secure job
This position is responsible for several systems in two Arizona State Prisons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only interested in the bottom line on how much money can be brought in
Resident Advisor (Former Employee), Morganfield KyJuly 29, 2013
Pros: hour lunch, upper management always positive
Cons: negativity of the staff in dorms, mandatory 12 hour shifts you aren't told about when hired. working everweekends
Not a whole lot of positive to say. When you are hired they make it sound like such a wonderful place to work. Then when you go to them to report a student sexually harassing you, you lose your job. The staff in the dorms are very negative and I can see why they would be. Working mandatory 12 hour shifts, no time for family. I could go on and on. I – more... was so excited when I was hired thinking I could make a difference for these students. Boy was I naive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Times
Student Helper (Former Employee), Manhattan, KSJuly 12, 2013
Cons: 20 hrs. a week
I was always in the cafeteria helping out during meals. i'm not scared to EARN my living. Every one was very friendly there. that was my first and ideal job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place corporate profit ahead of those being serviced
Manager of Program Support (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 17, 2013
Pros: some of the core staff has genuine compassion for those being served
Cons: leadership has no interest in anything except profit
Lack of Leadership Interest

Focus on Program profit at client expense

Short cut compliance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Morally bankrupt, rudderless, and will drive you mad
Mangement, corporate office (Former Employee), Centerville, UTMarch 6, 2013
Cons: lots
MTC has managed to combine incredibly poor senior leadership and tight-fisted corporate bureaucratic micromanagement into a rage-inducing swirling storm of terrible work experience. The senior leaders in corrections don't empower their people, the good people in HR feel helpless and neutered by the sr HR executive, who fires HR people as casually as – more... going out to eat. The team operates in fear, paralyzed and ineffective. The company is stingy with pay and benefits, instead ensuring owners can buy yet another condo or vacation property.

If you're considering this place, think long and hard before you accept. It beats unemployment and poverty, but just barely. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hahaha the correctional side is a JOKE
sergeant of corrections (Former Employee), venus txFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: none!!!!!!
Cons: too much stress, getting treated like dirt, no respect, and little pay
i worked at the correctional facility 5 1/2 years, and lets just say some people put in authoritative roles should have never been, people think they can do anything there and get away with it. The higher up's are racist and demand respect even though they give none. my experience was not a good one, and that place sucks you into its grips and its so – more... hard to get out of there. They will go completely out of their way to get you to leave or get fired if you are not part of their circle and like many have said it is the good ol boy system. and they will also demand that you "FIX" paperwork that has been messed up for over a year... The HR manager is a joke and she has gone through multiple assistants since 09 when MTC took over. I will never go back to that place nor would i recommend anyone to work there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dream job ...but it was cut short
RESDENT ADVISOR (Former Employee), CLEARFIELD utahJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: awesome place to work i wish i could go back
Cons: the evil balding hobbit that lurks in b dorm
I loved working there but there' was one manager that went outta his way to make it a hosstle place for me he made his mission to give me a hard time wile i was there. He was a bitter little hobbit ...... but I loved working with the student's the most and. Most of the staff but you had your share of snakes my mane foucus was the student's I loved it – more... but I gave four year's of my and I was a former student my self it is a good program you just gotta have have staff who are there for the right reasons and I would have fought for my job back but I wouldn't have won anyways because I wasent part of the union ... But I did enjoy my time there but it was sad the way it all ended... But other then that its a great place to work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place I have ever work
Supervisor (Former Employee), Brunswick, GaJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: no work to take home, corporate is supportive
Cons: drama, hostile work environments, and prejudice management
Going to corporate and getting training is great but it is totally different from the center environment. If you like drama and a weak management team this is the place for you. They allow hostile work environments and the HR is a joke!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job i've ever had
C/O (Former Employee), Kingman, AZJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: lol what pros
Cons: hahahahaha too many to list.
This is the most unprofessional environment you will ever come across. It truly is a good old boys network. If you are an uneducated hillbilly, and have family ties and an IQ under 50 you will succeed here. You will have more problems with staff than you will with inmates. Inmates run the show. If you show the slightest bit of intelligence, and human – more... decency you will stand out, and not in a good way. People are put in authoritative positions when they have NO BUSINESS being there, and in turn they abuse their power and treat staff as if they were inmates. If you speak up you will be chastised and targeted. Underpaid and overworked. The job itself is easy, it's the nonsense that comes along with it that makes it difficult. Mandatory overtime. YOU WILL be held against your will if they do not have enough bodies to cover their shifts. The best part of my day was punching out and leaving at the end of the day. If you have a soul I would not recommend this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The only place I will work.
RA (Current Employee), Clearfield job corps centerJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: management, pay, work fulfillment
Cons: n/a
Working for MTC brings me satisfaction because of all the lives I help. I've worked in Job Corps for over 10 years and I plan on retiring here. I have great benefits, my work is noticed, and management helps me grow professionally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The only place I will work.
RA (Current Employee), Clearfield job corps centerJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: management, pay, work fulfillment
Cons: n/a
Working for MTC brings me satisfaction because of all the lives I help. I've worked in Job Corps for over 10 years and I plan on retiring here. I have great benefits, my work is noticed, and management helps me grow professionally.

About Management & Training Corporation

Management¬†& Training Corporation (MTC) prepares prison inmates for re-entry into society. It provides a variety of academic, – Read more