Find companies:
Management Sciences for Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Management Sciences for Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant colleagues interesting work, not good for junior staff or anyone looking to move up.
Project Associate (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 8, 2014
This is a great work environment for those just out of Graduate School or senior level employees. The staff are extremely knowledgeable in their fields and are very passionate about their work. There is a high is a high turn over rate due to constant changes in opinion from upper-level management. Much of the good work field staff and regular project – more... staff does goes unnoticed or unrewarded by those at the top. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
smart colleagues who work well in teams
Member of USAID (Former Employee), Boston, maJune 1, 2014
a stimulating environment with people dedicated to making a difference in international development
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An international NGO with mission of strengthening national health systems for greater heath impact
Human Resources Specialist in charge (Current Employee), MbaleMay 7, 2014
A typical work day seess the greatest buzz of activity early inthe mrning and late in the evening as staff prepare to set off to the field and when they return frm the field at the end of the day. As support stff, ours is to ensure that th e program teams are well equiipped for the field and so we must have received their prorams and lists of requireents – more... well in advance. Th team is a mature one where every one respects one anther and people from the Chief of Party right down to the Gardeneer refer to each other as colleagues and are on first name basis. Mangement is very supportive.

My most enjoyable part of work is usually the morning hours when ensuring that all teams have what they need and are happy with the support we offer. The hardest time is when I have to handle disciplinary hearings or resolve conflicts since almost every one considers me their friend – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A crash course in politics
Policy and Advocacy Intern (Former Employee), Arlington, VAMarch 3, 2014
Pros: free coffee/tea all day, beautiful facilities, easily walkable area, metro accessible, passionate coworkers
Cons: unpaid work, a lot of ups and downs in short periods of time
Every day I would check emails, follow-up with supervisors, and be assigned new tasks for the day. I had the opportunity to experience how large organizations, with many people and many "moving parts" function. I was responsible for keeping up with three supervisors and the tasks they needed assistance with. My coworkers were fun and the environment – more... was largely enjoyable and supportive.

The most enjoyable part of my job was working in a gorgeous facility with people who were truly passionate about their work. I would feel very fortunate if every group I had the pleasure of working with had the passion and dedication to their work that the team at MSH Arlington has for theirs.I also had the opportunity to meet many prominent people in my field and one day I even visited every single congressional office on Capitol Hill!

The hardest part of my job was that the main project I had been originally expected to do during my internship was cancelled due to the government shut down and since no one could have planned for that to happen my experience and tasks were probably more disorganized than they would have been had the project not been cancelled. I wasn't prepared that so much of the work of the department I was in was dependent on politics and I learned that was not the area for me. I chose to take on unpaid work but found I had to keep two paid jobs in order to balance the cost of an entirely unpaid internship. I feel this policy of not paying interns (especially when they give preference to full-time interns) is exclusionary to otherwise qualified candidates who cannot afford to work for free. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place for building in a career in public health
Business and Resource Development Intern (Former Employee), Cambirdge, MASeptember 30, 2013
Pros: multi-cultural, attentive management, free coffee.
Cons: unpaid internship.
MSH is an excellent place to build a career in public health. If your interested in health management systems or developing countries, they offer a great working environment with an effective approach to building a better world. As an intern, they allowed me to work on projects which allowed me to gain 'real' experience in the workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for the fient hearted
Director, Systems Analysis and Software Products (Current Employee), Arlington, VAOctober 11, 2012
MSH is what you make it to be. Its large, growing and has all the trappings of working in counties across the world.

Best for experienced/highly skilled candidates looking to move into mid/Sr positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and satisfying place to work allowing for learning and progression
Regional Coordinator, (Former Employee), Plot 15 Princes Ann Drive, Bugolobi KampalaAugust 2, 2012
Atypical working day bigins at 7:30 am to 5:30 Monday to Thursday and the 8:00 to 1:00 on Friday making 40 hours a week.I learnt how to monitor work of the people supervised by me by use of time sheets. I also learnt use of 360 degree appraisal and setting of KRA that will be used as abasis for performance appraisal.

In terms of Management, there is – more... willingness to share work with staff by delegating it to get the job done. Banking on the competency of the team to get the job done on time and to have it done correctly. There is also consultative management style, involving getting lots of feedback from staff before coming to a conclusion and making a decision.

I had good relationship with my co-workers. I had close association with my peers (middle managers) and often shared expirences and consulted each other. I also had good work relation ship with my immediate supervisor and often met one on one to discuss progress. The Chief of party was however fairly not easy to get used to because he was often autocratic and wanted things done his way. I also got on well with the workers that i was responsible for.i was flexible most times but also firm if i needed to be..

The hardest part of the job was when i had to face the partners on issues that we had failed to fulfill and had to be planned for more once and yet we were expected to be strengthening health systems in the districts.

The most enjoyable part of the job was when we achived or exceeded our set targets and were being appreciated by the districts for a job well done, for example if we realised increased suppervised deliveries at health facility following interventions such as provision of equipment and supplies such as mama kits – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive especially to the related fields and also good experinces especially when interacting with different projects and capacities.
Office Clerk Assistant/ Office Administration (Former Employee), NairobiAugust 24, 2014
Pros: yes and great
Cons: yes
Generally i give credits to the whole organization because i got an experience in different angle that is from the highest officials to the lowest and also from different projects and capacity. I also give credits for the time i got to work with them and not only from me but to every employee for the chance they gave us to express what we got.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MSH is a great place to work : Training for staff development, teamwork
TRANSPORT and LOGISTICS COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Kinshasa, DR of CongoApril 26, 2014
Pros: very good environnement of work
Cons: n/a
I was dealing with the fleet management, the purchasing of goods and services and the management of all domestic and international travels. MSH provides a very good environnement for the personal and professional staff development. The most enjoyable part of my work was that all the work is done in the team spirit.The hardest part of the work was that – more... I was handling many responsibilities in the same time and this requires to be very careful. On this level, MSH recognized my professionalism by granting me a letter of recognition by the end of the year with the increase of my salary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An intersting organization focusd on delivering results.
Technical Director for Field Operations (Current Employee), Addis Abeba, EthiopiaOctober 31, 2013
The organization has given me the opportunity to serve my people and learn the science of implementing and leading programs. I have been part of an incredible team that focuses on achieving results and supporting each other positively. The wide scope of the program including care and support, prevention, treatment, community mobilization and field work – more... makes it very interesting, though convincing government counterparts on new innovative approaches was challenging. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent organization
Senior Technical advisor (Current Employee), DhakaJuly 28, 2013
I learned a lot while working here and the organization has strategic road map which facilitates the reach the career goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposur and experience
Senior Technical Advisor (Current Employee), NairobiMay 1, 2013
Pros: flexibility and consultation
Cons: staff shortage vs workload
planning, strategy formulation, capacity building, proposal writing and managing/leading assigned activities. Most enjoyable part is the opportunity to have independence in decision making.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is generally a good organization
Monitoring and Evaluation Advisor (Current Employee), NairobiMarch 24, 2013
A typical day of work starts by going to any of the 5 Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) allocated to me for M & E Mentorship. I have a work plan that is based on the capacity gaps identified for each organization using Organization Capacity Assessment. I may visit two different organizations in a day.I have learnt Institutional Strengthening and why – more... it is important to strengthen these Institutions so that they do not depend on individuals

The Management is generally good and my co-workers are hard working and accomodative. The hardest part of the Job is when an organization does not have a Monitoring and Evaluation person to use for Mentorship and to strengthen M & E Systems.

The most enjoyable part of the job is when you look back and see the systems strengthened and operational – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally it was quite good to work MSH
District Coordinator under NAC funded project (Former Employee), NtchisiFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: no lunch allowances were provided
I worked at different positions. At first I worked as a District Community Mobilization Specialist in Mangochi under TBCAP project. At community level, the project aimed at early case detection as well as care for the TB cases in addition to community awareness on TB/HIV &AIDS. Then after phasingout of the project, I joined the NAC project in Ntchisi – more... as a District Coordinator. This project was on Integration of family planning and HIV/AIDS where emphasis was on HTC door to door. During my work MSH, I did developed a number of monitoring tools as well as training curriculum. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lively and productive work place
Office Administrator (Current Employee), Maseru, LesothoNovember 27, 2012
Pros: team building
Cons: long hours
MSH, is a great diverse working place with people of different cultures and backgrounds, The management is straight forward with full lance and support with subordinates. working with people of different cultures is a great impact and gives one opportunity to learn and expand the way of thinking and handling issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hectic workplace
(MSH) - Management and leadership specialist (Former Employee), Managua, NicaraguaSeptember 3, 2012
Pros: being part of a team work
Cons: inflexible schedule
I learned to work with different specialist in education and health. Also how to face different needs for differents clients.
Besides, my co-workers were specialist in different areas, always focused in the results expected by the clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing Lives and motivational
Senior Associate Information Systems, (MIS) (Current Employee), Mbabane, SwazilandMarch 23, 2012
Pros: health, career
Cons: team development, decentralization
I have been working for this company for five years now and I can confirm that it is a great opportunity to work for - every year it strives to improve its strategy and approach. MSH employees have this good hunger for results - and are practical thus really closing the gap between what is known in Public health and what can be done. Keep up the good – more... work guys! – less