Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delighting a guest
Supervisor, Reservations (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 7, 2018
Every day when I go to work I am always focused on giving excellent costumer service and make sure that my work flow is as smooth as possible. One of the most enjoyable moments at work is the interaction with the costumer/guest and the way the connection is created in between. Giving the opportunity to a create a memorable moment and gather information of the guest to be able to provide a more delightful experience and anticipate their needs.
Pros
free lunch free uniforn
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 30, 2017
The management at the time I was working there was a little too regimented. They would nitpicked on things that were not work related. Could be because they were just establishing themselves in Boston. I have a couple former co-workers who are still at the hotel and they are really comfortable there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great working environment, benefits and training
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 26, 2017
Overall great working environment with an engaged workforce. Provide great benefits with strong focus on training and development. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting so many people and the diverse workforce.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My summary
Executive Banquet Chef (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 20, 2017
I learned how to build a team, organization and leadership. The hardest part of my job was not having a life. Missing out on family life is tough. However food is my passion and I can't leave it alone. My children are a little older now so it isn't an issue anymore. The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing the customers enjoy the food. All of the blood, sweat and tears that goes into this culinary passion is all worth it when everything goes well and the event is over. The workplace should be a feeling of family. This is pivital when you literally need to have people watch each others back. Teamwork makes the dream work!
Pros
learned a lot about the culinary world
Cons
glass ceiliing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Director of Engineering (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 19, 2017
This company is great to work for it, allows you to grow and perfect your craft. The Mandarin has an awesome collection hotels world wide. Working for the Mandarin was the best hospitality company I have worked for in my career.
Pros
Great opportunities to advance.
Cons
Stressful at times, however the Hotel business can be....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great training programs
Pool Server/Bartender & Cocktail Waitress (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 24, 2017
very fast paced work environment a lot of high standards. they train you very well to follow the standards. food and beverage managers very unorganized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Divertido
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 15, 2017
Una muy buena experiencia de trabajo , en la que aprendí mucho
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 8, 2017
is a nice hotel was my school
also is a five star hotel many repeat guest ,pet allow
very nice view. Friendly place super safe place.
They helping a community with recycle program
Pros
sometimes stressful
Cons
very nice hotel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Gust Services /Bellman (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 30, 2017
Good place to work to learn about different cultures the pay is too low for the amount work and expectations from bellman. Management is a little unorganized and sometimes had unrealistic expect ions. But other then that the environment was good
Pros
Free food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great place to work and be
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 25, 2017
I enjoyed working at Mandarin.the management and employees very good.much to learn.great employee fun times.the free everyday lunch for employee great.safe place to work.meet lots of new people from rich to poor everyday.very nice place.even giving back to the community.overall nice.
Pros
Every thing nice
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Overnight Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 19, 2017
A lot of Change Over. Growth Opportunity Was Scanty. Unfair growth opportunity at one point. Moved on due to lack of growth opportunity. Enjoyed Working With Employees.
Pros
Gaining Excperience
Cons
Lack of Company Growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Security House Officer (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 6, 2017
Good Managers and benefits. Not much opportunity for career advancement. Free lunches, a number of benefit plans are offered.
Yearly cost of living increases are not available. Waited for 4 years for a pay increase.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
do not receive yearly cost of living increases.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Assistant Housekeeping Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 28, 2017
Fast paced and at times stressful. Slightly slow in career advancement but the opportunities were there. Very nice benefits and very nice people to work with.
Pros
free lunch and good benefits
Cons
short breaks and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Elegant workplace
Pool Hostess (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVSeptember 24, 2017
Good summer job, but decided not to stay with the company because I wanted more opportunities for advancement. Hardest part of the job was tolerating the sun in the summer and the guests. Work for Mandarin after gaining guest experience elsewhere on the strip because guests here can be very conceited. Oh, and be prepared to move a lot of umbrellas in 115+ heat. I enjoyed the team and working for a 5 star hotel!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Spa Concierge (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 18, 2017
Learning from upper management in order to improve yourself.
Opportunities for advancement in hospitality industry
Opportunity to become a manager after 1 yr. of working in your current position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen trabajo
Laundry Attendant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 31, 2017
Buen trabajo todo muy bien mucho trabajo great team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place to work
Spa Fitness Attendant (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 30, 2017
Amazing place to grow as a professional!!!!!. Amazing colleagues and peaceful place. You can feel the energy of the place and the vibration is awesome
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture, bright individuals, winning attitude!
F&B Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 28, 2017
"Really great culture. They put a lot of effort into making everyone feel welcome and supported, but at the same time you don´t feel discriminated. Always team work present in this brans"
Pros
Strong brand name, great work-life balance, benefits are good.
Cons
Hard to get decisions made because of how highly matrix it is. Pay is just okay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my wirk
Bartender/Server (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 27, 2017
5 star hotel in the heart of the financial district of SF.
Started as a banquet server and bartender and then moved down to the bar.
The banquet manager was absolutely amazing the bar manager. Well. Didn't see her much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Services
Valet Attendant (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 31, 2017
Im a overnight valet. My shift consist of doing the night audit for valet, parking and retrieving vehicles, act as a doorman and also a chauffer. Hardest part o the job ( if you declare this hard ) is to keep up with the 5 star standards for customer service.
Pros
Gourmet free luches, good pay rate
Cons
overnight
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 290 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1