Find companies:
Mandarin Oriental
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Mandarin Oriental Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay and benefits, management treats employees like dogs
spa facilitator (Former Employee), Washington DCJune 22, 2014
Pros: free lunch, benefits, weekly pay
Cons: parking, management, stiff schedules with no flex
the pay and benefits are pretty good and the culture is very friendly and inviting. however management will treat line employees really bad. long hours with no flexibility, manager putting work off on regular employees, and since new managers have been hired there has been a lot of terminations and ironically most of those terminated are of the same – more... race, go figure. Other than that the biggest part of the job is to always make guests happy and whatever it takes to keep them happy – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with Great Expectations
Spa Concierge (Current Employee), Miami, FLJune 5, 2014
Pros: included cafeteria for colleagues (free lunch or dinner)
Cons: overworked.
Working here has made me become a better person. It has made me realize that there is so much more to hospitality. The detail that this company goes by is impeccable. Everything is personalized and tailored to guests needs like no other place. Luxurious but still feels like home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very not recommended place to work
CDP (Former Employee), Jakarta, IndonesiaApril 14, 2014
Pros: good service charge
Cons: very long working hours, beetwen outlets miscommunication, poor job security, over production items, very high employees turn over, etc
Very long working hours, because there are lots of unimportant items to do which is generating over production. Good service charge and friendly colleagues though. The employees turn over is very high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to meet very unique colleagues
HR Coordinator (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 23, 2014
A typical day at work can go anywhere from 0-60 seconds in one minute. I go in to work, print out my daily DCF's informing the hotel with how many guests we will have in house, that day and who will be coming in. after that, our HR team will have a line-up and we all let each other know what is going on in our day. Normally, I make sure all of my e-mails – more... are caught up, voicemails have been answered and take care of immediate forms, for anything any colleague may need that same day. Everyone is very friendly, you will never go down the hall with our someone saying hi to you. The most challenging part of my job used to be getting used to doing benefits their way, ' Mandarin " way. The best part of my job is being able to talk and see colleagues on a daily basis, making sure everyone is taken care of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful hotel
Reservation agent (Former Employee), macauOctober 24, 2013
Great work location, good future and nice coworkers. And Im a summer part time reservation agent there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very classy hotel
Director of Finance (Former Employee), makati, pphilippinesOctober 20, 2013
nice balcony, and all facilities. a real business hotel in downtown
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my preview
House person morning (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 14, 2013
good and a very hard worker a lot of potential the hardest of the job is not finding the right company to finish the task left by the managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Double standard between management and line workers
Line Worker (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 11, 2013
Not a bad place, but managers don't live by the values that the company promotes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assistant in room dining manager (Former Employee), New York,NYMay 25, 2013
Pros: much
I worked at this hotel for almost two months. I can only say positive things about this company. The diferences I have read here are that we need to remember to diferenciate work place with home space then one will be just fine. It is the same hotel hospitality culture every where you go to work nothing will change no matter what hotel one works for? – more... I didnt stay because I need to work on something diferent but if I have to choose to work again for MOH it will be my first choice. Trust me I been in this industry for over 40 years and the MOH it is a precious as it comes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 start hotel
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Las Vegas nvMay 14, 2013
it was a fun and experience job i learned many things
i liked working with the guest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working for this company
Maintenance engineer (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVMarch 27, 2013
Pros: all good food free
Cons: walk 15 minutes to get in side to work
take all calls for guest, every day you learn something new, my boss leave you on auto pilot all way my co-works were very on top on any problem, is not to have parts to take care you job, is to fix problem o equipment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great company to work for.
Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Miami FlFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: amazing company.
Ensured the maintenance of OSHA Standard for Massage. Built customer loyalty. Performed professional massages. Gained knowledge in full spectrum of information pertaining to signature spa treatments and products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR staff is rude and condescending. Not sure how they got 5 stars
Massage Therapist (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NevadaDecember 30, 2012
Pros: 5 star 5 diamond rating
Cons: condescending management - especially hr
The women who work in HR are a brutal. They are critical, rude, and condescending. Never mind the guests that come to this hotel being primadonnas, the staff is way worse. I would not recommend working here. It is the most over rated hotel on the strip
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company...
In Room Dining Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 29, 2012
Pros: free lunch, most luxurius hotels, benefits, 401k
Cons: small discount on rooms, prima donas that stay at these hotels
Its a job .. it depends on which location of Mandarin you work in. These hotels are all over the world and are all diffrent. They all have same qualities which is the culture of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Administrator (Current Employee), Las VegasOctober 15, 2012
This is a great place to work. I do not feel challenged professionally in my current position, and there is no advancement opportunities in my current career field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great climate in the organization. Exceptional company values and culture
Manager in Training (Former Employee), Miami, FLOctober 9, 2012
Pros: free lunch, flexible schedule
Cons: short breaks, pay to park, work on weekends and holidays
I learned to listen and resolve problems, take the lead, work as a team. I learned what is to offer the best quality of service. The hardest part of the job is when others are not committed as you do to be the best. I enjoyed to worked in such a multicultural environment, and to work for a luxury hotel brand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Spa Front Desk Agent /Licensed Nail Technician (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 24, 2012
Mandarin Oriental is a place where you can build a career. They invest a lot of time into training to ensure you have all the skills you need to perform your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Luxurious luxury hotel
Cafe Server (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 29, 2012
Pros: insurance, uniforms cleaned and provided, elegant atomosphere
Cons: unsure direction of the hotel due to the recent switch to mandarin oriental
I worked for the Mandarin Oriental for six months now, and most of my co workers are awesome, the management is improving, but could still need a little work. A typical day at work would be in one of the three areas I am cross trained in, including in room dining, restaurant, and banquets. Usually I start the day by preparing for what is to come and – more... setting myself up for success, this is the most important part...making sure tables are up to standard, restocking, reading over the vips and hotel occupancy summary. The hardest part of this job would be not being provided the proper materials to work with and having to search them out. The easiest part would be giving excellent and memorable service to the guest. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compensation
STAFF ACCOUNTANT (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 15, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: opportunity for growth
Overall the company is a good place to work for. Colleagues have the option to transfer for any property in the U.S. and overseas. Some departments there is not opportunity for career advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Telecommunications Agent (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 22, 2012
Pros: free lunch/great pay
Cons: supervisor was a little unprofessional
No words to describe working for a luxury hotel. Staff and pay is great and competitive, and you learn aspects of the hotel busniess that are uncredible beneficial for future reference