Maniilaq Association Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, culture oriented and educational.
Registration Clerk/ Data Imaging Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKOctober 7, 2017
Maniilaq is a great company to work for. I love my experience overall there and hope to work there again. People at maniilaq were very courteous, professional yet friendly and made my experience of employment very exciting. They were good at training and very patient. I would definitely recommend maniilaq as a place to apply for employment.
Pros
the hours were flexible, great pay and good people to work with.
Cons
the housing waitlist was so long.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very difficult to determine what the work culture will be; clinically
Children's Therapist (Former Employee) –  Kotzebue, AK 99752August 21, 2017
Kotzebue is awesome if you are a "internal locused" individual; beautiful people to connect with and beautiful place to live;
the stress comes from being "under the guide" if you will management that fluctuates consistently
"transplants" people who travel to the arctic for the 'adventure" with limited clinical skills and who have other issues;
maniilaq is the best provider in the region and tries its best to manage employees from "outside" and their "expectations"
being culturally competent and informed is a "must" for those wishing to have the "opportunity' and have it go well
Pros
wonderful place; wonderful people
Cons
isolated; limted access to a variety of face to face clinical support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Natives
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKJuly 23, 2017
Typical work day consists of seeing our usual loved patient population/elders. I have learned a lot about the culture through the elders that come in! Nursing management is highly hostile and hard to work with or talk to. Management does not stop harassment and even feeds into the manipulation and harassment of staff. I was able to witness a lot tension, racism among staff, sexism and ageism within the nursing departments. I do not recommend this facility due to current management. Once the hostile staff have left I highly recommend going to experience the culture and people.
Pros
Native population is a plus!
Cons
Nursing management and floor staff who are the friends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Deputy Health Services Administrator (Former Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKJuly 4, 2017
Great place to work. Outstanding benefits and corporate culture. In addition the paid time off begins with four weeks and there are many paid holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKJune 12, 2017
Love working with the people. Very well maintained. Good work settings. Nice enviorment. The people are very polite and well mannered. Everyone tries to help everyone out.
Pros
Cafeteria
Cons
Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Dental Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKMarch 8, 2017
 Efficient management and optimization of employee schedules, village visits, travel, personal time off (PTO), and payroll initiatives
 Preparation of dental billing and monitoring of the billing data entry’s alignment with the Billing Department’s procedures on future trends and forecast
 Leadership and streamlining of the patient referral process
 Administration of the office budget, while overseeing proper fund allocation and conducting necessary justifications for check requests and purchase orders
 Facilitation of weekly departmental and provider meeting to consistently monitor the progress of departmental goals and objectives
 Spearheaded all dental clinic recruitment efforts, in close coordination and consultation with the dental/medical staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day at Work
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKJanuary 30, 2017
A typical day at work consisted of 8 hours of physical activity, or more. I have learned to further improvise when needed, spare time to help another with a difficult project, finish projects on due dates, and how to better communication with others. The hardest part of the job was working 18 hours a day, the most enjoyable was the people I got to work with, and the projects that needed to be worked on.
Pros
Two fifteen (15) minute breaks throughout the day, and hour lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start your first job
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKJanuary 2, 2017
I got my first job with the company, I learned so many different things, my boss was awesome, and coworkers were friendly. I would consider going back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere, great support network
Itinerant Therapist (Current Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKDecember 24, 2016
Although I have only been here a short time, I am impressed with how everyone in the company is so welcoming and helpful. Co workers have gone out of their way to help me learn the culture and become part of the community. There is a great deal to learn and everyone is readily available to answer questions and help out.
Pros
Overall work environment and community
Cons
lack of housing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Diabetes Case Manager/ Educator DMSE (Former Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKDecember 23, 2016
good place to work, excellent interdisciplinary work.

Coworkers are willing to pitch in, if there is an absence.

informal interdisciplinary collaboration, flexibility
Pros
good work environment, flexibility and good collaboration
Cons
No housing for prospective employees, I moved 5 times in as many month including janitors closet and Doghouse
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Social Worker/Patient Advocate (Former Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKJuly 17, 2016
Administration was always supportive and committed to high ethical standards with a focus on health and wellness for the people of our region. I was given the opportunity to use my clinical skills on a daily basis and educational opportunities were available for the asking. My clinical team was supportive and when it came to being kind they went above and beyond. It was hard when a patient died unexpectedly but we supported the family and each other and got through it. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that I was able to make a difference in the lives of those I served.
Pros
Being given the privilege of serving on a dynamic clinical team.
Cons
It was hard when patients required needed services that were not available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintains high level of service under all conditions
MEDICAL LABORATORY SCIENTIST (Current Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKNovember 1, 2015
Maintains high level of service under all conditions, devising solutions and meeting commitments within time frames and constraints

Remains adaptable aduses initiative to identify improvements
View change as a healthy and normal part of organisational growth willingly condiders new ideas, approaces, pokicies and technology and remains flesible when adopting them. Actively looks for and generates new ways to satisfy job requirements and obtain greater results

Assists and co-operates with the team to get the best outcomes all round. Readily shares information with others. Always considers the impact of their actions on others. Maintains a positive frame of mind. Plays an active and constructive part in the affairs of the team, including meetings

View change as a healthy and normal part of organisational growth willingly considers new ideas, approaches, policies and technology and remains flexible when adopting them. Actively looks for and generates new ways to satisfy job requirements and obtain greater results

Takes accountability for achieving results, balancing workloads and conflicting priorities. Takes responsibility, owns and reports mistakes allowing laboratory to analyse and improve process. Displays energy, desire to improve and achieve results. Takes pride in presentation and standard of work. Sets high standards and follows through to completion

Listens actively and attentively, asks appropriate questions to obtain information, checks understanding of what others are saying, observes to perceive underlying issues and concerns. presents written work that
  more... is accurate, concise, relevant, legible and produces the intended result. Recognizes and adapts to different behavior and cultural styles. presents in a way that best meets the needs of the people receiving the message. Works towards achieving a win-win situation in forums, with customers and colleagues  less
Pros
Good company with good environment
Cons
Everyone get along fine
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivly fun with plenty of activities, positive things!
Residential Assistance (Current Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKOctober 31, 2014
Typical day at work, its just like being at your own place, yet you are their for the clients to make sure they do a good job on their living situation, I've learned that these type of people needs a special kind of attention due to there mental disabilities. Management is great! They do there best at keeping the program up and running. Co-Workers are there to help if needed. Hardest part of the job is to see the clients when they are at there worst, as in sick, sad or if they are having a bad day. I would do my best to change there attitude, I would talk to them and let them know that I am there to help them, and encourage them to see life as a beautiful fun filled journey. The thing I enjoy about this job is that I get to work with people who needs assistants on living needs, and just to work with people with mental issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
PATIENT CARE TECHNICIAN II (Former Employee) –  Acute CareOctober 27, 2014
Great working environment and the nurses give you a lot of room for learning
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Am Productive,fast leaner,good physical condition.
Biller I, Accounts Receivable (Former Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKJuly 8, 2014
I follow direction, am reliable, a fast leaner, am in good physical condition, able to work rotational shifts and/or week ends. I have a great positive attitude.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Work Day
Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKFebruary 3, 2014
An 8 to 5 position included preparing travel, hotel accomidations for employees, answered incoming calls, greeted and directed incoming clients, filed client paperwork and scheduled appointments
Pros
Always Busy
Cons
Building was often cold
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An adventure and experience
Director of Community Health Services (Former Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKMarch 16, 2013
The best part of Maniilaq was the people. Working in an environment that was 85% Inupiaq Eskimo taught me a deep respect for other cultures and social norms.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with patient complaints. Most of these were very trivial and took time to investigate and respond.
Pros
good work environment
Cons
working above the arctic circle
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced environment, enjoyable.
Lead File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kotzebue, AKFebruary 1, 2013
Minute you walk into the office, work is ready to be done, from checking that medical records are pulled and ready for appointments for the day, to processing said medical records. I've learned how important it is when working with patient records, you need to be very organized, and make NO mistakes at all. Management was good, very strict as expected, but not over-whelming. Co-workers were typical, most were dependable, but as usual, some were not dependable at all. Hardest part of the job was having to put in extra hours to cover unreliable co-worker's shifts. Most enjoyable was the environment, good, friendly, co-workers, and always had something to do to stay busy.
Pros
overtime pay if needed to cover extra shifts, tasks never ended, so was never dull.
Cons
unreliable co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Maniilaq Association. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.6
Job Security/Advancement
4.2
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Maniilaq Association Reviews by Location