Find companies:
Marc's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
68 reviews

Marc's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Starter Job
Cashier (Current Employee), Brooklyn, OHAugust 1, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: terrible hours, tedious work days, dirty
A typical day at work as a cashier is constantly ringing out customer's grocery orders and bagging their groceries. There's a lot of standing involved and most of the time you are busy with customers. I learned how to properly greet people and how to deal with tough situations in which a customer is upset about something that is out of your control. – more... I also learned how to be patient and that the customer is always right, no matter what. At times I have witnessed the management team to be rude to customers and that makes all of the employee's look bad but they are usually very nice to employees as long as you do as you're suppose to. I don't really involve myself with my co-workers but everyone seems to get along really well and if they can't get along with each other they avoid confrontations. The hardest part of the job is standing on your feet all day listening to customers complain about stupid little things, like the quality of our plastic bags. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to know the regular customers that come in almost every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different parts of the job
Customer Service/Cashier/Cash Office (Former Employee), Brooklyn, OHJuly 30, 2014
We would scan merchandise – train new cashiers.
Customer Service: Solve customer problems and complaints, answer phone calls and handle lottery transactions.
Cash Office: Balance cash drawers, resolve discrepancies and verify deposits. Calculate discounts and taxes, total items using calculator and cash register. Process credit cards, checks and cash – more... transactions on store purchases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Akron, OHJuly 30, 2014
I had great co-workers, and a very nice management. There was really no hard part about the job. The most enjoyable part was the team effort.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Cash Office Supervisor (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 17, 2014
Pros: was able to do my work with little to no distractions
Cons: no advancement opportunities
I had my own office and I enjoyed my job. The management was ok and so was the staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stock
stock (Former Employee), Ravenna, OHJuly 14, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: not a lot of hours
Worked different hours a week stocking product for the store like food, produce,and closeout products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short days,
Cold Cut Counter (Former Employee), Sagamore Hills, OHJuly 9, 2014
Pros: lunch breaks
A day at Marc's is short. You get in and learn your task for the day. once your task is complete (if its not time for you to go) you receive another task to complete. I learned how to cut and package lunch meat. The Co-workers are more or so friendly. The hardest part about the day was cleaning the cold cut counter at the end of the day. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job is servicing the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for a first job, great management
Stock Person (Former Employee), Aurora, OHMay 27, 2014
Pros: discount on food
Cons: none to mention
i enjoyed my time at marcs. i developed a very good work ethic. i also learned what to do and what not to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized, but a good learning experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Mayfield Heights, OHMay 23, 2014
Pros: ability to work with customers
Cons: disorganization
Each day consisted of working at the register, straightening out aisles, and closing the store. The management was somewhat disorganized making the wait time for customers in line unnecessarily long. Coworkers were nice, but not entirely welcoming. Learned customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Current Employee), Hartville, OHMay 15, 2014
A typical day is busy and fast paced. The most enjoyable part is working with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
stock and temporary supervisor of closeouts (Former Employee), Alliance, OHMay 11, 2014
They had a schedule ready daily for the tasks at hand. We knew what we had to do and in what amount of time they needed to be done. They were very efficient in spread their employees out where they exceled to maximize productivity. It was a wonderful place to work and I have very fond memories of this specific employment and friends that will last a – more... life time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady
Cashier (Former Employee), Lorain, OHApril 8, 2014
It is a great company to work for..Great environment,friendly people..just overall a good company...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Solon, OHApril 3, 2014
great workplace . hardworking job too . hate to be self motivated because i worked 3rd shift
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay environment. Poor management
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Garfield HtsMarch 24, 2014
Non-social , unfriendly environment. Was able to get along with some co-workers. Easy daily task and job duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun work enviornment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Brecksville, OHMarch 24, 2014
Pros: working with all sorts of people, keeping busy
Cons: not enough hours
I began working at Marcs in Brecksville when they first opened in February 2013. Already Marcs is all about customer appreciation and really making customers feel at home while they are shopping threw the isles. Working at a new store, every expectation was to be exceeded. I had a nice time working the customer service desk and helping all the different – more... people. I learned how tackle many situations, time management, and teamwork. The hardest part of the job was having a large line in front of the customer service desk and taking care of each customer to the best of your ability so that everyone can have an enjoyable experience. The most enjoyable part of the job was when I began to have regular customers and they always seemed happy to see me behind the counter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable place to work at.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Massillon, OhioMarch 22, 2014
I have worked there for almost four years now, and I hate to leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
marcs was a very fun working environment
closeouts department manager (Former Employee), Boardman, OHFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: competive wages, benefits, 401k
Cons: marcs is only ohio based
I enjoyed working for this company. they offered competitive wages, room for advancement and yearly bonuses. Its sad to say I had to leave after 12 years of being employed at this company since I recently moved to florida. My employees were very driven set by my examples.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
CUSTOMER SERVICE/CASHIER (Former Employee), Willoughby Hills, OHFebruary 14, 2014
Job was very fun, enjoyed the staff and customers. customer service was breeze.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady reliable hours
CNA/Caregiver (Former Employee), Mesa, AZFebruary 11, 2014
home care respite or general care giving such as bathing and house keeping
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very moderate environment
Stock and Cashier (Former Employee), Garfield Heights, OHJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: co-workers received two thirty minute breaks.
Cons: pushed various carts in all weather.
•A typical day at work could ware you out.
•I learned that you have to have a lot of patients while multi-tasking.
•Management always made sure things were done right.
•The co-workers were always working hard.
•Pushing carts were changeling.
•Keeping busy made this an enjoyable experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best first job
Cashier/Supervisor (Former Employee), fairlawn, ohJanuary 21, 2014
Worked with many friends from high school. Was able to work around my school schedule. Was room to advance, overall great place to work.

1 2 3 4

About Marc's

Marc Glassman is out to prove that low prices can lead to big things. The regional retailer operates about 60 discount stores, – Read more