Marc's Employee Reviews

Showing all 140 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Felt very unappreciated, had a great time with coworkers.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Parma, OHMarch 19, 2017
Try to enjoy the customers and build relationships with them. Same goes for your coworkers. Even if management is unappreciative, your customers enjoy the good attitudes. Stay positive but only use it as a temporary job.
Pros
Free Turkey for Thanksgiving
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter or part time job.
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Middleburg Heights, OHMarch 14, 2017
Great place to work for teenagers or adults looking for supplemental income. It's difficult to acquire a full-time position. In my experience management was fair and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job i ever had
Conditioner (Former Employee) –  Boardman, OHMarch 2, 2017
not only did the managers treat the employees like garbage, but the customers that came in here scum. worst year of my life.
Pros
10% off groveries
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great starter job.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Garfield Heights, OHFebruary 28, 2017
It's a great starter job for teens who were just learning about working and getting money. Which was experience I took from the job. But a regular day would just be coming into work getting my draw to take to the from of the store and to use it for my cash register. Then I would just count everything, making sure nothing is short or missing and just helping customers with what ever problem they needed.
Pros
Great Communication skills
Cons
Some bad hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintained the Closeout department
Cashier/Closeout (Former Employee) –  Mayfield Heights, OHFebruary 2, 2017
Days you got to price new items to put on the shelf, maintain cleanliness of department, management worked hard to get product out in timely fashion, keeping up with the traffic of people coming in since it was the first thing you saw when you come into the door, pricing new items and going home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work for
Cashier/Stock Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHDecember 30, 2016
Cashier /Stock Manager after only 3 months. Being able to be with customers, was the best part of this job. Hardest part was stocking shelves and no insurance.
Pros
Customers
Cons
No insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding and fast paced work
Night Shift Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mayfield Heights, OHDecember 12, 2016
3rd shift at Marc's is very physical, lots of lifting and pulling pallets around. Each night the stock you have to put out is different. Orders are made by management so the workload is unknown until you get there. Very high turn over rate, many new employees don't last the entire shift. It's hard work but once you get used to it, it's fairly easy to get into a rhythm and finish everything.
Pros
employee discount on groceries
Cons
very high turn over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very well ran
Cahier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  OHDecember 10, 2016
Marc's is a nice store but has so many problems because of poor management . Every other month there was a new manager that was making new rules it's great if you know how to adjust to new things easy.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
repetitive and easy
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Avon, OH 44011November 24, 2016
very repetitive and physical, moving groceries etc. standing on your feet for hours only sitting on break if eligible for one, your there longer than expected most of the time.
Pros
easy to remember the job
Cons
physical and longer hours than expected
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and extremely long hours, but steady
Stock Puller (Former Employee) –  Parma, OHNovember 13, 2016
The job is steady and have good benefits, but management can make it a pain. Overtime is mandatory and can cause trouble for students, as well as people with other jobs.
Pros
stable good benefits
Cons
long hours, mangement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place
Customer Service Representative Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Willoughby, OHNovember 7, 2016
very unorganized and not friendly administration and the CEO is very rude and does not care about his employees. I would not refer anyone to work at Marc's. you are over worked and under paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brook Park, OHNovember 7, 2016
company really works with students and people with general family needs. friendly work staff makes the day go by faster. management always backed you up and helped you when you needed
Pros
friendly
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rocky River, OH 44116October 28, 2016
Relaxed environment, everyone seems to be friends. Aside from management who does a good job of maintaining a positive relationship with subordinates without compromising authority.
Pros
Relaxed
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad as a 'just getting into the workforce' job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Parma, OHOctober 10, 2016
Cashiers were really fast and amazing at their jobs. Management was good. If you're going to be bad at cashiering on purpose, you're more likely to get promoted to Cashier Supervisor, which isn't right. A little bit of stocking at the end of your shift is required before you can clock out.
Pros
Discounts on merchandise. Half-hour long breaks.
Cons
Cashiers will always be cashiers there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good straring job for a high schooler
pricing supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mentor-on-the-Lake, OHSeptember 13, 2016
i enjoyed working for Marc's. it is a friendly place to work. I started as a part-time Cashier and worked my way up to pricing supervisor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, friendly people
Cold Cut Counter Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mentor, OHAugust 11, 2016
Working at Marc's was a big learning experience, though management wasn't that great I did have the opportunity to advance myself into a supervisor position. It is a fast paced job with complete one on one customer service. I have to say one thing i loved the most were the customers, some were not the nicest but the regulars made the job worth while.
Pros
Great people in the work place as well as customers.
Cons
Management changed and not necessarily for the good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lorain, OHAugust 8, 2016
Had the opportunity to build great relationships with co-workers, and shoppers. Learned great communication and people skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
Mentor OH, 44060 (Former Employee) –  Willowick, OH 44095July 20, 2016
I was able to complete all that was asked of me while I was here. The pay wasnt that great but it got me by for the time being. I worked by myself most of the time but that was okay with me, even though Id rather work with others.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Parma, OHJuly 14, 2016
There management is all wrong. If someone calls off and they call you to pick up a shift they will get mad at you if you don't pick it up.
Pros
Nice work environment
Cons
They dont care whats going on in your personal life
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of Marc's
cashier (Former Employee) –  Medina, OhioJune 14, 2016
This company is too "Teen" oriented. They seem to want to hire teenagers rather than experienced cashier/customer relations. There are no benefits and they are not willing to work with you as far as hours. Too much drama among employees.
Pros
none
Cons
Lousy work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marc's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 140 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3