Find companies:
Mariano's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Mariano's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to advance
Logistics Associate - Replenishment (Former Employee), 40 N Monore St. Chicago ILJuly 14, 2014
Pros: laid back job
Cons: hours were terrible
It is a very difficult company to advance with. Also, working overnights gave me very little room for any work - life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work place always something to do
Baker (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 6, 2014
A typical day includes finishing up break out list and packaging product.

I've learned the ins and outs of a grocery store bakery.

Management is great very hard working always on top of everything.

Co-workers are all very nice everyone is professional and gets along.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and company philosophy, customers first
PT Produce Clerk (Current Employee), Park Ridge, ILJune 19, 2014
Cons: takes a long time to be a full timer if you don't have grocery experience
Learned and encouraged to go extra mile for customers, co-workers are helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful place to work
Customer Service/Cashier (Current Employee), Frankfort, ILMay 26, 2014
Pros: friendly inviornment, pays weekly, excellent food, and bob mariano is an awesome guy to meet
Cons: not enough hours, no room to grow, never promote within
I love my job and what i do, but there's no room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and interesting people to work with
Deli Associate (Former Employee), Lake Zurich, ILMay 6, 2014
Pros: great employees
Cons: short breaks
I enjoyed working with my open minded co-workers who came from other departments at Mariano's. There was never a typical day at work because things were always changing day in and day out which was nice. I learned all about the different bries, blues and other cheeses that they had in our area. The hardest part of my job was dealing with a boss that – more... didn't tell me what I was doing right or wrong at times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Hot Foods Specialist (Current Employee), Lake Zurich ILApril 15, 2014
working there is good, a great job to start in or interim work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, productive, friendly environment.
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 10, 2014
Pros: excellent salad bar, very clean environment, and pay day every week.
Cons: pricey product
My day go by pretty fast, with it only being a part time job and me starting so early in the morning the day fly by. The managers are great to work for because they work with you. A lot of the co-workers are excellent to work with. Very helpful when I first started and they also work well with me. I enjoy making the customers happy the most. I love – more... to know that I sent a customer away with a smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very big on customer service
Store Employee (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 9, 2014
I enjoyed working here for the most part. Although I would rather work in DEMO than on the front end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wrong Paychecks, egotistical management and crummy leadership
replenishment (Former Employee), West Suburbs IllinoisMarch 30, 2014
Pros: there are no pros.
Cons: they are cons.
Three weeks straight they didn't pay me for hours worked and promised it on the "next check" and there were 8-9 employees behind me with the same issue each week. Assistant manager referred to co-worker as "blondie", store manager looked and acted like a used car salesman and every assistant manager barely made it through high school and expected their – more... rings kissed for their 45k a year big job.

Never a thank you to employees for their hard work and empty promises from management devoid of dignity. They promise 28 hours a week and give you 18, four hour shifts 4 days a week, (although I was given 24 and was the first one called when someone called off) but most people were given lousy shifts, short hours and bad attitudes from the assistant managers. Line managers all worked 6 days a week and 12 hour days and are the lifeblood of the company. Most don't manage their people, just getting product on the floor and schedules and ordering, but they are not managers of people just 40k a year laborers.

The jobs are no different than any other retail/grocery shop, but the management are simply arrogant weak leaders. You can do better than Mariano's and if they are messing up your pay, call the Labor Board. don't be afraid to tell your boss he is too dense to be so arrogant, he won't get it anyway. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work.
Replenishment Associate (Current Employee), Frankfort, ILFebruary 9, 2014
Upper management promises things that never happen, overnight hours make it hard to have personal life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very warm environment with satisfied employees and happy customers
Front End Cashier/General Team Member (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: comfortable environment, easy advancements, good management of employees and inventory
Cons: hard to start out as full-time, no benefits for part-timers, hours can be very random at times
This job requires you to deal with an immense number of people on a daily basis, so working there would definitely improve your interpersonal skills. Co-workers are very nice people, especially since we are required to dress in a clean and professional attire, everyone acts very professionally and easy to relate. The hardest part of the job would clearly – more... be the repetitiveness, at a cashier's point-of-view. Generally, the work environment makes it more enjoyable, in addition to the connection of people I make throughout the time working at Mariano's. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and great place
Cashier (Current Employee), Hoffman Estates, ILJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: great customers and staff
Cons: pay
Love the people I work with and the customers. The only problem I have is pay. I been a cashier and in customer service years ago. But since I have not in five straight years I make minimum wage. I am older, dependable, and have been a stay at home mom and use all the day to day features everyday. If anything I am more qualified them some here hiring – more... off the street younger for more money. I trully believe Im a great employee but dont get the pay or advancement opportunities others have gotten. I only been there five months but others have came and complain about what there given. Never have I complained hoping it would pay off. So here I am looking for a company willing to see what they trully have in a employee. I want to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overnite shift baker/donutfryer
Overnite baker/fryer (Current Employee), ChicagoDecember 30, 2013
Pros: no constant supervision
Cons: short breaks if you even get the chance to take yours!
Overnite Donut fryer/baker
Marianos - Chicago, IL
December 2013 to Present
Responsibilities
Upside: overnites no ones really hounding you everyone has their flow and does what needs to get done for the nite without being babysat. Pretty fast paced unless you get stuck with someone whos slowwwww. Sunday premium pay gets $10.60 per hour on overnites. – more... Regular overnites gets 9.20 per hour. I have been getting overtime pay bc my parttime shift is too short to complete all tasks. Day to day basis came in broke down boxes from both freezers of muffins and donuts for the days production sorted everything on racks proof fry/bake decorate. Refill equipment. Alot of heavy work on your feet luckily im in culinary school so im already somewhat accustomed but still draining. On the second day with only one day of "training" i was scheduled alone because the girl hired w me had already quit was stuck alone frying racks of donuts with no foundation on the quantities. Very unorganized needed to ask for help and no order to a standard things are run. A kitchen needs a system or an order in order to run smoothly and i feel here like everything is up in the air. The numbers constantly change in quantities especially when orders come in ontop of your production. Just makes me feel really scattered....Scheduling also awful expected to take on large productions and never finish on time in a part time 5 hour shift and also clean after expect to never be out on time. Will most likely quit once culinary school begins again if they dont work around my schedule the load isnt worth it. Alot of my coworkers complain the scheduling is awful alot of people quit often and they expect the ones there to take on the extra load constantly and after talking to the manager last night hearing her say the goal soon is to only have one donut fryer/baker per nite proofing frying decorating over 300 donuts all alone and over 50 muffins for 9.20 an hour just isnt worth it. Talk about milking your workers!

Accomplishments
I gained more experience i guess...

Skills Used
Baking decorating consistency speed
Education
BCertificate baking pastry arts in Culinary - Chicago, IL
2013 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work out of the whole roundy's company
Cashier (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 29, 2013
Conflicts with scheduling they don't go by the hours you say you can work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best environment
Cashier (Current Employee), palatine, IlNovember 29, 2013
a bit unorganized
short hours
some of the people that come into the store are not the kindest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Stocker/Receiver (Current Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 21, 2013
hated it not for me. management needs to focus more on employees contantly overlook more qualified employees for promotions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and good food
Waiter and Asst Manager (Former Employee), Arlington, TXOctober 10, 2013
Pros: great food
Cons: worked evenings alot
I loved working for Mariano's I worked for them for 15 years.I started as a waiter and later became assistant mgr.The only reason I left was I needed health benefits and my kid needed me home more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here if you want to lose weight and you dont need money.
Produce Department (Former Employee), any store they feel like sending you toJuly 26, 2013
Pros: lose weight
Cons: stand all day, walk blocks to your parked car, get treated like a door mat, work very very hard for poor pay.
Promises, promises. Thats all you will get. They will use you like a dish rag. Work your butt literally off while making $10.85 an hour. 40 hour week, not one minute of overtime allowed. Take home $350.00 a week. Stand eight hours a day, with only a half hour break.Handle product constantly. Watch people suck up to mangement. Watch your promised job – more... go to an unexperienced young nephew of mangement. If for some reason they dont like you, they will find a way to fire you. They will put you in some situation to ruin you. Have a woman bump into you and then say you harrassed her. No benifits.
Management have pets. Be prepared to work your butt off. You may give customers the best service, but if one of the mangement dont like you, your screwed. Can only imagine the discussions that are talked about in the management hushed up meetings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very comfortable and friendly environment.
Cashier (Current Employee), Hoffman Estates, ILJune 19, 2013
A typical day at work includes standing for long periods of time and giving exceptional customer service. I learned how to improve my communication skills and go all out in order to satisfy the customer's needs. Management at Mariano's is very friendly and are willing to work around your availability. All of the co-workers are easy to get along with – more... and very fun to talk to. The hardest part of the job is standing for extended periods of time. The most enjoyable part of the job is the work atmosphere and friendliness of everybody. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun
Dairy Department Lead (Current Employee), chicago, ILJune 17, 2013
Pros: promotions happen very fast, very good hot foods section
Cons: short breaks, sometimes short shifts
A typical day at work for me is usually working in the Dairy department or working in Receiving. I have learned that customer service is the bread and butter a retail grocery store. I have also learn how to work and manage a Dairy department. I have been trained by a wonderful management staff. They are very helpful. The co-workers are happy, always – more... smiling and full of energy and the customer love it. The hardest part of my job is working with the vendors on days that I work in Receiving. The most enjoyable part of my job is that I have the peace and joy of doing my work without being coached and having someone looking over my shoulder very minute. My bosses truth me and they know I am a good work. – less