Find companies:
Marie Callender's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Marie Callender's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced up beat environment.
Bus Person- Dish person- Salad bar (Current Employee), Modesto, CAMay 2, 2014
Pros: free food, great environment, team work
A typical day at work consists of all of the co workers and managers working as a team, and getting the job done. I learned that if the managers and the co workers work together they will hardly ever be behind. The hardest part of the job is when bussing, handling the salad bar, keeping all the food stocked up, maintaining a clean environment, ex. tables, – more... floors, bathrooms, walk ins, and making sure silverware is ready to go. It is basically the job of five people combined into just my duties for the day, but I can handle it. The most enjoyable part of work is knowing if anyone needs help there is always someone to be there to help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and food
Cashier/Host (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: free food, friendly staff.
Cons: very low pay
Overall, I enjoyed working at Marie Callenders's. My only complaint would be the low pay, just at minimum wage and no benefits. I learned how to deal with customers and some management skills. Management was great and they always made sure all employees were on task and satisfied. I got along very well with all my coworkers, which helped me a lot.

The – more... hardest part of the job would be to deal with customers, I had no customer service experience prior to this job. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with coworkers and the delicious food. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, always changing enviornment
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee), Westlake Village, CADecember 16, 2013
Pros: working with the staff and customers. also facing the daily challenges
Cons: no benefits or insurance offered at the time
Typical restaurant day with breakfast, lunch and dinner rushes. It made the day go by fast. I learned valuable management and customer service skills that has benefited me throughout my career. The general manager was my mentor, he really taught me a lot about the restaurant business. I really loved the team I got to manage. They were dedicated to the – more... job at task and easy to work with. The most challenging part of this job was to keep on top of the food inventory and order supply. But as I gained more experience, I found that became an easier task for me to handle. I found the job overall to be enjoyable, so it's hard to pick out one specific example. It's really just a wonderful franchise to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
chef (Current Employee), chico,ca 95928November 5, 2013
This job has been really good to me,alot of experience is required,i just need more hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whipped Cream Anyone?
Cashier/Hostess (Former Employee), Windcrest , TXSeptember 25, 2013
Working here was enjoyable. I enjoyed most of the staff. (Although the waitresses can be pretty testy) I was a seasonal employee and am thinking about going back this year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment with great co-workers.
Server/Cashier/Food Runner/Hostess (Former Employee), Montebello, CASeptember 16, 2013
Provide a friendly and sanitized work environment. Greet guest, take food orders, deliver food to tables, and tend to all guest with their dinning needs. Develop individual and team work skills. Most enjoyable part was working with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work envirnment focused on Guest satisfaction
Server, Bartender, CT, Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), West Covina, CASeptember 13, 2013
I have grown and learned so much from this company. I started as a host and have moved through pretty much every dept I can without being a salary manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Going Job
Food Server (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: 30 minute lunch break, free employee meals, pie !
It's an easy going job. Nothing to serious, just a typical middle class dining restaurant. Doesn't get too busy during the weekend but it's a job. Clients are older but very nice, co-workers are absolutely amazing. and has by far the greatest team out of all three franchise locations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are worse things in life than being covered in whipped cream!
Cashier/Hostess (Former Employee), Windcrest, TXJune 22, 2013
Come in. Say hello. Tie up your apron and get ready to go. At Marie Callenders, we seated guest according to party needs and waiter rotation schedules. I learned the value of integrity and work ethic and team work. My managers were for the most part pretty helpful and understanding. My coworkers on the other hand not so much. The hardest part about – more... the job is remembering all your assigned tasks and not leaving anything undone. The most enjoyable part is whipping pies and interacting with guest. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and good place to work
Server (Current Employee), Orange, CAJune 2, 2013
Pros: discounts on food, great co-workers, managers who care about you
Cons: going into work you never know if its going to be busy and a good money night or very slow
Everyone is very friendly and always there to help. You meet new people everyday and must be very detail oriented. At this job it's all about team work but also being able to stand on your own and handle any issues that come up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to eat at with family
Busser/Dishwasher (Former Employee), Austin, TXApril 1, 2013
Pros: free lunch and meal
Cons: had a very short break
My day was always great every time i'm coming to work. I learn so much while worker there as a Busser it was fun in hard but i got the job done.Co-workers help me out alot they were very nice in outstanding in listener.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy work place, friendly enviroment
Server and Cashier/Host (Former Employee), Glendale, CAMarch 21, 2013
greeting customers, answering phones calls and entering to go orders. Putting together to go orders, helping co-workers with running food and preparing drinks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Server (Former Employee), Visalia, CAFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: cheap meals, good tips
Cons: bad management, some times not enough hours
at the time I was there was not making very good choices on hiring of cashiers, greeters. The management was not on key. The serving staff was great the patrons left happy. The kitchen crew was awesome they took pride in the food that was sent out. Was not the worst place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience at Marie Callender's...
Restaurant Manager and Trainer (Current Employee), Austin, TXDecember 18, 2012
Pros: free meals
Cons: staying late.
-I come in in the afternoon and close the restaurant.
-I've learned how to keep customers happy and employees on task and how to settle disputes, as well as how to manage records and the safe.
-The hardest part of my job is multi-tasking when the restarant is very buzy.
-I enjoy conversing with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive High Pace Customer Service
Server and Cashier/Host (Former Employee), Glendale, CADecember 10, 2012
High paced environment providing excellent customer service and working as a team in a productive manner. Awesome colleagues to have worked with, consider them family and the restaurant a second home. Everyday brought new challenges and different environments to test us day in and day out. Best part was meeting and satisfying customers and becoming – more... familiar with their faces and personalities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Mulitasking
Hostess (Current Employee), Lancaster, CaNovember 10, 2012
Pros: fast pace and customer engaged.
Cons: no place for advancement and no types of benefits.
A typical day at work would be answering phones, taking to-go orders over the phone and in the restaurant. Setting up the bakery with muffins and pies. Making sure all items are stocked and working area is cleaned and organized. Greeting guest as the walk in and seating them in correct server stations. I have learned how to food industry works. This – more... is my first time working in a restaurant. Management is well but only one person can make all final decisions which is the owner of the restaurant. I get along with all my co-works and work well with them. I make sure I get my job done. I would say one of the hardest parts of the job would be with dealing with a complicated order that isn't normally on our menu. As a hostess I need to make sure everything is done correctly to meet customers needs. Most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the customer very satisfied when I have done my part right. I like building clientele with my customers and ensuring that their experience was wonderful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another Restaurant Job
Hostess/Cashier/Lead Server (Former Employee), Austin, TXOctober 22, 2012
Not a whole lot to say, don't get stuck working as a cashier in the bakery. If you do, move up to server as quick as possible. It's way more money and way less stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Hostess/Waitress (Former Employee), Rancho Palos Verdes, CAOctober 18, 2012
Pros: very productive
Cons: short breaks
place was very busy met alot of people working there. always had something to do
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
❸ Shift leader (Former Employee), orange. CAOctober 6, 2012
fun place to work not much room for advancement, fast pace and plenty of customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and provided great customer service
Host/busser (Former Employee), Reno, NVSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: free lunch sometimes
Cons: the meat locker
A really great place to work for social people.
A very diverse work crew with managers that are willing to go the extra mile to train the employees.A customer leaving with a huge smile always made the day go a lot smoother.