Find companies:
Marinello Schools of Beauty
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Marinello Schools of Beauty Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to study and work.
Esthetician Retail (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSMay 15, 2014
Pros: great staff, great school
Excellent environment, upbeat, customer oriented.
Good place to perfect mult-tasking.
Most enjoyable part of the job was greeting new customers and building a relationship with them.
Enjoyed boosting sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student at Marinello and CCOC
student (Former Employee), Santa Clara, CAMay 6, 2014
I worked at front desk at Marinello School of Beauty through out my session as a student. I learned front desk etiquette. Greeting clients, scheduling appointments. The hardest part of the job was working under loud noise or low staff. But I enjoyed the job, I learned very much, and it was a great experience.
I also worked at Central County Occupational – more... Center through out my session as a student. I had to file, and organize important documents. I learned to use Microsoft, Excel, and Power Point. I also learned to answer phone calls and some accounting duties. I enjoyed every part of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small call center
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Whittier, CAApril 2, 2014
Called potential cosmetology students to retrieve necessary demographic information to give to school recruiter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to develop your career
Marketing (Former Employee), Whittier, CAMarch 30, 2014
Pros: fast-pace environment
Cons: difficult goals to acheive
Overall, a very nice place to work. The owners of are very hands-on; therefore, employees communicate to C-Level management on a regular basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, multiple jobs, educational, great learning experience
School Director (Former Employee), Whittier, CAMarch 15, 2014
Overall review working with this company has been very rewarding and educational not just in the workplace but life skills as well
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun School
Student (Former Employee), Victorville, CAMarch 3, 2014
Pros: my education
Cons: n/a
Very busy. I learned haircutting, coloring, manicures, pedicures, sculptured nails, nail design, gel nails, selling hair care products, product knowledge, facials, waxing, communication and interpersonal skills. I worked with 100+ other students as well as the staff and I made great friendships as well as learning everything I needed to pass state board – more... and more. The hardest part of school was learning and remembering nail diseases. There are so many! The most enjoyable part was getting to do what I love. Haircutting and coloring is my passion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun place to work.
Student Cosmetologist (Former Employee), Moreno Valley, CAOctober 25, 2013
Cooking, cleaning, customer service, and cashier. I learned how to train people, take inventory, run a coffee shop and snack shop. Great environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
comfortable work environment, bad staff
Receptionist, Word, Excel, Data Entry (Former Employee), Burbank, CAOctober 22, 2013
I enjoyed my time there, but they managed to ruin my whole experience because their staff didn't pay closer attention to the means of the students. They didn't care as much as they promoted that they did. Working there was not a problem, the environment of the staff and the students were the problem. The Marinello staff, not the teachers per say, at – more... the end of the day didn't show any effort to care for the students, and I don't believe in that. The hardest part of the job was to maintain the workload. The staff there are way to overworked. That is why they can't pay attention to the students. The most enjoyable part was the interaction, the relationships made there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corrupt
Receptionist (Former Employee), CaliforniaMay 17, 2013
Pros: perks, fun students, creative industry
Cons: bad upper management, unkept promises, students out of control, cheap pay
I was at first excited about working here. The beauty industry is fun, exciting, and constantly changing. Our campus, though, had a horrible director - Never showing up on time (sometimes at all), never communicated to staff, did not appreciate staff, students didn't respect her (and as a result, thought they could run the school), she did not even – more... know what was going on most of the time, and was only concerned about the school on the days that corporate would show up. The instructors were great and very talented, but wanted a stronger leader as a director. The other staff was good, too, but the admissions were only concerned about meeting their numbers instead of the quality of students, so we ended up with alot of students who were disrespectful, not show up to school, and would cause problems. The students who followed the rules didn't get rewarded enough and the students who acted up almost never got in trouble. Don't even try to reach out to upper management, they will ignore you and claim they never got emails or voicemails. Their employees don't matter to them, only numbers. Upper management will promise alot but will never come through. If you are looking for advancement here, don't be fooled, they will just as likely hire someone else outside the company even if you were basically promised the position. The position in general is fun, but with all the other drama, not worth their cheap salary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did I mention school is open 8:30am-10:30pm?
School Director (Current Employee), CaliforniaApril 3, 2013
Pros: fun industry, great career advancement opportunities, unstructured management, full benefits
It's such an amazingly dynamic and fun industry to work in, but Marinello has a LONG way to go to hire and retain top talent. Although, there are always people coming and going and great opportunity for advancement - as far as the training you receive upon being promoted? Sink or swim approach, no training provided, figure out as you go.

High turn-over, – more... new faces every day.

Did I mention school is open 8:30am-10:30pm? You might just sleep there and do it all over again the next day. LONG hours and very minimal salary increases (it feels like a joke sometimes to see your paycheck go up by 2 dollars).

It's a great company if you are passionate about the beauty industry and are able to figure out things as you go. School Directors, you'll be EXPECTED and held accountable for admissions, financial aid, education, placement, pass rates, completion, facilities, student services, attrition, compliance, salon budget oh and of course 100+ students (all girls that PMS ALL at the same time) FUN fun fun! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
Registrar/Office Administrator (Former Employee), Hayward, CAFebruary 25, 2013
There was never a dull moment at Marinello Schools of Beauty. I worked with approximately 110-150 aspiring cosmetologist from many walks of life on a daily basis. Being that I am also a cosmetologist, I found that my knowledge, motivation and dedication to the men, women and staff that I served is what truly made my job enjoyable. Despite not having – more... a direct supervisor for about a year made me a more self-sufficient, reliable and consientious person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was definetly a roller coaster
Cosmetology Student (Former Employee), Citrus Heights, CAFebruary 24, 2013
Pros: amazing students
Cons: managment and teachers were horrible
It was a educational experience i liearned alot and acquired life long friends hair techniques.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding and critical of their employees
Educator (Former Employee), Stockton caFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: don't need to know much about the industry
Cons: work you to sickness
Corporations are only interested in numbers and volume of students not quality. Marinello Stockton campus is corrupt . I could no long watch them rip off new admmions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment with amazing instructors!
Student (Former Employee), Reno, NVJanuary 8, 2013
At this school, there is never a day without learning. The instructors are very helpful and make sure that we know what we need to know to pass our state board tests in order to get our license and start working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest growing beauty school chain on the west coast
Sr. Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Lake Forest, CADecember 1, 2012
Very friendly environment, including coworkers and students enrolled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive company with growth opportunities
Executive Director - Retail and Salon Services (Former Employee), Whittier, CANovember 4, 2012
Pros: growth company
Cons: benefits
Hard working employees, management provides direction well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High social interaction with extreme detail orientation
Registrar/Student Services (Current Employee), Hemet, CaliforniaAugust 27, 2012
This is a fast paced detail orientated corporation that requires hard work and dedication. A person learns strong clerical skills. A person also learns social network skills. The corporation can be family orientated as long as the business is not suffering. The most difficult part of the job is maintaining perfection. Forms and regulations constantly – more... change and it can be difficult to keep up with the change if you are not paying attention. The most enjoyable part of the job is the social interaction with the students, community, and co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
endless hours with minimal reward
Director (Former Employee), CaliforniaAugust 17, 2012
Pros: working with creative students
Cons: wages and corporate management
Promised a lot, received the bare minimum. Company is not interested in true education, just an ever increasing number of students to enroll.
Many schools are run down, supplies for students are often limited. Educational program is unnecessarily difficult and does not translate well to actual work environment of a salon.
Instructors are not paid well – more... and are expected to teach with limited training and support.
Did enjoy most of the students - so much talent and creativity! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and workplace
Senior Massage Therapy Instructor (Former Employee), Whittier, CAJune 30, 2012
Pros: free to teach
Cons: layed off
Complete enjoyment from teaching! Loved working with staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it!!
Cosmetology student (Former Employee), Whittier, CAMay 1, 2012
Cons: unfair people, very expensive
Don't waste your time here as a student or employee. The staff was very unfair and you gain little to no knowledge about the beauty industry