MarineMax Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not waste your time with this company.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  FloridaDecember 6, 2016
At first you think you work for good people, but the longer you work there, oh let's say, over 5 years, that opinion will change quickly. Met some nice people while working there, and met some of the most unloyal scumbags one will ever see. So for pay it a good job, but you can't plan a thing for your future, because I will tell up front, there is none. That is unless your an a*** kisser of a salesman, brown noses go far until the brown nosee gets canned.....
Pros
nothing
Cons
Most everything
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CTNovember 4, 2016
Excellent Management and People to work for. I learned a lot. Training was great, overall a good place to work. Hardest part of the job is getting all departments to work well with each other.
Pros
Great work atmosphere.
Cons
nothing i can think of at this time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Seabrook, TXDecember 30, 2016
Worked for this company for over a year. Love the hospitality and work environment. treated every employee as family. Was by far the best job I have ever had.
Pros
Random cookouts, being on the water
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Inventory Manager (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLSeptember 25, 2013
My job at MarineMax entailed many different aspects. I became very proficient at organizing and multi-tasking.

I had a fantastic team. We all worked together to get the job done.

The hardest part of the job was getting it all done. There was a lot to do.

The most enjoyable part of the job was working with a great group of people.
Pros
Seeing/walking through the new models when they arrived
Cons
Benefits could have been better
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
sales (Former Employee) –  lakeDecember 2, 2015
I worked for MarineMax and I have to say the company itself isn't bad. They are mostly organized. However, depending on how well you suck up to management, dictates getting to the next level of success. If you are decent in sales, you should have no problem making 30-40k a year. You will work a lot of overtime, and are paid overtime, but when you get your commission check they take the money they paid you for overtime back out. If they paid you $500 in overtime, your commission check will be $500 less to pay it back. You will have to put up with a lot of stupid drama. Unfair lead distribution, and management that really has no idea of how to run stores. I worked my butt off and was in the 60-70k range per year, When new people are hired just because they are friends with management, get all the big boat leads handed to them, and will make 100k from not working half as hard as the guys that don't get special treatment, that just isn't right. YOU CAN DO WELL THERE, YOU JUST HAVE TO SUCK UP TO MANAGEMENT, AND HAVE THEM HAND YOU BIG BOAT LEADS. SO IF YOU WANT TO WORK HERE, YOU BETTER PUCKER UP!
Pros
interesting work
Cons
management's favorite employees will make 2-3x more than you for the same work
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average work enviroment
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMarch 28, 2016
Great co-workers, management (not from boating ind) could use more product knowledge. Not in good location for sales.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Brick, NJSeptember 11, 2012
national company with great benefits and a good leadership team.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning experience. Very helpful, caring coworkers
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lewisville TexasAugust 25, 2015
My experience with MarineMax was a most positive one. There are several hands on learning experiences that allow you to build and advance as far as you are willing to go. This was my first job in a cooperate setting. I learned time management and how to take initiative quickly and I was, in turn, rewarded for it. My job allowed me to take on several different tasks and taught me how to work with several different kinds of clients and coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest boat retailer that sells the number one selling boat brand.
Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 8, 2013
I worked 6 days a week, for 9 months of the year(boat season), closing boat deals and scheduling deliveries. Was kept up to date on the trending banking regulations. Management team was changing too often. Most team members had been with the company for quite a long time, but were unwilling to move into management positions. The hardest part of the job was not being able to sign up with new lenders, once of the economy started improving.
Pros
Deonstration boats for management.
Cons
Limited back up for my position.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Interesting Place To Work
Marketing and Event Manager (Current Employee) –  Lewisville, TXNovember 2, 2015
Days are long, and challenging, but there are always great pay-offs, interesting situations, beatiful work places and wonderful people to meet.
Pros
Fun culture
Cons
Difficult situations
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selling the boting lifestyle
DIRECT SALES CONSULTANT (Current Employee) –  Cocoa, FLDecember 19, 2015
Fun to sale boats and a great place to develop customer relationships. Great bonus programs and a relaxed place to work.
Pros
Boating
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Publically traded company, CEO has great forsight and vision
Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Panama City Beach, FLJune 26, 2012
Overall a great company. top notch co-workers all striving to be the best.
Pros
the use of boats, company events, employee cookouts, working with great co-workers
Cons
no to little training, little support from top supervisor, 6 day work weeks, long hours at times, experienced hostile work environment swept under the rug
Was this review helpful?Yes12No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Administrative Aassistant & HR Liaison (Former Employee) –  Seabrook, TXDecember 18, 2015
This was an excellent boating company to work for. Great team work from each department. With a wide variety of activities for the team worker and customers to interact. They are not just selling power boats to customers, they become part of the family.
They sell parts as well as repair your boats. The parts team members can find most parts up to 10 years old, along with very knowledgeable about the products they sell.
They sell great boat lines such as Sea Ray, Boston Whaler, Grady White, Sailfish, Scarab, Meridien, Harris Flotebote-pontoon boats as well as the Italian boat line Azimut. The fantastic sales team who go above and beyond to find the right boat for the customers. Whether it's for a new, used or brokerage boats, our sales team have the working knowledge to assist in any way.
The Service department personnel will help in repairing your boat whether is in for an oil change or a more extensive repairs. All the Service technicians are trained in their fields, along with more training as the motor companies update their engines. Along with the new year boat models that are introduced every year.

All the managers were fair and easy to work with.
The Business Manager works with several different banks to get the customers the best financing and payment terms possible.

There are over 55 locations across the nation that offer great service and boat product boat lines. The headquarters is located in Clearwater FL. With a fantastic Team Support such as: Accounts Payable & Accounts Receivables, Revenue, Marketing, Events Coordinators, Human Resources, and
  more... IT departments.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies to work for
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Venice, FLApril 26, 2015
This company treats employees like family, company sponsored activities and lunches, employee recognition, great pay, and a fun work environment.
Pros
Great Management, Employee Recognition
Cons
There are no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes13No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Admin/HR/ Assistant (Former Employee) –  Forest Park, GANovember 10, 2014
Awesome place to work lots of room for advancement. They will send you to school to learn more about Sales, Service, Parts, and Hr.
Pros
Lots of room for advancement
Cons
Lots of hours away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
soft market
Boat/Yacht Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  usaJuly 24, 2012
soft market shark like salesman, some managers good some bad.... commision structure ok but not great. you either make alot or you make nothing every month its never steady
Pros
boats
Cons
sales
Was this review helpful?Yes19No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work with great values.
Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLAugust 7, 2013
Growing company with great values, not just about selling a boat, it was about selling a life style, a culture. Felt good to be a part of that.
Pros
Positive place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment, enjoyable job, reasonable hours.
Regional Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Lake Hopatcong and Ship Bottom, NJMarch 22, 2012
Great team enviroment, good commissions (when I was there), and excellent value upon workers LIFE and understanding what is real.
Great comradery amongst most everyone I dealt with in the Mid Atlantic region.
Pros
corporate enviroment, professional and cutting edge resources
Cons
volitile market, that goes down with the economic times
Was this review helpful?Yes10No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Project Manager / Support Manager / IS Manager (Current Employee) –  Pompano Beach, FLOctober 9, 2013
room for advancement
lots of long time employees
great product
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good fun place to learn and grow
Mechanic/ Rigger, Heavy Machine Operator, Sales (Current Employee) –  Lindenhurst, NYOctober 1, 2012
You would go in, in the morning and get your first job to work on. After completion of that you would go to the office and get your next job so on and so forth till the end of the day. I have learned a great deal about mechanics, rigging, machine opperating as well as time managemnet.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MarineMax. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7