Find companies:
Mariner Finance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Mariner Finance Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST PLACE TO WORK
Account Rep (Former Employee), Albany, NYJuly 21, 2015
Pros: A job
Cons: Turnovers, unprofessional, horrible benefits, horrible manager, horrible pay
Mariner Finance did not keep any promises made during interview. The manager is the most unprofessional, cold, careless, and rudelete person to work with. The turnovers there is extremely high, employees – more... kept quitting one after another. The workplace is boring and lifeless. They talk bad about the customers, a typical day there is making an outstanding amount of collection calls, solicit for loans, scanning, process payments, and so on. Management does not care for the employees at all. They call it a sales job but you get no bonus or commission for meeting your goals. I took the job hoping to learn some things in finance but that wasn't the case. There is no opportunities for advancement with this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull
Management (Current Employee), Mariner SouthJune 15, 2015
Pros: Dont work on Sundays
Cons: 30 minutes lunches
There is a lack of structure, Poor communication,Last minute changes in schedules. High turnover, Managers, Account Reps and upper Management have been leaving the company on a weekly basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horable place to work
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMay 13, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: The job
A typical day is mainly making collection calls and taking loan apps. Nothing to learn. Management is intrusive. Co-works were not enjoyable to work with. Hardest part of the job is collections. There was really no enjoyable part

May 20, 2015

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you felt this position did not give you the opportunity to learn more about our industry. We will continue to work diligently to provide a well-rounded work experience for all of our staff. If there is anything else that you would like to share please send us an e-mail at contactus@marinerfinance.com.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Honorable Company to Promises Made
Branch Manager (Former Employee), NCMarch 30, 2015
Mariner Finance did not honored one of the promises made to previous employees of Security Finance, such as Insurance Benefits, Bonus Pay, Field Work, Saturday and late night work. There have been so many – more... employees that have left due to stress of having to deal with this and because of their pay dropping down and all over time being taken away, except when they want you to work toward a Holiday to take more time away from you and your family.

If the owners of Mariner Finance want to find out what their upper management is doing to cause such distasteful yet true statements I would encourage you to pull all those employees that have left, that were with Security Finance for years and ask them," Why they left especially when this was a career that we once loved to be in." – less

April 7, 2015

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that you felt you didn't receive an upfront and realistic expectation of the transition. We will continue to work diligently in providing a professional and realistic outlook on our business model and practices. If there is anything else that you would like to share please send us an e-mail at contactus@marinerfinance.com.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Branch Manager (Current Employee), KentuckyMarch 29, 2015
Pros: compensation, hours, promotes people on their ability rather than showing favoritism
Cons: field calling, pressure for getting loans/meeting numbers, stress
I was surprised while reading all the negative comments on here about Mariner Finance. It is a great company to work for if you are willing to put in the effort and take pride in your job. If you are lazy – more... and are just looking for a paycheck this is not the place to work. Yes, I have had bad experiences with certain management and stressful times. However, that comes with every job. A typical day is calling customers, taking loan applications, funding loans, and dealer developement to generate sales. This company is thriving for a reason. – less

April 7, 2015

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have positive experiences with us and we also appreciate you providing interested candidates a realistic expectation of their daily tasks, responsibilities and what it takes to work at Mariner. If there is anything else that you would like to share please send us an e-mail at contactus@marinerfinance.com.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee), Chester, VAMarch 24, 2015
Pros: All holidays off
Cons: Benefits where no good
No room for advancement. Worked as an Assistance Branch Manger for over 3 years and unable to advance any further. Also didn't like that my schedule could be changed at anytime if region was unable to reach there numbers.

April 7, 2015

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not get to experience any growth while you were employed with us and the scheduling did not meet your needs. For the future, we will continue – more... to work with our managers and ensure that schedule continuity is maintained and opportunities for employee advancement are reviewed annually. If there is anything else that you would like to share please send us an e-mail at contactus@marinerfinance.com. – less

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what did I sign up for?!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), MarylandMarch 4, 2015
Pros: you will get paid on time. off weekends, paid holidays
Cons: short breaks, and everything you can name.
I am a former employee of this company. It was great at first when I started but the tables turned for the worst IMMEDIATELY. They want You to do this, that, and the third all in a short period of time, – more... Which is impossible, along with cleaning up the mess of current employees. They want to force you to push sales, I didn't sign up for that. You have to harass customers daily until they make their payments. The goals that the company wants are absolutely absurd & make NO sense. How can a new employee that received little to NO training get all these tasks done with NO guidance? The interest rate is very high and a lot of people do not want to do it unless they don't have a choice because their credit is bad, or unless want to start a new slate I'm their life. The company is a Rip off and I just Also want to say that everyone is NOT your friend in that company. They say they got your back, but they don't. I wasn't there long enough to see any more foolishness be exposed. Let me also add that you will feel like a prisoner at your desk and can't catch a break, sometimes you dont even get to have lunch. If you're a teller as I was, you get easily distracted and have to stop what you're doing and assist a customer. The work load is ridiculous. What they pay should be more. They are very cheap too. It's not a teamwork thing. It's an "EVERY MAN FOR THEMSELVES " company especially the office I was in... I hope this information will help someone THINK TWICE before applying for this job and Working for this particular company. – less

March 25, 2015

Thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience during your time with us. We are always looking to learn from our employee’s experiences on how we can offer professional – more... growth and development opportunities. For the future, we will work with our managers and continue to ensure proper training is being conducted so our employees can be successful in their role. If there is anything else that you would like to share please send us an e-mail at contactus@marinerfinance.com. – less

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company EVER
Loan Rep (Former Employee), Carlisle, PAFebruary 25, 2015
I chose to join this company because it seemed to have wonderful hours that would work well with a family life. In the interview I was under the assumption that I would be a valuable employee learning – more... to do loans and able to move up. After I took the position I then realized I was there just to make bill collector phone calls all day long every day. The SAME people I had to call EVERYDAY. I also became the person that did all the things no one else wanted to do. Along with that I also realized that there is NO room for growth. Also, the benefits are awful. I would not recommend this job to anyone! I literally was getting sick to my stomach everyday that I had to go in. Not only that but my manager and her minion was so bitter and angry towards everyone they cursed constantly and would constantly make fun of all customers. I am a positive person and when having to go to work with such mean negative people made it even more worse. DON'T WORK HERE! – less

March 25, 2015

Thank you for the review. It is unfortunate that you didn't receive an upfront and realistic expectation of your day-to-day tasks as well as the consumer finance industry. We will continue to work with – more... our hiring managers and establish clear guide lines for our future employees job duties, responsibilities and our business as a whole. If there is anything else that you would like to share please send us an e-mail at contactus@marinerfinance.com. – less

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Manager
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Lumberton, NCFebruary 23, 2015
I Process and Fund loans daily. Collection calls for Delinquent accounts. Provide excellent Customer Service. Take customer payments, process daily deposits, and base drawer daily.

March 25, 2015

Thank you for the review. We appreciate you providing interested candidates a realistic expectation of their daily tasks and responsibilities. If there is any way we can enhance your work experience please contact the Mariner Finance Human Resources Department through the company Intranet. You may also e-mail us at contactus@marinerfinance.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company
Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEFebruary 20, 2015
Poor pay, no opportunity for growth. The company will transfer you with little no notice and not compensate for the commute

March 25, 2015

Thank you for the review. We are sorry to see that you did not get to experience any growth while you were employed with us. We are always looking to learn from our employee’s experiences on how we can offer professional growth and development opportunities. If there is anything else that you would like to share please send us an e-mail at contactus@marinerfinance.com.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy office
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Statesville, NCFebruary 3, 2015
Collecting bad debt
Taking payments
Loan applications
Bank deposits
Door to door collections
Had to fund 2 loans per day
Make a certain number of collection calls with results

February 5, 2015

Thank you for the helpful review. We appreciate you sharing some of the daily tasks so individuals applying for this position have a realistic expectation of their duties. If there is any way we can enhance your work experience please contact the Mariner Finance Human Resources Department through the company Intranet. You may also e-mail us at contactus@marinerfinance.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Senior Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Plant City, FLJanuary 28, 2015
Assist Branch Manager in daily goals and statistics
Validate regular reports
Assess applicant’s financial status, credit and property evaluation
Execute loan origination process, appraisals and title reports
Provided financial advice on personal secured loans
Field calls, collection calls both inbound and outbound
Maintain customer information

January 30, 2015

Thank you for the review. We appreciate you sharing some of your day-to-day work experiences so individuals applying for this position in the future have real time feedback from a current employee. If – more... there is any way we can enhance your work experience please contact the Mariner Finance Human Resources Department through the company Intranet. You may also e-mail us at contactus@marinerfinance.com – less

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of collections
Finance Internship (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJanuary 4, 2015
if you like collections this is the place for you, coworkers are awful. pay is bad

January 30, 2015

Thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear you had some negative experiences during your internship. We are always looking to learn from our interns' experiences to offer growth opportunities and to maximize their professional potential. If there is anything else that you would like to share please send us an e-mail at contactus@marinerfinance.com.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work experience and enviroment
Recovery Specialist (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDNovember 18, 2014
Pros: flex time
Cons: small work space
Great working environment. Learned many business skill sets and customer service techniques while working there.
Hardest part was diffusing anger with customers , however I enjoyed the challenge.
Management provided a strong team environment making work very cohesive and comfortable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), NCNovember 16, 2014
Cons: short lunches, no breaks, insane field working conditions
Was under security finance and was bought out by mariner finance....things promised to current employees didn't happen nor did they keep. Management and HR is a total joke. Beware of this company

January 30, 2015

Thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear you had some negative experiences, and we would like to know more if you are willing to disclose additional information. We are always looking to learn from our employees experiences to offer a professional and positive work environment. If there is anything else that you would like to share please send us an e-mail at contactus@marinerfinance.com.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mariner Finance is a great company to work for and has a great advancement program.
Associate Manager (Current Employee), Horseheads, NYSeptember 2, 2014
Mariner Finance is a thriving company that is expanding at an extremely high rate. There are many great advancement opportunities and it has been a great learning experience.

I had originally planned – more... to move to the area, however things didn't go as I had intended. Due to this I have been driving 2 hours every day. This is the only reason I am looking for a new job as it no longer cost or time effective. I am looking for something in the same field but closer to my area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall nice company to work for
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Harrisonburg, VAJuly 23, 2014
This job has many pros and cons.

A typical day consists of calls, collections, and solicitations.

You learn a great deal about customer service and financing.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the interaction with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun Career
Operations (Current Employee), BaltimoreJune 20, 2014
Pros: fun. advancement opportunities.
Great company. Fun, team environment. Challenging work. Advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced job with many tasks to be completed
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 12, 2014
- I work for a finance company where we make personal loans. We actually handle all aspects of a finance company.
- We Take the loan application, underwrite the loan, close the loan, service the loan, – more... collect the loan if need be, and handle all legal aspects of it.
- I have learned so much about the finance world at this job which will help me in my next career.
- I have managed 3 offices which have all been very successful.
- The best part about all of my past employment has been my co-workers.
-The hardest part of my job is that I drive from Buffalo to Rochester every day right now.
-The most enjoyable part of my job is helping the company to be profitable and competing with other employees/branches. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work atmosphere
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Toms River, NJApril 4, 2013
Strive to generate as much quality growth while controlling delinquency. Consumer lending and retail lending. Solicitation calls and Collection calls.

About Mariner Finance

Founded in 2002 by a group of leading experts in the consumer finance industry, Mariner Finance was established to provide customers – Read more

Mariner Finance Salaries

Branch Manager
$45,000 per year
Assistant Manager
$30,000 per year
Senior Assistant Manager
$30,000 per year

Mariner Finance Photos

Mariner Finance Career's Page